It’s time for Dodgers optimism!

Optimism beer

Hi everybody, and a pleasant good (morning/afternoon/evening) to you, wherever you may be.

The Dodgers are taking the day off after a disastrous 7
game losing streak against Western Division teams. Things look bleak right now for the boys in blue. .

Rather than looking for blame and running around like the Queen of
Hearts
shouting “Off with their heads.”, we fans need to
re-frame our point of view, and focus on the positive.

If there ever is a time for optimism, it is now, with the lowly Marlins
coming to Dodger Stadium for a weekend series.

So lets turn our frown upside down and think happy
thoughts

Here are some nuggets of wisdom that may help put things in
perspective.  Feel free to add your own or comment on these.
Inspirational, sarcastic, funny, sad, philosophical, lame, stupid quotes, or anything
you can think of are welcome:

Steve Busby

“You may go a long time without winning, but you never forget that
scent.”

Rocky Colavito

“You can’t tell how much spirit a team has until it starts losing.”

Don Drysdale

“The pitcher has to find out if the hitter is timid. And if the hitter is
timid, he has to remind the hitter he’s timid.”

Yogi Berra

“Baseball is ninety percent mental. The other half is physical.”

“It ain’t over ’til it’s over.”

on the 1973 pennant race

Dave Henderson

“I wasn’t in a slump. I just wasn’t getting any hits.”

Al Kaline

“I don’t deserve such a salary. I didn’t have a good enough season last year. This ball club has been so fair and decent
to me that I’d prefer to have you give it to me when I rate it.”

on being offered $100,000 by the Tigers in 1971

Rod Kanehl

“Baseball is a lot like life. The line drives are caught,
the squibbers go for base hits. It’s an unfair
game.”

Sandy Koufax

“A guy who throws what he intends to throw–that’s the definition of a
good pitcher.”

“I became a good pitcher when I stopped trying to make them miss the ball
and started trying to make them hit it.”

“People who write about spring training not being
necessary have never
tried to throw a baseball.”

“Pitching is the art of instilling fear.”

Dale Long

“You can shake a dozen glove men out of a tree, but the bat separates the
men from the boys.”

Garry Maddox

“With all the glamour attached to hitting the ball out of the park, it
takes a lot of discipline to go up there and just try to get a base hit.”

Walter “Rabbit” Maranville

“Nobody gets a kick out of baseball anymore, because big salaries and the
pension fund have made it more serious business than running a bank.”

Don Mattingly

“I like being close to the bats.”

on moving his clubhouse locker

Stan Musial

“The key to hitting for a high average is to relax, concentrate–and don’t
hit the fly ball to center field.”

Satchel Paige

“If a man can beat you, walk him.”

Frank Robinson

“Close don’t count in baseball. Close only counts in horseshoes and
grenades.”

Jackie Robinson

“Above anything else, I hate to lose.”

Alex Rodriguez

“You kind of get tired of giving the other team credit. At some point
you’ve got to look in the mirror and say, ‘I sucked.'”

after the Yankees lost to the Tigers in the playoffs

Steve Stone

“Pitching is really just an internal struggle between the pitcher and his
stuff. If my curve ball is breaking and I’m throwing it where I want, then the
batter is irrelevant.”

Frank Tanana

“It requires a lot of skill and a lot of effort to throw a baseball to a
certain location with something on it. That’s the damn good thing about
baseball–there’s so much effort and skill involved. The hardest thing to do,
they say, is to hit a baseball. The reason it’s so hard is the people who throw
it.”

Manny Trillo

“The best thing about baseball is that you can do something about
yesterday tomorrow.”

Earl Weaver

“I became an optimist when I discovered that I wasn’t going to win any more
games by being anything else.”

“The key to winning baseball games is pitching, fundamentals, and three run
homers.”

Frank White

“Always keep playing hard because you never know what will happen.”

Billy Williams

“A slump starts in your head and winds up in your stomach. You know that
eventually it will happen, and you begin to worry about it. Then you know
you’re in one, and it makes you sick.”

