Opening Day is all downhill from here…

Camelback Ranch Elevation: 1152 ft, above sea-level
Dodger Stadium Elevation: 267 ft, above sea-level

(Trivia Question) Colorado’s ballpark (5183 ft, above sea-level) stands at the highest elevation in all of MLB. Can you name which ball clubs stadium stands at the second highest elevation?
.
We’re on the threshold of being halfway through Spring Training games. There are 16 days left until Opening Day at Dodger Stadium. The Dodgers have two off days in-between now and then, coming on Tuesday the 24th, as well as Sunday, April 5th. They have two split squad days left, coming tomorrow (Rangers & Rockies), and again on March 29th (Rangers and Giants). Innings and playing time are getting harder to obtain, and the prospects are mostly in minor league camp now. So, the Arizona limelight is beginning to shine more and more…on the regulars who up until this point, have been working on different aspects of the game than the younger guys. Pitchers are reaching the pinnacle of their arms performance and hitters are gearing up towards pitch recognition and timing, as well getting more time on the field of play itself.
.

It won’t be long now till we’re tipping our glass to the sound of “I Love L.A.!”

keep-calm-were-halfway-there
If you just can’t control your thoughts & emotions…feel free to display your concerns in the section below…

102 Responses to Opening Day is all downhill from here…

  1. Dodger4life says:

    Countdown to 25 continuation
    44) Ben Rowen

  2. Dodger4life says:

    Kahli’s trivia question continued…
    .
    OK, as far as the 70s, in contrast to the home-grown infield, who did the Dodgers trade to acquire the likes of Reggie Smith, Rick Monday and Dusty Baker to form their all-star outfield?
    .
    kahliforni says:
    March 20, 2015 at 1:50 PM
    First answer…they traded one of my favorite Dodgers for Monday: Bill Buckner

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Wasn’t Ferguson part of the Reggie Smith trade?

      Baker I can’t remember at all. Must have been a pitcher though.

  3. kahliforni says:

    Ferguson, indeed, for Smith. Baker was for a bunch of guys, but the main ones were Lee Lacy (he was coming into his own…but never really did) and Jimmy Wynn, of all people (that player I hadn’t remembered…had to look it up.) But I do remember who the Dodgers traded to Astros for Wynn in ’74. Bear, do you remember who?

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      Those times along with the 80’s seem like the end of an era to me. The best years from the late 40s ended in the late 80s with the early 90s hitting rock bottom. Since than it seems like an up hill challenge with the Dodgers nearing the top around 2004. We’ve had pretty good teams since then but not enough to get to the World Series.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Osteen wasn’t it?

  4. Dodger4life says:

    Afternoon everyone… Having lived in Seattle during my high school years, I, as well as maybe 2500 other fans would make the trek to the Kingdome. I must say, playing baseball in a dome with turf is just wrong. The retractable roof at Safeco isn’t as bad due to the grass and the ability to have outside air circulating..(even with the roof closed), I still felt a few raindrops upon my last visit. Anyhow, watching the Alamo Dome game last night was a bit foreign as well and spurred these old memories. The crowd looked to be about the same size too…There weren’t many fans in the stands from what I could tell? (might have been more than 2500, but couldn’t have been much more).
    .
    It was kinda odd that SNLA didn’t have a feed. Which reminded me that they are paying $250+ million this season to broadcast the games to around 20% of their intended market!!

  5. Dodger4life says:

    Kee-Kay leads off with another opposite field home-run…short fence, but good (line-drive) swing. 1-0 Dodgers

  6. Dodger4life says:

    Dodger HR count in San Antonio, (so far)…
    (8)
    I think?
    (9)
    (10)

  7. Dodger4life says:

    Whatshisname with a first pitch, 2 run shot…

  8. Dodger4life says:

    Dodgers vs Rockies on Root Sports channel 683 directv for LA, San Bernardino, and Riverside county’s. Spread the word

  9. enchantedbeaver says:

    It would appear Dre wants to play. Right now I’d have him over Crawford.

  10. Dodger4life says:

    Do Not Feed the Bunny

  11. Dodger4life says:

    43) Matt Carson
    42) Kyle Jensen

  12. Dodger4life says:

    This is an interesting Sunday line-up…

    Hernandez 2B
    Crawford LF
    Puig DH
    Van Slyke 1B
    Pederson CF
    Guerrero 3B
    Seager SS
    Schebler RF
    O’Brien C
    (Huff P)

  13. Dodger4life says:

    Hernandez hit another lead-off, home-run. Kee-Kay wants to play!

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Possible 2B next year when Kendrick turns down our QO.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Guerrero wasn’t very comfortable there. Kiki can play just about any position on the field. It’ll be interesting to see how much playing time Barnes receives at 2nd in AAA too.

