#WhereWasKenley?

image

Coming home after a disappointing road trip, where the team won three, but lost four games, the Dodgers play a weekend series against the league leading St. Louis Cardinals.
Splitting the series with the cellar dwelling Rockies is not a good sign.  They should have swept Colorado, or at least won three games.

Not having  Kenley Jansen last night really hurt, and it threw unwanted light on the inability of the bullpen to perform in an important save situation. The team was vague when asked about his absence. Dismissing speculation about about another episode of atrial fibrillation, the latest word was that he suffered from dehydration.  To me,  that sounds like an excuse to cover up something else.

Tonight Carlos Frias goes up against Michael Wacha. This four game series will be an opportunity to see if the Dodgers have a realistic chance of beating St. Louis in the post-season.

204 Responses to #WhereWasKenley?

  1. griz says:

    I’ve been looking around on some of the different sites and no one seems to know what was up with Jansen. The secrecy is a little strange and I don’t think we can lay this one on Donnie.

  2. trublu4ever says:

    I like to blame Donnie….to me his mere presence is a downer.

  3. koufax1963 says:

    Dont know why donnie brought libertore in for the 9th after pitching the 8th (and getting out of it without a scoring on him, Job done), I can only speculate what if Yimi were brought in to begin the 9th, rather than inheriting the runners, anyway it all blew up with Howell as well (OK grandal should of caught that). This all leads me to speculate that the Jansen MIA was a surprise to all, and completely put the BP in disarray, so I conclude Donnie kept Libertore in as he was warmed up, no one else was ready, why was Jansen not coming such a shock, better preparation, BP coach not doing his job? Too many questions and each answer prompts another question or concern.
    A top flight team has contingencies in place, and they are NOT band-aids

    • colliethec says:

      I agree with you. Lib shouldn’t of been throwing a 2nd inning. Maybe that is because they were caught off guard with KJ not being able to go. But f that’s the case – as you mentioned why didn’t they have a back up plan.

      My complaint is with starting Nicasio in the 1st game of the twin bill. This made it a bullpen game because he was only going to go 2 innings and eliminated Nicasio from throwing in the next 2 games. So it basically caused 2 problems in one stupid move.

      If this was Donnie’s call then that’s another bad mark on him – if it’s the FO call then that’s a problem because that means that Donnie is just a puppet.

  4. crash24now says:

    Lots of speculation on TBLA.

    One thing is for sure: Due to Kenley’s inavailability last night, we lost a game that we should have won. I hope it doesn’t come back to bite us.

    #JuneLosses=SeptLosses

  5. crash24now says:

    Wonder why the Dodgers are letting David Aardsma get away to free agency? It’s not like we’ve got a bunch of freaking geniuses in our bullpen.

  6. koufax1963 says:

    If there is a Plan B, it better work.

    • crash24now says:

      Sounds like Donnie didn’t have a Plan B last night. Should always have Plan A, Plan B, Plan C.

  7. crash24now says:

    Pederson CF
    Grandal C
    Gonzalez 1B
    Turner 3B
    Ethier RF
    Guerrero LF
    Rollins SS
    Hernandez 2B
    Frias P

    Interesting twist to tonight’s lineup. Grandal has a high OBP to it’s good to see him high in the lineup. Not sure about his speed on the basepaths.

    • crash24now says:

      Turner has twenty home runs in his thirty year life and now he’s batting cleanup?

      While we’ve got a guy who hits a home run for every eleven plate appearances batting sixth? Donnie is just nuts.

      Cuckoo
      Cuckoo
      Cuckoo

  8. crash24now says:

    Fun with Math:

    2015 Home Runs YTD and Projected

    17 52 Pederson
    11 34 Gonzalez
    10 31 Guerrero
    7 21 Ethier
    6 18 Rollins
    5 15 Grandal
    5 15 Kendrick
    5 15 Turner
    2 6 Van Slyke
    2 6 Kike
    2 10 Puig
    1 3 Crawford
    1 1 Uribe

    74 227 Total

    • Dodger4life says:

      Mattingly is full of lame excuses. Take last night, with him saying those guys just hit a wall in the 9th, due to being overworked. Liberatore, Garcia and Howell looked no different than they have in previous outings. Sure these guys were dominant at the beginning of the year, but they’ve tailed-off considerably. Well, Howell tailed-off sometime last season. Donnie has his head up his ass!

      • Dodger4life says:

        Kenley and maybe Nicasio give you consistency…everyone else gives you plop-plop-fizz-fizz to go with an ulcer!