Jimmy Wynn

“Winning makes you happy all day.”

“There’s magic in the Dodger uniform.”

Yogi Berra

“I never blame myself when I’m not hitting. I just blame the bat and if it
keeps up, I change bats. After all, if I know it isn’t my fault that I’m not hitting,
how can I get mad at myself?”

Lucille Ball

“One of the things I learned the hard way was that it doesn’t pay to get
discouraged. Keeping busy and making optimism a way of life can restore your
faith in yourself.”

Dietrich Bonhoeffer

“The essence of optimism is that it takes no account of the present, but
it is a source of inspiration, of vitality and hope where others have resigned;
it enables a man to hold his head high, to claim the future for himself and not to abandon it to his enemy.”

Colin Powell

“Perpetual optimism is a force multiplier.”

Jack Layton

“My friends, love is better than anger. Hope is better than fear. Optimism
is better than despair. So let us be loving, hopeful
and optimistic. And we’ll change the world.”

Tommy Lasorda

“If you believe it, you can achieve it.”

235 Responses to It’s time for Dodgers optimism!

  1. 32and53fan says:

    What a f*****g nightmare! I have been farting around for almost four hours trying to get this post to work correctly. I had just gotten out of the shower, and before getting dressed, I thought I would make a quick post. It was nothing but problems. I would publish the post only to see that the formatting was no good. Then when it looked like I had it right in the editor, the published version was missing all of the quotes. I must have gone through 20 editing cycles. Finally I deleted the post and started all over again. Sorry your comment was deleted, Tru.

    I think it is working now. Time for me to get as far away from computers as possible. And get dressed.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    “I take every game seriously, and I take every pitch seriously. If other guys aren’t doing it, if they don’t want to be in L.A. , we can figure that out, too.” – Ned Colletti

  3. kahliforni says:

    Oscar Wilde never knew baseball…but he still cracks me up:
    “Woman begins by resisting a man’s advances and ends by blocking his retreat.”

  4. 32and53fan says:

    “I had a real shitty year. I’m not even close to worth what you are paying me. Here, take back $29,500,000 of my 30 million dollar contract for this year.”
    A-Rod, channeling Al Kaline (or fill in your favorite overpaid player.)

  5. crash24now says:

    “Fans tend to get too excited by streaks of either kind and I think the press does too. There should be a happy medium.”

    Walter Alston

  6. crash24now says:

    “Above anything else, I hate to lose.”

    Jackie Robinson

  7. 32and53fan says:

    “The Dodgers problem is that they just don’t have enough glasses of beer.”
    -32and53fan

  8. “This team sucks.”
    – Enchanted

  9. messagebear says:

    And the accolades are pouring in for the beloved and respected manager of the Dodgers – at least from Colletti. My managerial prerequisite would be whether you can get these MF’ing overpaid bastards to win for you, or at least improve under your leadership. We’ll have to wait and see where the Guggenheims weigh in on that issue, or where they judge Ned in the mix.

    FIRE BOTH OF THE BASTARDS!

  10. kahliforni says:

    “We have met the enemy and he is us.”
    –Ned and Donnie, as channeled through Pogo

  11. JhallWally says:

    Unacceptable!!!

    Wally

  12. kahliforni says:

    “There seems to be little fire coming from the dugout, particularly in the late innings of recent games, when the manager’s moves are as absent as his team’s motion.”
    –Bill Plaschke, L.A. Times
    http://www.latimes.com/sports/baseball/mlb/dodgers/la-sp-0510-plaschke-20130510,0,7529677.column

  13. crash24now says:

    “I felt better about the team after we got swept by the Giants, compared to how I felt about the team before we got swept by the Giants.”

