Marlins Series

image

The Dodgers open up a three game series tonight against the Miami Marlins.  The Dodger’s ace pitcher, Cla Zack Grienke,  will face the Marlins with their league leading in WAR star, Dee Gordon.

301 Responses to Marlins Series

  1. crash24now says:

    Greinke has been doing great this year. He’ll be rewarded with a fat contract this winter. I wonder with which team?

    • trublu4ever says:

      I hope it’s our team. He looks great in a Dodger uniform. Right now, I’m wondering if Ryu is our latest edition of Billz?!

      • crash24now says:

        I hope not. But it’s starting to look that way. Very effective when healthy, injuries here and there, leading up to an injury with a long time out.

        • Dodger4life says:

          Ryu showed up early to start working out this year too. Funny how the doctors claim they can’t find any noticeable damage. I hope they are right? Ryu is a stud and would be a nice guy to have around in the second half and beyond.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    To whom it may concern: Clayton is still the ace! Not that Greinke can’t fill the role though!!!

    • trublu4ever says:

      I agree. Everyone is ragging on Kersh but, I think he will be fine….I like the idea of Clayton & Zach as a one-two punch!

      • crash24now says:

        Totally agree with both of you. But I’d just like to appreciate the fact that Greinke has been nails this year – every single start!

        April 7 – 6 IP, 3 on base
        April 12 – 7 IP, 5 on base
        April 18 – 6 2/3 IP, 7 on base, 1 HR
        April 24 – 7 IP, 7 on base
        April 29 – 6 IP, 8 on base, 1 HR
        May 5 – 7 2/3 IP, 4 on base

        Mr. Consistency!

  3. crash24now says:

    Speaking of Mr. Consistency – DonnieBoy did it again – look who is #2! OBP:

    .432 Pederson CF
    .262 Rollins SS
    .358 Kendrick 2B
    .438 Gonzalez 1B
    .386 Turner 3B
    .411 Grandal C
    .398 Ethier RF
    .367 Van Slyke LF
    .125 Greinke P

  4. crash24now says:

    ….and….OBP vs. Koehler:

    n/a Pederson
    .200 Rollins
    n/a Kendrick
    .400 Gonzalez
    .833 Turner
    1.000 Grandal
    .125 Ethier
    .500 Van Slyke
    n/a Greinke

  5. crash24now says:

    Rollins’ OBP by month, including yesterday’s 3 times on base:

    April .280
    May .212

  6. Dodger4life says:

    Having MLB’s second best win percentage at .662, has afforded Donnie the luxury of being patient with Rollins. Right , or wrong, it’s time for J-Roll to get it on!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Donnie’s unwillingness to drop Rollins lower in the order, factored with Jimmy’s inability to get on base at a higher clip, goes against the “Brain Trust Boy’s” belief in not paying for yesterday’s production, but the production ahead of you!

  7. colliethec says:

    Good evening all! Back home and out of LA area so now I can actually watch the Boys in Blue! However I have a game tonight at 7:10 myself so I’ll miss the 1st 7 or so innings.

    I would agree – time to move Rollins down in the order.

    My main gripe continues to be with the training staff – specifically Conte. He again has shown his stupidity by having Puig do his rehab during a wet cold night only 2 weeks into his DL stint.

    How many times have we seen a player get injured and be day to day for a week – then play a game and be out for another 5 then play a game be out for a couple only to finally be DL’d.

    ConteCo don’t seem to have a clue.

  8. colliethec says:

    Totally agreed Crash. I’d love to compile a list of his failures and send that into the brain trust. I don’t see how he continues to keep his job. Every year it’s the same thing.

    I understand injuries happen but he seems to fail often with diagnosing them – treating them – rehabbing them – in addition he seems to have problems when players are signed as free agents as he okays physicals for damaged goods. Schmidt as you mentioned – Bill Mueller I believe was also under his watch – A. Jones. I mean we signed a guy who was in the winter league and having vision problems so badly that he stopped playing and ended up getting eye surgery. If the DMV would fail the guy for a drivers license (I’m not saying they did – but they probably would of) then why wouldn’t the training staff know that there was an issue?

    Rollins still batting #2 makes me shake my head — having Conte still around makes me bang my head on the wall.

  9. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Well with all the bad managing we’re still in first place in our division and our best starting pitcher, so far this year, is pitching tonight.
    GO DODGERS!!!!

  10. trublu4ever says:

    I see Rollins is still stinking up the place!

  11. trublu4ever says:

    Howie! Let’s bring him home!

  12. The Beav says:

    Can Rollins get any more useless?

