Fearless Predictions

It’s time for you all to chime in with your fearless predictions on how our Dodgers will fare this coming season.

OK, I will lead off…

88-74..  No playoffs…

Too many injury and defensive issues..  Alot of overrated and overpaid players (starting with Ethier), except for Kersh and Kemp…   And Kemps injury issues are starting to become a concern.. 

What say you?????????????????????????????????

125 Responses to Fearless Predictions

  1. enchantedbeaver says:

    Can’t see starting Sellers over Gordon while Ramirez is out. No NRIs made the team though – that’s a first under Ned. Donnie’s still the manager – that’ll cost them a minimum of 4-5 wins. League sucks. Beckett & Billz – lucky to win 10 games apiece. Don’t know how Ryu will do the second time around the league. Kenley’s velocity is down 3-4 mph…

    Despite all that I’m still going to officially say 91 wins and 71 losses and they get one of the wildcard spots.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    Put me down for 100 wins…and a World Series ring…

  3. Dodger4life says:

    After checking my Crystal/Magic 8 ball again…I see no team from the Bay area in the post season come 2013!

  4. trublu4ever says:

    I’ll go one above Beav….92 wins.

  5. 91-71, Division Titlle, It will be a hard fight with the Giants for the title but the Dodgers will prevail, but I think that’s it.

  6. messagebear says:

    I’ll go with 87 Wins, which will get them one of the Wild Card slots – unfortunately that will also keep Ned and Donnie around.

  7. kahliforni says:

    My prediction is I’ll watch or listen to nearly every game this season and have a great time doing it. Championships are fleeting. I just love spending time with Vinnie and the Dodgers. They’ll make the playoffs.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Me too. I was listening to a little bit of the Red Sox – Yankees game this morning and think I would have to shoot myself if I had to hear that Yankees broadcasting team, especially the female color analyst, every day.
      We are so fortunate to have Vinny waxing poetic between pitches and not just blabbering away to fill up air time.

    • nellyjune says:

      Love it!!!

  8. 32and53fan says:

    Thanks for posting JhallWally.
    I know that this team is overrated and overpaid, but I think they will do well. I say 93-69 and a spot in the NLCS.
    Hope springs eternal!

  9. trublu4ever says:

    I actually had goose bumps when Sandy threw out the first pitch….love that guy!

  10. enchantedbeaver says:

    So far, looks like the SOS as all the years before – can’t hit, can’t score.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Runner at second no outs, 3-4-5 hitters coming up, and he’s still standing there at the end of the inning.

      Sounds way too familiar.

  11. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Kersh…your first homer couldn’t have come at a better time. Let’s get some more….GO DODGERS!

  12. trublu4ever says:

    Whew….time to exhale, Tru 😉 Outstanding performance from Kersh!

  13. Kershaw did it all today.

  14. enchantedbeaver says:

    Hey, looks like this Kershaw kid might be able to pitch.

  15. 32and53fan says:

    Nice way to open the season.

  16. Dodger4life says:

    Kershaw must of received a chemistry set for Christmas, he has added a bomb to his arsenal that seems to have awaken the crew….
    .
    Win #1 in the bag…
    .
    Way to go Boy’s!!!

  17. koufax1963 says:

    wow ! what a game! I like what I see. 95 wins. we take the west.

  18. Did anyone that was at the game or watching from home, see what the sign said in the 4th inning when LF and RF put up blue and white signs up in a pattern. I was sitting in LF near the new sound system, right by Steve Lyons and couldn’t see what was spelled. Did anyone actually take a pic of it btw?

  19. vl4eccjr says:

    Am I exempt for guessing right last season?
    I guesstimate 94 wins and the NL West.
    I’m still worried about the back end of the pen though. I have no faith in League whatsoever!

  20. crash24now says:

    94 wins. Yasiel Puig comes up in June and stays up the rest of the season. Kershaw wins another Cy Young. Dodgers win the pennant but not the Series.

