Dodgers Phillies

phanatic

Dodgers will be playing the worst team in the MLB at home.  Let’s see if we can win the four game series.  First game features a bullpen start for the Dodgers.  Second game has Chad Billingsley starting for the Phillies.  Maybe the Phillies can drop off Cole Hamels while they are in town.

133 Responses to Dodgers Phillies

  1. crash24now says:

    Lineup

    Joc cf
    Howie 2b
    Justin 3b
    Adrian 1b
    Yasmani c
    Yasiel rf
    Andre lf
    Yimi p
    Jimmy ss

  2. messagebear says:

    I’d be very glad to give the Phils Puig in exchange for leaving Hamels with us. But then that deal could have been made at the beginning of the season if I had anything to do with it – I was willing to do it back then.

    • kahliforni says:

      bear, glad you’re still checking in. What would we do without your indignation at Guggenheim world.

    • kahliforni says:

      bear, if it means anything to you, they edited the above entry by me… I did, however, use the controversial word, “Friedman.”

      • The Beav says:

        The question is, why are we getting censured and redacted at all? We haven’t been in the last 4 years.

        • kahliforni says:

          It might just be “ghosts in the machine.” I mean, honestly, what was omitted from my post was G rated.

          • The Beav says:

            The other day when I went back in to edit a misspelling, I saw that my unedited comment had “been approved” by somebody I’d never heard of. Might check that out. Since when do we have a moderator on this site?

  3. trublu4ever says:

    I find it hard to believe there is nobody in our minor league system qualified to start one game! So, we will blow out our entire BP trying to beat a lousy team!!!

  4. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Phillies may have the worse record but we still have to play the games. You never know with these games.

  5. The Beav says:

    I’ve finally reached a profound conclusion.

    This year’s team sucks.

  6. 32and53fan says:

    I never heard of Surcamp.

  7. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Pretty wild game, not going our way.

  8. vl4eccjr says:

    Okedoke!
    Can we end the Surkamp experiment now please?

  9. nedisajerk says:

    Another Ex Giants pitcher Surkamp.

  10. nedisajerk says:

    Grandal

  11. vl4eccjr says:

    Vagiants lost again.

  12. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Mets beat the Giants.

  13. vl4eccjr says:

    Howie sure has come around lately.

  14. The Beav says:

    Baez is a one trick pony. Might help if he went down and worked on a couple offspeed pitches.

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Baez….phooey!

  16. The Beav says:

    Donnie planning on using starters if the game goes into extras?

  17. crash24now says:

    Rollins having a decent game against his former team. I wonder who will win this football game?

  18. kahliforni says:

    Hey, that got through!!!!!!!!!

  19. trublu4ever says:

    Hmmm….let’s see if our amazing bull pen can hold a 3 run lead.

  20. kahliforni says:

    Memo to Big Brother. WHO IS MONITORING THIS SITE?

  21. 32and53fan says:

    Jansen is not doing too well. KK and RM say his velocity is way down (89-91) and cutters are flat. It is taking him a while (10-12 pitches) to lock in.

  22. crash24now says:

    Phillies are phucked. Testing testing

  23. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Well that’s that.

  24. beast07 says:

    Goodbye to the Grateful Dead. Back in 1976 I was so convinced the Dead would play Golden Gate Park on July 4, for the bicentennial, that my friends and I trekked up there. They were in Philly.

  25. kahliforni says:

    I was using an old computer and bizarre things started to happen. First my screen name changed and then the reblog!?!?!?!?

  26. The Beav says:

    Everyone – try this and see what you get:

    Go to edit your comment and you’ll get this:

    COMMENT HISTORY
    8 Hours Ago Akismet cleared this comment.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I have the solution to Akismet….but I don’t want to break everyone’s sudden spirited demeanor…

      • Dodger4life says:

        It looks like Akismet got the bear….

        • Dodger4life says:

          If you hover over the My Sites with your cursor, you can see WP Admin. If you click on that you can see a section with Akismet showing comments currently being blocked. Akismet is a plug-in that deciphers spam…and can be disabled.

          • The Beav says:

            Do we each have to disable it or does the blog owner have to do it?

          • Dodger4life says:

            It is done in a file…so I’m guessing the blog owner has to do it. On the other hand though I found this…
            .
            You can’t disable Akismet at WordPress.com. Your blog would be overwhelmed by spammers if you did.

