Travel Day Thread

I’m hoping crash can find some stats and such for the next series.

,dodgers-convair

In the meantime here is another thread to discuss where you see this ballclub headed in the future???

11 Responses to Travel Day Thread

  1. Dodger4life says:

    Since I cut kahli off on short notice and he brings up some good thoughts on the play of the team this season. I have forwarded them to the new thread.

    kahliforni says:
    August 20, 2015 at 3:21 PM

    Dodger Talk callers say the team lacks heart and fire. I disagree; just about all professional athletes are competitive and want to win. But for some time the Dodgers have lacked that overt ass-kicker. That’s why Kirk Gibson was so valuable. We’ve heard for years that this or that player is not vocal, but leads by example. That just doesn’t translate. 27 years and counting. Even in my cesspool slo-pitch leagues we ALWAYS win and we ALWAYS have a guy (or three) who channels his inward passion into a snarly, vocal, take-no-prisoners attitude. I’m a quiet guy. I NEED that input. My favorite slo-pitch shortstop used to pace the dugout during playoff games, demanding teammates to “step up or get out of the way.” It was awesome and it works. I’m very tired of these milquetoast Dodger players…and manager.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    It’s hard to say this team wouldn’t benefit from some tough love. The historic 42-8 run back in 2013 came after a locker room meeting from Ned.

  3. crash24now says:

    Just a theory here – let me know what you think. I don’t know if Uribe was ever the gruff type, telling teammates to step it up. He did, however, keep the dugout and the clubhouse loose with his clowning around. He was traded May 27th.

    Record prior to May 27th: 28-17
    Record after Uribe trade: 39-36

    • kahliforni says:

      I wonder about Puig’s splits, as well, pre and post Uribe.

      • trublu4ever says:

        We win more without him in the lineup….sorry to say, for all the Puig lovers….they even mentioned it on MLB Network. I guess Donnie still doesn’t do his homework.

        • Dodger4life says:

          When they let you in the locker room tru…who are you gonna deck first? Puig, Crawford or Mattingly??

          • trublu4ever says:

            Mattingly for sure! I’ll let CC & Puig battle it out. CC doesn’t bother me as much as Puig….I think the team feels the same way too.

          • kahliforni says:

            I stand by Puig. The Dodgers should celebrate his antics and the way he chafes other team’s “delicate” feelings. Too many bland players in the big leagues for my liking. Hell, it’s a game. Have fun. Tweak your opponent. Just teach him a bit about the finer points of baseball, is all. And keep teaching until he gets it. Oh wait, that’s what a coaching staff is for. Never mind.

  4. trublu4ever says:

    Giants lost 4-0…..YAY!

  5. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Dodgers and Giants seem to be going in the wrong direction but it’s a lot worse for the Giants if this trend continues. A lot can happen over the next 40 games though, so we’ll just have to hope for the best.

Leave a Reply