  21. I was riding on the train yesterday afternoon (coming home from Sacramento) with a couple of Giants fans. They had friends at the game so I asked if they could find out the score. It was the 9th inning, and we know what happened . . . it was SO sweet to just sit there and smile.

  22. grizzy says:

    95 wins.
    Anyone know why Crawford is out tonight?

  23. vl4eccjr says:

    Rangers pitcher Yu Darvish is pitching a gem against the DisAstros. Perfect through 7 innings. . .

  24. grizzy says:

    Thanx, tru and crash. That was making me uneasy.

  25. vl4eccjr says:

    Gameday Not working tonight!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Gameday is working fine for me…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Although ESPN was messed up yesterday…My channel guide said the Dodgers were on…All I seen was three hours of Sports Center…Mostly talking about the BoSox and Yankee game that I just finished viewing!!

      • vl4eccjr says:

        I got the radio broadcast, but it’s stuck on 29% loading. Mini gameday is working though.

  26. vl4eccjr says:

    Darvish still has it working!
    107 pitches through 8 perfect innings.

  27. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Jerry…you nailed that little pagan!

  28. crash24now says:

    The hit parade continues. I hope this isn’t a harbinger for Ryu.

  29. crash24now says:

    When does Kershaw come in to pinch-hit?

  30. trublu4ever says:

    Poor Tattoo….he really fu**ed up this inning!

  31. Guess $200M doesn’t buy you the hitting it used to.

  32. vl4eccjr says:

    I still think Romo is defacing the ball somehow with all that movement he gets off his pitches.
    Rubber game tomorrow!

  33. grizzy says:

    Still uneasy after looking at the box score from last night. But it was pitching that made the giants the last several years and this is just two games. I think we’ll see a lot of low scoring games with them and the results will be about even at the end of the year. Maybe the team that wins that extra game or two also wins the division.

  34. We saw a lot of great pitching last night and I think tonight will be different. My gut felling is one or both of these teams will bring their bats with them. At least they’ll probably get a chance to use them.
    BTW I was disappointed as I’m sure most of you were that we didn’t see that perfect game. Just when I thought he had it….Boom.

  35. crash24now says:

    Dre will go yard against Timmy the Toker tonight!

  36. crash24now says:

    Donnie last night after the game: “Sells did great”

    Donnie today – “…uh, let’s go with Cruz at ss and Uribe at 3b.”

  37. lbirken says:

    I guess at 1 win and one loss this is just a .500 ballclub so why play out the season. Seriously, I think the Dodgers will make the playoffs unless the injury bug infects this team. I look for 89 wins.

  38. crash24now says:

    A compilation of the predictions so far: we are quite a bit optimistic than we were one year ago. Last year, on average, we had the Dodgers just barely over .500. In honor of this optimism, I sorted the predictions in descending order of wins:

    Wins Playoffs Who

    100 WS win dodger4life
    95 no guess grizzy
    94 NL West vl4eccjr
    94 NL pennant crash
    93 in the NLCS 32and53fan
    92 no guess trublu4ever
    91 Wildcard enchantedbeaver
    91 NL West oldbrooklynfan
    89 yes lbirken
    88 no jhallwally
    87 Wildcard messagebear
    n/a yes kahlifornia

  39. nellyjune says:

    Way to go James!! Oh sorry, wrong team 🙂

  40. nellyjune says:

    95 wins and Division Title

  41. trublu4ever says:

    Please, please, please score some runs early, boys. I am forced to watch the Bay Area feed and, the sooner we shut Krud & krap up, the better!

  42. crash24now says:

    Thanks, Sanchez, for the passed ball and the run!

  43. trublu4ever says:

    Now would be the time for Matty to hit one.

  44. I thought Big Mac might actually help this team hit, but I can see I was mistaken.

    • vl4eccjr says:

      The only thing he can do is increase the teams number of strikeouts. How many times did he lead the league in that category?

  45. vl4eccjr says:

    C’mon Beckett!!
    Get your shit in one bag!

  46. kahliforni says:

    I know it’s early and Gnat pitching is tough, but this team is as exciting as the phone book…………Donald Baseball, circa 2013.

