Counting down to 25

The first reassignments of spring have been made, with Chris Anderson, Julio Urias, Ryan Buchter and Josh Ravin being sent to the minor league side today. I believe the Dodgers started with over 60 players in camp, so we still have a way’s to go yet, but the journey towards the 25 man roster has begun.

IMG_0514.0.0

I’ve been fortunate enough this spring to of had every minute, of every game on so far in 2015. Although, after a few innings…I end up fully engaged in my daily nap. So, I haven’t seen as much play as I would have liked. I really have nothing knowledgeable to pass along as far as how anyone has looked? Perhaps some of our other commenters can better assess the play to date.

Maybe discuss what you’ve seen from the positive side and the negative side of the youngsters being reassigned??? (No worries though, I just thought we could use a shorter thread)

.
62) Julio Urias
61) Chris Anderson
60) Ryan Buchter
59) Josh Ravin

.

Just a reminder:

(The blackout restrictions have been lifted during Spring Training when using MLB.tv. Even without a subscription they have one free game of the day. Which is updated around 9am on mlb.com.) I use an HDMI cable attached to my laptop and TV. I have found that as long as I defragment and run my cleaner before the games, it works as well as any other broadcast option. Plus there aren’t any commercials, which is usually how I begin to doze-off. Sometimes I open my eyes when they come back on…and sometimes I just let my subconscious listen in…

This sure beats the hot-stove season spent watching QVC. Yes, I said QVC! One day, the folk’s and I decided to see if they had a boat motor with a functional spinning prop, you know for 5 easy payments cause ours didn’t function any longer…They didn’t!  They did have a slop bucket with a functional spinning mop though…Dang thing is a dream machine, I tell ya’!! Only problem now is the UPS guy wakes me up about twice weekly during my thoroughly planned ballgame nap! I’m trying to train the dog to ignore him, but he hasn’t caught on yet! Woof! Woof! Woof! Woof!

121 Responses to Counting down to 25

  1. Dodger4life says:

    From the previous post:

    lbirken says:
    March 14, 2015 at 11:48 AM (Edit)
    I was able to see Will Farrell’s appearance at the Dodger-Padre game the other day (I have TWC) and was a bit disappointed he made only one pitch and did not have any plays in the outfield. I thought it was a big buildup to nothing but after watching the whole day’s highlights on the Internet, I changed my mind about the whole stunt. I know it was done for a good cause and of course Farrell gets a bunch of publicity but he handled things well. The fans showed great support and interest as did all the teams involved. He did not embarrass himself too much on the field and he clearly has respect for the game and the players. He did not act like a clown on the field and made a lot of funny comments along the way and at the end of the day. His best comment of the day: “I can’t believe I am ending my career as a Padre”. Hopefully this will not be the start of other celebrities trying to emulate what Farrell did.

    My question: He struck out in both plate appearances. In one he took two called strikes and then swung and missed the third pitch. He did foul off a pitch in his other at bat. I can relate to his experience because I had one at bat against Jerry Reuss at Dodger Fantasy camp some years ago and took a pitch, then fouled off a pitch and finally struck out. I don’t recall if I took any pitches for a ball but I don’t think so. So here is my question: Would you take any pitches that looked like strikes in such an at bat to prolong the experience or hack away?

    .
    Dodger4life says:
    March 14, 2015 at 12:44 PM (Edit)
    With my current frame…I’d probably get hit by the 1st pitch…then if I wasn’t injured, I would fake one, so I wouldn’t have to run the bases. In my earlier and better fit day’s…I swung at the first 3 pitches regardless of where they were thrown at. Probably the reason I only managed to get one hit all through high school… It was a good thing I could field well and pitch…otherwise, I wouldn’t have played much!

    So yeah, I’m swinging!

    .

    enchantedbeaver says:
    March 14, 2015 at 2:19 PM (Edit)
    I’d probably take the first pitch because I’d be in awe of the speed (assuming they weren’t taking anything off), even from a guy like Reuss.

    I’d be hacking after that though.

    Guy I always wanted to stand in against was Nolan Ryan. Have him toss me a couple fastballs, then throw that curve that fell off a table.

