B-E-L-I-E-V-E

The Magic # Is

488409

That was a great way to kick off the final month of regular season baseball.

We took care of the incoming Padres, by sweeping all three games, and now head up to higher ground, both in the standings and on the next stop in the schedule.

The Dodgers embark upon Colorado and (The Mile High City), for a three game set against the Rockies
.
Kershaw (LA) facing Bettis (COL) ~ Monday @ 1:10 PM (PT)
Nolasco (LA) facing Chacin (COL) ~ Tuesday @ 5:40 PM (PT)
Volquez (LA) facing De La Rosa, J (COL) ~ Wednesday @ 5:40 PM (PT)

258 Responses to B-E-L-I-E-V-E

  1. Dodger4life says:

    At least I hope my math is correct??

  2. trublu4ever says:

    i’m really glad we swept the Padres because playing at Coors Field is a crap shoot…..nothing is ever normal there and, I’m just hoping for the best when we leave that nasty place and head to hot, humid Cincinnati.

    • Dodger4life says:

      We have Kershaw, Nolasco and Ryu on our side Jane… If the boys can manage to go 19 – 7 the rest of the way. They will hit the 100 wins mark, There only 8 series left to play. I know… One game at a time, one game at a time…

  3. kahliforni says:

    Beard and Young are two heavy-weight additions to this club. I’d like to believe this was Ned’s handiwork. I’d like to give him credit.

  4. Dodger4life says:

    Just for fun and a look back, here’s a look at all the other gentleman, who have pulled the #16 jersey on and taken to the field for our Beloved Dodgers…

    Andre Ethier (2006-2013)
    Steve Finley (2004)
    Paul Lo Duca (1999-2004)
    Mark Grudzielanek (1998)
    Hideo Nomo (1995-1998)
    Rick Monday (1977-1984)
    Reggie Smith (1976)
    Charlie Manuel (1975)
    Gail Hopkins (1974)
    Dick Dietz (1972)
    Ron Perranoski (1961-1972)
    Bill Sudakis (1968-1971)
    Rocky Colavito (1968)
    Danny McDevitt (1957-1960)
    Bob Giallombardo (1958)
    Bob Wilson (1958)
    Ken Lehman (1952-1957)
    Earl Mossor (1951)
    Morrie Martin (1949)
    Clyde King (1947-1948)
    Joe Medwick (1946)
    Billy Herman (1941-1946)
    Art Herring (1945)
    Pat Ankenman (1944)
    Barney Koch (1944)
    Eddie Miksis (1944)
    Van Mungo (1932-1941)

    • JhallWally says:

      Nice D4.. I am amazed. How in the hell do you find stuff like this…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Usually, I just ask the Google Box a question, most of the time it will give me the answer, even if I sometimes have to dig for it a bit. This was on Baseball Reference.Com.
        .
        Glad you enjoyed it.

  5. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streaki! Way to go Greinke and Puig…

    And, the bullpen… This team is hitting on all cylinders right now…

    I hope, and it looks like, Puig is getting the message.. I hope so, he is a terrific talent. Needs some special cultivation… Reminds me alot of Raul Mondesi. Mondesi could have been great, but he chose to party and coast… I hope Puig doesn’t go the same route…

    • Dodger4life says:

      I would think that the Dodgers will keep Puig busy all winter long, not affording him the freedom, that some of the more seasoned guy’s would enjoy. I could be wrong, just speculation?

  6. Dodger4life says:

    We all know that Tommy Lasorda’s number (2), that he wore as manager of the Dodgers, has been retired.

    I know this one is fairly easy, but what the heck…

    What number/numbers, did Tommy wear as a player for the Dodgers??

  7. Dodger4life says:

    Okay, since Shad posted a cheat sheet… Haha!! Tommy wore #27 and #29 with the Brooklyn Dodgers

    Anyone care to take a stab at Tommy’s playing weight??