    Donnieboy, as channeled by Crash

  14. Dodger4life says:

    “If Hef was the owner, would we have to play in the D league?
    I guess if he were owner, being on the bottom wouldn’t be such a bad place.” – brownpaperbag

  15. Dodger4life says:

    “I’ll be here for a long time and I might be here for longer than a long time,” – Ned Colletti

    “Ned Colletti is a douchbag” – scott_in_ arcadia

  16. trublu4ever says:

    Unacceptable Pathetic Futility….Jhallwally

  17. Dodger4life says:

    “Less than a foot made the difference between a hero and a bum.”
    – after striking out Tony Lazzeri in the 7th inning of game 7 of the 1926 World Series one pitch after hitting a long foul ball into the stands –
    Pete Alexander

    “How would you like my foot up your a**!!” – Red Foreman

  18. Dodger4life says:

    “The riches of the game are in the thrills, not the money.” – Ernie Banks

  19. Things have to get better because they can’t get any worse.

    • Dodger4life says:

      All joking aside OBF, I think we all want to see this ballclub, become successful, starting tonight…It is up to them though!

  20. crash24now says:

    “Fire Joe
    Fire the guy who hired Joe
    Fire the guy who hired the guy who hired Joe”

    dodgereric

  21. crash24now says:

    Fire Joe [check – well, kinda]
    Fire the guy who hired Joe
    Fire the guy who hired the guy who hired Joe [half-check]
    Fire the guy who Joe anointed
    Fire the guy who didn’t fire the guy who hired Joe
    Fire the guy who bought out the guy who hired the guy who hired Joe

  22. crash24now says:

    “Anything that can go wrong will go wrong.”

    Edward A. Murphy, Jr.

  23. crash24now says:

    Our elusive “best lineup that money can buy”

    Carl Crawford – hammy, not yet on the DL
    Mark Ellis – DL
    Matt Kemp – hurt his shoulder, power outage (1 HR)
    Adrian Gonzalez – neck tweak/umpire, not yet on the DL
    Hanley Ramirez – double DL – first the thumb, then the hammy
    Andre Ethier – power outage (3 HR, .706 OPS)
    AJ Ellis – the only one currently performing equal to his career avg.
    Juan Uribe – need I say more?

  24. Dodger4life says:

    Is this turning into a near death expierence…possibly. Is this adding to the adventure…absolutlely!! – Jase Robertson

  25. crash24now says:

    Scott Van Slyke coming to town today?

  26. Dodger4life says:

    Since tomorrow is Bark the Park Day at the stadium…

    “Once I reached down to pet a little dog and when I did, it was a 5 pound squirrel!!” – Si Robertson

  27. 32and53fan says:

    Earvin Johnson, Jr. “Magic”: Mr. Mattingly, do you agree with Ned, or do you think that we can stimulate winning through temporary incentives?
    Don Mattingly: As long as the roots are not severed, all is well. And all will be well in the garden.
    Earvin Johnson, Jr. “Magic”: In the garden.
    Don Mattingly: Yes. In the garden, growth has it seasons. First comes spring and summer, but then we have fall and winter. And then we get spring and summer again.
    Earvin Johnson, Jr. “Magic”: Spring and summer.
    Don Mattingly: Yes.
    Earvin Johnson, Jr. “Magic”: Then fall and winter.
    Don Mattingly: Yes.
    Stan Kasten: I think what our insightful young friend is saying is that we welcome the inevitable seasons of nature, but we’re upset by the seasons of our Dodgers.
    Don Mattingly: Yes! There will be growth in the spring!
    Stan Kasten: Hmm!
    Don Mattingly: Hmm!
    Earvin Johnson, Jr. “Magic”: Hm. Well, Mr. Mattingly, I must admit that is one of the most refreshing and optimistic statements I’ve heard in a very, very long time. … I admire your good, solid sense. That’s precisely what we lack at Guggenheim Partners.

    -Modified from “Being There”

  28. kahliforni says:

    “Optimism is the madness of insisting that all is well when we are miserable.”
    –Voltaire

  29. koufax1963 says:

    I appreciate the optimism. It is needed.
    I thought the Dodgers would start the season slow, but this is pathetic. So good things to come in July? I hope so. All the DL stuff may be gone. What of the lingering consequences. For one, it seems that Matt has lost his power, and that from surgery, and if not then what? Could be the biggest mystery on the dodgers, other than why conte is still around. If things continue by November Donnie, Ned and conte may be gone, now is that something to be Optimistic about?