  2. koufax1963 says:

    HI OTD
    Will ferrell was great. My take is: it was all set, one pitch bunt and your out. Yea Donnie get to business! I too would of liked to face ryan, yea, koufax to kershaw, id want to get a hit, so if it was close Id swing, I think Ryan would throw 3 pitches to me and I would be walking back to the dugout. I have to say right now Alex G gets the nod for his ability, not the contract, and what do we do with Darwin Barney (125 BA)? there are some others, that will not make the 25 that are impressive, Dickson won’t make the 25, but I look at his action. yea we needed a new thread thanks!

  3. enchantedbeaver says:

    One thing at this point I could say with certainty is that I don’t want Nicasio in the pen. I really think he’d be this year’s version of Wilson.

    Surprised the sent Ravin out this early. He looked really sharp in relief of Ferrell the other night. No surprises with the others sent down though.

    I’m not getting a warm fuzzy from Uribe either. The guy’s got glove, but he’s looking too much like the original Juan they signed several years ago. I agree with Koufax, I think Guerrero makes the team and might even find himself playing a fair amount of 3B if Juan doesn’t come around.

    Joc doesn’t look spectacular, but he’s putting up sneaky good numbers so far. Seager I think could step right onto the field now and hold his own. Very impressive kid.

    Sorry folks, but Dre’s done. Unfortunately, Crawford may be too. Heisey hasn’t shown much, so I’d sure be tempted to trot SVS out there for awhile to see how he does on a regular basis.

    As they cull out some of the rest this week and into next and the regulars get more playing time it’ll be interesting to see if any of the suspects I mentioned above can step up their play as to actually be deserving of a roster spot.

  4. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I’m really enjoying watching these young prospects play a good brand of ball. I almost hate to see them being sent down. I’m not sure but I think I heard Rick Monday say that Alex Guerrero may be kept up but not placed on the 40 man roster. As far as Ethier goes, I’d be very surprised if he makes opening day as a Dodger.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I believe you’re right oldbrooklynfan. Rick Monday did say something to that effect (I’d have to think Monday hears things through the grapevine). It would be interesting to see how they pull that off though, since Guerrero is already on the 40 man roster???

  5. Dodger4life says:

    Gotta give that [Taiwanese] Brandon League, (Chin-hui Tsao) credit….He looked better than the Brandon League, [Made in America]!

  6. Dodger4life says:

    Crash – just cashed in with that Darwin Barney shot!

  7. Dodger4life says:

    Bench Bunny’s don’t have beards!!!
    .
    Fearless Lions Do!!!
    .
    HEAR ‘DRE ROAR!!!
    .
    “Dre plays better pissed off!!!”

  8. 32and53fan says:

    Thanks for the new thread.
    Looks like just like every year, injuries will help open up roster space for the excess amount of pitchers in camp. Today was the first I’ve heard of Tsao trying to get back in the game. Maybe all the years off allowed his arm to rebuild to the point where he is throwing 96 mph.
    There are too many good players for too few roster spots. I don’t envy the affected players, or the management responsible for deciding their fates and that of the team.

  9. trublu4ever says:

    I just want to get the season started. I’m a fan of the name on the front of the jersey, not on the back.

  10. Dodger4life says:

    Okay, so my new gravatar might be a little over the top…
    .
    My point here is that I remember Dre sitting in the dug-out watching the Phillies celebrate winning the NLCS. I also remember him saying he was determined to change the future. He was determined to Bring a Ring to L.A.!! Now, I’m not saying he has just rolled over and given up (meow)…I’m saying that he showed more moxie and more drive in the past is all. Has he lost bat speed??? Is the bat too heavy??? He claims to be too old to play centerfield…He claims he needs to play everyday in order to become successful. My thought’s are he needs to become obsessively driven like he was in the past. Make that statement of Bringing a Ring to L.A. come true… Even if he is so successful he ends up finishing his career elsewhere.
    .
    Pay dre……….pay dre,pay
    pay dre……..pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre…pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre……pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre………pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre………pay dre
    pay dre…..pay dre………pay dre
    pay dre…….pay dre…….pay dre
    pay dre……….pay dre.pay dre
    .
    Play dre……….play dre,play
    play dre……..play dre
    play dre…..play dre
    play dre…..play dre
    play dre…..play dre
    play dre…..play dre…play dre
    play dre…..play dre……play dre
    play dre…..play dre………play dre
    play dre…..play dre………play dre
    play dre…..play dre………play dre
    play dre…….play dre…….play dre
    play dre……….play dre.play dre
    .
    Excuses are for Sports Analyst!!!
    Baller’s Ball!!
    “D4”
    .
    “‘Dre plays better pissed off!!!”