  8. Dodger4life says:

    What I found funny, was that Brian Wilson has already set himself apart, from every other Dodger to come before him, just by jersey number alone. Then, I thought, maybe it was so that if anyone from the other Organization up North, was doing research, on numbers worn by The Greatest Organization in all of Baseball… He would be the first one they would see…

  9. Hi Everybody
    You could say, with an 11 1/2 game lead that a loss wouldn’t hurt to much but I feel and I’m sure the rest of you do that we want Kershaw to continue his march to another Cy Young award. So I don’t think there’s anything wrong with getting a little nervous during this game.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Always good to see you oldbrooklynfan…

      This is true, oldbrooklynfan, I don’t think one loss would do a bunch of damage. I would also like to see Kershaw win another Cy Young and with less than a month left, would like to see the Boy’s continue winning ballgames as they have as of late…
      .
      Let’s Go Dodgers, Let’s Go!!!

  10. trublu4ever says:

    This home plate umpire is going to be a huge problem.

  11. Just what I was worrying about.

  12. vl4eccjr says:

    Good afternoon all!
    For D4, Wally & anyone else into HOF info or baseball records. If you go to players, then Hall of Fame, there’s a pull tab where you can scroll throughout the entire list of players. They have great little bios & quotes too. This is where I go most of the time for MLB information.

    http://www.baseball-almanac.com/

    • Dodger4life says:

      Thanks vl4, I have read some of the quotes on that site. I will scroll through a little deeper, when I need something to read, which is most of the time, since I hardly ever turn on my television these days.

      Let’s hope Kershaw and the offense can get something going… I looked away for sec and just seen we are down 3 – 1.

      • vl4eccjr says:

        Yeah they have some really good quotes from Vin & Tommy. Tommy’s quote about Strawberry was brutally honest & funny at the same time!

  13. messagebear says:

    Well, I’m one who thinks that Greinke is more deserving of Cy Young than Kershaw, but I’d certainly accept Kersh as a steady No.2.

  14. vl4eccjr says:

    WTF?!
    I believe this entire umpire crew is suffering from cranial rectal inversion!!

  15. Dodger4life says:

    Correct me if am wrong, but I don’t remember ever hearing how bad the umpiring has been, as I have the past couple of years???
    .
    And I view the game from Gameday mostly, so I have no opinion, other than what I hear.

  16. Kershaw really worked his way out of the 4th, didn’t he?

  17. trublu4ever says:

    Yay…more!

  18. vl4eccjr says:

    That’s more like it!!

  19. vl4eccjr says:

    Coors Field. . . .Never a dull moment!!

  20. trublu4ever says:

    I repeat….. I HATE COORS FIELD!

  21. Kershaw is very human today.

  22. vl4eccjr says:

    WTG DRE!!!

  23. vl4eccjr says:

    And the Dbags downward spiral continues! 😉

  24. The Magic Number is 15.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Rafael Furcal (2006-2011)
        Scott Erickson (2005)
        Shawn Green (2000-2004)
        Tom Prince (1994-1998)
        Dave Hansen (1992-1994)
        Chris Gwynn (1989-1991)
        Gil Reyes (1983-1988)
        Davey Lopes (1972-1981)
        Dick Allen (1971)
        Tom Haller (1968-1970)
        Bob Miller (1963-1967)
        Tim Harkness (1961-1962)
        Irv Noren (1960)
        Ed Rakow (1960)
        Sandy Amoros (1954-1957)
        Johnny Rutherford (1952)
        Lew Riggs (1946)
        Dick Whitman (1946)
        Stan Andrews (1944-1945)
        Bobby Bragan (1943-1944)
        Tom Drake (1941)
        Kirby Higbe (1941)
        Vito Tamulis (1938-1941)
        Waite Hoyt (1938)
        Max Butcher (1937)
        Johnny Cooney (1936)
        Tom Baker (1935)
        Bob Logan (1935)
        Ownie Carroll (1933-1934)
        Dazzy Vance (1932)

  25. Dodger4life says:

    Man looks like I missed most of the ballgame… again, I walked away to make supper. 3 run lead now, though. Woo Hoo!

  26. trublu4ever says:

    ANDRE!!!!!!!!!!!

  27. trublu4ever says:

    Really, Donnie….League?!

  28. vl4eccjr says:

    League? Really? Why Donnie? Why?

  29. Been busy, why is Puig out? He being a bad boy again?

  30. League pitched out of it.

  31. Think its time to admit Belisario’s really starting to stink again.

  32. This a true Coors field slugfest.

  33. vl4eccjr says:

    CRAP!!
    We got Belly Sorry Oh today!!

  34. Far be it from Donnie to take him out. Chalk up another would-be win for Kersh about to go down the drain.

  35. We can sure use some insurance runs.

  36. vl4eccjr says:

    Insurance!

