It’s time for Dodgers optimism!

May 9, 2013

Optimism beer

Hi everybody, and a pleasant good (morning/afternoon/evening) to you, wherever you may be.

The Dodgers are taking the day off after a disastrous 7
game losing streak against Western Division teams. Things look bleak right now for the boys in blue. .

Rather than looking for blame and running around like the Queen of
Hearts
shouting “Off with their heads.”, we fans need to
re-frame our point of view, and focus on the positive.

If there ever is a time for optimism, it is now, with the lowly Marlins
coming to Dodger Stadium for a weekend series.

So lets turn our frown upside down and think happy
thoughts

Here are some nuggets of wisdom that may help put things in
perspective.  Feel free to add your own or comment on these.
Inspirational, sarcastic, funny, sad, philosophical, lame, stupid quotes, or anything
you can think of are welcome:

Steve Busby

“You may go a long time without winning, but you never forget that
scent.”

Rocky Colavito

“You can’t tell how much spirit a team has until it starts losing.”

Don Drysdale

“The pitcher has to find out if the hitter is timid. And if the hitter is
timid, he has to remind the hitter he’s timid.”

Yogi Berra

“Baseball is ninety percent mental. The other half is physical.”

“It ain’t over ’til it’s over.”

on the 1973 pennant race

Dave Henderson

“I wasn’t in a slump. I just wasn’t getting any hits.”

Al Kaline

“I don’t deserve such a salary. I didn’t have a good enough season last year. This ball club has been so fair and decent
to me that I’d prefer to have you give it to me when I rate it.”

on being offered $100,000 by the Tigers in 1971

Rod Kanehl

“Baseball is a lot like life. The line drives are caught,
the squibbers go for base hits. It’s an unfair
game.”

Sandy Koufax

“A guy who throws what he intends to throw–that’s the definition of a
good pitcher.”

“I became a good pitcher when I stopped trying to make them miss the ball
and started trying to make them hit it.”

“People who write about spring training not being
necessary have never
tried to throw a baseball.”

“Pitching is the art of instilling fear.”

Dale Long

“You can shake a dozen glove men out of a tree, but the bat separates the
men from the boys.”

Garry Maddox

“With all the glamour attached to hitting the ball out of the park, it
takes a lot of discipline to go up there and just try to get a base hit.”

Walter “Rabbit” Maranville

“Nobody gets a kick out of baseball anymore, because big salaries and the
pension fund have made it more serious business than running a bank.”

Don Mattingly

“I like being close to the bats.”

on moving his clubhouse locker

Stan Musial

“The key to hitting for a high average is to relax, concentrate–and don’t
hit the fly ball to center field.”

Satchel Paige

“If a man can beat you, walk him.”

Frank Robinson

“Close don’t count in baseball. Close only counts in horseshoes and
grenades.”

Jackie Robinson

“Above anything else, I hate to lose.”

Alex Rodriguez

“You kind of get tired of giving the other team credit. At some point
you’ve got to look in the mirror and say, ‘I sucked.'”

after the Yankees lost to the Tigers in the playoffs

Steve Stone

“Pitching is really just an internal struggle between the pitcher and his
stuff. If my curve ball is breaking and I’m throwing it where I want, then the
batter is irrelevant.”

Frank Tanana

“It requires a lot of skill and a lot of effort to throw a baseball to a
certain location with something on it. That’s the damn good thing about
baseball–there’s so much effort and skill involved. The hardest thing to do,
they say, is to hit a baseball. The reason it’s so hard is the people who throw
it.”

Manny Trillo

“The best thing about baseball is that you can do something about
yesterday tomorrow.”

Earl Weaver

“I became an optimist when I discovered that I wasn’t going to win any more
games by being anything else.”

“The key to winning baseball games is pitching, fundamentals, and three run
homers.”

Frank White

“Always keep playing hard because you never know what will happen.”

Billy Williams

“A slump starts in your head and winds up in your stomach. You know that
eventually it will happen, and you begin to worry about it. Then you know
you’re in one, and it makes you sick.”

Jimmy Wynn

“Winning makes you happy all day.”

“There’s magic in the Dodger uniform.”

Yogi Berra

“I never blame myself when I’m not hitting. I just blame the bat and if it
keeps up, I change bats. After all, if I know it isn’t my fault that I’m not hitting,
how can I get mad at myself?”

Lucille Ball

“One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn’t pay to get
discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your
faith in yourself.”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

“The essence of optimism is that it takes no account of the present, but
it is a source of inspiration, of vitality and hope where others have resigned;
it enables a man to hold his head high, to claim the future for himself and not to abandon it to his enemy.”

Colin Powell

“Perpetual optimism is a force multiplier.”

Jack Layton

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism
is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful
and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.”

Tommy Lasorda

“If you believe it, you can achieve it.”