Dem Bums is Gone

What happened to Dem bums? It has disappeared.

Everyone is welcome to return to Outside the Dodgers if you wish to have the news and Twitter feeds and other resources available. Or you can build up the new site, http://superbasblog.wordpress.com Crash. Either way, Dodgers fans will have an uncensored voice.

Thanks to Crash for doing most of the posts to OTD before everyone left and for creating a new site. OTD will become essentially his site if he wants to use it. I have no desire to create daily posts.

I made a mistake in giving everyone full editing privileges where anybody could delete anything and I suspect that those disappearing posts may have been an inside job.  Nothing else makes sense.

 

37 Responses to Dem Bums is Gone

  1. JhallWally says:

    Thanks 32/53. I hope the rest of the outsider bums drop in.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    Only one person had the ability to censor certain words. We didnt have full admin priveleges. You did. Just like on the bums site. I gave certain people full admin priveleges. Things were working fine until recently.

    One of those trusted individuals decided to go rouge and change my screen name.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I have been waiting for you to apologize to everyone…Puig has no problem apologizing for his wrong doings. It would have been forgiven by all I’m sure.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I wasn’t really aware of the problems when those weird things happened. Was it posts disappearing or words being censored that was the main problem? In any case, ITD, OTD and Dem Bums had their day. Now Superbas can take the baton and run with it.

  3. Dodger4life says:

    All you needed to do to solve the problem for an inside job was change everyone to authors…but you know this already 🙂

  4. Dodger4life says:

    You told us you looked into it and then brushed it to the side..

  5. Dodger4life says:

    I know who the second person was as well…

  6. Dodger4life says:

    I really hope everyone will return to crash’s site…Crash and every person who didn’t go rogue…deserve the best.

  7. Dodger4life says:

    I will remain silent from here on out…Peace out!

    Go Dodgers!!

  8. JhallWally says:

    Crap, gonna need another comeback.

  9. kahliforni says:

    Just stumbled in here. WTF??!?!?!?!?!? I know I had admin privileges and it sure wasn’t me who messed with anything.

  10. kahliforni says:

    I made up a site a few years ago and never used it. If you want , we can. Or, we can stay here. I’m just worried we’ll lose lbirk, messagebear, the beav, tru, dodgereric. THE HORROR!!!

    https://upsidedownthedodgers.wordpress.com/

  11. Dodger4life says:

    ITD was sabotaged by Josh and/or his subordinates. So we left MLB. This site was sabotaged by it’s creator. With editor privileges you cannot target certain words. Only an admin can. This site gave us editor privileges. On my site I slowly gave everyone who asked full admin privileges. I also monitored things closely. Then someone who has a problem with me…decided to voice their feelings, without actually going public, by screwing with me behind the curtain.

    Maybe I should have taken a deep breath and relaxed a bit. But, I had a lot of respect for the individual who did this and that infuriated me. For this I am sorry.

    Everyone’s email address is up top in the edit section. I suspect they will all find this site at some point though. Including the person who I admired that messed with me.

    Crash has set up a site…Crash has the most time to run the blog. Crash is highly dedicated to doing so…Crash has navigated the admin section for a while and knows it’s inner workings well.

  12. Dodger4life says:

    Kahli it wasn’t you…you were one of the people targeted on this site. Your post began disappearing. Beavs posts began disappearing. names were changed as well. The post disappearings were due to words being targeted and not allowed. I tried to figure out who was messing with us on this site before moving us. After moving us, I discovered that Admins can censor crap, by targeting things and typing them into the censor box. An admin with full priveleges can type in “Go Dodgers” and any post that says, “Go Dodgers” will be deleted.

    Brian has contradicted himself several times on this thread.

    Case closed if you ask me…He did say he was sorry for not looking into it quicker. So I guess he’s pleading no contest…

    The first thing I did was reel back the admin privileges and give you and crash the next tier down. I gave Beav a lower title, because he never creates anything to begin with. I left Oldbrooklynfans admin privileges the way they were so he could continue to correct his mistakes. I know he was an honest and forthcoming soldier. Prove me wrong and I will have no problem apologizing. None whatsoever…

    People who had full admin privileges on Dem Bums site
    Deefore – which is the name I had to create to set up the site.
    Dodger4life – One and the same as Deefore
    Crash
    Kahli
    Oldbrooklynfan
    Beav
    DodgerEric

    Nobody else had the capability to change anything on the Bums site. Everyone except DodgerEric and Oldbrooklynfan have come forth and stated it was not them.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Dodgers4Life, how dare you accuse me of sabatoging this site? What the fuck is wrong with you? I know you have issues with health and often have used alcohol and drugs to cope with your unfortunate life, but I never realized that you were that mentally unstable.
      I have never been so insulted in my life.