  37. I think we’re going to need this run.

  38. crash24now says:

    Young strikes out in his debut.

  39. trublu4ever says:

    CC comes through!

  40. Darn! Holding my breath – this one’s not over yet!

  41. Frickin’ house of horrors.

  42. crash24now says:

    Why is Jansen pitching three days in a row?

  43. This home plate umpire is unbelievable. Kenley’s already thrown this guy 4 strikes over the heart of the plate.

  44. Dodger4life says:

    Magic #

    • Dodger4life says:

      And a 12 1/2 game lead…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Mark Ellis (2012-2013)
        Jamey Carroll (2010-2011)
        Juan Castro (2009)
        Pablo Ozuna (2008)
        Chin-lung Hu (2008)
        Mike Lieberthal (2007)
        Bill Mueller (2006)
        Larry Barnes (2003)
        Jeff Reboulet (2001-2002)
        F.P. Santangelo (2000)
        Delino DeShields (1994-1996)
        Mike Scioscia (1980-1992)
        Von Joshua (1979)
        Ivan de Jesus (1974-1976)
        Chris Cannizzaro (1972-1973)
        Tom Haller (1971)
        Len Gabrielson (1967-1970)
        Johnny Werhas (1964-1967)
        Bill Skowron (1963)
        Ken McMullen (1962)
        Gil Hodges (1947-1961)
        Dick Whitman (1947)
        Ferrell Anderson (1946)
        Lee Pfund (1945)
        Rube Melton (1944)
        Chris Haughey (1943)
        Gene Hermanski (1943)
        Freddie Fitzsimmons (1938-1943)
        Roy Spencer (1937)
        Ox Eckhardt (1936)
        Harry Eisenstat (1936)
        Frank Skaff (1935)
        Frank Lamanske (1935)
        Wally Millies (1934)
        Del Bissonette (1933)
        Joe Hutcheson (1933)
        Bud Clancy (1932)
        High Pockets Kelly (1932)

        You have to love the name that started #14 out!!!

        • Dodger4life says:

          Ivan de Jesus was the first autograph I ever acquired, although some of the players to wear this number following him, I have no recollection of… How far down does your memory take you???

          • When I was a young lad, on Sunday games I think it was they had autograph booths set up for the players at the extremes of each deck. I think I got Mota’s (when he was still a player) and Buckner’s, and maybe Rick Auerbach’s. Can’t remember if they’d sign a ball or a glove if you handed them one, but they signed little baseball stickers and handed those out.

            I got Darold Knowles autograph when he was on the Cubs, so that had to be either ’75 or ’76, and I had Don Sutton’s on my first baseman’s mitt, which has long since past into history.

            Must have all made quite an impression on me because I can still remember it.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Yep, this is where pop’s took me as well. The line was shorter for Ivan, than his signing mate that day, Buckner.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Dang, enchanted all I remember, where Buckner and De Jesus, you have a good memory.

          • trublu4ever says:

            Wow, I remember that also. I got Steve Sax’s that way….I did however wait by the players parking, just like the kids, and got Orel’s…I even pushed a child out of the way 😉 However, for the life of me I don’t know what happened to them…nowhere to be found! I am happy I got Andre’s on one of my shoes and another on a cap (I have never worn either since).

          • trublu4ever says:

            Almost forgot…when I got Steve’s I also got Honeycutt’s …. he was quite the looker back in the day 🙂

          • Dodger4life says:

            Pushed some kid out of the way….hahahaha!

          • kahliforni says:

            I got Ted Sizemore, as a Phil, to sign my Dodger hat, in Candlestick of all places. It was a day game in ’77, and we walked up and got front row seats. The Gnats were crummy that year. No, I didn’t live in the Bay area. Just visiting a buddy.

          • Note to self – don’t come between Tru and a Dodger autograph…

          • Dodger4life says:

            This happened to my daughter while she was trying to get Arnold Palmer’s autograph on a Wheaties box… Arnold reached for it and some guy pushed her out of the way. Later that day she was told by a member of the club, that he would give her $1500.00 if she could get it signed. She was about 10 and involved with junior golf, I would have made her hang onto it for a while though.

            But the crowd was unruly… and we went home stumped!!

