Dodgertown to Camelback

image

What a great time of year to have a birthday.  The gray, freezing winter has ended and the warm days of spring beckon us to go outside and see the emerald green grass and flowers emerging from the dormant ground.

This is the time for optimism to abound.  The reset button has been pressed.  All teams are returned to an even footing with thoughts of post-season glory wafting though Cactus and Grapefruit league stadiums from Glendale, Az to Jupiter, Fl.

Wide eyed rookies and grizzled vets alike are hoping they have what it takes to make the team.  A first chance for the former and maybe the last for the latter.

Our very own OBF has been along for the ride, and shared the hopes and dreams of the Dodgers for over 65 years.  Happy Birthday Joe.  I hope for this next year,  that you have good health, happiness and get to celebrate a Dodgers World Series Championship!

*** UPDATE ***

🎁 It’s Wally’s birthday too!  🎂

wallydodgers

63 Responses to Dodgertown to Camelback

  1. 32and53fan says:

    Tonight Vin Scully makes his first and only broadcast from Camelback Ranch. Too bad most of LA fans won’t be able to see it.

  2. 32and53fan says:

    Sorry Wally, I didn’t check the old thread before I posted this one.
    I hope you are having a great birthday, as well.

  3. enchantedbeaver says:

    Happy Birthday OBF & Wally!!

  4. koufax1963 says:

    YES Happy Birthday! Keep it upbeat, I go with 94 wins.!
    Gnats tonight Love it!

  5. zonadodger says:

    Happy Birthday Wally and obf

  6. JhallWally says:

    Thanks to everyone for the birthday wishes. It was a very nice day..

  7. Dodger4life says:

    League is on the shelf for 2 months, which will open up one spot on the 40 man roster.

    D4 100-62
    Crash 96-66
    32and53 95-67
    Sparkle 95-67
    Vl4 94-68
    Koufax 94-68
    Kahli 93-69
    JHall 93-69
    Zona 93-69
    Lbirken 92-70
    Tru 92-70
    OBF 91-71
    Enchanted 90-72
    Griz 89-73
    Bear 88-74

  8. Dodger4life says:

    Boy, Oh Boy!!

    When Crawford looks bad. he looks really bad!!

  9. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Thanks again for the Birthday wishes and I hope you had a Happy one too, Wally.

  10. A bit late for the birthday train, but want to wish OBF and Wally a very happy b’day anyway.

    My prediction for this year is at least 90 wins, but no more than 95. And I agree that Dre should be starting in left. Crawford just ain’t cutting the mustard, as the saying goes.

  11. griz says:

    Just back from Colorado, so Happy Birthday Joe and Wally. We were celebrating my wife’s b-day as well. I hope that counts for our birthday guys as well.
    *
    Nobody has 89 yet and that seems about right to me, so 89 it is. I’d like to be confident enough to go for a higher number (5-6 higher), but I’ll take this one. It should get us into the playoffs. I’d like a rematch with the Cards. A successful one.

  12. lbirken says:

    Belated Happy Birthdays to all. I am not much into predictions but I believe this team should be capable of winning at least 90-92 games, so I will pick 92 even though others have also made the same pick. The big question mark is who will stay healthy and who will not, and we know the team will most likely have a different roster at the end of the season compared to the beginning. Defense will be greatly improved and I think the Dodgers might surprise us with a better offense than expected. I agree it will be tough for Kershaw to improve on last season but that is what sets the great players from the really good and if he stays healthy, I expect him to continue his domination. I am concerned a bit about the rest of the pitching staff holding up for the entire season.

    The division should be tougher and the Dodgers play a lot of games against Western Division teams in the first three months of the season. It will be interesting to see if Joc Pederson can transfer his success in the spring to the regular season when he will see much better pitching. I still think Ethier can be a valuable part of this team if he can accept not playing everyday and if nothing else he is good insurance against injury or lack of production from Crawford, etc. The bench should be stronger and I expect better offensive production from the catchers, although I would be happy to have A.J. as the regular catcher regardless of his offense.