            But you don’t need to disable it to allow your readers to post comments without your intervention. I think what you’re looking for is the “Comment author must have a previously approved comment” checkbox on your Settings / Discussion tab

          • The Beav says:

            So again that’s something the site owner would need to do correct?

            How did this get on here in the first place? It never was before.

          • Dodger4life says:

            I believe the site owner needs to do it… yes! I found nothing under the settings control. I would guess Akismet has been updated recently, or your personal blog setting has been changed???

          • The Beav says:

            Not that I know of, but I’m no computer whiz, so who the h knows?

        • trublu4ever says:

          I saw Bear’s ….. and, you are right….they got him!

  27. griz says:

    Apparently that’s it for the Dead. Some of the locals got lucky with that lottery and went to all the Chicago shows, but I haven’t heard any reports. The remaining band members will keep that music alive in one form or another.

  28. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I didn’t get to bed until after 2:30 ET this morning, but I was more awake than normal when I got up. I don’t know if it was the 5 game lead or what. But I was more sprier than usual.

  29. messagebear says:

    Fortunately our select group has been around here long enough (and uncensored) for everyone to know how I feel about the Guggenheims and a few other *******, so I’ll have to be content with some silent cussing on this blog. After all, I do that in the presence of my wife, so it isn’t like I don’t know how to hold a civilized conversation. But, just to warn the censor – don’t let down your guard too much, because I’ve been known to slip one in now and then.

  30. JhallWally says:

    Dodgers against their old friend Bill’z… I hope we torch him tonight……

    • crash24now says:

      Billz has had a tough go of it coming off his TJ surgery. In fact, outside of Cole Hamels, the Phillies pitching staff is damn bad.

  31. koufax1963 says:

    Phuck Five UP! the Gnats are just floudering. OK censor do I have to mention dodger ownership to get plucked?
    I like how the Dodgers just did not give up last night. Waiting for that deal that sends a extra OF somewhere for some GOOD pitching.

  32. crash24now says:

    We definitely need the pitching help. We’ll have an extra outfielder when Crawford is back, which will be soon.

  33. crash24now says:

    Lineup

    Joc
    Howie
    Justin
    Adrian
    Yasmani
    Yasiel
    Every Day Dre
    Jimmy
    Brett

  34. crash24now says:

    Expanded Bullpen 2015 Style

    Surkamp sent down, Ian Thomas brought back up

  35. oldbrooklynfan says:

    It’ll be tough watching Billz in a Phillie uniform.

  36. vl4eccjr says:

    Shaky start at best for Anderson. . .

  37. Dodger4life says:

    Joc certainly wasn’t censored!

  38. Dodger4life says:

    Turner was caught day-dreaming…

  39. Dodger4life says:

    Does Bills still give up a shitload of runs in the 6th?? ‘Cause the Boy’s are gonna need some help tonight!

  40. trublu4ever says:

    This game is a real stinkeroo!

  41. vl4eccjr says:

    Dodgers pitching is making this cellar dweller team look too good. 😦

  42. vl4eccjr says:

    Finally on the board!

  43. lbirken says:

    I’m still worn from last night’s game. I was there to get my Wills bobble head and saw a long, long game between two teams that struggle to score runs. Obviously not a pitcher’s dual. I too wondered how is it possible the Dodgers have no one in the minors available to start a game.

    But at least last night the offense showed some life, unlike so far tonight facing a former Dodger who has struggled trying to make a comeback. He has made it look easy. Too easy.

  44. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Billingsley pitched a gem. He was his “real” old self.

  45. Dodger4life says:

    I doubt Miss Chiquita could get the Rally Banana to rise to the occasion tonight!!

  46. kahliforni says:

    Maybe this guy, Billingsley, whoever he is, is available in a trade?

  47. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Phils can’t lose them all.

  48. griz says:

    Hey! Maybe we could get Billingsley and Dan Haren back!
    Whataya say, Friedman?
    *
    Oh well, another weak effort, just trundling along. Still, I guess I like it that Billingsley had a good outing. The way the rest of my day went, it was fitting it was against the Dodgers.

  49. The Beav says:

    This team, like all of Ned’s teams has talent, but no character, no killer attitude, no take no prisoner mentality. And the one constant across the board all these years is Donnie/JoJo. Its obvious this team has talent, so why don’t they show it on a consistent basis? Why don’t they look prepared to play EVERY DAY? I really think players/teams adopt the personality of their manager. I don’t think you can look at this team and say they haven’t adopted the blase, bland, we can always get ’em tomorrow demeanor of theirs. You can’t fire all 25 players. A change at manager is long overdue.