  11. Dodger4life says:

    WHAMMY!
    .
    Eric Stephen @truebluela · 31m 31 minutes ago
    No Dodgers radio the next 3 days, but the SportsNet LA TV announcers for through Wednesday are Charley Steiner & Ned Colletti.

    • crash24now says:

      Guess I won’t be watching with the sound on…Steiner is bad enough, but adding Ned???

      • Dodger4life says:

        The new commish is going to join them today also. They should have a call in hour!
        .
        (Operator)
        Hello, would you like to speak to Charley or Ned???
        .
        (D4)
        Give me the commish, please!
        .
        (Rob Manfred)
        Manfred here!!
        .
        (D4)
        Can I speak with Pete Rose, please?
        .
        (Rob Manfred)
        Pete Rose is banned from using this phone!!!
        .
        (D4)
        Give the phone to Colletti then!!
        .
        (Ned Colletti)
        Colletti, here!!
        .
        (D4)
        Hey Ned!! How come you’re not banned from using this phone??
        .
        (Colletti)
        I didn’t bet on baseball!!
        .
        (D4)
        You did bet on Andruw Jones and Jason Schmidt though!!…Hang on a minute Ned! Enchanted would like to say a few words on your behalf!

  12. crash24now says:

    58) Zach Lee
    57) Chris Reed
    56) Mike Bolsinger
    55) Carlos Frias
    54) Joe Weiland

    Only 29 more to go before Opening Day!

  13. messagebear says:

    If we’re considering Colletti’s give-aways over the years, what may be the biggest one player throw-away could easily prove to be that contract of Andruw Ethier. I wish him a long and fruitful life after baseball (which seems closer by the day). I’m glad it’s only Guggenheim money, maybe with a bit of Magic’s thrown in. I wish the Guggenheims could go broke, and maybe only regret that I couldn’t find some way to get in on all of that moolah.

  14. crash24now says:

    Barney’s burning it up on offense. The HR yesterday, today 3-3 with a double. Putting pressure on the FO boys to keep him rather than Guerrero?

  15. Dodger4life says:

    Seager looks to have a strong arm… I just arose from my nap, so I don’t know who made that spectacular play at second??? (Update) I just seen it was Erisbel Arruebarrena. Man, too bad that guy can’t hit!

  16. Dodger4life says:

    Hey Charley….Can you ask Ned to do some Howard Cosell impressions???

  17. enchantedbeaver says:

    Young guys doing well this spring. Most of the old guys not. Uribe sucks with the bat. I’d give a LONG look at Guerrero at third. This offensively challenged team can’t afford a black hole in the line-up.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I was wondering if Guerrero was outplaying the one dimensional and seemingly fragile Crawford??? I haven’t seen him play 3rd base yet???

  18. Dodger4life says:

    There will never be another Vin Scully!
    .
    But, Charley is kinda growing on me. He has a good strong voice and is skillful in his delivery. Sure he has those moments when he seems to be comatose from a long night of drinking and lacking depth perception on a deep fly-ball, but when he was paired with Nomar and Orel last season…It wasn’t too bad. I’m with crash in saying that I don’t know if I can take two more days of Colletti as his color guy… I kinda chuckled when Ned went into the spill of how the Dodgers were building a deep ball club.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Charley is okay calling the game. I’m just not fond of his lame jokes he shares with Rick Monday.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Yeah, I think Orel and Nomar sorta helped in that regard?

        • 32and53fan says:

          I don’t know about them. I don’t get the TV feed. I just hear Rick and Charlie on the radio. I always like the pregame and post game shows better, especially Dodger Talk With David Vasseigh and Kevin Kennedy.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Rick and Charley have done some games this spring. I’ve heard Rick do games by himself, and I thought he did a better job alone. I liked Nomar and Orel together, they have plenty of knowledge. Sometimes that can become overwhelming though, having Charley there keeps them from becoming overbearing in a sense. They still need to work out the kinks. Like having Charley just be the voice and not the baseball mind. That is kinda what they did with Colletti yesterday. Only Ned sounds like he is underwater commenting through a snorkel. Just my two cents…

  19. koufax1963 says:

    OK if Darwin Barney hits, then he can stay, but that HR hit was it, don’t think you will see another all season.one and done?
    Uribe is batting worse than Ethier! Its getting tough to pick “who gives us the best chance to win” which is the credo that should be devoted to, Not “who do I pay the most money to”
    So to for me to figure the best 25 man roster I need to know how many pitchers are we having on the 25? 12 or 13?
    if so, SVS may be back up 1B, and spend much time in OF. Schebler is a guy who looks more promising than Crawford or Dre for OF. Yep gotta say that Pederson is looking like he may capture that CF starting position, sorry DRE. Puig you are in at RF, but only as you produce, yep your good tenure and promising potential locked you in, but be aware of Kemp and Dre as signs, you may not always be a Dodgers RF.( like he reads here?)
    So Uribe, rollins, kendrick and Gonzo are the IF, bench back ups
    Turner, Barney, Hernandez and Guerrero, sorry but that is 9 IFs, something has to give in, go down or get hurt. I dont have seager on the 25, but in someway Id like him to be.
    Couple more weeks to settle this out, I just dont want to have a stuffed uribe taking up playing time while batting 152 and mangement hoping he will come around. Or any other highly paid vetran.

  20. Dodger4life says:

    53) Austin Barnes
    52) Erisbel Arruebarrena
    51) O’Koyea Dickson
    .
    That leaves 50 still in the hunt, with two of them catchers, plus one of them the returning NL Cy Young and NL MVP winner.

  21. Dodger4life says:

    Blue jerseys
    Green caps
    May the luck of the Irish
    Bring the World Series back
    .
    “Lá fhéile Pádraig sona dhuit!”
    “Happy St. Patricks Day!”

  22. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Unlike most of you I really enjoyed Ned’s input. Maybe he’s found the right place for him.

  23. crash24now says:

    Some of the lesser known guys still in major-league camp:

    David Aardsma
    Sergio Santos
    Chris O’Brien
    Buck Britton
    Matt “Crash” Carson – obviously, my favorite – got his name from crashing through outfield walls

  24. Dodger4life says:

    I thought I’d seen that Santos was on the 40 man roster…I was wrong! I must of been reading tired again??? With all these arms/others in camp and making the assumption that the goal is to keep as many as they can around, in some way shape or form. Isn’t this going to create some stress to the current 40 man at some point? And if so, who do y’all envision being on the bubble (so to speak)? Not to mention maybe needing a spot to keep players from being Rule 5 eligible???
    .
    http://mlb.mlb.com/team/roster_40man.jsp?c_id=la
    .
    Frias? Lee? Coulombe? I suppose someone going to the DL at some point opens a spot, Guerrero hypothetically speaking could open a spot? Barney if he doesn’t make the Opening Day roster could be a candidate down the line, I suppose?? A trade could open something up as well??

    • crash24now says:

      Nothing like the $64 question. That’s a tough one. Well, there are easy answers and there are tough answers.

      The quick and easy responses relate to the contract issues – Ethier and Guerrero. In terms of Ethier, I think Joc Pederson will win the starting cf spot. So that means the fifth outfield spot (after Joc, Puig, CC, and SVS) will go to either Ethier or Heisey. In terms of Guerrero, either the Dodgers will fit Guerrero in (if he can make his glove work) or they will use that bench spot for maybe Barney or maybe Kike Hernandez.

      The tough question/answer is what about the bullpen? Assuming five starting pitchers and a bench of five position players, that leaves our usual bullpen of seven relievers. By my count, we still have eleven relievers in major league camp. The four “locks” that are sure to be in the bullpen on opening day are:

      Chris Hatcher
      Joel Peralta
      JP Howell (L)
      Brandon League (I know, I know, booooooooooo!)

      That leaves the following seven fighting for the last three spots (listed in alphabetical order):

      Pedro Baez
      Daniel Coulombe (L)
      Yimi Garcia
      Adam Liberatore (L)
      Juan Nicasio
      Paco Rodriguez (L)
      Sergio Santos (TBLA says he’s on the 40-man roster, not sure who has the most recent roster?)

      Which of those guys on the bubble would I bring to opening day?

      Guerrero – use that expensive bat of his, we need the offense
      Heisey – buh-bye, Ethier
      Santos
      Baez – he throws the heat
      Nicasio – Enchanted will hate that, so makes for more entertaining songs.