    • trublu4ever says:

      What surprises me is the fact the front office hasn’t told Donnie to MOVE HIS ASS DOWN IN THE LINEUP!!!!!!

  13. The Beav says:

    Only way Rollins ever moves down the line-up is if he mans-up and tells Donnie he can’t handle the top of the order any more.

  14. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Dodgers draw first blood.

  15. The Beav says:

    Clock striking midnight on Dre?

  16. lbirken says:

    My guess is the front office has considered Rollins lack of offensive production. Donnie keeps being asked about it by the media so you can be sure it has been discussed. The guy is a veteran and I have to assume management believes he will turn things around and they do not want to do anything to further erode his confidence. The lack of production is a concern but at least so far it has not really hurt the team all that much. Would he really do any better at #8?

  17. lbirken says:

    What a treat it is to watch Greinke, and not just his pitching. He can handle a bat and fields his position as well as anyone. He handles the media well and gives honest answers. I do hope he stays with the Dodgers after this season.

  18. trublu4ever says:

    Well, that sucked!

  19. The Beav says:

    As it is, Joc still doesn’t have any protection in the line-up. First the pitcher, now Rollins.

  20. The Beav says:

    Greinke’s performing surgery tonight.

  21. oldbrooklynfan says:

    No sooner then Ozuna, it’s a tie game.

  22. vl4eccjr says:

    Crapola!
    That base running boo boo by Joc is coming back to bite. . .

  23. vl4eccjr says:

    WHEW!!!

  24. trublu4ever says:

    Whew!

  25. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Whew!! What a throw by SVS.

  26. The Beav says:

    Whole damn line-up is sleepwalking tonight.

  27. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Joc!

  28. oldbrooklynfan says:

    WTG…JOC

  29. vl4eccjr says:

    Joc atones for his boo boo. . .;-)

  30. lbirken says:

    Joc’s rbi single could just as easily been the third out if the pitcher has been able to get his glove on the ball. Just shows how tough this game has been. There have been some terrific defensive plays, good pitching and some close plays. And I do have to mention Joc’s questionable base running. He needs to spend some time learning how to slide, that is for sure. He was lucky not to have hurt himself.

  31. trublu4ever says:

    Some girls have all the luck….Dre just landed in her lap 🙂

  32. trublu4ever says:

    Come on Yimi…shut ’em down…1,2,3!

  33. colliethec says:

    Good news – the Dodgers have announced that Kenley should be activated this Saturday.

  34. vl4eccjr says:

    Ruh Roh!!

  35. trublu4ever says:

    Well, shit Yimi!

  36. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I was hoping that wouldn’t happen.

  37. lbirken says:

    Yimi has been so good but somehow the walk set the tone for what happened next.

  38. vl4eccjr says:

    Yimi no bueno tonight. 😦

  39. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I guess Yimi was due for a bad outing.

  40. vl4eccjr says:

    Could have been much worse.
    Let’s hope they can do it in a walk off. . .

  41. Dodger4life says:

    Rally Bat Time!!

  42. vl4eccjr says:

    YESSS!!!

  43. oldbrooklynfan says:

    W…O…W

  44. trublu4ever says:

    AWESOME!

  45. Dodger4life says:

    What a difference a year makes… #deeperline-up
    .
    Way to go, Boy’s!!!
    .
    Van Lincoln for President!!

  46. lbirken says:

    Weren’t we all waiting for a Dodger to finally hit a home run tonight? Thank you Mr. Van Slyke.

  47. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!! Again, not pretty (except for VS), but, a win is a win..

    So why isn’t Van Slyke getting more AB’s? Because Dildon is a freaking imbecile…. If I were a Dodger starting pitcher, this is the lineup and batting order I would want;

    Pederson CF
    Ethier RF
    Gonzalez 1B
    Grandal C
    Kendrick 2/B
    Van Slyke/Guerrero LF
    Guerrero/Turner 3B
    Rollins SS

  48. kahliforni says:

    With Van Slyke and Guerrero producing big hit after big hit, one wonders what the powers-that-be will do with Crawford, especially when Puig returns. There are only so many ABs to to pass around. It’s becoming obvious that Van Slyke, Guerrero, and Turner need to play, at least semi-regularly, and soon-to-be-in-a Dodgers-uniform Hector Olivera (six-years, $62.5 million) will crowd the roster that much more. Friedman and Co. are not sentimentalists (unlike Donnie) and if I’m Uribe and Crawford, I’m a bit worried.

  49. The Beav says:

    Looks like I missed a good ending after I fell asleep sitting at my desk.