  45. kahliforni says:

    As long as the Dodgers are “coasting” (Volquez is pitching Wednesday…and Puig will sit Tuesday)…why the heck not activate Kemp and let him hack? What’s the worst that could happen….four strike outs….four hit-into-double-plays? Kemp is missing a vital ingredient flailing away in AAA, namely, adrenalin.

    • Dodger4life says:

      He has been flailing away at High A Rancho Cucamonga… although he didn’t strike out today. The season has ended in AAA and the only places left to go are Arizona, Rancho, which made the play-offs but who knows what the schedule is? And AA Chattanooga. Colletti said a few days ago the plan was for Matt to join the team at the end of this series or perhaps the next.

      I agree though, just bring him up.

      • kahliforni says:

        Right, A ball……. My bad. If Puig is out, let Kemp play tomorrow. What the heck. As a fan, I’d like to watch him. Beats watching Schumaker or Hairston or Van Slyke.

        • Dodger4life says:

          The Quakes take a day off on Tuesday, then open up a best-of-three against the Inland Empire 66ers on Wednesday night at 7:05pm. JonMichael Redding (4-5) will take the mound in the opening game at LoanMart Field, while the 66ers will throw newcomer Drew Rucinski (2-2).

          If Kemp plays Wed, in the High A playoffs. He best break out his Beast Mode, otherwise he may become A highly embarrassed superstar.

  46. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!! Not pretty, but, it’s Coor’s field… It’s about time Kersh got a so called ugly win… With any run support earlier in the season he would have 18 or 19 wins… I’d bet in his 8 losses, we didn’t score 20 runs….

  47. JhallWally says:

    Still a ways to go… I believe we have the NL West locked up…

    I would still like to catch the Braves for the best record and get that home field advantage. Have you seen how good the Braves are at home.. Good grief. 50-19… I think we can catch them….

    • Dodger4life says:

      Morning, Wally….
      .
      I think we can catch them too. I read that the Braves hold the tie breaker, so we have to overtake them.

      I Believe!!!

  48. How many runs do we need on Wednesday – 20? Could be a bloodbath with Volquez in Coors.

    • trublu4ever says:

      20 sounds about right.

      • Dodger4life says:

        The Rockies have really blasted him so far this season! However, by looking at the stats, he kept the ball in the park for the most part. Granted, it is a lot warmer in Denver now, than earlier in the season. It’s supposed to be in the 90’s on Wed.

        I think his trouble has come from issuing walks and lack of control. His last pitching coach claimed he was very competitive and had a tendency to overthrow. Maybe Honeycutt and crew can resolve this a bit. He has the ability to strike guys out when comfortable. I am also hopeful that being competitive and around the likes of our Latin based players, will elevate his game some.

        Although, if everything I just said… come’s to pass. I will be shocked. And if the eventual score has high numbers, I won’t.

        Go Get Em Edinson, It’s Time to Shine!!!

  49. kahliforni says:

    Catching the Braves??!?!?!?!…they’re remaining schedule is very weak: 2 Mets, 7 Phils, 4 Marlins, 3 Padres, 3 Cubs, 3 Brewers, 3 Nats. That’s nine games with the three worst teams in the NL, record wise. Not that the NL West is any stronger. I know any team can win on any given day, etc., etc. Both teams are in cruise mode with huge division leads. Who’s to say?

    So opening up, you want Cards, Reds or Pirates in best-of-five round?

  50. Dodger4life says:

    Okay, so I enjoy gawking at Dodger uniform numbers just a tad.
    .
    In anticipation of our next Magic # ( I wont say the number, superstitions, ya know), I happened to notice that between the years of (1970 – 1981), this jersey was worn by none other than Joe Ferguson. The number was somehow semi-retired until the year of (1991) when Roger McDowell once again made it an active number. I am sure there is some kind of story as to why. I was wondering if anyone knew or has maybe even heard it?

    • kahliforni says:

      I just think it’s a superstition thing, like floors in a skyscraper. The first player I consciously remember wearing that number was Dave Concepcion of the Big Red Machine. Maybe Hanley took it as a tribute to a fellow shortstop.

      • Dodger4life says:

        I suppose the superstition thing holds a lot of water, it just seems like there was something more to this one… But as I have mentioned time and time again, my memory eludes me often these days.

  51. Dodger4life says:

    I did a little research of how many people have actually worn the superstitious number?