  47. vl4eccjr says:

    Sheeit!!!
    You can’t hang a cookie like that to that fat f*ck! He’ll hammer it every time!

  48. JhallWally says:

    Crap!!!

  49. zonadodger says:

    Wow…I don’t know where to start lol….Bases juiced and can’t get them in….I think the BigMac hire was stupid sorry….Bad D…Beckett sucks…Anyway how is everyone lol

    • JhallWally says:

      Doing well Zona… How about you? Good to see you…

      This team is just not that good. Bad defense and overrated pitchers. It’s one thing to spend a ton of money. It is a whole other ballgame to spend it wisely….

  50. zonadodger says:

    I agree Wally…good here thx for asking

  51. trublu4ever says:

    Don’t panic yet……we will be okay. Tru knows all 😉

    • JhallWally says:

      Hi’Ya Tru!!! I hope you are right… I’m just not feeling it….

      How’ve ya been???

      • trublu4ever says:

        I’ve been pretty good. Once we get the feeling of the opening series out of the way, we will be just fine. A few less errors and we could have won last night’s game. A little sloppy tonight also…we will tighten things up.

  52. zonadodger says:

    I’m going to hold u to that tru

  53. zonadodger says:

    Uribe o no

  54. vl4eccjr says:

    POOF!!!

  55. trublu4ever says:

    One bright spot so far, besides Kersh, has been Crawford.

  56. vl4eccjr says:

    Crawford is off to a blistering start!

  57. JhallWally says:

    Bases loaded, no outs…. It’s time to make bacon….

  58. JhallWally says:

    Rats!!!

  59. vl4eccjr says:

    CRAP-OLA!!

  60. JhallWally says:

    Unacceptable!!!!!

  61. vl4eccjr says:

    As Yogi would say “It’s deja vu all over again!”
    More golden opportunities wasted. . .

  62. Seventh inning stretch . . . let’s wake up those damned bats!

  63. JhallWally says:

    Crap!! Another wasted opportunity… Geez!!!

  64. vl4eccjr says:

    I like what Howell’s showing so far. He’s not over-powering, but still very effective. Kind of like Romo on the opposing side with all the movement on his pitches.

  65. vl4eccjr says:

    WTF League?!!
    Cranial rectal inversion strikes again!

  66. vl4eccjr says:

    PFFFFFFFFFFFFT!! That old flatulent sound again!
    G’night all!

  67. JhallWally says:

    Crap!! A very pitiful and pathetic effort.

  68. The boys didn’t look too sharp tonight at all. Tip o’ the cap to the gnat pitching . . . .

  69. kahliforni says:

    This team is flat and lifeless. Blame it on great pitching, but there’s still no insatiable hunger to win. Out-Laker the Lakers and make a move…

  70. Dodger4life says:

    The Boy’s have (like a bunch a fucking wienies) played three games so far and Mattingly has substituted Uribe for Sellers and Hairston for Crawford. This is absurd, play the guys who earned the spot in the spring. This country club it looks like it might rain so I’ll play cribbage today attitude, instead of going out everyday and battling… blows!! We’ve played three fucking games against the rival Giants a team that has been kicking our fucking ass’s for years…Play the best and force the rest to work harder when they get playing time.
    .
    A Whole New (Bunch of) Blue ( Fucking Wienies!!)
    .
    These guys should be embarrassed to no end, to have had their ass’s handed to them in the opening series at home nonetheless by the fucking Giants!!!

  71. Dodger4life says:

    I’m just a little peeved this morning…I have made my feelings known that losing to the Giants is old hat in my book. I don’t give a crap how good their ball club is, or has been. I don’t accept the fact that they can come into our house on opening day or any other stinking day and manhandle us…I don’t agree with the sentiment that we just have to move on…I agree that we have to readjust and find a way to win…perhaps by playing solid baseball instead of whatever we have been doing in the past.
    .
    I don’t care that Uribe didn’t complain about playing time last season, he was getting payed bank to perform on the field…and the same goes for the rest of them, I don’t even care that they are getting payed bank, just that they perform on the field.
    .
    Like I said a friendly game of cribbage in the clubhouse is just that, a friendly game of cribbage in the clubhouse.

