Off-Season: Day 1

In what already seems like an eternity since the last game for the Dodgers, news off the wire made this day a little bit better. Seeming like a good start to the off-season for our beloved Dodgers, Devaris-Strange Gordon, otherwise known as Flash, won ROTM for the month of September Thursday morning, after going .372 with a .398 OBP, 7 doubles, 1 triple, 21 runs scored to go along with 12 stolen bases in 16 attempts. He might not be the slickest on the field with the glove, but he’ll get there, and barring any acquisition, (Reyes ??), seems to be the incumbent to start the season as our SS.

In other news, its Playoff Time, and although many of us consider this season a disappointment, in the end, we did better than any of us ever could of expected. Our starting 2B, 3B, SS, LF, RF, and closer weren’t with the team for more than half the season, and yet, we finished a respectable 3 games over .500. Now, I’m not trying to gain pity for the lack of productivity from certain players, but, for the most part we got what we wanted outta the season. No G’Nats, and no RedSux in the playoffs, although the mere fact that there was no destruction of Philly kinda made this Dodger fan kinda bummed. The rebounding of Matt Kemp, and the arrival of ACE Kersh. We found out that our minors have some talent, and in the end, that even Ned could mess up at the Trade Deadline.

ps- On a side note related, what Jose Reyes did the other day was the worst thing I have ever seen. To take yourself out of a game after a BUNT of all things, just so you could win a stupid trophy shows just how weak and heartless he is. Everyone is quick to point out Ted Williams and his double header on the last day that jumped his avg from .399 to .406, but what about just the integrity of the game. Jose Reyes is a punk, nothing more than scum, and proved that he is all hardware, no guts. He went above the team, and said fuck it, I’m getting mines. To him, another injury that takes him out for another season or two I hope. I mean, how could he even be considered when he missed so many games. He lost some 120 PA and still won. At least Braun, who was also hurt this season, gutted it out for the whole game. And then Kemp, who didn’t take a game off, yet will be penalized for it. Baseball Writers of America will say that Reyes won the batting title, but we all know who really did. Kemp ma boy, you did mighty fine this season.

Prediction Time:

Rays v. Rangers

Did you guys happen to see the finale of the season. Not only did the Rays beat the Yuppies in stunning fashion, but they did it with guts, luck, and talent. An exhausted and exposed bullpen for the Yanks means that the Rays know who they have and how to beat them, and get into their heads. Now why does this matter for the Rays v. Rangers, simply because the Rays are working off of the underdog title, adrenaline, and the hate of the RedSux behind them. Combine that with their stadium dimensions and amazing pitching, and I have to give it to the Rays on winning this one.

Yuppies v. Tigers

Verlander will demolish the Yanks. Cano, Teixera, Gardner, Swisher will have horrible stats throughout 1st round, and will ultimately signal the end of Mariano Rivera and Posada, leaving Jeter all alone as the lone holdover from the Yuppie glory days. Verlander, Jackson, Avila, Martinez, Valverde, Young will do more than defeat the Yups, they will do it in 5.

D’Backs v. Brewers

If there was ever a time for Vin to call a series’ in which Gibson is a part of, this one has to be it. The complete favorite of the two is Brewers, and with good reason. Braun, Fielder, Gayardo, Marcum, Greinke, McGahee, Lucroy, and Axford can beat the D’Backs if they get ahead of them early and often. This D’Backs team is resilient, gutsy, and can beat you if your not careful. If the pitchers stay on their game, and they play the way they have played, it’s not hard to see the D’Backs making it out of the 1st round.

Phillies v. Cards

UGH. What can we say other than ESPN’s dream match up to open up the playoffs. Anything Philly these days is quickly blown outta proportion by ESPN and their East Coast bias, and yet, the other team winning, would still make most Dodger fans stomach churn in disgust. In a perfect world, they would all become injured and filler teams would be assigned from a random draw, but it can’t be that way. So out of the two, I’m going to hope, beg and pray that the Cards take care of Philly once and for all, so they could get off their high-horse and get back to sucking at Hockey. What can best be assumed is that my hope is that the Cards put a royal ass whooping on them, and Flying Crying Hawaiian breaks his fucking arm. Sorry people, still hate Philly more than Cards, Yanks etc.