      I joined Inside the Dodgers because I have been a Dodgers fan since 1959. When that site went down, I wanted to provide a place to keep the conversation going and to learn a little about how to create a WordPress blog site. I spent hundreds of hours creating features, adding photos and text to posts and participating in the conversations on OTD. I respected everyone’s right to free speech here even during the darkest days of the McCourt fiasco where many comments were X rated.
      I never censored any post or comment, nor deleted one.

      I did the technical work to create the structure of the blog, but I wanted anyone who wished, to be able to create their own posts. I gave everyone editor privileges, which meant that they could delete other people’s post and comments. I never imagined that in a small group of mostly mature members that would ever happen.

      I was not the most active commenter at ITD or OTD. By the time things started disappearing here, I was spending very little time here. I was puzzled by what people said was happening but did not have the tools available to determine if someone here was causing mischief. I spent quite some time with Google searches and on WordPress forums to find an answer but was not successful. I was trying to find out how to contact someone at WordPress directly when you hijacked this site and sent everyone to Dem Bums overnight. I dropped my investigation after that.

      The idea that I have plead no contest to sabotaging my own site because I apologized for not acting more quickly to find the problem is patently false and utterly ridiculous.

      • Dodger4life says:

        All this stuff has really upset me. You never did bother to bring this to anyone’s attention. Which is why I suspected you. I didnt hijack the site. We asked for your help numerous times. Folks thought it was s good idea to fix the prpblem by moving. Beav was about to leave…

        I am sorry for the mess I have created. I am sorry I accused you Brian. I have no proof, just as you say.

        • 32and53fan says:

          Apology accepted Bob.

          • Dodger4life says:

            A post has to arrive before it can disappear. Kahli’s post and Beav’s post were disappearing before arrival. That is what lead me to the Administrator.

            Anyhow…crash is a much better admin than both you or I were…so, it is in it’s rightful place now!

  13. Dodger4life says:

    With all my health and other issues. I used the site to remain positive. I don’t have much of a life these days. I don’t go anywhere except the grocery store and the Dr. due to not being able to get air into my lungs…yes my smoking weed, was not helping me. My condition won’t get any better. Without my steroid inhaler, I really struggle. I started smoking weed after I realized I couldn’t walk through Walmart anymore…at that point. Yes, I surrendered! I was using Photoshop to try and learn things that I can use to become employed again. Same with dismantling computers. I need to find something I can do here at home because I don’t have the capability to please an employer. I can’t go to school without being penalized…the director of my local disability rehab center. Told me to go home. I was probably not going to be healthy enough in the future to obtain and keep a job.

    As far as taking care of my Grandson. If my heart wasn’t deemed in really good shape. I would have died doing so. He pushed me way beyond my limits. It’s a good thing they found someone else. It was the most fun I ever had though. Especially since I lost my son at birth, get this, on my fathers 50th birthday. Whom passed in his 48th year on this planet. The year…1988.

    I am sorry, I was bothersome…with all my shenanigans.

    Kahli thanks for pushing me to look into and begin to learn how to photoshop.

  14. Dodger4 says:

    Just like when I was drunk back in the day and couldn’t type anymore, Kahli suggested I slow down…That’s all you had to do…slow down D4…slow down…I would have understood.

  15. Dodger4life says:

    My grandson would get mad at me when I could no longer set the ball back upon the tee. He would come try and push me out of my chair. This was a horrible feeling!

  16. kahliforni says:

    D4, I’m so sorry your life has health limitations right now. Did not know that. As a high school teacher, I always tell the kids they have no idea they’re in the prime of their physical life…that it’s only going to decline starting at age 21 or so!!!!

  17. lbirken says:

    I am confused. I was away a few days and not only do the Dodgers get shut out twice but Dem Bums is gone. By chance I clicked here and see an explanation that makes little sense. I cannot understand why anyone would mess with a blog where it seemed the few of us that have stuck around got along and respected one another. I was grateful to those who posted and kept things going even if I chose not to help on a daily basis. I was a bit sorry to see so many folks from the ITD days drop off and disappear and felt we could benefit from more voices but didn’t know what I could do about it. Anyway, I hope we can keep this going.

  18. JhallWally says:

    Tough loss last night. Offense just hasn’t been the same since Cody went down….

  19. griz says:

    This is all pretty weird to me. I knew there were problems of some sort, then Dem Bums up and disappeared? Oh well. People come into your life and then go.

  20. Dodger4life says:

    i sure hope I don’t have to fly to Brooklyn then Seattle to find OBF and his other bear friend?

    • Dodger4life says:

      This song is dedicated to Koufax…I’m sorry…and since I am boycotting all things orange…I can’t come get you!!

Leave a Reply