    Glad they came back for Yimi’s sake. That might’ve gnawed at him if they’d lost. Now he can just shrug it off. Feel bad for Greinke though. He deserved a win.

  50. Dodger4life says:

    As much fun as last night’s walk-off win was. Watching Yimi unravel from one mis-directed pitch (it had the same good movement, it just tailed over the middle of the plate) was a bit concerning. I think he showed his inexperience a bit, in how he reacted to giving up the home-run. He seemed deflated after that, he didn’t seem to exert the same tenacity. I’m sure every pitcher who has ever been asked to button up a tight game, experiences a day like this. The concerning part isn’t whether Yimi can display the necessary physical skills to get the job done. But will he recognize his mistake and continue to display the same tenacity towards getting the job done.
    .
    If that pitch starts off dead center and tails into the batter… it’s a solid pitch and my guess is everything after it would of been too??? Yimi’s control, with the live movement on his pitches has been the key to his success. We need him to regroup, rebound and come back steady and sound.
    .
    What did enchanted say the other day??? That this team is on par to win 108 games? They are just one game behind the league leading Cardinals, a highly respected organization when it comes to winning… and truth be told. The Dodgers can do better, simply by getting healthier.

    Would anyone of predicted the outcome that is…knowing Kenley wouldn’t throw a pitch, Ryu wouldn’t throw a pitch, a starter with a 3-0 record would go down, a veteran bullpen arm would need rest, Puig would see limited action, all while Kershaw’s record was 1-2 with a 4.26 ERA after 44 innings…Anybody???

  51. Dodger4life says:

    My youngest daughter just sent me text saying, I should stock up on Dodger gear for a baby! The baby’s father then sent me a text of him wearing SF gear!!!
    .
    I have a lot of unused whisky bucks now going to a worthy cause!!!
    .
    I’m gonna need more caps, and jerseys and game-balls and uh, uh, uh, anyone have $300 million I can borrow, so I can buy the kid a Kershaw???

  52. Dodger4life says:

    This was interesting…
    .
    http://www.tulsaworld.com/blogs/sports/probaseball/pro-baseball-today-may-be-last-chance-to-see-dodgers/article_c2a01e76-5997-5b6a-b150-050ea6f3869c.html
    .
    Some scouts think Urias is ready for the show now… I have no doubt that he can get guys out. I’m gonna watch him again here in a few.

    • The Beav says:

      Only problem would be innings. He might max out at about 120 this year. Still, that’s about 100 we could use from a starter this season.

  53. crash24now says:

    Jimmy Rollins’ BA/OBP/SLG/OPS:

    Career .266/.326/.422/.748
    Apri’15 .185/.280/.333/.613
    May’15 .118/.189/.206/.395

    • The Beav says:

      I know everyone’s thinking Rollins moves to 8th when Puig gets back, but we do have the Donnie factor. Would it surprise anyone if when Puig gets back Rollins goes back to leadoff?

      • crash24now says:

        At this point, nothing Donnie does surprises me. This is the guy that lets the reliever bat for himself, then replaces the reliever as soon as we go back on defense.

  54. griz says:

    Congrats Grampy! If you didn’t eat the whole thing in one sitting, that should qualify as getting in shape. At least that’s what it means around here.
    *
    I’d think long and hard about throwing Urias into the fire full time. I don’t think it would hurt to bring him up for a look at the majors, if necessary, but I would not stick him in the rotation just yet. I guess what I’m trying to say is it should be a gradual progression.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Thanks griz…on the subject of that pizza…I ask you what would Tommy do…

      • Dodger4life says:

        Game-Time in Tulsa!!

        I ponied up the extra $40 bucks this year, ’cause my cousins boy pitches in the A’s system. He’s stuck in extended spring training at the moment,so I can’t watch him. But I had other visions at the time too…like Seager and Urias. Yadier Drake is also playing today. He knocked one out last time Urias pitched.

    • crash24now says:

      Let’s not turn Urias into the next David Clyde.

      http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Clyde

      “Named a “sensation”,[5][11] “phenomenon”,[3] or other hyped up words in his first two years in the league, most of Clyde’s troubles were attributed to the rush to get him into the majors before he was ready.”

      • Dodger4life says:

        Urias is struggling in the 1st. He has control issues at the moment. He’s fighting the pitch down around the knees and now can’t find the plate with a high fastball. He has been above the hitters head and off the plate to the left. With bases loaded he walked in the Cardinals hottest hitter for the games first run. He also seems to get away with the high pitch over the plate at this level, In my opinion if this inning were played at the major league level he’d be down by several runs at the moment.
        .
        I think he needs to be much more consistent…and that was my thought the last time he pitched. He has the tools though!