        • kahliforni says:

          Yes, this revamped bullpen is still a work in progress. Kenley’s absence for 2 months (an excuse?) has resulted in NO ONE knowing their role right now in the bullpen…be it late innings or mid game. Just seems to be a crap shoot…a “flavor of the day.” Who is the bridge to Jansen? Who pitches the 7th inning? The 8th inning? Who’s even qualified to do it? With the seeming glut of “extra” infielders (Guerrero, Turner, Hernandez, soon-to-be-here Hector Olivera, and gold-glove Darwin Barney at AAA) Freidman and the boys would seemingly be working on acquiring a starter AND a reliever…one would hope.

      • trublu4ever says:

        Liberatore would have been fine just doing one inning. But, he had to put him out there for another.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I fail to understand why a guy who doesn’t throw 99-100 mph can only throw one inning in the first place??

          • trublu4ever says:

            I think they are trained that way. Who knows?! I still don’t know why Kersh is pulled with a minimal number of pitches when, heaven forbid, he could finish a game and save our arms.

  9. Dodger4life says:

    Eric Stephen ‏@truebluela 7m7 minutes ago
    Zach Lee is in Los Angeles getting examined. Experiencing tingling in fingers of throwing hand

  10. lbirken says:

    Donnie can’t win no matter what he does. Usually a three run lead is enough most of the time but not last nigh.

  11. koufax1963 says:

    im hoping Kenley comes in the 9th!

  12. 32and53fan says:

    I really don’t completely understand the difference between pitching in the 6th through 9th innings. It seems like if you are just coming in for one inning, you would treat each pitch like you were in the post-season. I guess the only difference is between the ears. It might be like practicing walking across a 10 foot span on a 4 by 4 beam two feet off the ground. Most people would find that really easy. It’s a different story if one had to do the same thing 20 feet off the ground. Like Yogi Berra says: “Baseball is ninety percent mental and the other half is physical.”

    • kahliforni says:

      Ask the Anaheim Ducks about the mental part of a game… I used to play softball with a guy that was our unspoken leader. When the playoffs came around he’d be pacing the dugout saying, “step up or get out of the way.” You need that kind of confidence. I sometimes wonder when a reliever comes in and walks people, is he afraid to trust his stuff…or are his mechanics out of whack, and if they’re out of whack, is it because of pressure?

      • 32and53fan says:

        I remember playing shortstop in Little League and making perfect throws from the hole under pressure. It was just automatic. The ball went where I wanted it to. Another day, I was playing 2nd base. A perfect grounder came my way, which I easily scooped up and threw to 1st base with all the time in the world. I missed by five feet. I had the Yips. I guess I had too much time to think about the throw. That has also happened to me when I was just playing catch before a softball game as an adult. Steve Sax (and maybe Steve Garvey) knew all about the Yips.

  13. 32and53fan says:

    On the pre-game show, Kenley basically said that he had an episode of atrial fibrillation which caused his fatigue and hypertension. Ablation surgery to correct Afib is not 100% effective. I had an episode, which I later found out was Afib, where I was really tired and had a high heart rate after taking out the trash, then coming back upstairs. I rested lying flat in bed for 30 minutes and my heart rate was still really high. I didn’t know that high altitude could trigger an episode.

    The following is from the Mayo Clinic:
    “Ask about high altitudes. If you’re going to be staying at a high-altitude location, such as in the mountains, check with your doctor first. High altitudes may worsen some types of heart rhythm disorders (arrhythmias). Your doctor may suggest that you rest and lower your normal activity level for several days after arriving at a high altitude. Also, watch for any new or unusual signs or symptoms of your condition or of altitude sickness.”

    • Dodger4life says:

      I was playing golf with my little brother here in Boise when he had an episode. He had the surgery and as far as I know hasn’t had any problems. I thought I read that they said Kenley was dehydrated?

      • Dodger4life says:

        He now lives at an altitude of 5000 feet.

        • 32and53fan says:

          They said “high altitude” was considered 8,200 feet or higher.
          When I was a teenager, I took a hike at Sequoia National Park where the elevation with around 7,000 feet. I was extremely tired and it was very difficult to walk uphill.

      • 32and53fan says:

        I might not have heard him correctly. He may have said that the afib could return despite his surgery. According to the Mayo Clinic web site, severe dehydration could cause low blood pressure, not high BP. I believe he was dehydrated (which can trigger afib) among other symptoms. The question is why? I don know and should just shut up.

        P.S. My phone is seriously lagging, making it very frustrating trying to type. I have too many processes running. Are there any Android experts who know how to prevent background tasks are processes from running without uninstalling the app on a non-rooted phone?