  30. 32and53fan says:

    “This is a big f***king deal.”
    -Joe Biden

  31. 32and53fan says:

    “I think that is very very bad, for that man to make an accusation like that, that is terrible. I have never, ever since I’ve managed, ever told a pitcher to throw at anybody, nor will I ever. And if I ever did, I certainly wouldn’t make them throw at a fucking .130 hitter like [Joe] Lefebvre…or fucking [Kurt] Bevacqua who couldn’t hit water if he fell out of a fucking boat. And I guaran-fucking-tee you this, that when I pitched and I was gonna pitch against a fucking team that had guys on it like Bevacqua, I’d send a fucking limousine to get the cocksucker to make sure he was in the motherfucking lineup because I’d kick that cocksucker’s ass any fucking day of the week. He’s a fucking motherfucking bigmouth, I’ll tell you that.”

    -Tommy Lasorda in response to being accused by San Diego Padres manager Dick Williams of throwing at his batters in a 1984 game.

  32. Dodger4life says:

    “Stop waiting for things to happen, go out and make them happen!” – Unknown

  33. Dodger4life says:

    “I had to fight all my life to survive. They were all against me… but I beat the bastards and left them in the ditch.” – Ty Cobb

    • Dodger4life says:

      “When I began playing the game, baseball was about as gentlemanly as a kick in the crotch.” – Ty Cobb

      • Dodger4life says:

        “I never could stand losing. Second place didn’t interest me. I had a fire in my belly.” – Ty Cobb

  34. crash24now says:

    “Nice guys finish last”

    “If you don’t win, you’re going to be fired. If you do win, you’ve only put off the day you’re going to be fired.”

    “God watches over drunks and third baseman.”

    Leo Durocher

  35. kahliforni says:

    Stan Kasten: “This team has turned into one big, dull, dreary disaster!”
    Maynard G. Krebs: “You rang?”

  36. crash24now says:

    Confirmed: Scott Van Slyke up, Elian Herrera down. Too bad it wasn’t Ramona.

  37. 32and53fan says:

    -Tommy Lasorda talking to T.J. Simers of the L.A. Times

  38. JhallWally says:

    Time to start righting this ship. Go Dodgers!!!

  39. trublu4ever says:

    ( . )_( . ) Rally time!

  40. messagebear says:

    I see Pierre is back in town, and I think Ruggiano was one of our minor leaguers back in the days. A good night to break out of the slump, and I’d like to see our own Magill do well and get his first W.

  41. When I look at this lineup all I know are Juan Pierre, Placid Polanco & Justin Ruggiano and coach Tino Martinez. Who are these guys?
    If the Dodgers weren’t playing so badly, it would almost be a laugh, but they are, so I think this makes for an interesting battle..

  42. trublu4ever says:

    YO-ADRIAN!

  43. Seems like old times.

  44. Hey a crooked number on the scoreboard.

  45. trublu4ever says:

    Uh, oh, Magill in some trouble.

  46. trublu4ever says:

    Got out of it nicely…..good job!

  47. I forgot I do remember Greg Dobbs

  48. trublu4ever says:

    Schu has made two very nice plays. I like it….hustle is good!

  49. trublu4ever says:

    Crap…not again!

  50. Like starting over.

  51. Vin has a lot better memory than I.

  52. trublu4ever says:

    Uribe….dammit!

  53. Dodger4life says:

    “You’re not an idiot. Donnie! You’re not a goddamn looney now, boy. You’re a fisherman!” – R. J. McMurphy

    “Which one of you nuts has got any guts?” – Donnie Baseball, channeling… R.J. McMurphy

  54. I guess there was no RISP, since it was picked off.

  55. That time there was, 1-4

  56. trublu4ever says:

    Get rid of BeliSORRYo already

  57. My name sake puts down 4-3.

  58. Well we’re in a familiar position.

  59. Now let’s see their bullpen.

  60. Dodger4life says:

    Someone better figure out this bullpen problem…Pronto!!