(It’s more of G’Nats, Philly, Cards, Yanks, Reds in that order)

2nd Round

Rays v. Tigers

Dunno why, but it seems that the deeper the Rays get, the better they become. The Tigers have the better overall record, but will it really be that much of a difference when the opposing pitcher is shutting you down. Against the world I shall face, as I chose the Rays in a Game 7 for the ages.

D’Backs v. Cards

Will Raffy be good to go or will he get injured again. Will Holliday hit like his contract reflects, will Pujols carry this team. Will Berkman look like the Berkman of years past. Too many ifs, and not enough pitching behind Garcia, Carpenter, and Lohse, who seems like the best of the rest. Arizona has Kennedy, Hud, Saunders, Collmenter, etc. Only way Cards win is if they get to the D’Backs bullpen. In the end though, I’m going to have to give it to Gibson and his staff.

WS

Rays v. D’Backs

Who would of thunk it. The two teams that nobody picks to win it this season. Hmn, maybe I’m stretching my mind too far, but this is an underdog season, and what would make it better than a team that wasn’t supposed to make it to the playoffs, and a team that 2 seasons ago lost 100 games. Add in two managers who will probably win MOTY and you got a great contest. Not many will tune in, because it doesn’t have Phillies v. Yankees, or Brewers v. Tigers, but really, do we want to see teams that bought their way to the playoffs, or teams that grinded it out to the final. This one is going to a Game 7, and will be won by none other than Longoria on a walk- off.

It’s what’s best for baseball, and for the game.

Tell me what you think of my predictions.

65 Responses to Off-Season: Day 1

  1. 32and53fan says:

    Excellent post yung. I’m too tired right now to try to analyze the post season but I think your predictions are very plausible.

    Thanks for all of your great contributions to our blog.

  2. trublu4ever says:

    I totally agree with you, Yung, that Reyes is a punk! I have to believe he had just barely enough at-bats to qualify for the title. And, now, more than ever, I’m feeling we should have made up the rain-out in DC. Maybe not, but, Matty may very well have hit a homer or two.

    As for the playoffs, I really don’t care who wins as long as it’s not the Yankees or Phillies. Even though I am usually a national leaguer, I would like to see the Tigers win it all….throughout the year, they have flown under the radar (absolutely no coverage by the major media networks) and I love Jim as their manager. Besides, one of their pitchers (Fister) is a home town boy!

  3. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…Red Sux say bye-bye to Francona.

    • JhallWally says:

      Pretty amazing. A bunch of over paid fragile players choke away a 9 game lead and the guy that has lead you to your only 2 championships in the last 90 years is fired. I feel bad for Francona as he seemed like a decent guy, but Red Sux Nation can eat shit and I’m happy they are rolling in it right now.

  4. JhallWally says:

    Good job on the post Yung!! I agree, Reyes showed his true colors. What a puss. I would want no part of him as a FA and the team that does sign him will ultimately regret it.

    I’ll get back to you on the playoff predictions and preferences.

    • JhallWally says:

      I hope Detroit takes out the Yankoffs. For them to accomplish this, it is crucial for Verlander to defeat their ace Sabathia tonight. This effectively negates the Yankoff home field advantage and takes some pressure off the other Detroit starters. Go Tigers!!!!!

    • JhallWally says:

      Well, my heart is with the Rays to beat the Rangers and continue their terrific run. I can’t actually claim to know alot about either team except Texas can mash and the Rays pitch pretty well and are the loveable underdogs that compete successfully against the Yankoffs and Red Sux on a shoestring budget.
      I’m going with the Rays to upset the Rangers.

    • trublu4ever says:

      What sources? Amazing, sources are always nameless!

      • trublu4ever says:

        I’m tired of hearing things about Dre (or any other player, for that matter) just to cause trouble. I know a lot of you are fed up with his so-called antics but, I think this team needs him! I don’t want him going somewhere else and smashing 30 homeruns, which, you know, he is very capable of doing!