        • Dodger4life says:

          Urias just gave up his second home run of the year…2-0 Cardinals…make that Urias just gave up his 3rd home run of the year…3-0 Cardinals

          • Dodger4life says:

            Urias then walked the pitcher…He doesn’t seem fazed by what is going on though…he just doesn’t have good control today.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Urias is done after 3 2/3!

  55. Dodger4life says:

    Dan Haren returns to face the Boy’s tonight.

    I have to say out of all the things that happen last season… The way Haren rebounded from his mid-season slump to become a guy that held his own against the likes of Kershaw, Ryu and Greinke, probably received the blunt of my admiration at the time. The key to him being successful was him hitting his spots. Haren couldn’t get away with missing over the heart of the plate. When he did those balls were getting rocked!
    .
    I just seen a stat over at True Blue LA
    .
    Haren has not allowed a walk nor a home run in his two starts this month.

    It sounds like he’s been doing much of the same as of late…

    Joc might have something to say about this???

    • The Beav says:

      I didn’t see much difference in letting Haren go, then getting McCarthy. Was Haren a distraction in the clubhouse?

      • Dodger4life says:

        Haren wasn’t gonna get another contract and the pieces they got back have been useful. They gambled that McCarthy could fill a role for several years. I’d have to think they had visions of adding a premiere starter to the staff at some point.

  56. koufax1963 says:

    I watched Haren pitch vs. the Gnats last Thursday, surgeon skill, he picked those corners. I guess I don’t worry about Rollins getting it together, like I don’t doubt Kershaw will get it together. I think moving him down in the order might just make him really focus, send a wake-up call to him.
    Dodgers 4Life: Congrats, but your grandson will look much better in blue, than those Halloween colors, they must live in the Bay Area?
    My daughter use to throw out any giants stuff given to her son, and even with the gnats recent success (I remember I use to tell every gnat fan “show me your ring” prior to 2010, to shut them up) He remains true to the blue.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Thanks koufax…No they live here in Idaho, but his family is from the Bay Area. They find out the gender at the end of the month… the ratio of girls to boys in this equation is about 300 million to 5. But hey, we have some collegiate softball players in the family as well… So, yes, the kid will be getting plenty of blue… I’m just rooting for a healthy baby, (one with a tally-wacker would be like winning the World Series though!)

      Nice to hear your grandson is trueblue!! I don’t get that orange and black thing… I’ve always kinda liked the A’s though.

  57. The Beav says:

    I see Rollins is in his usual out-making place in the order again tonight.

  58. JhallWally says:

    Congratulations D4Grandpa!!

  59. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Since it was Yimi’s 2nd blown save last night, I think he’ll get over it quickly enough. He’s pitched exceptionally well since the last one. Congrats D4.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Thanks Oldbrooklynfan…I think the very first thing I buy will be Brooklyn related…

      • oldbrooklynfan says:

        The bridge is not for sale…..

        • Dodger4life says:

          I’m thinking a Jackie Robinson jersey and a nice frame…

          • Dodger4life says:

            I myself am not all that big on memorabilia (I do buy a new cap and write the year under the bill, I then hang it up on the top of the wall at the end of the year)…but, as a kid my father decorated my room with all sorts of sports stuff. I figure I can decorate a room now as well.

  60. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Stanton ends his slump.

  61. The Beav says:

    How can they continually let Rollins make out after out after out? He can’t even move a runner along.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Amazing that you know who doesn’t see it….or, perhaps he doesn’t care.

      • The Beav says:

        Mattingly is exactly like JoJo – gives 3-4 months of the year to let an old veteran come around. But what if this is already the absolute apex of Rollins year? If Seager’s not ready, then let Guerrero play short for awhile.

  62. The Beav says:

    Joc better drive in these runs because you know Rollins won’t.

  63. The Beav says:

    Shocking.

    UNACCEPTIBLE!!!!

  64. vl4eccjr says:

    Golden opportunity wasted. . .

  65. The Beav says:

    Friggin Haren’s not even throwing hard enough to break a window.

  66. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Giants just won.

  67. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Howie ties it.

  68. vl4eccjr says:

    Thanks Howie!

  69. trublu4ever says:

    Thank goodness for Howie!

  70. oldbrooklynfan says:

    No. 5 for Dre’

  71. colliethec says:

    Sup folks….

    Congrats D4 on the new Dodgers fan!! That’s exciting news!! Keep us updated!

    And with that Dre goes yard!