    It turns out, according to baseballreference.com, that this number is (288) major leaguer’s.

    Dave Concepcion wore it the longest, with the Cincinnati Reds (70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 78, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88).

    So, I then decided to count the number of players, who have put this jersey on, before or equal to 1970.

    Ed Acosta – PIttsburgh Pirates (70)
    Elden Auker – Detroit Tigers (34, 35, 36) – Boston Red Sox (39)
    Steve Barber – Baltimore Orioles (61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67) – Seattle Pilots (69)
    Red Barret – St. Louis Cardinals (45, 46) – Boston Braves (48, 49)
    Ted Beard – Pittsburgh Pirates (51)
    Bill Beckmann – Philadelphia Athletics (39)
    Curt Blefary – Houston Astros (69) – New York Yankees (70, 71)
    Ralph Branca – Brooklyn Dodgers (44, 45, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51, 53)
    Herb Bremer – St. Louis Cardinals (39)
    Joe Burns – Philadelphia Athletics (44, 45)
    Milo Candini – Washington Senators (47)
    Spud Chandler – New York Yankees (37)
    Ken Chase – Washington Senators (41)
    Roberto Clemente – Pittsburgh Pirates (55)
    Mort Cooper – St. Louis Cardinals (41, 42, 43, 44, 45) – Boston Braves (45, 46, 47) – New York Giants (47)
    Roger Craig – New York Mets (63)
    John Douglas – Brooklyn Dodgers (45)
    Turk Farrell – Houston Colt .45’s (63, 64) – Houston Astros (65, 66, 67)
    Bill Faul – Detroit Tigers (63, 64) – Chicago Cubs (65, 66)
    Joe Ferguson – Los Angeles Dodgers (70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 78, 79, 80, 81) – St. Louis Cardinals (76) – Houston Astros (77, 78) – California Angels (82, 83)
    Bob Fothergill – Chicago White Sox (32) – Boston Red Sox (33)
    Herman Franks – St. Louis Cardinals (39)
    Vern Fuller – Cleveland Indians (66, 67, 68, 69, 70)
    Bob Gillespie – Boston Red Sox (50)
    Marv Grissom – Chicago White Sox (52)
    Luke Hamlin – Pittsburgh Pirates (42)
    Kirby Higbe- Brooklyn Dodgers (41, 42, 43, 46, 47) – Pittsburgh Pirates (47, 48, 49)
    Sid Hudson – Washington Senators (46, 47)
    Jim Hughes – Brooklyn Dodgers (55)
    Hal Manders – Chicago Cubs (46)
    Cliff Mapes – New York Yankees (48)
    Bill Miller – Baltimore Orioles (55)
    Bob Miller – Detroit Tigers (56)
    Eddie Miller – Cincinnati Reds (36, 46, 47)
    Bob Muncrief – St. Louis Browns (39)
    Blue Moon Odom – Kansas City Athletics (64, 65, 66, 67) – Oakland Athletics (68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75) – Atlanta Braves (75) – Cleveland Indians (75) – Chicago White Sox (76)
    Carlos Pascual – Washington Senators (50)
    Claude Passeau – Philadelphia Phillies (38, 39) – Chicago Cubs (39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 44, 45, 46, 47)
    Eddie Pellagrini – Philadelphia Phillies (51) – Cincinnati Reds (52) – Pittsburgh Pirates (53, 54)
    Bill Pierro – Pittsburgh Pirates (50)
    Rich Reese – Minnesota Twins (65, 66)
    Flint Rhem – Boston Braves (35)
    Marv Rickert – Pittsburgh Pirates (50)
    Jim Rooker – Kansas City Royals (69, 70)
    John Roseboro – Minnesota Twins (68, 69) – Washington Senators (70)
    Raul Sanchez – Washington Senators (52)
    Bill Shores – Philadelphia Athletics (31)
    Sibby Sisty – Boston Braves (52) – Milwaukee Braves (53, 54)
    Red Swanson – Pittsburgh Pirates (56)
    Tommy Thompson – Boston Bees (36)
    Bill Tuttle – Detroit Tigers (56, 57) – Kansas City Athletics (58, 59, 60, 61) – Minnesota Twins (61, 62, 63)
    Tommy Warren – Brooklyn Dodgers (44)
    Bobby Wine – Philadelphia Phillies (65)

    I think I counted 53 out of the 288 players wore this number before Concepcion.