  72. koufax1963 says:

    Observation: in these 3 games, it was the ability of the batting pitcher to put the ball in play, that led to critical runs scored. I really hate the gnats winning too, but to be down on this team is unacceptable, concerned about $$, management or line-up is petty now, wait for it the Dodgers Blue will rise. I see good things, the big disappointment was Kemp, and how many would want him out of the line-up? Thought so! So change your tudeand get ready for the rally, if it doesn’t happen then we can discuss the new manager and GM! I waited too many years to finally have a team that I feel good about to get negative after 3 games.

  73. Hi Everybody,
    It’s looks like the Dodgers have picked up just about where they left off last year. I don’t think there’s much more to say but let’s hope that things will start looking up from here on in.

  74. messagebear says:

    Three games into the season is a meaningless point to draw any firm conclusions. As most of you know, I’d like to see Ned gone no matter where we are in the standings. I’ve also never liked Donnie, and the frequently changing lineups are just a matter of his style.

    This team will rise when Kemp and Andre and Gonzo start hitting, especially timely hitting. I personally think that Gonzo is way overrated or over the hill, and I have no liking for him whatsoever – pretty much how I feel about Ned. Guys like Sellers and Fed**** shouldn’t be on the major league club, period – there’s got to be a better answer or somebody else who’s a better prospective player for the future. I also don’t see League as a closer – been there/ done that, and it hasn’t worked for other clubs with far less talent.
    I’m surprised and impressed with Crawford at this point – hope it lasts. Anyway, if Kemp and Andre can’t duplicate some of their previous seasonal highs, we’ll end up in the dumpster anyway, but then my projected Win total is a modest 87, so I won’t be pushing any buttons too soon.

  75. crash24now says:

    Yasiel Puig and the Chattanooga Lookouts got rained out today.

  76. lbirken says:

    Three games do not tell much but I can understand the frustration that the offense looks today much as it did last season. Hopefully Kemp and company will come to life against the Pirates.

    On a more positive note, I did get a neat sweatshirt last night at the game and the new scoreboard and message boards looked good and provided a lot more information.

  77. Dodger4life says:

    To lose the first series at home, where you greet familiar faces upon your arrival, on a field that bears your logo, in front of fans who have asked you for your autograph, and cheer you and your team on with excitement…is unacceptable.
    .
    These three games to me should mean more than just a regular ball game… We all know how hard it is to win on the road. and we just let the Giants accomplish this feat on our turf.
    .
    I am still on board with my prediction of 100 games and a World Series ring, cause that is my mindset each and every year…
    .
    I realize just about anything can and will happen between now and the end of the season. I realize there will be ups and downs, just don’t ask me to accept the fact with a smile, when the Boy’s don’t give it the best they have…If this is the best they have, then so be it…But I am almost certain they can do better.

  78. Billz’ line so far against the mighty Lake Elsinore Storm: 2IP 3H 2R 2ER 3BB 1K ERA 9.00

    Sounds like he’s just about ready.

    • Now 4IP 6H 4R 3ER 3BB 2K but hey, his ERA’s dropped to 6.75.

      Meanwhile in Albuquerque, Gwynn got to bat 2 times in one PH appearance as they batted around. I know its probably happened many a time, but I don’t ever recall following a game where a guy got 2ABs in 1PH.

  79. kahliforni says:

    Without Kershaw the Dodgers could have been swept. Donnie seems a boring manager.

    3-Game panic New Batting Order:
    Mark Ellis (no one else)
    Ethier (ManRam or Kemp, Andre flourishes in the two hole)
    Kemp
    Crawford (why not?)
    Gonzales (Donnie anoints him clean-up since Day 1—undeserved)
    Cruz
    Ellis
    Sellers

Leave a Reply