  14. enchantedbeaver says:

    Hope they have a plan C if they think Hatcher can be a closer.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Who looks right for the role, enchanted…I’ve been falling asleep again late in the games??? By late, I mean if I make it to the 5th, I’m overachieving.

      • enchantedbeaver says:

        Right now if I had to pick somebody it would be Santos.

        • JhallWally says:

          Good thing Nedcompoop is not out there trolling… We would be bringing in some used up, used to be, on a big contract….

          I think we have enough young in house options….

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Ryu has been sent back to L.A. for evaluation on his sore shoulder….may not be available opening day. His injury problems are beginning to get on my nerves.

  16. griz says:

    Sure didn’t take long for the pitchers to start going down.

  17. enchantedbeaver says:

    Me thinks Tsao just put himself on a bus to Okie City.

  18. Dodger4life says:

    ‏@JonHeymanCBS
    No structural damage was seen with Ryu shoulder. Doctor prescribes a couple/few weeks rest. Obviously still concerns
    .
    McCarthy needing time to work some things out on the minor league side of camp and Ryu feeling shoulder discomfort gave me some concerns… Like, this could be a very challenging area of the roster this season.
    .
    Here’s to wishing Ryu and friends much health & success!
    .
    I also read that some thought, that even know the new Cuban Fernandez would need some instruction and seasoning…he should be a quick study. Oh and Zach Lee is about to exit the prospect list using the wrong end. What is he our 6th? 7th? 8th…13th starter? He is ahead of Frias and Wieland on said list. Although, I doubt that’s the case.
    http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/news/prospects/index.jsp?c_id=la

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Right now I’d say Wieland is #6. He’s pitched well enough in ST to have earned that position, especially with a guy like Bedard out for several weeks (not that he was all that viable in the first place.) In fact, I’d put Chris Anderson above Lee also at his point.

      Lee should’ve been flipped a couple years ago when his stock was high. I doubt he ever sees a full year in the majors.

      • 32and53fan says:

        Funny how often these “can’t miss” players… miss.

      • Dodger4life says:

        It sure looks that way doesn’t it..

        For an organization that prides itself on drafting athletes/pitchers. The pickings have been rather slim as far as starters go. Is this an indication of how valuable the upper first round picks are, or just evaluations that haven’t panned out over the past few years? I know we’ve talked (in the past) about the former pillager not wanting to pay for talent…

  19. Dodger4life says:

    41) Daniel Coulombe

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Interesting. Insurance for Uribe if he shits the bed or comes up lame in 2015. Regular 3B in 2016.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Still, MLB scouts were very impressed with Olivera’s right-handed hitting approach, his ability to play at either second or third base, and his potential to contribute right away, as Baseball America’s Ben Badler notes.
        .
        Is he good enough to make Uribe a deadline trade chip?

    • crash24now says:

      He better not get his ear bitten off while he is prepping in the minor leagues this year.

  20. messagebear says:

    If all these Cubans are such ready and experienced professional major leaguers, the MLB should be playing Cuba in the World Series all the time instead of messing around between the NL and the AL. I’m not complaining about throwing somebody else’s money around like that; I’m just waiting to see how many duds turn up.

  21. Dodger4life says:

    Need for a 40 man spot…
    .
    Bye-bye Barney???
    .
    Pick one.
    .
    http://losangeles.dodgers.mlb.com/team/roster_40man.jsp?c_id=la

    • messagebear says:

      Nicaseo or Heisey would be my recommendation.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Think I’d go with League first, then Frias or Coulombe. Money they spend, eating League’s contract is peanuts.

      I see where TWC figures they’re going to lose $1B on the deal with the Dodgers.

      Stupid is as stupid does.

      • Dodger4life says:

        My thinking was that if Rollins were to go down… Seager was ready to come up. With Kike and Olivera, Barney would be the weakest link? I’m still undecided about Guerrero, I haven’t seen enough of him in any of the defensive spots? He seems to have a knack for getting on base however…Rollins would have to be down for a long time, if he were disabled for a short stint Barney has more value, I suppose. I never really had League in the equation…but yeah, I doubt his contract saves him. Heisey is a stumper too? I mean he hasn’t done much this spring and after 11, or so days with the parent club, he can’t be sent down without clearing waivers.

        • enchantedbeaver says:

          Olivera may not be ready this year at all. Hasn’t played much since 2011, so I’m not sure a few months at AAA will turn into more than a September call-up. Barney could be a little redundant, but I’m not sure they want to rely on Kike as the sole back-up to Seager.

          If its an infielder that has to go, then I think you’re right and it would be Barney. But League sucks, and they have redundancy in Paco and Libertore vs. Coulombe. Frias I just don’t think is all that impressive and could be easily replaced on the depth chart as well.