    • Dodger4life says:

      I’ll do my best…and thanks collie
      .
      I just made an attempt to copy the sheboygan dog you turned me onto a few years ago…

  72. Dodger4life says:

    Gonna be a whole lotta shakin’ in Dre’s buns this year tru…. all the way around the bases…

  73. griz says:

    I always liked Haren. Not enough that he should get a win tonight, but I’d hate to see him get knocked around in a big way. Just a little bit.
    *
    Dodger4, Tommy would eat the whole thing and order another one.

  74. The Beav says:

    Bolsinger in line for the #5 spot for while?

  75. vl4eccjr says:

    There goes that blind squirrel again. . . .

  76. vl4eccjr says:

    Whatever Grandal has been eating, I hope he doesn’t make any drastic changes to his diet.

    • The Beav says:

      Same goes for Dre and SVS.

    • Dodger4life says:

      They’ve shown Grandal eating apples out of a paper bowl, covered with peanut butter in the dug-out between innings. They catch him licking the peanut butter off of his finger-tips.

  77. The Beav says:

    I’m thinking both Joc and Rollins need to move down in the order.

  78. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Rollins get’s a hit and everybody gets a hit.

  79. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Good outing for Bolsinger

  80. Dodger4life says:

    I missed every pitch Bolsinger threw tonight…but it looks as if he was spot on after the lone dinger…
    .
    Nice Work, Kid!!

  81. crash24now says:

    Yep, good game for Bolsinger.

  82. trublu4ever says:

    Uh, oh, Beav…..JRoll must be pissed off!

  83. crash24now says:

    Wow! Two hits for Rollins.

  84. oldbrooklynfan says:

    AGon’s 30th RBI

  85. crash24now says:

    A-Gon is the last to join the hit parade.

  86. The Beav says:

    Was nice of Donnie to remember Paco is on the team.

  87. vl4eccjr says:

    Somebody cue up “Train kept a rollin!”

  88. oldbrooklynfan says:

    WTG…Andre’

  89. trublu4ever says:

    Everyday Dre is on fire tonight….praise the Lord!

  90. crash24now says:

    I wonder which Marlins position player will get a chance to pitch the ninth.

  91. vl4eccjr says:

    In spite of Donnies lineup orders, they just keep on keeping on. Going to be one huge dilemma when Puig & Crawford come off the DL. Who goes & who stays?

    • crash24now says:

      It’s gonna be quite a while before that dilemma comes around. I have a feeling that Dre is going to keep on playing through.

    • nedisajerk says:

      I doubt Puig is even an option. The debate is Crawford and Ethier.

      • vl4eccjr says:

        No debate for me. Dre has been a lot more dependable. Crawford is too fragile & injury prone. Too much time on the DL. I realize he has a fat contract, but like Vin says; ‘You gotta dance with who brung ya.’

  92. The Beav says:

    Can this umpire see? Following on gameday he’s missed calls for both sides.

  93. nedisajerk says:

    Dang Donny seriously Paco can’t go another inning. I’m shock he didn’t let Paco hit and take him out for another pitcher.

  94. vl4eccjr says:

    Wow! Didn’t realize this is Yogi Berra’s 90th birthday. Always loved his ‘isms.’ You know 90% of the game is half mental.

  95. nellyjune says:

    Congratulations Dodger4Life!!!

    ….and what about them Dodgers? Just wow!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Thanks Nelly, glad to see you back.

      • nellyjune says:

        Thanks! These days I’m usually asleep before the game even ends. These 5am workouts come fast when I stay up too late now. It will be easier once summer is here.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I’m just getting to sleep at 5am… I get all pumped up after these late night games. Plus, I’m not as active as I used to be… I managed to get the smokers to move outside, plus the woodstove usage in the neighborhood has slowed down. After a week, I already have more energy and oxygen. It’s hard to believe how much of a difference this makes. I need to become active in the daytime now. I don’t think I’ll ever reach your level though. But I might be able to bake more muffins than Bill at some point…

  96. The Beav says:

    Damn. Nicasio’s pumped. 97.

    • nedisajerk says:

      Former Dodgers player Josh Lindblom tweet this.

      Josh Lindblom ✔ @JoshLindblom52

      One of the best things about being in Korea is waking up to watch @ScottVanSlick put on a hitting clinic every night for the @dodgers.

  97. nedisajerk says:

    How do they figure out FIP? Hatcher has the 2nd lowest FIP behind Liberatore and is better than Paco/Peralta/Howell/Nicasio/Frias/Santos and so on.

    http://www.baseball-reference.com/teams/LAD/2015.shtml

  98. vl4eccjr says:

    Dre is dialed in!