      …just my opinion, but you asked for it.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Good assessment crash…I’m assuming you seen that McGowan has a major league contract, with a $500,000 buyout (roughly speaking)???
        .
        In using the term, buy-bye, Either. Are you banking on a trade or just an outright release?

        • crash24now says:

          Somehow I missed McGowan – just more competition in the pen.

          Ethier will be traded. A release means the Dodgers will pay all of his salary. A trade assumes the new team will pay at least $1 of his salary. Somewhere in the MLB, there is a team willing to pay Ethier between $1million to $3m/year to be their fourth outfielder. He just has not hit well enough to be anybody’s starting outfielder.

          • enchantedbeaver says:

            Unless they find a desperate team, Dre will be on the roster and Heisey will go down IMO. I can’t see even the Guggs eating $56M. Joc has already won the starting CF job. Dre sucks out there and Heisey’s done nothing to take it away.

            Guerrero so far has earned a spot, but I think he could bring some value back in a trade. I’d give him a shot a third though. Uribe’s back to sucking.

            And Nicasio sucks donkey dongs.

  25. koufax1963 says:

    So the 25, will have 5 SPs, 7 RPs, 2 Catchers, OF of 4?, IF of 6?,
    thats 24. The 7 RPs I cannot name all, but the above stated by Crash are good. So names for OF are puig, pederson and crawford with SVS. IF is Uribe, Rollins, Kendrick, A-Gon, Turner, Barney.
    SVS is interesting as he has played 1B, with that flex, you could add another. Heisey and A-Guerrero, but should heisey get the nod over others. Thats where the money talks. Just wait and see.
    I am not a barney fan when our offense has been drastically cut with the loss of H-RAM and Kemp. Surprise me. Will we really see Dre sent to AAA? So exciting. and a Happy St. Patricks day to all!
    I remember this day was a big deal under the O’Malley regime in Vero Beach.

  26. Dodger4life says:

    Ned looks to be as nervous as all get up…. maybe Charley should ease the tension with some Irish limericks???

  27. lbirken says:

    I don’t think Ned has been all that bad as a commentator but I have not watched an entire game. He does sound a bit uncomfortable on the radio as if he would rather be doing something else.

    One thing I have heard him talk about with Charlie is how interesting I is to watch the prospects in the later innings of spring games. I agree, the Dodgers seem to have some guys who are still a few years away but show some promise. Not sure how this happened so quickly but all of a sudden the Dodgers seem to have more talent down on the farm than what we have seen in a few years.

    • 32and53fan says:

      How is Ned’s “Presentation”, one of his favorite player evaluation words.

      • lbirken says:

        Ned actually “presents” himself well enough. But as I type this I realize that all of this talent in the minors came up on Ned’s watch. No wonder he likes them all. He has made some references to how much different things are now without naming current or former ownership, especially with regards to seeing so many prospects playing in games instead of older guys trying to catch on. Charlie and Rick have mentioned the same thing.

  28. Dodger4life says:

    I’m not sure, but I think Kendrick just hit the deepest bomb to date??

  29. enchantedbeaver says:

    For a team that’s supposed to in part be built on defense, they sure have been playing sloppy ball.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I was talking to Crzblue (Emma Amaya) on Facebook and she was filling me in on the game action. She mentioned that there was sloppy play and that Howell and Grandal couldn’t figure out who should field a bunt. For some reason, it reminded me of this:

      “…Willie Davis gets a hit and Tommy does the same. Here comes Mr. Howard with a chance to win the game.
      Hit it once… big Frank…
      …BUNTS?!!

      Cepeda runs to field the ball, and so does Hiller, so does Miller. Miller hollers “Hiller!”, Hiller hollers “Miller!”, Haller hollers “Hiller!”, points to Miller with his fist…
      And that’s the Miller, Hiller, Haller hallelujah twist!

      The Davis’s score, it’s four to four, Howard’s still running the bases.
      From second to third, it’s almost absurd… amazement on everyone’s faces!

      He’s headed for home, he hasn’t a chance, the poor lad is gonna be dead! But the ball hits him right in the seat of his pants… and he SCORES!

      That’s using your head!!…”

      • lbirken says:

        That was a great song.

      • enchantedbeaver says:

        I remember that. They used to play it on Doctor Demento.