    Bill Shores seems to be the first recorded person to wear the jersey.

    This also would mean, that since 1970, 234 players have felt at ease, with this somewhat superstitious number on their uniform.

    I would have to think Concepcion had a lot to do with this.

    I also learned that there was a Boston Bees, before the Red Sox and that baseball players have some really unique and odd names, I am sure you will agree after taking a look down the list.

  52. Can you all believe that Young is going to be hitting clean-up in today’s lineup?

  53. Loving the comments Karos and Miller are making about Andre. They say he deserves to play whether Matt comes back or not. They also pointed out he’s been hitting well, too and his center field play has been outstanding. Tru and I know this well 🙂

  54. trublu4ever says:

    First run of many, I hope.

  55. Now I’d like to see Ricky but a 0 up on the scoreboard. Shut them down.

  56. trublu4ever says:

    Every run helps at Coors.

  57. Nolasco seems to be losing it. I hope not.

  58. Time to score some runs.

  59. Who’s the closer tonight? My money’s on Wilson.

  60. trublu4ever says:

    We’re okay…still leading.

  61. Chacin must’ve made an adjustment he’s doing a lot better as he goes along.

  62. This could be a tough inning coming up. We may need our bullpen.

  63. trublu4ever says:

    I saw BeliSORRYo warming…dear God, please let us score some more runs …..thank-you.

  64. Another nice hold by J.P.

  65. I have a hard time figuring out why Howell is always the forgotten man. I’d like to see him back next year.

  66. I see Toronto is doing their job so far.

  67. Well it’s up to our boys on the mound.

  68. trublu4ever says:

    Thank-you…it’s Paco!

  69. Well it’s a one run ballgame.

  70. The Blue Jays are leading in Phoenix.

  71. vl4eccjr says:

    Whew!!

  72. trublu4ever says:

    YES, YES, YES!!!!

  73. vl4eccjr says:

    Gifts are always accepted! 😉

  74. koufax1963 says:

    Wow! Mark Ellis

  75. trublu4ever says:

    Damn…why is he still pitching?….Beli sucks!

  76. trublu4ever says:

    Another Coors Field stomach churner….glad we escaped with the win.

  77. What the hell does Withrow say?

  78. Donnie get’s pretty damn lucky with his line-ups. I believe tomorrow its rest for Dre and Crawford. I suppose Volquez will pitch a no-hitter then…

  79. vl4eccjr says:

    Welcome back Withrow!

  80. Dodger4life says:

    Magic #

    Nice Win Boy’s!!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Hanley Ramirez (2012-2013)
      Ivan De Jesus (2011-2012)
      Ryan Theriot (2010)
      Orlando Hudson (2009)
      Tony Abreu (2009)
      Angel Berroa (2008)
      Terry Tiffee (2008)
      Wilson Valdez (2007)
      Oscar Robles (2005-2006)
      Alex Cora (2002-2004)
      Antonio Osuna (1995-2000)
      Roger McDowell (1991)
      Joe Ferguson (1970-1981)
      Jim Hughes (1955)
      Ralph Branca (1944-1953)
      Kirby Higbe (1941-1947)
      John Douglas (1945)
      Tommy Warren (1944)

      • JhallWally says:

        Interesting that Branca was donning #13 when he gave up the infamous “Shot Heard Round The World” to Bobby Thompson in 1951…

      • PuigLover aka MartinLoneyKemp says:

        For me, Joe Ferguson will always be THE #13. The catch and throw in front of Jimmy Wynn in the ’74 Series — one of the best throws ever!

  81. Nellyjune says:

    Way to go Dodgers!!! Nice picture of Andre up there! Love the fact that he made Franchise History with his doubles.
    .
    I hope all is well with all of you! I have been continuing my quest to be a better me! I am currently training for my first mini-triathlon the first week in October. Getting excited for that! I have lost 101 pounds since December (when I made these new fitness goals) and 131 pounds total since last August.
    .
    I have always been a never give up on my team Dodgers fan, but it sure is nice watching the Giants fans at work and home squirm when the Dodgers are mentioned. What a fantastic season this has turned out to be……so far!
    .
    Take care everyone, and I will do my best to check in more often. Love you all very much!