  61. crash24now says:

    Come on Dre, this may be our last chance to stave off an eighth straight loss.

  62. crash24now says:

    AJ – yes! Thank you sirs, may I have another?

  63. Now it’s Skip’s turn

  64. Here’s a chance for Dee

  65. crash24now says:

    Okay, here comes the last chance.

  66. trublu4ever says:

    Okay, I admit it…we SUCK!

  67. AdGone and AJ were the only ones to get a hit with RISP. They were 2-8 from my count.

  68. crash24now says:

    That’s it. Eight straight losses. Look for Ned to trade Joc Pederson to the Marlins for Juan Pierre tomorrow, straight across.

  69. Dodger4life says:

    “What do you think I am ,the hunchback skipper of a coasting smack.?” – Donnie Baseball quoting… Captain Ahab, in tonight’s post game interview

  70. JhallWally says:

    Absolutely unacceptable futility….

    Either sure got it done.. That is going to turn out to be a very bad contract…..

    Bellisario was better when he coked it up and came in late….

    Good grief…. Please, fire Ned……..If there has to be a sacrifical lamb, just make it Ned….. He is a nincompoop….. Even if we continue to suck, I will feel better. It would show that the current ownership at least has a clue…..

  71. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Who to blame? Who to blame? No use worring about that, they just have to take it one game at a time until maybe things will get better. I think Donnie is doing all he can do and I hope he is taking or listening to advice from anyone who cares to give it.
    They just have to do better in the clutch, when ever the opportunies arrive. The bullpen has to find a way to stop giving up those homeruns.

  72. Dodger4life says:

    So, it looks like Paco is going to be given a stronger role out of the pen. He seems to have good stuff, hopefully him and Jansen can continue to excel. My thinking on Belisario is he has become complacent…I think if he was in the right frame of mind, he could still get people out on a regular basis…League has had some issues in the past with the M’s, at least everytime I watched he has. So, I won’t hold my breath with him…I hope I am shown to be wrong. This bullpen hasn’t shown good stuff regardless of whether or not the starters have quality starts. You can’t win consistantly without a strong bullpen…I remember a couple of years ago, the pitching staff claimed that everyone was feeding off of each other, no one wanted to let the team down…It seems to have a reverse effect as well…and we can’t afford to play games in reverse, we have to start moving forward…

  73. grizzy says:

    I’ve gone from expecting them to win, to hoping they would win to expecting them to lose. Nothing to do but wait for this to turn around and hope the season isn’t down the drain when it does.
    *
    Under these circumstances, I’d make real sure Greinke does not come back too early. Right now, what would be the point. Wait ’til he’s ready, then wait a week.

  74. Dodger4life says:

    What a beautiful death to die in the arms of your passion.
    -Man on Wire

  75. Dodger4life says:

    You get what you settle for.
    -Thelma and Louise

  76. crash24now says:

    On May 19, 1992, the Dodgers won their 35th game, giving them a record of 14-21. On May 11, 2013, here we sit at 13-21. When was the last time the Dodgers won no more than 13 games of their first 35 games?

    In 1958, just after moving from Brooklyn to Los Angeles, the Dodgers lost 22 of their first 35 games. In fact, they didn’t capture their 14th win until May 26th, when their record improved to 14-23. The team was managed by Walter Alston, and finished with a 71-83 record (back in the day when the season only lasted 154 games). The Dodgers finished 7th out of eight in the National League, only ahead of the lowly Phillies.

  77. Right now everything looks so difficult to do for them. Struggling in hitting pitching and fielding but we’ve been down this road before.
    It’ll turn around, it always does.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!