  14. vl4eccjr says:

    Errors always come back to bite!

  15. oldbrooklynfan says:

    For a while there I thought this would be a pitching duel and an early night.

  16. trublu4ever says:

    Crap!

  17. vl4eccjr says:

    Scratching my head as to WTF warranted Donnie to move Rollins up in the order. Still the same results. . .

  18. vl4eccjr says:

    POOF!!
    Thar she blows!!!

  19. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Any surprises tonight?

  20. colliethec says:

    I guess tonight was a good night to go to dinner and a movie with Wifey – Glad I missed it.

    Hopefully tomorrow will have a different result.

  21. kahliforni says:

    Do we assume, over the course of a season, that the Dodgers’ record will even out against the contenders? Or is this crummy streak vs. the Gnats and Cards a serious flaw in the team’s make-up?

  22. crash24now says:

    Frias is a #7 starting pitcher pretending to be a #5.

  23. griz says:

    I suppose I should reserve judgement until after this series because there are many reasons last nights game was a dud. However, if the teams record against contenders does not improve, many of you on here may get their wish and Donnie will be down the road. As several of you pointed out a starter from AAA should have been called up for the double header in Denver, and now in hindsight I don’t get that one either. Many things are working against the Dodgers right now, but nobody is really going to care about that. As Donnie said himself, “You either win or lose.”

  24. JhallWally says:

    Oh well, another piss poor effort… Losing Streak… You can’t put it on Dildon. Everybody sucked….

  25. The Beav says:

    Another loss to a real contender isn’t surprising. This team has no character and no leader, least of all from the dugout. Rollins is a dead man walking and he knows it. Kendrick is a good complimentary player, but not a clean-up hitter. Joc’s being wasted at lead-off, but since there’s no one else can do it, he’s stuck there. Starters are lacking depth. Bullpen is in shambles and nobody knows their roles. If they can’t score via the HR, they’re lost because they have no idea how to manufacture a run. After 5 years Donnie still couldn’t manage his way out of a wet paper bag. FO seems more intent on shuttling players up and down rather than finding permanent solutions.

    Contender? I think not.

    Frankly, I can’t stand anymore of Donnie Ball. After the line-ups for that DH in Denver, I had to walk away. Its obvious he has no clue, never had a clue, and never will have a clue. Its been the same old shit for 8 years now and I’m tired of watching history repeat itself night after night and season after season.

    And nothing is going to change until he’s gone.

    • JhallWally says:

      Hi’Ya Beav. I totally agree with you… Nice post. This team is probably not going to make the playoffs as it is currently made up… And that starts with the manager. I think they have the pieces but the manager can’t put them together because he is in way over his head…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Well said enchanted….
        Donnie’s no fun, he’s just a dum-dum!!!
        But, your songs are…
        Can’t ya’ stick around and spin us a few…

        And we’ll have fun fun fun
        ‘Til they kick Donnie’s keister away
        (Fun fun fun ’til they kick Donnie’s keister away)

      • The Beav says:

        How are you my brother?

        Seems to me too the FO is lost in the minutia of the fringes rather than long term curing the ills. Even Ned knew you had to have starting depth. How could you look at the history of Anderson and McCarthy and not be concerned? In the event you lose one of your big 3, which we did, you’d have to have know at some point you’d lose your #4 or #5 or both during the season also. They’ve gotten lucky with Bolsinger, but I suspect that bubble will burst at some point in the next month or two also.

        Then you have Donnie, who basically blames everyone else but himself for the team’s shortcomings. Its injuries. Its umpires. Its travel. I know they have extended spring training in Arizona, but they have extended ST in Los Angeles too with Donnie running the show. How can he not settle on a line-up? He should know that first week of the season. How can you keep throwing a RH line-up out there against lefties when they don’t work? How can you keep bringing in Hatcher and Garcia in situations you know they can’t handle? Its the SOS all the time. Only one that expects different outcomes doing the same things over and over again is Donnie. The rest of us learned years ago.

        • trublu4ever says:

          You are right on the mark. You should see what happens to me in some of my Dodger Facebook groups, when I mention these sentiments….I’ve been accused of not being a true fan….and, one group threatens to kick me (or anyone else who thinks Donnie is a problem) out of the group…..like I give a damn! These people are the ones who know nothing about the game.

  26. Dodger4life says:

    To be honest…the way the team has been playing lately. I’ve been bouncing back and forth between watching the tube with my daughter and watching the game. Until last night. Last night I couldn’t get myself to turn the game back on…and she had me watching some girly thing…you know the kind of show that usually has me cheering for an upcoming commercial.