  99. The Beav says:

    When was the last time Dre had 5 hits in a game?

  100. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Andre’ 5 for 5 tonight.

  101. trublu4ever says:

    5 for 5 ……fantastic!

  102. crash24now says:

    Five-for-five! Every Day Dre!

  103. The Beav says:

    OK. I’m convinced they’re all on ‘roids now.

  104. The Beav says:

    Rollins back in form. Had me worried when he got a couple of hits.

  105. nedisajerk says:

    Poor Greinke couldn’t get this run support last night.

  106. nellyjune says:

    Very nice game!!!

  107. The Beav says:

    Well crap. Hope we can improve tomorrow.

    • nellyjune says:

      I haven’t been reading OTD consistently, but reading tonight’s comments reminds of the ITD “red pen” days. It still cracks me up!! LOL!!

      Until the next time, goodnight!

  108. trublu4ever says:

    Sweet Dodger Blue dreams everyone.

  109. vl4eccjr says:

    15-2 at the ravine this year so far.
    Home Sweet Home!

  110. nedisajerk says:

    Bill Shaikin ✔ @BillShaikin

    #Padres LHRP Frank Garces: 3 HR in 2 IP tonight. #Dodgers bullpen, 2015: 2 HR in 97.2 IP, 1.94 ERA. SD pen: 16 HR in 101.2 IP, 4.87 ERA

    Wow interesting Padres bullpen suck and they have Kimbrel to.

  111. Dodger4life says:

    22-10 W-L – (2nd)
    13-8 W-L – in the month of April (3rd)
    9-2 W-L – in the month of May (1st)
    5 game win streak – (1st)
    51 HR – (1st)
    15-2, at home – (1st)
    8-2, in the last 10 games – (T-1st) (WSH)
    .688, winning % – (2nd)
    .842 OPS – (1st)
    .354 OBP – (1st)
    .794 OPS – batting right handed – (2nd)
    .886 OPS – batting left handed – (2nd)
    1.74 ERA – 7th inning – (1st)
    2.03 ERA – 8th inning – (8th) (6th, NL)
    4.21 ERA – 9th inning – (23rd) (10th, NL)
    3.13 ERA – Overall – (4th) (4th, NL)
    1.15 WHIP – Overall – (3rd) – (1st, NL)

    What a difference a year makes…
    Overall fielding 6th, 4th in the NL
    I have no clue how to match up 2014 vs 2015 after 32 games, but I’m sure we can all remember being near the very bottom after 32 games in 2015. They finished the season 23rd, and that was after considerable improvement.

    • nedisajerk says:

      Lol what about the 1st inning? We seem to have trouble in the 1st inning especially the #3 hitters and with 2 outs.

      • Dodger4life says:

        1st inning ERA

        Anderson – 0.00
        Greinke – 3.86
        Kershaw – 3.86
        Bolsinger – 4.50
        Frias – 4.50
        Baker – 9.00
        McCarthy – 15.75
        Huff – 27.00
        Weiland – 45.00
        .
        Baker, McCarthy, Huff and Weiland are no longer pitching in the 1st inning. If I were a gambling man, and I am…I’d wager that Kershaw and Greinke improve in this area. Bolsinger and Frias will be replaced at some point, providing people stay/get healthy, or the team acquires another top notch arm.

        • Dodger4life says:

          The 8th inning stat is inflated by Kershaw’s 54.00 ERA

          • Dodger4life says:

            Kenley is pitching in his final rehab game tonight… which means we can probably hit the reset button on the 9th inning stats

  112. Dodger4life says:

    Bruce Bochy has his ballclub headed in the right direction as well. After going 9-13, W-L, in the month of April. The Giants are 8-2, W-L, in the month of May. Sitting in 2nd place among the division, 5.5 games behind the Dodgers.

  113. Dodger4life says:

    Matt Kemp’s – May – Stat Line (44 at bats)
    AVG – (.136)
    OBP – (.170)
    SLG – (.159)
    OPS – (.329)

    Matt Kemp’s – April – Stat Line (92 at bats)
    AVG – (.326)
    OBP – (.357)
    SLG – (.478)
    OPS – (.835)

    I didn’t post this to trash-talk Kemp. I know he will eventually rebound and when he does he will dominate on offense. I will say, I’m a bit curious to see how he handles himself until then though.

    • 32and53fan says:

      “It is what it is, man.”

      • Dodger4life says:

        After being asked about taking a day off on Sunday, Kemp responded with.