    • Congrats Nells! That’s awesome!!

      I think I’ve found a few of those pounds you lost though.

      • Nellyjune says:

        Thank you! I know you are not in the direct line of those fires up there, but I hope all is well in your part of the forest! Scary stuff!

        • We actually had a fire start a couple weeks ago about a mile and a half away, but they got it out quickly. Only burned 6 acres.

          Fortunately we’ve only gotten one real bad day of smoke from the Rim Fire, but the one they called the Aspen Fire a few weeks back over by Mammoth Pools we got for several days.

    • kahliforni says:

      131 pounds…Nelly, that is AWESOME!!! Getting my 15-year-old son to lose weight. First order of business: no more fast food. He dreams of chicken nuggets and french fries.

      Don’t know about you, but I’ve been teaching now for three weeks. THE HORROR!!!

      • Nellyjune says:

        I’m starting my 3rd week of school, and so far, this class is really good. I’m just waiting for the honeymoon to be over, but if not, this class could make my top 5 list of best classes, at least as far as behavior and overall issues. I wish you all the best this school year!
        .
        As far as the fast food, other than on a very rare occasion (and that’s usually Subway), I haven’t had any. I didn’t give up any food groups, just 5-6 small meals a day and a lot of working out. I workout 5-6 days a week (usually six), with 3 or 4 of them being weight training. I’ve managed to keep my workouts varied where I am doing a different combination of workouts everyday.

        • JhallWally says:

          Outstanding Nelly, and congratulations…. Keep it up and good luck with your mini-marathon… You are awesome.. Please try and get by here more often.. You are missed….

          Hope your class this year turns out great for you….

    • PuigLover aka MartinLoneyKemp says:

      Congratulations on your awesome accomplishment, Nellyjune!

    • kahliforni says:

      First player that came to my mind was Von Joshua, of all people…then Baker.

      • Dodger4life says:

        I have been trying to stay within the 2013 team for photo’s.

        Bobby Abreu (2012)
        Justin Sellers (2011-2012)
        Brad Ausmus (2009-2010)
        Jeff Kent (2005-2008)
        Steve Finley (2004)
        Mike Devereaux (1998)
        Jim Eisenreich (1998)
        Karim Garcia (1995-1997)
        Brett Butler (1995)
        Jeff Treadway (1994-1995)
        Dave Anderson (1992)
        Greg Smith (1991)
        Luis Lopez (1990)
        Willie Randolph (1989-1990)
        Danny Heep (1987-1988)
        Bill Madlock (1986-1987)
        Mariano Duncan (1985)
        Jay Johnstone (1985)
        Dusty Baker (1976-1983)
        Paul Powell (1975)
        Von Joshua (1969-1974)
        Jim Fairey (1968)
        Bob Bailey (1967)
        Tommy Davis (1959-1966)
        Babe Birrer (1958)
        Frank Kellert (1955)
        Erv Palica (1948-1954)
        Ralph Branca (1952)
        Eddie Stanky (1944-1947)
        Bob Chipman (1942-1944)
        Rex Barney (1943)
        Rube Melton (1943)
        Babe Dahlgren (1942)
        Luke Hamlin (1937-1941)
        Jimmy Jordan (1934-1936)
        Val Picinich (1932-1933)
        Watty Clark (1931)

      • Dodger4life says:

        Baker would be my era…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Kahli, having moved away from LA in 77. I have a big gap in players that I am able to identify. Also with my health issues and factoring in that I have indulged in an “herbal” therapy session or twenty
        five
        thousand, since high school, (these are things that tend to happen when you have neighbors, that run a makeshift tattoo parlor out of a metal box in the trailer park, across the street.) I may just not remember some of them.

        • kahliforni says:

          I feel your pain! My memory sucks these days, as well.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Yeah, kahli it was a sad day, when they loaded all the tattoo equipment into the limo and moved to another trailer park, far, far, away…. For a time being it was like having an amusement park across the street. I was amused daily for several years, when my computer would crash, this is where I would go to come visit y’all.

            I kinda miss them. So many funny stories I could tell. Starting with the day, they set up shop, before that, we just had coffee.

            They were also Giant fans, but like I said, they were nice. When the Giants won the the first series, they gave me a novelty Dodger baseball, when the Giants won the 2nd series, I got a Dodger foam finger.