        Don’t see any of the game myself, but noticed 4 errors yesterday, 3 the day before. Wouldn’t be so bad if it were the young’uns, but its guys that have a shot or will make the 25-man. Even Barney’s make a couple the last two games.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Updated for 2015:

      …Van Slyke runs to field the ball, and so does Kendrick, so does Howell. Howell hollers “Kendrick!”, Kendrick hollers “Howell!”, Grandal hollers “Kendrick!”, points to Howell with his fist…
      And that’s the Howell, Kendrick, Grandal Dodgers clusterf***!,
      and Mattingly is pissed!

  30. enchantedbeaver says:

    Sloppy play aside, I’m of the opinion with Rollins not needing a late inning defensive replacement like Hanram did, that the bench should primarily be bats. My bench to date would be Turner, Guerrero, Heisey, Ellis and SVS. Sorry, but $56M or no, Dre hasn’t even earned a roster spot. I think because of Crawford you have to carry Heisey, plus he’s probably the only one they can use off the bench to PR for the likes of AGon.

  31. griz says:

    I really don’t get Ethier. How could he be so clutch not that long ago and appear to be washed up at 33? I really can’t believe that, and I don’t think lack of playing time is the entire answer.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Hey Griz, I think if you look back to when he was really late inning clutch, you’ll find it was 2009 or 2010. He started his decline about 2011 and was in total free fall last year. If it weren’t for his contract I’m sure he’d be a real candidate to be released. I have to admit though, I’ve never seen a position player lose it as fast as Dre did.

      • oldbrooklynfan says:

        It’s a shame, Dre was once one the most popular Dodgers. Now he’s only popular when discussing trades. His Dodger days are truly numbered. It’s just a matter of time. We can’t say he wasn’t given numerous chances. He keeps proving there’s no place for him.

  32. koufax1963 says:

    would Dre think to do winter ball last year, it was obvious he had to bring his A game to ST this year. $ and family set, he stays home.
    Sad, I really like the guy, his charity work, his foody blog and he wore the Blue well, and when knocked them in the 9th, he could do no wrong. Very much different than A. Jones who I could not wait to leave.

  33. trublu4ever says:

    You are all probably right about Dre. My concerns, however, are….who knows if Puig can carry the load…..and, honestly, Carl isn’t any better than Andre (he is fragile as hell) SVS is okay, but, Heisey, really?! He hasn’t done shit this Spring!!

    • crash24now says:

      Heisey is a fifth outfielder. Joc Pederson will have to carry some of the load. Kendrick and Grandal will provide some punch that we didn’t have last year at 2B and catcher.

  34. Dodger4life says:

    We interrupt todays topic, to bring you this urgent message from Tommy!!
    .

    • crash24now says:

      Amazing that Tommy is still rocking it at age 87.

      This video inspired me yesterday to listen to him go off about both Kurt Bevacqua and Dave Kingman.

      Tommy is the greatest.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Agreed, crash! I may have to listen to those later tonight… I had to google the video for this song, as it was new to me… which just made this even funnier!!

  35. crash24now says:

    Andre basically peaked at age 27 (in 2009) and has been coming down ever since. Yes, his descent has been more rapid than that of, say, Adrian Gonzalez. Without steroids, it’s tough to be great until you are age 40. Why is Dre’s decline worse than others? Maybe he just was never that great. He had a couple good years. He got paid. Now he’s done.

    http://www.bostonglobe.com/sports/2015/01/02/what-baseball-player-prime-age/YlYJeLvmlCcX523L6WN2IP/story.html

  36. griz says:

    I have always thought a player’s peak years would be 28 to 32, when strength and reflexes would be at their best, and enough experience would come in to play. Looks like I may have been off a couple of years.

  37. crash24now says:

    This “peak year” topic brings the current MLBPA contract schedule into question. If a given player gets to the MLB at age 22 or 23, the team “lockup” period of six years gets him to age 28 or 29, when he has already peaked. Then the player is able to sign a free agent agreement for his years of decline.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Good point. Its always been though that the signing team of a FA is really paying for his past performance when he was playing for someone else and not what he’s going to do for them (see Colletti, Ned.) Without that 6 year period of indentured service though the small market teams might as well fold altogether – that’s their window of competitiveness.

      Back in the 70s (no, the 1970s) I think the prime years were 28 to 32, but over the last 2-3 decades bigger, younger, stronger has moved that prime/peak to 26-30.