  27. crash24now says:

    The FO seems to be counting on Hector Olivera to be a huge addition to the team. Otherwise, why trade Uribe for Callaspo? Callaspo is a fill-in. I hope Olivera doesn’t turn out to be a dud for the first year, like Guerrero was.

    Olivera’s first game in Tulsa: 1-for-4 plus two walks. Not a bad start, but then again, it was against AA pitching.

  28. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I have to admit I can’t figure this team out. When I think they’re playing poorly and are on the verge of losing, they seem to fool me and pull out a miracle. Right now unexpectedly, at least to me, the Giants went into a slump and it makes it look like all is not lost but as many of you pointed out this team is having more difficulty beating the big teams as they ever had. I really can’t figure out how anyone can truly see where this team stands at the present moment.

  29. The Beav says:

    And another thing, how can you bring up and use guys like Santos, Thomas, and Huff, and not bring up Aardsma who is actually pitching well? I’d sure as hell prefer him to Hatcher, Yipi too. Its not like you don’t have plenty to DFA if you need the roster spot. Hell, maybe he could’ve been the bridge to the Jansen. Now he’s nothing.

  30. koufax1963 says:

    Alex Guerrero needs to find a place to play well. On the Cuban team he was an infielder. Last night he showed why he should not be an outfielder, certainly not on the job MLB learning. I go out on a limb here and state: Put AG at SS. With the eventual return of Puig and Crawford, along with heisey, there are still too many OFs. AG may not have the glove or arm of Rollins, but I like to see what dimished returns defensively would be to the offensive upgrade at the SS position. Yes, to be even more wild, put AG in lead-off spot and see what happens. Kiki / Heisey can play Left, until SVS returns. If J-roll can get his hitting together, and I really do support that, then he can return to the lead-off spot.
    Hope the BP got rest last night.

  31. crash24now says:

    Puig re-started in rehab last night and got a double in “A” league play. He may be back up with the Dodgers sometime next week (if his hamstring holds together). Then we should see an outfield of Joc in cf, Puig in rf, Ethier in lf. Maybe Guerrero is in lf against lefties. Maybe Guerrero gets some starts at third base.

    The bigger issue is pitching. We need a #2 type starter, so when we get to the playoffs, we’ve got 1A/1B/2. We also need a #3 or #4 type starter, so Anderson can be #5. Partly because who knows when Anderson will go down with an injury.

    Then there’s the bullpen, which looked good in April, but now is suspect. Yimi’s got the yips, Paco and Baez are on the DL. JP Howell can’t get the job done. Tru hates Hatcher (no really, Hatcher is not good). Liberatore is good. Ravin looks good, but it’s too early to tell. I agree with Beav, Aardsma was doing well, so give him a chance and see what happens.

    • koufax1963 says:

      Crash, totally agree on the pitching, but that is long term deal that FO is going to do in July, Dont ike the AG at SS idea, I see?

      • crash24now says:

        I don’t know about AG at SS. I haven’t ever seen it. The Dodgers only played him there for seven games in their minor league system. He had two errors in nineteen chances. I don’t have enough information to form an independent opinion on it.

        Yes, the pitching deal will not get done until July. I’d really like Cueto from Cincinatti. I’m psyched that the Reds are already six games below .500 – the lower they go, the more likely they are to part with Cueto.

        • koufax1963 says:

          Cueto and Cole Hammel. Gotta have someone to replace Greinke for next year.

          • crash24now says:

            I like it. Go to the playoffs with Kershaw/Greinke/Hamels/Cueto. I don’t even care what order they go in.

            But since the Dodgers (thanks to their stupid TV contract) have all the money in the world, why not sign Greinke to another contract?

  32. kahliforni says:

    Dodgers will make the playoffs because they will. And if and when they ever win another championship (God willing, I’ll still be alive and coherent), my life will change very little. But as a form of entertainment (I mean, what is summer without baseball??) what do I have here? A TV blackout and the most boring, pedestrian managerial mindset to ever “grace” Chavez Ravine. Nice job, Dodgers……….

  33. crash24now says:

    Howie Kendrick going on the DL with knee issue???

    • The Beav says:

      Shit, this team is worse than ever with injuries. Olivera better get his batting eye quickly. Hell, let Olivera play second and bring up Seager too to play third, At least it would add some interest. Right now I’d rather go out and stain my back deck.