        “I’ve got to be out there playing, I love playing every game.”

        Bud Black’s response was “This guy’s competitive thinking back to some of those things that I do recall about what the Dodgers were going through, when you have a group of players who are good and want to play, a lot of times it gets expressed. It’s not a bad thing.”

        He did indeed take Sunday off, with Monday being designated a travel day.

        He returned Tuesday in Seattle where he went 0-5 with 3 K’s. He did manage to sacrifice a run across the plate for his 17th RBI.

        This article talks about Kemp and Shields being designated veteran leaders.
        http://www.utsandiego.com/news/2015/may/09/padres-kemp-playing-time-outfield-health-hips/

    • JhallWally says:

      Nice post D4. Kemp is going to end up being a bust. Alot like Mondesi.. He had all the tools, but not the sense to utilize them to their full potential. Darn shame!!!

      • Dodger4life says:

        I think Kemp’s toughest challenge will be how to lead when he’s not happy-go-lucky.

        • JhallWally says:

          Hi’ya D… I think Kemps problem is that he got to rich too quick… He’s set. He doesn’t have to work anymore… It is a darn shame that all that potential will go down the drain because he got a huge contract.
          I would love to go back to the good old days when players only had one year deals… You would see a hell of a lot more effort.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Hey Wally…as you can probably tell I’ve been up all night again. You may be correct, it’s hard to say what’s going through Kemp’s thoughts these days.
            Catch ya’ at game-time.
            .
            Early start tonight: 4:50 pm, first pitch

  114. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo!! Win streak and what a win… I sure hope Dildon is taking notes on which guys are getting it done..

    • JhallWally says:

      I don’t really think he is… He will probably bench Ethier when Crawford comes back.
      Is it just me, or is this team alot better without Puig? And Crawford…. Please let them stay on the DL….

      • trublu4ever says:

        From what I hear, they won’t be back any time soon.

        • JhallWally says:

          Thank you baseball gods.. I hope neither one comes back all year… It is the only way Dildon will make the right choices…

        • JhallWally says:

          I have said it before and I will stand by it.. Puig is extremely overrated and I think the Dodgers should trade him while he has some value… Unfortunately, right now, he is worthless.. I would unload him and his facade in a heart beat…

  115. Dodger4life says:

    Jeff Passan @JeffPassan · 30m 30 minutes ago
    Numbers say Clayton Kershaw has bad luck. Kershaw says Kershaw needs to pitch better. @TBrownYahoo inside his mind: http://yhoo.it/1G6l7H4

    My thoughts are Kershaw is right, he indeed needs to make better pitches.

    I remember when Barry Bonds seemed to have every pitcher figured out. Sure he was stronger from the use of drugs, but he also had enormous talent and had been around long enough to capitalize and maximize on that talent (again probably with the help of drugs.) What I am getting at here, is Kershaw can throw better pitches not only by executing better, but also by getting smarter. Similar to the way Bonds utilized his talent (without the use of drugs of course.) A pitcher of Kershaw’s experience and caliber may indeed get a lucky, or bad break. A pitcher of Kershaw’s experience and caliber shouldn’t get a string of them.

  116. crash24now says:

    I wouldn’t mind going into the playoffs with an offense that could do this (BA/OBP/SLG/OPS):

    .255 .422 .582 1.004 Pederson cf
    .309 .377 .655 1.032 Turner ss
    .372 .434 .719 1.153 Gonzalez 1b
    .308 .371 .500 .871 Kendrick 2b
    .329 .423 .598 1.020 Ethier rf
    .353 .393 .784 1.177 Guerrero 3b
    .309 .424 .519 .943 Grandal c
    .373 .414 .608 1.022 Van Slyke lf
    Pitcher

    It may not be sustainable, but it sure is pretty. The above numbers are through May 12th.

    • The Beav says:

      Only team in baseball OPSing over .800 as a team. Totally amazing. I thought this team would really struggle to score some runs.

      So is this a functioning baseball club as opposed to a collection of talent?

  117. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I sure hope all this hitting doesn’t make Ethier’s chances of being traded better.

  118. crash24now says:

    Rollins off the 2-hole for a day!

    Pederson CF
    Turner 3B
    Kendrick 2B
    Gonzalez 1B
    Guerrero LF
    Grandal C
    Ethier RF
    Hernandez SS
    Frias P

  119. crash24now says:

    Interesting article about Justin Turner’s change in approach to hitting:

    http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/justin-turner-marlon-byrd-and-an-education-in-hitting/

  120. koufax1963 says:

    Must say Donnie (or who he takes orders from) is trying to find a place for Guererro to play. He either cuts in on SVS in Left or Turner at 3rd.