  38. crash24now says:

    Ethier tries to show off his DH skills today, so he can be traded to Baltimore.

  39. kahliforni says:

    Andre Ethier has a long, arcing swing. That’s almost impossible to keep sharp playing sporadically or as a pinch hitter. I feel his demise is a huge part of his not playing. If he can’t crack the starting line-up the Dodgers should move him–even if it means eating money–for Andre’s sake. I’ve always liked and respected him. The Dodgers used him horribly the past few years. Surely the Guggs can eat some money. Tell them to use some of that hostage-taking TV money.

  40. crash24now says:

    What do you think of the top of today’s lineup being used on opening day?

    Rollins
    Crawford
    Puig
    Gonzalez
    Grandal

    I like it for the speed aspect. I was never in favor of having Gonzalez clogging up the basepaths when he batted third. But this will put pressure on Puig to perform as “the best pure hitter”.

    The other issue is whether Rollins and Crawford will have high enough on-base percentages to properly set the table for Puig, Gonzalez and Grandal.

  41. crash24now says:

    Brandon McCarthy no bueno today.

    Ethier shows off his DH-ness with an RBI double. Then Joc one-ups him with a 3-run HR, just to remind Dre that Dre will be the bench bunny, should he stay.

  42. Dodger4life says:

    I think our closer is playing RF! Just trot him from the outfield to the mound in the 9th. Kenley can become the set-up guy!

  43. Dodger4life says:

    Sorry folk’s, but I’ve had enough of Ned and A.J. Preller…

  44. messagebear says:

    From what I’m seeing in spring Training, I’m getting fed up with Puig and Crawford and getting the feeling that Gonzalez might have had his last great year in 2014. I also see no reason to keep Heisey, other than the fact that he’s already got a major league contract. It looks to me like Schebler or Sweeney could do a better job on the bench, except that everybody will say that both of those guys need to keep playing every day in the minors in order to keep developing.

    • JhallWally says:

      The trade with Boston is going to go down as one of the stupidest moves in history… They unloaded all their bad baggage, signed a couple of free agents and won a World Series… Now we are still paying for it… Crawford is only playing because of his contract. Gonzo is due to decline. I hope it is a couple of years off… It was just a bad deal… And, the contract they gave Ethier was just absurd… Beav, myself, and others stated it at the time.. And, why in the hell is Nedcompoop still around. He is the main culprit of our current roster woes…. Good Grief!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  45. lbirken says:

    I think it is premature to already start calling for the Scheblers, Sweeneys, etc. to make this roster as bench players in place of more experienced players. Yes, I will say let these young guys get playing time everyday. I am a bit surprised some are already writing off Agon before the season has started. As far as Heisey, I never understand why the Dodgers traded for him. My guess is he was some sort of insurance against the oft injured Crawford and the neverending story about Ethier’s fate.

    I found the discussion about the money free agents receive who have reached their so called peak years (whatever that may be) interesting but please, it is not as if Ned is the only one to pay big bucks to these players. Paying players for what they have done has been going on pretty much since free agency began. While certainly not part of any collective bargaining agreement, the practice clearly is the tradeoff for allowing teams to underpay and control players until or unless that player reaches arbitration and/or free agency. Haven’t we always said Ned paid players for what they have done hoping they might repeat it? Perhaps not the smartest way to do business but he is not the only one in MLB to take that approach.

  46. griz says:

    I thought Ethier’s deal was a good one.
    At the time.
    Wrong again.
    I guess that is why I live in the sticks of Utah instead of running a baseball team.

  47. crash24now says:

    50) Corey Seager
    49) Darnell Sweeney
    48) Scott Schebler
    47) Chris O’Brien
    46) Shawn Zarraga
    45) Buck Britton

    If you are a minor-leaguer and you hit the snot out of the ball in ST, that is not necessarily a golden ticket to the show. You gots to do your time in the MiLB.

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      I agree, you can’t predict a prospects future in their early ST years but I really enjoyed watching guys like Seager, Sweeney, Schebler, OBrien, Zarraga & Britton perform and I’m eagerly waiting for them to make their debuts, although, I know, some will not be as Dodgers.
      I also would like to point out, again, that I found Ned Colletti’s input, during the game, very interesting, as he recalled some of his decisions and other things he ventured through as the GM. It brought back some bright memories.