  50. messagebear says:

    The venerable Guggenheim organization must indeed be perplexed and astounded by how little can be achieved with a near $300 million payroll on a baseball field, given just the example of last night’s ballgame. That doesn’t even begin to take into account the accomplished brain trust in the front office that is engaged in putting together the best balanced club at each position. Albeit the club is managed by someone often called the wrong end of a horse, you would expect better and more consistent results on the playing field for that kind of money. Here this juggernaut of the major leagues was up against the worst team in the game, and Poof, the game would have been better if conducted at Disneyland (or managed by Mickey Mouse). Even in the side category of batters hit by pitch, the opponents got in three HBP’s without a single attempt at retaliation. Well, if such example were to continue much longer, I would expect a Frank McCourt bobble-head promotional event in the offing. After all, the fans will pack the stadium no matter what.

    (This post has been vetted by Good Housekeeping and the Oxyclean “Better World Through Genteel Language” Foundation)

  51. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I think this start by Kershaw will probably weigh heavily on whether he wins the final vote, especially when it comes from non Dodger fans. I think his slow start has contributed to the fact that he wasn’t selected by his peers. He just hasn’t been Kershaw-like this year.

    • crash24now says:

      After the Royals almost got eight position players to start the All Star Game, I’m not that enthused about the whole fan voting thing. Somebody has rigged the system.

      In related news, United Airlines had a computer glitch this morning. In re-related news, the New York Stock Exchange has a computer glitch currently.

  52. crash24now says:

    Somehow I missed this news that Arruebarrenabarrenaarrue is back with the Dodgers organization. He is currently playing for the Rancho Cucamonga team.

    http://www.truebluela.com/2015/6/19/8817061/erisbel-arruebarrena-return-suspension-dodgers?_ga=1.87736016.957132717.1424218015

  53. crash24now says:

    Tonight’s game features Kershaw versus a rookie Phillies left hander. Here comes the all-righty lineup. Kershaw will have to throw a shutout to win. Projected lineup:

    Hernandez ss
    Kendrick 2b
    Turner 1b
    Puig cf
    Van Slyke rf
    Guerrero lf
    Callaspo 3b
    Ellis c
    Kershaw p

    Just putting it out there so it won’t happen. I don’t see a reason to not play Joc in center field every day, especially given his defense. He doesn’t need to lead off.

  54. lbirken says:

    I agree tonight’s start by Kershaw is important but not for All Star voting. The Dodgers need to give the bullpen some rest and hopefully the offense can provide enough run support to take some pressure off Clayton.

    I do find the comments about Donnie’s personality interesting and there may be something to the idea that a team mirrors its manager in some ways. The one thing I remember about Tommy Lasorda is his strong desire to win and how he hated to lose. I am sure Donnie hates to lose but one would never know it. We just do not know for sure what happens behind the scenes.

    As for the All Star game, the selection process has been a joke for years and the Internet voting method has just made things worse. There are too many players selected making the manager’s job difficult and yet the outcome has significance to the teams that make it to the World Series. I don’t see the voting process changing but I do hope the commissioner will do one of the following: either get rid of the reward of the W.S. home field advantage for the winning team, or reduce the number of players selected (hopefully assuring only the best of the best make it and to reduce lineup changes) so the game becomes more like a regular game.

    I might also add I do not blame the Dodgers for not resigning Billingsley, at least not at what he would have made had the Dodgers picked up Chad’s option. He says a number of teams had interest in him but not the Dodgers. Obviously the Dodgers are not afraid to sign a pitcher with a history of injury problems. The fact Bills pitched well against the Dodgers just makes this more of a story.

  55. messagebear says:

    So now I can’t even say something innocuous like Kershaw doesn’t deserve to be in the all-star game?

    I’m done with this blog.

    • The Beav says:

      I can’t believe that your post got dropped. As a matter of fact, I don’t believe Kershaw belongs in this year’s ASG either – we’ll see if the censor deletes my opinion as well. If that’s the case, this blog needs to find a new format. A statement like that should be acceptable even on the Dodgers’ Facebook page, which I’ve never bothered to look at.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Akismet isn’t the culprit on many of these removals!!