      • crash24now says:

        Yep. Look out below, the non-existent offensive production is about to get worse. At least Kendrick was consistent, not much power, but got on base and moved the runners along. So who is coming up to take his place on the roster? Scott Schebler, who had a good spring, looking like a good prospect, but his batting average in OKC has been just .214. Yikes.

  34. crash24now says:

    Give me an f’ing break!

    Pederson CF
    Rollins SS
    Gonzalez 1B
    Grandal C
    Ethier RF
    Callaspo 3B
    Schebler LF
    Hernandez 2B
    Anderson P

    Where the hell do I start? Oh yeah, Rollins!

    When the hell did Rollins prove that he deserves to move back up in the lineup to #2? When he went 4-for-11 in Coors field, thereby improving his Mendoza+ batting average from .202 to .213? What?

    Why is Collapso on this team? Where is Guerrero? Why isn’t our most powerful bat in the lineup?

    What happened to Justin Turner? Why can’t he play 2B in Kendrick’s absence? No offense to Hernandez, but JFC!!!

    I don’t think I’ll bother to watch this game either. The offense will go as follows:

    Joc
    Out
    A-Gon
    Grandal
    Every Day Dre
    Out
    Out
    Out
    Out

    ugh!

    • crash24now says:

      why not?

      Pederson cf
      Turner 2b
      Gonzalez 1b
      Grandal c
      Guerrero 3b
      Ethier rf
      Hernandez lf
      Rollins ss
      Anderson p

      Why is Donniebaseballboysie giving this game away?

  35. crash24now says:

    Kendrick not going on the DL (fingers crossed that this stays true and he doesn’t need to, and that he’s back in the starting lineup soon).

  36. The Beav says:

    Schebler maybe a little showcasing for a trade deadline move?

  37. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I think the most surprising thing is Rollins back up to #2, I never expected that. I can see bringing up Schebler but why is he starting?

  38. Dodger4life says:

    No home-run in the first inning….so the boy’s no-score, no-runs!

  39. Dodger4life says:

    Nice Job Schebler!!

  40. Dodger4life says:

    They scored without the home-run that time…

  41. vl4eccjr says:

    Moving Rollins back to the 2 hole is working out well. . .

  42. trublu4ever says:

    I just knew Rollins would kill the inning!

  43. The Beav says:

    They had their chance to get to Martinez. Now he’s unhittable.

  44. Dodger4life says:

    I’ll bet Seagar can hit the ball past the infield…

  45. trublu4ever says:

    I saw that. As for hitting…..we are in a serious drought! We better score this inning….you know the master will make a pitching change.

  46. The Beav says:

    The inevitable beginning of the end…

  47. vl4eccjr says:

    WTF? This team forget the fundamentals?

  48. vl4eccjr says:

    Prime example why the Cards are the best in the NL. Good sound fundamentals. The Dodgers have come to rely on the long ball too much, and have lost their way. . .

  49. The Beav says:

    Isn’t it amazing how other teams can manufacture runs.

    I’m starting to think it better this team tanks completely and maybe we can start over next season with a new manager that may actually breathe some life into these stiffs.

    • vl4eccjr says:

      I’m starting to think maybe Donnie has some distasteful photos from someone in upper management.

  50. The Beav says:

    This is where we roll over the last two innings.

    Christ, Choate doesn’t even throw hard enough to break a pane of glass.

  51. Dodger4life says:

    They’re all just standing there taking that called third strike…while shaking their heads

  52. vl4eccjr says:

    P-A-T-H-E-T-I-C!!!

  53. trublu4ever says:

    Phooey!

  54. The Beav says:

    Three.

    Not even a murmur of protest.

    Wonder what Donnie’s excuse will be this time?

  55. Dodger4life says:

    If it weren’t for ol’ Dennis Martinez on the mound walking in a run for us…we’d a put up a big fat ZERO!!!

  56. JhallWally says:

    Crap!!! Another woeful effort by the offense.

  57. Dodger4life says:

    If it was upper management that told Donnie to move Rollins out of the 2 hole…I doubt he puts him back in there again?

  58. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Better luck tomorrow with Kershaw.

  59. crash24now says:

    The problem with tonight’s loss was that it was so damned predictable. I hope Donnie pulls his head out of his ass and gives Kershaw a decent lineup tomorrow.

  60. lbirken says:

    Is this really about lineups or the fact the Dodgers cannot hit decent pitching regardless of the lineup?

  61. griz says:

    I was thinking perhaps when Puig and the new Cuban gets here, they may breathe some life into this bunch. Other than that, last night’s game was pretty predictable. This is tiresome.