        • trublu4ever says:

          By the way, I still love ya’ Jhall….just take it easy on our Dre 😉

          • JhallWally says:

            🙂 Sorry. The Andre Kool-Aid doesn’t work on me. I gotta call’em like I see’em. I think Dildon’s comments about Ethier and his wasting of ABs was basically saying between the lines, “You need a serious attitude adjusment. Quit whining and produce.” I gained alot of respect for Loney and lost alot for Ethier over the 2nd half of the season. Not once has Loney whined and complained, even when he was struggling horribly.

      • 32and53fan says:

        I had an email conversation with a well known Dodgers beat writer last year and he confirmed first hand that Ethier is not always an angel.

        However, the HOF is full of tempermental players. As long as he does not poison the clubhouse atmosphere and bring down the performance of the team, a player should not be solely judged on his assholeishness.

        • trublu4ever says:

          Mattingly just wants him to keep his emotions under control. I know he is emotional….hell, so am I! I would be pissed off too, if I struck out with the bases loaded! I’d much rather have emotion than the ” I don’t give a shit attiude” of Andruw Jones!

  5. nedisajerk says:

    I hate to disagree with you but are we sure it was Reyes choice and not Collins? Reyes is a FA why risk a potential injury on him and had already missed 36 games? I don’t know how many games he misses since Aug 29 but it look like he didn’t miss too much.

  6. messagebear says:

    I would not try to sign Andre to an extended contract, although I would offer arbitration, because his trade value should be significant. Then let’s use that trade value to get something worthwhile. As far as Matt goes, I don’t see the current ownership and management coming up with the dollars required for a long term contract. If Plaschke’s number of near $200 million turns out to be accurate, I don’t know who can step up with that kind of number. I personally don’t believe anybody is worth a ten year contract at that kind of level. How many guys last that many years at a peak level of performance? I guess if you own a major league ballclub, you shouldn’t worry about those kind of numbers. I would not lay out $200 million for anybody against those kind of odds, but then I don’t have that kind of money, nor that much optimism about anybody’s constant success over an extended period like that.

    • 32and53fan says:

      The MLB should put in a rule that the term of a players contract can note exceed that of the President of the United States. Four years is long enough. In the last year of the contract, the player can try for another four year term. If he is stinking it up, another candidate will take his place.

      10 year, $200.000.000 contracts are ridiculous. The greed of the players and owners has priced me and many others out of being able to take my family to the ball park. I can see a game a lot better on TV anyway. I actually had more fun at a Modesto Bees California League game for a fraction of the cost than going to Dodger Stadium. The (non-baseball) views from the top deck of Dodger Stadium are better though. 😉

      • trublu4ever says:

        I’m skeptical of long, huge contracts too….just look at the money wasted on Werth and Carl Crawford. Granted, they may improve next season but, they might even be worse. I think we have to pay a good, fair price for Matty & Kersh. I don’t want us to be embarrassed for offring them chump change…however, they have to be reasonable too!

    • JhallWally says:

      messagebear says:
      September 30, 2011 at 12:35 pm
      I would not lay out $200 million for anybody against those kind of odds, but then I don’t have that kind of money,

      And neither does Frank!!!

      Dave Stewart is laying the groundwork and he sucked that buffoon Plashke right into his plan.
      $200M is a freaking joke. But, if he is not signed this off season and goes to free agency, he will probably get it with the Yanks and Sux involved.

      It is going to depend on how much he wants to stay in LA. 7 years at $150M is probably as high as I would go. Maybe with and opt out after 4 years so if he is tearing it up, he can renegotiate a new deal.
      Truth be told, none of the f*ckers are worth more than $1M a year.

    • selltheteam says:

      Great! Then Ned can go to the Red Sox and take Frankie with him, too.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Wow…the Sux are really cleaning house! Take note, Frankie! I know we already signed all of current coaches but, the loss of Honeycutt wouldn’t have been a bad move. And, of course, too bad McCourt doesn’t have the guts to remove Colletti.

      • JhallWally says:

        Tru baby, I’m living for the day that Frank is gone and his cast of clowns along with him. Colletti, Dildon, Conte, and Honeycutt.

        Like you said, Frank hasn’t got the guts to fire Ned. We’re stuck until he is ousted and we get a new owner.

  7. trublu4ever says:

    That would be awesome, STT!

  8. JhallWally says:

    Go Rays!!! Go Tigers!!!