  56. griz says:

    I’m afraid I have to admit to voting a bunch of times for Kershaw to be the last player added to the ASG roster. To be honest, I felt rather foolish sitting here voting over and over. But what the hell. He’s our guy. If he doesn’t make, oh well, there are others just as deserving.

  57. Dodger4life says:

    I agree that Kershaw doesn’t deserve an All-Star bid this season.
    .
    Personally, I could care less about the game altogether…

  58. kahliforni says:

    I can’t remember this blog ever having such censorship issues. Same with Inside the Dodgers. Our shrinking numbers make it even more head-scratching. I mean, how many people really access this blog? Maybe 20? As for today’s topics, no, Kershaw is undeserving to be an All-Star in 2015, no, this team doesn’t appear very motivated.

  59. crash24now says:

    More bullpen rotations (between MLB and AAA):

    Ian Thomas, Yimi Garcia out

    Josh Ravin, Tsao in

  60. crash24now says:

    Lineup – Donnie avoids all righty lineup

    Puig RF
    Kendrick 2B
    Turner 3B
    Gonzalez 1B
    Van Slyke LF
    Pederson CF
    Rollins SS
    Ellis C
    Kershaw P

  61. trublu4ever says:

    I see Joc is in the HR Derby……if he uses Surkamp as his thrower, he may win this thing!

  62. kahliforni says:

    OK, I mentioned that a certain person “is not my favorite manager” (exact words) and it was deleted. This is getting ridiculous. What is this, the “company line” blog?

  63. kahliforni says:

    What the hell-o do we do now??!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! I feel I’m being violated.

  64. crash24now says:

    It’s pretty easy to go behind the scenes and move my comment to trash, and then permanently delete it. Makes me wonder if someone is deleting our comments. I wouldn’t know how to trace the deleting activity so we can see who is doing it.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Try creating a new thread with something provocative in it?

      • Dodger4life says:

        Just thinking that Akismet is a comment moderator and not a thread moderator???

      • The Beav says:

        Think if you look up Bear’s name is on my earlier post and avatar, and mine is on Bears response to me. Obviously someone’s gotten into the workings of this blog and is screwing around.

        • Dodger4life says:

          The blog owner is the person who needs to do some investigating…I would think…

          • trublu4ever says:

            Just a thought….what if we moved our group to Facebook? You and 32and53fan could be administrators…..we could be a closed group and make sure the people are Dodger fans. The groups on Facebook seem to let language fly 🙂

  65. griz says:

    Is this like Skynet? Have the machines taken over?

  66. kahliforni says:

    Maybe we should just reverse everything, as in, Donnie is one great manager, this is one motivated ball club, and there’s nothing I would do to change anything. The Dodgers have reached perfection.

  67. koufax1963 says:

    why would I expect a hit with the bases loaded? Just Neverland!

  68. lbirken says:

    I don’t know about censorship on this blog but it would be nice if we could find a way to get more people participating and sharing ideas. Not sure about Facebook although I have no experience with a closed group. I find a lot of people on Facebook have similar opinions but a lot of folks clearly have no idea what they are talking about and having a back and forth discussion is not easy.

  69. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Good to see AJ get on the HR board.

  70. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Rollins and Ellis are really having a good time in the early going.

  71. vl4eccjr says:

    Kersh is in fine form tonight.

  72. nedisajerk says:

    Donny better let Kershaw finish this game.

  73. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Now that’s the Kershaw we all want to see.

  74. trublu4ever says:

    Yes…a solid win for the Kid!

  75. vl4eccjr says:

    Only one word can describe Kershaw tonight.
    .
    OUTFUCKINGSTANDING!!!

  76. JhallWally says:

    Personally, I tend to agree with Bear and Birk and Beav… I hope Kersh gets snubbed. I do think he deserves to be in the AS game. But, if he gets shunned, I think it will motivate him beyond belief.. I’d like to see him get the extra rest and come out pissed for the second half….

  77. crash24now says:

    After Rollins’ game last night, and the fact that Corey Seager’s bat has cooled down in AAA, perhaps Seager won’t be up until late August. I wonder if the Dodgers would have both Seager and Rollins on the playoff roster. Too early to be wondering about such things, perhaps.

  78. crash24now says:

    Scouting report on Severino Gonzalez – 22 year old right hander. Gives up a ton of hits, both in AAA and MLB. Doesn’t walk many batters.

  79. crash24now says:

    just noticed that d-backs are tied with G’nats for second place

Leave a Reply