          I do have to say though that unlike Ned, FriedCo looks into the future. Knowing they’re losing 3 IFers after this season and seeing the FA market in 2015-16 is all but void of said quality IFers, they went out and got their FA today cheaper than what it would cost them after the season. If he’s anything like they think he is, we should see some pop from 3B in 2016-17-18.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Rah! Rah! Rah! Makes sense to me enchanted… picking a player to soon be removed from the 40 man was easier with Ned at the helm…

      • kahliforni says:

        This may be blasphemy, and I apologize in advance to oldbrooklyn and the rest, but I hope the Guggenheims NEVER win a championship as owner so the Dodgers. Their greed far surpasses the McCourt twins, who simply wanted more toys. The Guggenheims have castrated Vin Scully and flipped the bird to the most loyal fans in the game.

        • enchantedbeaver says:

          I do have to say from a business standpoint though, when somebody dangles $8B in front of your nose, and you know no matter what you do you have 3+ million coming to the games year in and year out, you take the money. TWC was stepping all over their private parts trying to get the Dodgers away from Fox without any thought as to what they were actually going to be able to get out of the other cable/satellite companies. They way overplayed their hand. Other than goodwill, I don’t see enough financial reason why the Dodgers should force a conclusion to anything, which is why I presume they’re not. Only thing I can see a slight gain in would be merchandise sales, which probably won’t offset their legal team’s time in trying to straighten things out. Sucks for fans that want to see the games, but the culpable party to me is TWC.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Won’t the taxpayers end up covering the loss?
            .
            The Guggs don’t exactly come off as Treetop Flyers to me…other than the part about doing business that makes them smile!
            .

          • enchantedbeaver says:

            Only people that will have to cover the loss will be the poor people that have TWC and TWC’s shareholders.

        • Dodger4life says:

          Kahli, I understand your frustration… I’ve been in your shoes with no money, no tv and no radio. I so dislike the way Vinny is being subjected to the loyal fans…whom without, the Guggenheims wouldn’t have a prayer at recouping their investment.

          • kahliforni says:

            I want to gag when the Guggs, led by Walter (“…we’re not talking about orphans and widows…,” Kasten and the invisible Magic, throw their hands in the air and say “who, me?” when protesting their innocence. Any ownership group worth their salt would have researched the bottom line with all the other cable/satellite affiliates and worked numbers accordingly. We’re not talking parking lots, here. We’re talking the Los Angeles fan base…Los Angeles–it’s right on their company letterhead. But whatever, it’s OK. Karma is a bitch. The baseball fan base in LA is aging (hell, I know I am), kids are uninterested, and if the team isn’t on TV, good luck 10 years down the line packing that stadium with just…..who? But go ahead, spend another $62.5 million on an infielder. As for me, I’m now a full-time LA Kings fan.

          • kahliforni says:

            P.S. Thanks for the Stephen Stills love!!!!

        • oldbrooklynfan says:

          Kahliforni, I think you have a long wait before the Guggenheimers sell the Dodgers.

  22. JhallWally says:

    Well, we signed Olivera… I think it is a good move… Uribe is toast… I think he could be a very good bat off the bench and good team leader… I think he can accept and adapt to his new role….

    • trublu4ever says:

      What’s going to happen with Guerrero? And, our pitching, except for Kersh is bothering me quite a bit.

      • enchantedbeaver says:

        Could be they’ll delay officially signing Olivera for a couple weeks to see if they could trade Dre or Guerrero and open up a spot on the 40-man that way.

  23. messagebear says:

    I agree and empathize with kahli. I have been so fed up with the Guggenheims that most of the time I simply want them to fail. That’s difficult when they control the team you have loved all your life. With the huge changes all the time, very few of the additions being home-grown and recognizable as real Dodgers in the sense we used to know, it’s becoming difficult for me to maintain an emotional attachment to this team. I remember the Yankees and their constant ability to overspend – it made people hate the Yankees. It’s getting very easy to put the Dodgers in the same context. If McCourt and his years of governance were bad, the Guggenheims have brought us unlimited money, but in many ways a worse influence. And, they haven’t brought us a World Series yet. With what the Guggenheims have become to represent in modern sports, it really makes me want to root for the underdog.

  24. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Not meaning to change the subject but it really looks like the Dodgers are trying to find something wrong wit Ryu. I won’t blame them if Ryu is still in pain after the rest and rehab but I wonder if they’ll check him further if he comes out feeling good as he has in the past after having trouble with his shoulder. It may be a concern that it keeps happening.