  78. I like what Steve Lyons just said, “There’s an old saying, ‘You gotta fake it until you make it’ “.

  79. messagebear says:

    I can’t help but notice that Andre now has the same BA as Uribe.
    No need to single out one player when the whole team is failing, but that is disastrous. Any guesses what’s going on here?

  80. Here we go we start off with Ellis after Ethiers double.

  81. trublu4ever says:

    I’m in shock…Donnie played small ball….and, of course, it works!

  82. Nice sac by AJ and clutch hit from Skip.

  83. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…Dee with a homer!

  84. Now let’s see what Andre can do.

  85. Well we got another run.

  86. trublu4ever says:

    Ha…Dre 3 for 3….way to go!

  87. Can Skip do it again?,

  88. That was Schumaker’s 3rd Ribby, tonight.

  89. Now they just have to hold on to this lead.

  90. messagebear says:

    Hm, now that I got Andre to bring up his average over .250, I wonder who I can single out for an encore tomorrow.

  91. crash24now says:

    “What in the wide wide world of sports is a-goin on here?”

    Slim Pickens, Blazing Saddles

  92. crash24now says:

    Nice catch Crawford!

  93. crash24now says:

    Nice pitching by Ryu – as usual!

  94. crash24now says:

    Ethier 4-4 – Thank you, Bear!

  95. Funny how runs score when things are going right.

  96. 32and53fan says:

    Another RBI from Uribe.

  97. crash24now says:

    Oh Geez – why in the world is GrrrRear on the mound?

    If we lose this one, Donnie has got to go!

  98. 32and53fan says:

    I am optimistic that we will win tonight. 🙂

  99. crash24now says:

    Andre!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  100. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…a great catch by Dre!

  101. crash24now says:

    Luis Cruz GIDP. He’s not going to be a Dodger much longer.

  102. 32and53fan says:

    “When you have good pitching and you have good players, anything can happen. The main thing is to keep your everyday guys in the lineup. If you have nine guys and you know what they can do, you just have to get them into an everyday rhythm. This team can do that, too. No doubt.”
    -Ramon Hernandez, who played with the 2001 A’s, who started the season 11-20, and went on to win 102 games and the pennant.

  103. trublu4ever says:

    Woo-hoo….we’re on our way all the way to the top….how’s that for optimism?!

  104. crash24now says:

    We win! Finally!

    Please sir, may I have another?

  105. vl4eccjr says:

    FINALLY!!!

  106. 32and53fan says:

    “How sweeeeeeeeet it is……”
    -Jackie Gleason

  107. vl4eccjr says:

    I’m not going to get too excited. It is just the Marlins after all.
    Reminds me of the old saying of you can’t look a gift horse in the mouth. . .

  108. kahliforni says:

    It’s a gol dang winning streak!

  109. JhallWally says:

    WooHoo, win streak….. It’s a start. We really need 3 out 4 playing this team…….. We have to go 76-51 the rest of the way to get 90 wins and a shot at the playoffs…. That is basically 2 of 3 or .667 ball the rest of the way…. That is a historic winning rate… Do you still think it is early??????????????

    You can’t make the playoffs or win the WS in April or May, but, you can sure lose it……

    Fire Ned!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And, unload as much of this piece of crap as you can in July…….

    • JhallWally says:

      Sorry, it is about a .540 winning percentage. Still doable if they get it turned around now… There is a glimmer of hope. But they should still fire Ned…..

  110. 32and53fan says:

    More like a. 598 rate to finish with 90 wins. Still doable but less margin for lousy play.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Assuming the Giants repeat their 94 win season, we would have to play .638 ball to win 95 and the division.

    • JhallWally says:

      Thanks 32/53…. My early morning math skills are lacking… The point is, we have dug ourselves one hell of a hole….. Already…. It is not early anymore….