      • crash24now says:

        Seager? A potential all-star

        Schebler? A potential every-day corner outfielder. A left-handed power hitter, he could replace CC in 2016.

        Sweeney? A potential every-day second baseman. Don’t know if he will be good enough to replace Kendrick in 2016.

        • crash24now says:

          Could be a nice offensive lineup in 2016: not sure of the order, but something like:

          Pederson cf
          Seager ss
          Puig rf
          Gonzalez 1b
          Grandal c
          Schebler lf
          Kendrick 2b
          Guerrero 3b (assuming he can learn passable defense)

          • oldbrooklynfan says:

            Alexander continues to hit and his fielding seems to be improving.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Pederson in the #1 hole by default?
            .
            Yeah oldbrooklynfan… it would appear as if Guerrero hasn’t done anything to hurt his case.

  48. crash24now says:

    Brady Anderson’s getting creamed by the Angels today.

  49. Dodger4life says:

    Ruh-Ryu!!
    .
    Ryu’s shoulder hurts…

  50. Dodger4life says:

    Quiz time:
    .
    Without doing a Google search… and since we have 18 days until Opening Day..
    .
    How many of the ten players can you name…that have worn jersey #18 since Bill Russell hung his up???
    .
    Sadly, I would have been 0-10!! I’ll post the answers during the Alamo-Dome game!!

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Other than Dre, I doubt I could tell you anyone’s number on the current team.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Yeah, I couldn’t do much better. (Hint though) Two players wore this jersey # in 2014!

        • Dodger4life says:

          Okay, I’ll give you all…the 2014 players in question
          .
          Figgins began the year with it…
          Bernadina finished the year with it…
          .
          There is at least one other name, perhaps, we should know???

  51. Dodger4life says:

    Bonus question:
    Name the jersey #’s of the long-time infield that Russell paired with???
    .
    C) Yeager
    1B) Garvey
    2B) Lopes
    3B) Cey
    .
    I did much better on this quiz, as I am sure you all did too

  52. griz says:

    7,6,15,10

  53. Dodger4life says:

    First day of Spring
    .
    Double-header…
    .
    A’s & Rangers on the agenda today…

  54. kahliforni says:

    OK, as far as the 70s, in contrast to the home-grown infield, who did the Dodgers trade to acquire the likes of Reggie Smith, Rick Monday and Dusty Baker to form their all-star outfield?

    • Dodger4life says:

      I just seen this the other day…and I’m still stumped??? (Update) I Googled what I thought was the correct answer and it was wrong!! I was thinking of something else…still stumped though!!
      .
      Good question kahli!!!

  55. kahliforni says:

    First answer…they traded one of my favorite Dodgers for Monday: Bill Buckner

  56. Dodger4life says:

    Quiz answers… I figured someone would get Kuroda.
    .

    Roger Bernadina (2014)
    Chone Figgins (2014)
    Tim Federowicz (2013)
    Matt Treanor (2012)
    Hiroki Kuroda (2008-2011)
    Ramon Martinez (2007)
    Paul Bako (2005)
    Jose Hernandez (2004)
    Tim Bogar (2001)
    Jim Leyritz (2000)
    Bill Russell (1969-1986)

  57. messagebear says:

    I know it’s just Spring Training, but why does Mattingly constantly play to lose or tie these games that we should be winning. Can’t he save a bullpen turn for somebody capable of bringing us a save?
    I just HATE Mattingly, the p.o.s.! Can’t wait for us to falter long enough to finally get the Guggenheims to fire his ass.

  58. Dodger4life says:

    Joc opens the game up with a single, then Barney moves him to 3rd with a double…Puig hits one to the panhandle…3-0 Dodgers

  59. Dodger4life says:

    Crash Carson with a 3 run shot!! 6-0 Dodgers!

  60. Dodger4life says:

    Joc hits a 2 run dinger with 2 outs in the 1st…8-0 Dodgers!

  61. Dodger4life says:

    Leonys Martin hit one that looked like it was going to be out, until it hit the speaker…. He ended up with a single.

  62. Dodger4life says:

    The next batter hit a ball so hard it stretched the turf upon making contact and veered left of Adrians glove…

  63. Dodger4life says:

    Kee-Kay Hernandez with the opposite field, solo shot 9-2 Dodgers

  64. Dodger4life says:

    New Thread!!

Leave a Reply