  82. crash24now says:

    Go Mets! Beating the Braves 5-1 in the eighth inning.

  83. kahliforni says:

    Not sure why I was thinking about Luis Cruz. Talk about a snake-bitten year. First, the Dodgers hand him the third-base assignment, he loses it by hitting .127, then they cut him…and the Dodgers are steamroll the national League. But Cruz rebounds and signs with the most storied franchise in all of baseball…the Yankees. He lasts 16 games, hitting a robust .182, tweaks his knee and they, too, cut him. Now he’s free agent without a team.

    • crash24now says:

      Maybe because Cruz was a fan favorite last year. He got his 15 minutes of fame, but it was much more than 15 minutes. Cruz helped us survive 2012, but was no help in early 2013 when he struggled, as the team struggled.

  84. trublu4ever says:

    Just saw our lineup for tonight… lmao!

  85. lbirken says:

    These “crazy” lineups seem to work more often than not. It does seem as if Donnie is managing as if the division has already been won. While I can understand the logic, I keep thinking of 1951 when the Dodgers lost a large lead heading into September. However, if he can keep players fresh and still win, he will look like a genius. Frankly, I don’t care as long as the Dodgers win the Division, get to the World Series and win that as well.

  86. Hi Folks
    Well I guess the Dodgers will have to lower the magic # all by thenselves tonight.

  87. First Dodger RBI for Young.

  88. Dodger4life says:

    Next!

  89. All we can do is watch.

  90. I think it’s safe to say that Volquez sucks.

    Here’s my question though… they bring in Volquez to give an extra day or two of rest to the starters, but given that he’s terrible, he taxes the bullpen. Where’s the gain? Hell, I’d have just as soon they kept Lilly.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Commander Honeycutt Sir! Should we alert the Admiral that the Exxon Valdez , Edinson Volquez has begun to veer off course?

  91. messagebear says:

    Volquez is reestablishing my faith in Ned – does he know how to pick them or what?

  92. Dodger4life says:

    With the news that Ryu is injured, someone had to throw in this spot today. I would have to guess that if Fife was healthy, he would have been the guy? I also assume that pushing Capuano into Friday’s start, probably by whatever little margin, improves his chance for success. Basically today is a throw away game, that cost us $96,000.

  93. vl4eccjr says:

    Well the Volquez experiment was short lived. .
    I’m amazed he actually put up a zero in the 4th. . .

  94. Damn, Boston put up a 20-spot.

  95. kahliforni says:

    Both Braves and Dodgers started a couple stiffs today. Braves started a AAA recall who hadn’t actually started a game since 2007…he’d been pitching in relief. So both teams appear to be coasting…resting players, experimenting with reclamation projects, just biding their time with huge divisional leads. Makes for damn exciting baseball….ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ.

  96. LET’S GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!!

  97. If these assholes pull this game out with this line-up and string of pitchers, Donnie is a certifiable genius.

  98. trublu4ever says:

    Well, isn’t this just dandy?!

  99. vl4eccjr says:

    There’s the Marmol we all know!!

  100. Looks like the Rox are finally going to put us out of our misery.

    Volquez, League, Marmol… good gawd.

  101. Marmol was the wrong guy.

  102. kahliforni says:

    Why is Ramirez still playing? Aren’t most starters removed after five innings of a Spring Training game?

  103. Marmol – insuring that League will be on the playoff roster.

  104. I’m starting to sense that Marmol, how should I put this?… SUCKS!

  105. Who does Gordon have to kill to get in a game like this?

  106. Nice double by Uribe….7-4.

  107. trublu4ever says:

    Holy shit…we are going to win this! You watch!!!!

  108. The Champs, oh I mean, the Dodgers are making a game of this.

  109. The game ain’t over yet.

  110. Punto, Ramirez & Young.

  111. vl4eccjr says:

    Here we go! Last licks!!

  112. Just not enough for Hanley.

  113. Like Champions,, they went down fighting.

  114. vl4eccjr says:

    Oh well!
    It ended up being a much closer game than I was expecting. . .

  115. grizzy says:

    Snoozer last night. It was amazing to me that the Dodgers were anywhere close to being in the game with the pitchers that were used. The crazy line ups don’t seem to bother me any more, seeing as they tend to be successful. So, yes, in the end that one was a throw away, but key people are being rested.

Leave a Reply