  62. griz says:

    Games like last night’s are becoming the norm. Last April we went to Phoenix and saw the Dodgers get shut out, a very weak performance. Right now I don’t know if I’d walk across the street.

  63. koufax1963 says:

    Hitting gone. of course the hitting was weak with last nights lineup anyhow, but defensive gaffs snuck in this game. I conclude a one or two run lead, cannot hold up with this bullpen. Tonight is the Dodgers chance to do something new: lose 4 in a row.
    Anderson pitched really well too, what a wasted effort, but the starting pitchers must say that a lot,….
    So much for the improved BP and defense….. Friedman get a clue, this series could occur in October, How do you sleep at night?

  64. oldbrooklynfan says:

    To me, what I saw was the Dodgers came very close to beating the Cardinals, last night. Something we can’t count on these days.

  65. The Beav says:

    Hope it doesn’t get lost in the FO that Matheny totally schooled Donnie in how to manage in the late innings.

    • trublu4ever says:

      ….and, so does Bochy…..and, so does every other manager in the Bigs!

      • crash24now says:

        Mattingly has learned nothing about managing. The only managing skill that Joe taught him was how to manage for a team that has a lot of money. Torre never managed a winner until he got to the Yankees.

  66. The Beav says:

    Another testimony to his ineptness… the FO ran the bad seeds (Hanley & Kemp) out of town for him and brought in character guys in Rollins and Kendrick.

    Hasn’t made any difference.

  67. crash24now says:

    Puig is back – sooner than I expected. Hopefully, he can help kick the offense back into gear. But tonight, with Donnie’s right-handed lineup, I dunno if he can carry the whole team. Just look:

    Pederson CF
    Heisey LF
    Puig RF
    Turner 1B
    Hernandez 2B
    Rollins SS
    Callaspo 3B
    Ellis C
    Kershaw P

    Good Grief. That’s worse than last night’s lineup.

    Joc
    out
    Puig
    JT
    out
    out
    out
    out
    out

    Double ugh. Six automatic outs. That’s worse than lineups in the past that featured Luiz Cruz and Elian Herrera.

    What did Guerrero do? I heard he’s not good defensively, especially in the outfield. But geez, he must have committed some heinous baseball crime to not be in the lineup against the lefty.

    What about Gonzalez? Lefty vs. Lefty? Garcia doesn’t even have good splits against lefties.

    As Dodgers Digest pointed out, Donnie doesn’t make roster decisions. But he damn sure makes out the lineup, and lately he has been doing a piss poor job of it. How about:

    Pederson cf
    Puig rf
    Gonzalez 1b
    Turner 3b
    Grandal c
    Guerrero lf
    Hernandez 2b
    Rollins ss
    Kershaw p

    I don’t think making out the lineup is so difficult. Yes, I do blame Donnie for making out poor lineups. I blame him for losing the game last night due to a poor lineup. I predict a crappy offensive production tonight due to a poor lineup. Gonzalez is better than Gallaspo. Guerrero is better than Heisey. Grandal is better than Ellis. It’s not hard.

    • The Beav says:

      This line-up is a poor friggin joke. And he’s going to trot it out against the best team in the NL.

      Not only that, how many times has he tried a RH line-up against a lefty and how many has it worked – none. The only one that expects something different is Donnie.

      And a slugging righty Guerrero being left out of the line-up when you’re trying to load righties into it is incomprehensible. Heisey? Really? He’s lead us to so many wins I can hardly count them.

      I may have to listen tonight just to catch Garcia’s perfect game.

  68. trublu4ever says:

    This lineup might be Donnie’s last stand!

  69. kahliforni says:

    Donnie may not do much, but LOVES defensive shifts and all-righty or all-lefty batting orders. Nt sure why, but I can’t think of a successful manager, past or present, who utilized such gimmicks. Play your best players and leave them in their normal defensive alignments. You’re welcome, Donnie.

  70. crash24now says:

    I saw Joe Torre on TV at the Belmont Stakes. I barely stopped myself from throwing a brick through the TV.

  71. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Well, we have company in first place with the Giants.

  72. The Beav says:

    I think we have the best bench in baseball tonight.

    Andre. Check. Adrian. Check. Yasmani. Check. Alex. Check. Howie. Check.

    I don’t think the cards need any help trying to beat the boys, but by god, Donnie’s going to give it to them anyway.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Also, what happens to his strategy if their pitcher gets injured? A right handed thrower comes in and we have a lineup like this…will Donnie put all the lefties in there? Of course not!

  73. The Beav says:

    Heisey does his best Rollins impersonation.