    So let’s enjoy the calm of the last week of Spring Training as we look forward to playing games that matter.

  13. griz says:

    Here’s a question for all of you, but especially Old Brooklyn. The picture for this edition has some of the old Dodgers and two I don’t recognize. Second from the right is #35, who I think is Furillo, but I’m not sure. Second from the left is another fellow I don’t recognize. You’d think Campenella would be in there, but I don’t think that’s him.

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      Second from the right is Maglie and second from the left is Amoros. Furillo and Campanella are not shown in this picture.

  14. oldbrooklynfan says:

    As we near the end of spring training and approach the beginning of the season, I just hope this new front office staff has as much good luck as it has talent. I know one thing, we have an exciting farm system and I really enjoy watching these baby Dodgers play ball.

  15. kahliforni says:

    “I don’t think I’m much different,” Matt Kemp said. “I’m just being myself here, having fun and playing baseball. Not too much different. Just a different uniform. Bud [Black, the manager] makes it easy. He’s a great communicator. Lets you know what you’re going to be doing.”

  16. lbirken says:

    Kemp can say anything he wants and I am sure he must get tired being asked these sort of questions. I think it is too bad Matt and Hanley are being blamed indirectly for whatever problems management believes were solved by trading/not signing both of them. I do wish Kemp was in a different division or another league but such is not the case. And I really don’t have a problem with Matt not being happy with what happened with him last season, losing his place as the everyday center fielder. I wish him well (except against the Dodgers) but it is time to move on for him.

  17. zonadodger says:

    Freddy Garcia? lol come on

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Don’t see him as much worse of an option than Bedard was going to be. If they get this far down the depth chart though for a starter, something’s gone horribly wrong.

  18. zonadodger says:

    Went to the game today…Brett Anderson looked ok….JRoll and Howie seem to be working good together

  19. zonadodger says:

    And i’ll say 93-69

  20. enchantedbeaver says:

    New closer choice – Paco. 9.1 IP, 3H, 0 R, 0 BB, 12K.

    Knowing Donnie though he probably won’t even make the team.

    • crash24now says:

      From the looks of things, Paco is back to being the Paco of 2013 (prior to September). I would definitely use him as a closer until Kenley is ready.

    • Dodger4life says:

      It’s hard to dispute those numbers…even if they were put up in Cactus League play. Whatever he was working on, he made it work! I hope Paco gets the first shot and succeeds.

      Just a thought here…If Donnie gets input from above on daily lineups? I doubt he gets the final call on the roster construction?

  21. griz says:

    Thanx, Old Brooklyn.

  22. oldbrooklynfan says:

    To me, it’ll always be tough watching Kemp playing us in a Padre uniform. I think anything he does against us will stand out.

  23. zonadodger says:

    Agree on Paco

  24. Dodger4life says:

    Todays Lineup: Knowing that Kersh will start, does this represent an Opening Day starting 8, 7, 6, or 5?
    .
    Rollins SS
    Puig RF
    Gonzalez 1B
    Kendrick 2B
    Grandal C
    Crawford LF
    Uribe 3B
    Ethier CF
    Wieland P

    It looks as if all the above get an extra travel day tomorrow with Ellis catching Kershaw.

    Dodgers Wed. lineup:
    Barney 2B
    Ellis C
    Guerrero 3B
    Van Slyke 1B
    Heisey RF
    Hernandez CF
    Seager SS
    Sweeney LF
    Kershaw P

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Wish Donnie Dumbass would quit batting Agon 3rd.