  111. messagebear says:

    Here’s my call for the day – I’m going to call out Van Slyke, even though he’s not a guy remotely responsible for the Dodgers’ standing to date. As I recall he wasn’t even on the 40 man roster before coming up this past week. However, he’s been up before and never quite made the mark to stay. He seems to do great at the minor league level. Since Puig has settled down at a more mediocre level in the AA, Van Slyke now has one more chance to step up and really break out in the majors. That’s how it’s done and what it takes to get into the majors sometimes. If Donnie follows his pattern, he’ll give Van Slyke a game or two to show his capabilities again.

    So, this time DO IT, Van Slyke – instead of being a major league PUSSY once again. We need somebody to take charge in the hitting and especially the power department. Your dad was a good one, if not a great one, and I think that you can do it too. So, STEP UP and keep knocking those balls out of the park. Dare Donnie to sit you back down once you’ve had the chance. Personally I’d rather root for a Van Slyke than a Puig any day.

    So, let’s get ready for the VAN SLYKE DAY when it comes!

    • messagebear says:

      Ah, and there is Donnie already inserting Van Slyke in the opening lineup. You better go out there and tear them up if you know what’s good for you. Just deal with the pressure and send about two out of the park!

  112. Happy Mother’s Day to the official OTD mom – Tru!

  113. Happy Mothers Day to all of the mothers out there.

  114. I’m watching the Met’s game, who are on the same Extra-Inning channel as the Dodgers are on today. It’s in the bottom of the seventh tied, if the game isn’t close to the end in 10 minutes, I’m going to have to try to get it up on MLB.TV. If any trouble I follow the game on Gameday until it comes up on Extra innings. And so it is in the life of an old Brooklyn Fan.

    • Well I got MLB.TV up on the screen and I got that statement, which is still there, “THIS GAME WILL BEGIN SHORTLY” but that’s it
      Luckily MLB Extra innings switched channels and I’m OK.

  115. Tough first inning….Too aggressive?.

  116. Great shot by Van Slyke,

  117. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Scotty!

  118. messagebear says:

    I’m glad you’re listening to me, Scott.
    That’s #1 – now, I expect you to add another one before the game is over. Just one won’t impress Donnie. so if you expect to be in the lineup again, you better come across with that second one.

  119. I hope we can make it 2 straight, today.

  120. Yhat was Punto’s 8th RBI.

  121. Congratulations Matt

  122. We need some more runs,

  123. I didn’t want to jinx him but Capo pitched a damned good game.

  124. Kenley’s HOLD, just recorded, was the first hold in this month of May, recorded by a Dodger pitcher.

  125. trublu4ever says:

    Good job, CC

  126. It was good to know about Pierre’s arm.

  127. trublu4ever says:

    Wow….scoring with RISP….I like it!

  128. Hey Bear – Scott’s listening to you!

  129. messagebear says:

    OK, Scotty – you done real good, but don’t let it go to your head.
    I’ll take a two-out RBI and won’t complain that you didn’t hit it out of the ballpark. Now, how do we convince Donnie not to take you out of the lineup the very next game we play?

  130. ZonaDodger says:

    League sucks…damn

  131. Whew!! That’s two in a row.

  132. trublu4ever says:

    Whew….two in a row!

  133. grizzy says:

    Is it just me or is Uribe quietly becoming productive?

  134. crash24now says:

    League is a bad seed. League and GrrrRear should only be on the mound in mop-up situations, when the Dodgers are already losing by four or more runs.

  135. crash24now says:

    Two game winning streak. Against a losing, weak team. Don’t let it fool you, Donnie. The Nationals are next, and they are for real. Here comes the real test as to whether we can win.

  136. JhallWally says:

    Happy Mothers Day to Trumom and all the moms out there.

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!!!!

  137. JhallWally says:

    League sucks!!!!!!! Geez!!!!

  138. messagebear says:

    “Mattingly may be in greater immediate jeopardy than Scioscia, for a very simple reason: His contract expires at the end of this year, while Scioscia is signed through 2018. Chatter about Mattingly’s job security would have reached a crescendo over the weekend if the Dodgers hadn’t beaten the Miami Marlins twice in a row after dropping Friday’s series opener.”