  25. griz says:

    It’s so true, “things aint what thy used to be”, in modern sports. I got into a conversation with a giants fan a while back, and he made the point that you’re just rooting for laundry, what with the way players come and go now. About the time I get a favorite, he gets traded or goes the free agent route. Trades have always been a part of the game, but players come and go much faster in these later years. Bear and Kahli have summed up modern ownership, but I will still cheer for and pin my hopes on the Dodgers.

  26. messagebear says:

    I’m trying to view it as a win-win situation:
    when the Dodgers win, I feel great because the team is doing well;
    when the Dodgers lose, it’s really the Guggenheims who lost, and
    I can feel good because I want to stick it to those bastards.

  27. enchantedbeaver says:

    Who was the last real “lifer” on this team – Russell?

  28. JhallWally says:

    Wow!!! I am surprised that you are all not going off commenting on the Olivera deal.. I think he is our next 3rd baseman. Which I can live with.. He won’t start there right away as they will let Uribe play as long as he can before he inevitably goes down with and injury…
    Or he isn’t producing… Both of which are very likely soon…

    • trublu4ever says:

      He’s not a youngster, like Puig, either. So, I think he will be playing soon.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      I’m taking his signing with a grain of salt for this season. There’s a fair possibility that he needs TJ surgery, so that would wipe out this season entirely in order to get him ready for 2016. Also, he hasn’t played much since 2011, so I’m sure there’s a few rusty months in Okie City to get back in peak shape. Anything they get out of him this season is a plus.

      • oldbrooklynfan says:

        To me it looks like the Dodgers are just stocking up on Cuban players. They seem to have a high regard for them, as many other teams do.

  29. enchantedbeaver says:

    Time for predictions yet? I’m in at 90 wins and they win the division by a game over the Padres, 4 over the Giants.

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      I’ll go with 91 wins. I think they’ll pay the penalty for making such a big turnover to a division champion. I hope, I’m not sure, that they’ll finally make it 3 post season appearances in a row.

    • Dodger4life says:

      So you’re saying, that on Oct 3rd the Dodgers and Padres are tied with 89 wins a piece? Who’s the winning pitcher on Oct 4th??

      • enchantedbeaver says:

        No. They’ll be up by 2 games and will have already clinched so that Donnie can have the last game as a throw away game.

  30. messagebear says:

    I’ll go with 88 wins, which will be good enough to win a lackluster but competitive division. I don’t think Kershaw will match last year’s success, and Donnie will keep the bullpen messed up no matter what its makeup. They will bow out of the playoffs again before the World Series. Donnie will finally be a gonner from the dugout, and things will get reshuffled again in the Front Office. We will probably add another half a dozen advisors.

  31. enchantedbeaver says:

    Looks like Baez put himself on the bus for OKC this afternoon.

  32. enchantedbeaver says:

    So what we have so far is:

    D4 100-62
    Kahli 93-69
    Tru 92-70
    OBF 91-71
    Enchanted 90-72
    Bear 88-74

  33. kahliforni says:

    93-69…Wallach will lead them to a 54-6 record after Donnie is fired on August 1.

  34. crash24now says:

    Sign me up for 96 wins, but we’ll need another starting pitcher at trade deadline.

  35. 32and53fan says:

    95. Betting that bottom of rotation stays healthier than their past few years. Predict more hits with RISP.

  36. trublu4ever says:

    Happy Birthday JHall and OldBrooklyn fan…have a fabulous day!

  37. Dodger4life says:

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/maurybrown/2015/03/27/los-angeles-dodgers-have-already-exceed-3-million-in-tickets-sold/

    But, try this one on. All the Dodgers have to do in 2015 is bring 782,337 more through the gate by the end of the upcoming season to meet last season’s attendance. That’s because on Thursday the club announced that they have already exceeded three million tickets sold for the 2015 season, an incredible feat that makes it the earliest that milestone has been reached in franchise history.

    Happy B-Day
    Wally and Oldbrooklynfan

  38. Dodger4life says:

    http://www.ocregister.com/articles/dodgers-655725-season-time.html

    “No, because this is such a good deal for the franchise, it has enabled so many good things to happen and will for the next several decades,” he said. “I don’t think we could have foreseen what has happened. I don’t think we could have foreseen two mergers simultaneously from the two biggest providers, that both would be acquired by someone else – no one saw that or knew that at the time.”

    They had to of known there was a good chance a merger takes place… (I call bullshit!)

    http://www.freepress.net/resource/105883/join-fight-stop-comcast-time-warner-cable-merger

    http://www.forbes.com/sites/greatspeculations/2015/03/25/att-directv-deal-to-attract-less-scrutiny-than-the-comcast-twc-deal/2/

  39. Dodger4life says:

    Working on a new thread (right after naptime)…unless someone else is as well? I’m basically giving us a thread about the win/loss predictions in order to make it easier to access later.

    Any objections?

Leave a Reply