  74. The Beav says:

    Rollins. What a hitter.

  75. lbirken says:

    The Dodgers struggle against lefties no matter who is in the lineup. Lately, they struggle against.Amy decent pitcher.

  76. The Beav says:

    Birk, Donnie had an opportunity to put a pretty deep line-up out there and instead opts to put Heisey (in the 2-hole none-the-less), Ellis and Calaspo out theere. Then he bats Turner 4th, Hernandez 5th and Rollins 6th. That’s just plain incompetence.

  77. trublu4ever says:

    Wow….Heisey’s a masher! 🙂

  78. The Beav says:

    I see our latest savior Olivera K’d three times last night at AA, and I didn’t even see his name in the box score tonight.

  79. trublu4ever says:

    Surprise, surprise….another DP!

  80. The Beav says:

    Rollins doing what he does best.

    I don’t care where you put him in the line-up, outs follow him like a dark cloud.

  81. Dodger4life says:

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz…

  82. colliethec says:

    I don’t recall ever being so frustrated at a team. Between Donnie’s lack of running a team – the FO making poor deals (one of them keeping Donnie) – watching players that look as if they are going through the motions.

    What’s it going to take for a change with this team?

    It’s funny how Tru mentioned her FB arguments. I’ve had them as well. People telling me that I expect so much – that the Dodgers have a great record (When they were 5 games up) and are in 1st.

    What these dumba$$es don’t realize is the long run of the problems and when you throw away games and make mistakes (Donnie’s managing) in May & June – they will affect you in September.

    To continue to throw out this righty lineup whenever we face a lefty pitcher is annoying. I wonder in during the Allstar Game if Adrian makes it and there is a lefty starter that Boche will pull him so he doesn’t have to face the lefty.

    Look at the Cards – they are playing their regulars vs Kersh because they are their regulars. It might not be working for them right now but it is an example of how other guys manage (& it’s worked in the past).

    Donnie has to go.

  83. oldbrooklynfan says:

    It’s good to break the ice.

  84. colliethec says:

    Yes Puig!! Against the Cards & with a bat flip! I’m sure their happy!

    & now JT!!!!

  85. The Beav says:

    Two runs of course means we’ll see this line-up again next lefty.

  86. The Beav says:

    Good time to take Kersh out seeing as how he’s only throwing a 1-hitter.

  87. The Beav says:

    Excellent AB by AGon.

  88. trublu4ever says:

    Whew!

  89. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Now that’s Kershaw…..Nice save by Kenley

  90. The Beav says:

    Good thing Kersh can pitch again. No one should’ve had to have that line-up behind them.

  91. koufax1963 says:

    Pinch myself, Kershaw throws a one hitter, Heisey, Puig and Turner hit in succession to score two, and we HBP carpenter. Wonderful!
    All despite Donnie.

  92. Dodger4life says:

    We have a different lineup today

    Pederson CF
    Puig RF
    Gonzalez 1B
    Tom Jones 2B
    Humperdinck LF
    Turner 3B
    Grandal C
    Rollins SS
    Greinke P

    • Dodger4life says:

      If they can’t score with Gonzalez, Jones and Humperdinck in the middle…I don’t know what to say!!

      • Dodger4life says:

        Close enough….
        .
        Pederson CF
        Puig RF
        Gonzalez 1B
        Turner Jones 3B
        Andre Humperdinck LF
        Grandal C
        Hernandez 2B
        Rollins SS
        Greinke P

  93. crash24now says:

    Wonder what Guerrero did to get his butt kicked back onto the bench. He hasn’t started in three games. Did he bite off Donnie’s ear?

    • Dodger4life says:

      You have to admit his defense is just terrible…Bad-A** bat, but terrible defense. At least his outfield defense. I’m guessing he’s a notch below everyone else in the infield too?

    • The Beav says:

      Only one in the world that thinks Turner is a clean-up hitter is Donnie. Grandal, Gonzales, even Dre would be better choices.

      • Dodger4life says:

        But now he’s…

        TURNER JONES
        .
        With a home-run dance


        .
        He gonna score and he gonna score big!!

        • Dodger4life says:

          The Andre Humperdinck ‘home-run dance is even better, but i can’t figure out how to post it!

          • Dodger4life says:

            I can’t be negative all the time enchanted….gotta have a little faith and fun!!!

    • trublu4ever says:

      I think Alex has proven to be a great pinch hitter….everyday, not so much. And, as was noted, his defense is not quite up to snuff. But, what do I know? I’m just a fan and observer.

  94. crash24now says:

    Way to go Justin!