    The above quote is from Fox Sports, showing that for every silver lining there’s a pile of crap on the horizon. While everybody wanted us to win the Marlin series, I surely didn’t want that “turnaround” to result in saving Donnie’s job – or Ned’s. Hopefully Kasten can recognize the incompetence through minor ups and downs of the season. I think the biggest shot in the arm that our Dodgers could get would be for Donnie to get canned – no matter what Kemp thinks of that.

    • JhallWally says:

      I’m right with you bear….. Until Ned is gone, I’m not fully onboard……… Neds track record is basically shitty…. He should be fired for that alone…. Why they keep him around is beyond me…

      • trublu4ever says:

        He and Mattingly will be fired….just wait and see …. right now I think Ned is just a figure head….Kasten & Co. make all the decisions, I believe.

        • JhallWally says:

          Hey Tru.. I agree with you. I think they have the final say…
          However, that doesn’t say much about their judgement when you consider the deals they have OK’ed… League, good grieg… That whole bail out of the Red Sox: Gonna go down as one of the worst trades ever……. I’m not impressed with our new ownerships baseball acumen…..

          • messagebear says:

            Yes, I too think that the big Red Sox bailout move was a flash in a pan that had no good baseball logic behind it. I will be much more impressed when I read about acquiring some serious pitching and power hitting talent that you can point to at our Great Lakes, the California League, and AA and AAA teams where we can follow their progress to the major league club. Right now the records of those farm team clubs are invariably pittyful. Puig was at the top of the list, but his performance has fallen off; Zach Lee has been there for a year or two, but I don’t see him ready to make any moves. The guys we acquired may have a good year or two left, but they’re pretty much ready to head down the hill, if not half-way down it already.

  139. Dodger4life says:

    Morning everyone…I trust you all had a wonderful and enjoyable Mother’s Day…
    .
    It is easy to be less than optimistic these days. This club has not shown much in the way of highly spirited baseball…getting manhandled by our N.L West opponents. However, it is possible for change to take place and the tables to become turned in the near future…We have some good talent on the playing field…Crawford, Kemp and Ethier are all capable of doing marvelous things…That goes for just about every infiled position as well…Uribe has been much better so far, and Gordon is a good sparkplug…Beckett can still pitch, he has thrown some good innings this season, albeit a few terrible pitches have made these efforts seem all for naught. We will have Greinke back soon, barring any sort of setbacks..and Kersh and Ryu have been solid. I am just staing that this team has the capabilities and potential in place to win some ball games… including against some high caliber opponents.
    .
    The Nationals are in town, if we can take this series (we have the home field advantage, which should be a boost) we will all be feeling a little bit better.
    .
    Regardless of whether I agree with the management side of things, I always want the team to fare well on the field…
    .
    Go Dodgers,

    • Dodger4life says:

      Once again pardon the spelling mistakes…I lost my glasses…And I struggle with all facets of lauguage skills to begin with…

      • I agree with practically everything you just wrote D4life, I seem to have seen and feel the same way about the team’s performance. There are still things that have to improve but all in all the team lately has shown that it is capable to perform at a much higher level.
        This series coming up will depend on how good this team really is or it may be important to what the future of management is.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I think with better timing as far as driving in runners, better play from the bullpen, better play from certain veteran pitchers and better managing throughout the game…Even with all the injuries, our record could easily reflect better results…However, like I have said from the second game of the season…We need to take pride in winning, especially at home…albeit with the hole have dug, we need to win period

          Ned has made plenty of mistakes as well…I think y’all can figure out where he has let the team down…Nobody gets a free pass!!!

  140. Hi Everybody
    Well I guess we’re the underdog tonight tonight.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  141. trublu4ever says:

    We can do it.

  142. messagebear says:

    Just because we won two in a row don’t forget to
    FIRE DONNIE!

  143. 32and53fan says:

    Go Dodgers!

  144. No wonder Beckett was afraid to throw a strike.

Leave a Reply