  9. Imagine with Francona axed and then Epstein, I wouldn’t put it over Frank to try and get them, especially Epstein, seeing as how he is a Boston lad. Put Francona on as a pitching coach and Epstein and IDK, but that would seem to make things alright some. Oh Yeah, in this scenario, Frank would dump Ned so he could go to the Cubx.

  10. Tony Reagins, Angels GM, was fired from his post today..

    Everyone is getting axed.

    When does Honeycutt go, Conte, Ned..

    Mediocrity can’t breed effectiveness..

  11. JhallWally says:

    It was exciting playing good ball the last 2 months of the season and finishing with a winning record. But now the fun is over, and, we are stuck with Ned. 90 some loses and 4th or 5th place might have gotten him fired. Plus, it would have avoided alot of unrealistic expectations for next year. They were fun to watch these last couple of months, but, they aren’t a .600 ballclub over a whole season.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Do you think Donnie would have made these moves himself…or, did we just luck out because of injuries? Say Uribe didn’t get hurt, but was still hitting like shit…would he have benched him?

      • JhallWally says:

        That is a great question. Given that Dildon is a rookie, I think he would have bowed to the pressure from Ned and just kept playing Uribe no matter how bad he stunk. Same with Furcal, Blake, Brox, etc…. I think Ned has alot to say about who comes up and plays. Could be part of the reason Torre got the hell out. I’m glad he left, but, Dildon is just a facsimile so we didn’t really improve in that department. The injuries really were a blessing in disguise and forced them to go with the young guys. JMO

  12. JhallWally says:

    6-0 Rays….Woo-Hoo!!!

  13. nedisajerk says:

    Shoppach again I guess the Rays aren’t missing Navarro at all.

  14. dodgereric says:

    I’m over getting too excited about these notices, but there’s some good shit here:

    “Gross also struck a huge blow against McCourt by ruling that the Dodgers’ owner cannot put Commissioner Bud Selig or the other owners on trial. …….”This Court will not turn the [Dodgers’] ills and whether the Commissioner is treating [the Dodgers] and Mr. McCourt unreasonably and vindictively into a side show of all of MLB,” Gross wrote.”

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/dodgers/2011/09/mccourt-vs-mlb-judge-could-decide-winner-in-november.html

    C’mon…….c’mon……….

    • selltheteam says:

      Man, it would be nice to go back to Dodger Stadium and not feel like I was giving my money to scum bucket McCourt.

    • JhallWally says:

      Hi’Ya Dad/Eric. Good to see you. Sounds like a ray of hope. At least its not bad news. Sure would be nice to get this thing over and get Frank out before next season. Anyway, hope to see you for the Hot Stove this winter with some of your classic stats and comments. Catch ya later.

  15. lbirken says:

    I have felt all along that the courts will decide what happens to the Dodgers with respect to ownership. Unfortunately, this process seems to be full of delays and uncertainty which I believe works to Frank’s advantage. My guess is in the end the courts will have to do what is best for the creditors and MLB. Clearly, removing anything named McCourt from ownership/control of the Dodgers would be the best thing in the long run and hopefully it will not take a long run to make that actually happen.

  16. lbirken says:

    By the way, I see the bankruptcy judge has ruled against McCourt’s desire to put Bud Selig and MLB on trial which is a good thing. However, in my book Mr. Selig is certainly liable for some part of this mess and should have to answer for that someday.

  17. As odd as it may be I don’t like the Cards, never did, almost as bad as I hate the Giants and that’s because of the Cards postseason all time record. Yes the Dodgers have won more pennants but the Cards are the only National league team to win World Series’ in double digits.
    I hope they don’t pull what the Giants did last year and go all the way, but if they do I win a Matt Kemp autograph ball to go along with my Ethier, Kemp,Loney and Jose Viscaino ball that they signed for me on May 7 of this year at Citi Field. I’ve been lucky in my old age, what can I say.

  18. Oh I still have the ones I got in LA in 2009. Another senior moment there. Haha

  19. DodgerZona says:

    All coaches coming back next yr? I can see Tim W and Davey…But not Honeybuns

  20. vl4eccjr says:

    Looks like the Rays rookie put a number on the Rangers today.
    I wonder how long this rain delay will last?

Leave a Reply