    I miss Vin. These ESPN guys are idiots.

  95. The Beav says:

    I see Olivera’s doing well in AA. 0-3 (now batting .100) and made 2 errors at 2B. They might want to rethink that month’s timeframe to be ML ready.

  96. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Nice having a lead again.

  97. Dodger4life says:

    Dang-it! Rollins hit the ball too hard!! They nailed Ethier at home! He didn’t need to hit it that hard to get through that gigantic hole.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Sorry everyone…I’m in one those moods…It’s been one of those days. I wanna get drunk, but I don’t wanna break my sobriety just yet… Rollins did hit the ball too hard though!!

  98. oldbrooklynfan says:

    It looks like we got another tough one here.

  99. The Beav says:

    This line-up should be able to produce more than 2 runs.

  100. vl4eccjr says:

    Snake Bit!!

  101. oldbrooklynfan says:

    That didn’t take long.

  102. The Beav says:

    Shocking. Team can’t score. Bullpen gives it away.

    This team needs change just for changes sake. Lets start with the manager.

  103. vl4eccjr says:

    Uno.

  104. vl4eccjr says:

    Dos.

  105. vl4eccjr says:

    Tres.
    .
    .
    ADIOS!!!

  106. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Cards are a tough team to beat.

  107. Dodger4life says:

    Fire the guy’s that won’t fire Donnie!!!

  108. koufax1963 says:

    I remember Libertore coming in the 8th in Colorado and doing well, then brought on for the 9th, did not do well.
    I guess Donnie doesn’t remember that!

  109. kahliforni says:

    Still no bridge to Jansen. Donnie, Rick and Andrew need to figure it out.

  110. The Beav says:

    IF this team makes it to the playoffs (SD has still to put on a run that I think they’re capable of), is there any doubt it gets bounced again?

    If Donnie would actually ESTABLISH a bridge to Kenley and stick with it, then maybe people in the BP would know what’s expected of them before they come to the ballpark. When the phone rings now no one knows who’s getting up nor when nor why. Is it Yimi? Is it Hatcher? is it Nicasio? Who TF knows? It appears to be whatever “feeling” Donnie has at the time.

    I don’t think anyone in the line-up knows their roll either except maybe AGon, and he should be batting 4th always.

    Its not rocket science. 29 other managers would drool to have the personnel we have. I’d have to say at least 20 of them would have this club playing better ball.

    • trublu4ever says:

      That’s for sure! And, I knew when Zack came out, we were going to lose. Another good game for him and nothing to show for it….I’d be surprised if he doesn’t opt out of his contract…which would be a sad day for Dodger fans.

      • crash24now says:

        I think Zack must have been pretty ticked off. He pitched really well, and must have been pissed to see a probable team win go down in flames.

  111. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Right now the Cards have the upper hand. Obviously they have a team that is far superior to that of the Dodgers but I feel that someday things will change and we’ll start dominating them. We just have to be patient.

  112. griz says:

    I don’t think you can lay this crap all on Donnie. He, of course, is going to take the fall if this continues, but these guys suck. At least right now they do. You have a guy here and there doing the job, but over all this is crap, hardly a team at all. To get a win, maybe, the starter must pitch 8-9 shut out innings and hope for the best. I turned off the game after those pathetic at bats in the eighth.
    I hate to admit that, but I did. Didn’t take a mental giant to see where this game was going.

    • The Beav says:

      I agree that the players need to take their fair share of the blame, but the last few years we’ve had a “collection of talent.” This year through umpteen personnel moves we have a “functioning baseball club.” Notice any difference? I don’t.

      Same nonsensical line-ups. Same types of bullpen choices. Same questionable moves. Same lack of motivation.

      They went out and got solid gloves for the infield. They got rid of “troublemakers” Hanley and Matt. They built a deep bench. They got a catcher who can hit. Starting pitching is thin, but holding up. What else can you possibly do for Donnie to win? For Pete’s sake we’re down to blaming umpires.

      Somebody needs to hold this team by its nose and kick it in its collective arse. If the players won’t step up and do it on their own, then they need a manager who will. This team’s got the talent to go all the way. That’s what’s frustrating. But unless they have someone driving the train that knows what they’re doing, its going to be like the bumper cars we have now.

  113. Dodger4life says:

    This teams play has me caring less and less each and everyday…at least for the moment. It’s like I’m stuck in the funk with them.
    .

    .
    Metal Giant Monday!!!

  114. crash24now says:

    Somehow we are still in first place. Let’s beat up on the Snakes.

Leave a Reply

