Welcome to October

October 1, 2011

October is that magical month for baseball fans from sea to shining sea, the time reverently referred to as the post-season.  It is the dream of all players from Little League to the MLB to play as many games in October as possible, hopefully ending up winning the World Series.  Reggie Jackson even got his nickname “Mr. October” because of his performances in the tenth month.

I was born on October 1 and ever since I was in Little League, I thought I shared a birthday with another of my Dodger favorites, Maury Wills.  Alas, while researching other Oct. 1 birthdays, I found out that he was actually born on October 2.  What a let down!  For almost 50 years I thought Maury and I shared a cosmic connection.

On the other hand, I just found out that a couple of other baseball greats also have a birthday today: Mark McGuire and Rod Carew.  Of course our peanut farmer president Jimmy Carter was also born on 10-1.  And I can’t think of a better way to celebrate than being in a sandwich with Stella Stevens and Julie Andrews on either side.  We October 1sters have to hang together. 🙂

Actually my best birthday gift would have been the Dodgers getting ready to start the NLDS against the Brewers today instead of writing another nonsense post.  Since that was not to be, I will be rooting for Kirk Gibson to continue his terrific leadership all the way to the WS.  His intensity got the Dodgers to October in 1988 and he is doing the same for the D’backs this year.

So sit back, crank up the Rocktober FM station, kick back with an Octoberfest brew, and enjoy the wild ride that only the month of October can provide.