      • Dodger4life says:

        I’ve had the flu for a few days…and can’t wrap my head around where you would put him??? It seems like 4th, or 5th where he wouldn’t clog up the bases though? I also can’t figure out who the 25 guys will be on Monday.
        .
        12 pitchers – Kersh, Greinke, McCarthy, Anderson, Wieland – (Ryu on DL)
        Howell, Peralta, Hatcher, Paco, Nicasio, Garcia, Huff – (Kenley & League on DL)
        8 starters – Grandal, Gonzales, Kendrick, Rollins, Uribe, Crawford, Pederson, Puig
        5 Bench guys – Ellis, Turner, Ethier, (Van Slyke – Barney – Guerrero)??? Barney and Van Slyke can be sent down due to options.

        .
        My head hurts enough…I’m done!

  25. Dodger4life says:

    McGowan released, presumably opening up a 40 man spot.

  26. Dodger4life says:

    Having made my 26 man prediction above…I wouldn’t be surprised if the Dodgers found another city for Ethier to play in between now and Opening Day…

  27. Dodger4life says:

    Heisey doesn’t exactly have a quick 1st, 2nd, or 3rd step does he?

  28. JhallWally says:

    It seems to me that Ethier has outplayd Crawford and should be the opening day LF… I am not sure why Crawford seems to get a free pass. Just because he came over in the ill conceived and ultimately stupid trade with Boston… Somebody please clue me in…

  29. koufax1963 says:

    Not understanding something at all, unless a trade package is coming, but this Utility man Elliot Johnson from Texas just arrived.
    Opening day line up:
    Rollins
    Crawford
    Puig
    A-Gon
    Kendrick
    Pederson
    Grandal
    Uribe
    Kershaw

    Apologies to Dre, I would rather have him than Crawford because I think Crawford will be hurt and isn’t doing so much in ST, but they haven’t put Dre in LF at all, to even give him a shot.
    and I think Donnie will make a statement by having Grandal catch Kershaw, basically saying the AJ/ Kershaw battery is disconnected.
    Now Donnie may feel different after the opening day loss.
    So much up in the air with SP and bullpen and the bench, sabremetrics to the rescue?

    • Dodger4life says:

      From what I’ve read Crawfords metrics are better than Dre’s even if it doesn’t show…His speed makes up for his lack of a strong arm and he doesn’t strike out as much. Last year once you got his bat going he wasn’t as streaky as Andre. Again, just what I’ve read. I agree that Andre has out performed him this spring. Plus he is owed even more money and no one is knocking down the door to trade for him?
      .
      A.J. will be moving on soon, probably after the season. Grandal has to get accustomed to Kershaw. Theres no time like the present? A.J. may be catching Kershaw on Monday?? Maybe whomever has the better metrics will start??? I have no clue how to search for that?

    • Dodger4life says:

      Elliot Johnson
      http://www.truebluela.com/2015/3/31/8320465/elliot-johnson-trade-dodgers-rangers-cash

      The utility man was in the Rays organization under Andrew Friedman through 2012. He has played games at all four infield and all three outfield positions in his major league career, starting everywhere but center field and first base.
      .
      He’s depth is my guess…I would say that several guys in Oklahoma will be moving up and down between there and L.A. throughout the season??

  30. Dodger4life says:

    Correct me if I’m wrong…but Andre hasn’t played 1B once this spring has he???

    • koufax1963 says:

      Not sure, but with RVS in line up, he may be a back up to A-GON.
      It is like mattingly just whined about dre and kemp, perhaps freidman should of got rid of Mattingly.
      Had a hard time getting dre and kemp in when torre was manager, now it got even worse for them as Dodgers, too bad.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Could be, but they have plenty of guys working out at new spots…Barney at SS, Guerrero, all over. They don’t seem to be trying too hard to find spots for Dre, other than on the bench, even if that bench is in another climate altogether.

  31. Dodger4life says:

    I believe I read earlier today, probably over at TBLA. That no one pitching in relief on Saturday will be on the 25 man for Opening Day?

  32. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I think it’s just a matter of time before Ethier goes, anything else would be a surprise, to me.

  33. koufax1963 says:

    well from todays last camelback game, Lee wont be a closer. Ha!
    gives up a walk and HR, ouch!

Leave a Reply