  121. messagebear says:

    I don’t mind seeing Guerrero play. It seems to me that he can be a great hitter, and I don’t really see why he has a reputation for being less than a major league fielder. I think he should play instead of Uribe, but giving him left field also is not a problem for me. Having been a SVS fan from when he was in the minors, I am peeved at him not getting more playing time. I think he deserves to be a starter. For his sake I would even like to see him be traded, because on most any club he would be starting in the outfield and could even become one of the great ones, given a chance. I think the Dodgers are doing his career an injustice by using him the way they are – yes, I know we’re loaded at the positions he can play. I would rather have him than Puig, and given the age difference I’d prefer him to Andre. I won’t even mention Crawford. I can’t say that SVS is my favorite Dodger, but he comes close. So this is my plug for him, not that it will make any difference to Mattingly or the front office, but then screw them anyway.

  122. oldbrooklynfan says:

    It looks like Gordon has arrived today.

  123. trublu4ever says:

    Frias is making me very nervous.

  124. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Wo, Frias doesn’t look too good.

  125. Dodger4life says:

    “Get out of here!! That’s fuckin’ bullshit!!”
    .
    I guess Donnie ran out of horseshit…

  126. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Finally a run.

  127. oldbrooklynfan says:

    YES!!!

  128. trublu4ever says:

    YAY….KIKI!!

  129. vl4eccjr says:

    The bats have awakened!

  130. oldbrooklynfan says:

    10th HR for JOC. Leads team.

  131. messagebear says:

    Keep Hernandez; kick Rollins OUT on his ass!

  132. trublu4ever says:

    AND, JOC TOO!

  133. Dodger4life says:

    #52 and #53
    .
    Same as Chin-Feng-Chen and Big D
    .
    Way to go, Joc and Kike!!

  134. trublu4ever says:

    Okay, stat people….how many home runs have we hit so far?

  135. trublu4ever says:

    Crap!

  136. vl4eccjr says:

    Ruh Roh!

  137. oldbrooklynfan says:

    What a difference a day makes.

  138. Dodger4life says:

    This isn’t gonna be good

  139. vl4eccjr says:

    Liberatore has been nails till today. . .

  140. crash24now says:

    Way to put out the fire, Pedro!

  141. oldbrooklynfan says:

    We’re still in the game.

  142. crash24now says:

    A couple of long fly outs, but nothing doing.

  143. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Dee has come to play today.

  144. vl4eccjr says:

    Uh oh! Hope Baez is okay.

  145. crash24now says:

    Let’s get some runs!

  146. Dodger4life says:

    Rally Buns Get Er Done!!

  147. Dodger4life says:

    FIFTY FOUR!
    FIFTY FOUR!
    FIFTY FOUR!
    FIFTY FOUR!

  148. crash24now says:

    Thanks for bringing in the .174 hitter as a pinch hitter. Where’s Mark Sweeney?

  149. crash24now says:

    Oh well. Let’s get the next one.

  150. vl4eccjr says:

    Oh well. Seems there’s always a let down after offensive outputs like last night.

  151. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Dee had a lot to do with it.

  152. trublu4ever says:

    We lost the game but won the series. Giants also lost and that’s great!

    • JhallWally says:

      Woo-Hoo, won the series… You are right Tru, Just win series’. Gnats lost so, no ground lost. The bullpen was due for an implosion… It happens…. Their bullpen sure shut us down…

      Tough loss. A game we should have won..

  153. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I’ll check on the Frias tomorrow morning.

  154. crash24now says:

    Projected home runs (simple math: 162/33 x HR)

    49 Joc
    44 A-Gon
    29 Guerrero
    25 Dre
    25 Turner
    20 Grandal
    20 Kendrick
    15 Rollins
    10 SVS
    10 Puig
    5 Uribe
    5 Crawford
    5 Hernandez

    262 Total

  155. kahliforni says:

    With Mattingly saying Uribe is out as “regular” third baseman, juggling him with Guerrero and Turner, can Rollins be far behind? When he was called out last night on strike three and the ball got away from the catcher, he just stood there to argue with the umpire instead of hustling and forcing a throw to first. He looks lost to me.

  156. koufax1963 says:

    what concerns me is Baez, With kenley about to return, our BP was looking better, but I had Baez as an important part of that. and now back to my previous concern of a starting pitcher to be acquired.

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      I’m also concerned with Baez who was doing so well before the Dee Gordon AB. How did he lose his velocity in just that one AB???

Leave a Reply

