Congratulations Dodgers!

IMG_91147741737053

Way to go Dodgers!
Now use the Rockies series as a tuneup to get ready for Part 1 of the postseason, the NL Division Series.

104 Responses to Congratulations Dodgers!

  1. trublu4ever says:

    I am looking forward to an exciting post season. I can see giving some of the players one day off but, must play to keep sharp.

    • JhallWally says:

      Woo-Hoo, win streak!!!! And, the division title… Kersh is awesome…. Glad to see the offense show up…… I hope they can continue it….. We will need it against the Cards…….

      I am so on board with you Tru….. Maybe one day off, and then get them back out there…. If you ain’t healthy now, a couple of days aren’t going to make a big difference…… Just keep the ball rolling…………….

  2. griz says:

    It will be interesting to see how the pitchers are handled in the series against the Rocks and heading into the playoffs. and I’m wondering when and if Ryu will be ready. Haren will be OK providing we don’t get an umpire like the one squeezing Wilson last night. God save us from Hernandez. We know what we’ll get from Greinke and Kershaw.

    • JhallWally says:

      We are going to need Ryu to win a WS championship…. Bottom line…. And, it is going to get very tense with our bullpen…. If Ryu doesn’t come back and contribute, we will not make it to the series…. And, with our bullpen, I am not very optimistic about our long term in the playoffs…. I hope I am wrong. Let’s hope the bullpen guys can step it up….

  3. JhallWally says:

    OK, we’ve won the west… Stay sharp, you have to win 11 more games when the post season starts… The real work is just starting….

  4. koufax1963 says:

    Personally, I love it, Kershaw was fabulous, almost got out of that inning, and when was the last time a balk called on the Kman.
    Anyway all the gnat fans in my local community are upset or very quiet, less classy than some Gnat players like righetti, one gnat claimed the “gnats should have no trouble with pirates” , I just laughed and said “good luck with that”. Honestly, right now I d rather go a round with the gnats again then face the pirates right now,
    Great game, love the triple, love the puig HR and throw out, all Dodgers came together, and I love Wilson finishing it off.
    A break today, but the party will continue!

  5. kahliforni says:

    Dream road to a World Championship: Cards, Gnats, Anglos.

  6. crash24now says:

    Kershaw:

    The pitching
    The triple
    The behind the back defensive web-gem

    The MVP

  7. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I’ve never felt more confident in this team at the start of a postseason series than I do right now. I can’t help but feel that the Dodgers stand as good a chance to go all the way as any of the other teams.

  8. kahliforni says:

    The first pitch to the first Cardinal batter of game 1 should be a fastball to the ribs or a fastball so high and tight it sends the batter sprawling in the dirt. Send the message right from the get-go, get an umpire’s warning, then if the Cards get cute, their pitcher and manager are immediately ejected. Payback, 12 months late in coming!

    • koufax1963 says:

      wow kahli, you do play hardball, have a long memory and vicious retorts. If your not a Divorce lawyer, glad you are dodgers fan.
      We can beat the cards, sweep the red birds

      • kahliforni says:

        I guess it’s because the Dodgers’ pitchers last year were absolutely gutless in protecting their players. How many Dodgers hit the dirt against the Cardinals, not even counting Hanley being G-O-N-E for the series? What would Big D have done? Hell, what would Lasorda have done? By the way….I’m an art teacher. 🙂 Peace and love, as my avatar suggests!!!!!!!!!!!!

        • koufax1963 says:

          Love the fighting spirit! Peace and Love too. Kershaw put a plunk on, in support of his mates, kuroda had to do it for Bils to victorino in 09 and that was enforcement. I just want the bats to destroy, pitching is good (starting) bring back Ryu too

          • trublu4ever says:

            I think the Cards, who everyone thinks are a fine team, are in reality one of the dirtiest in the league….hurting Hanley was NO accident. So, I would gladly like to see us return the favor.

          • enchantedbeaver says:

            I don’t think Greinke would need much of an excuse to plunk a batter either. If this team is ever going to make it all the way it has to have the take no prisoners mindset from the get go.

          • JhallWally says:

            I agree with you Tru….. I detest those bastards… Make the first strike and drill their best player….
            Let them have a taste of their own medicine….

  9. griz says:

    kahli-I was just thinking how lucky we are as Dodger fans to witness Koufax and now Kershaw, but Drysdale has always been my favorite. We know what he would have done, but Kershaw has shown he’ll also play that game.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I love Big D’s reply when told to issue an intentional walk, “Why use four pitches when I can just hit him with one?”
      I was a pitcher in Little League from 1963 to 1965, prime years for Koufax and Drysdale. I was in awe of Sandy ‘ s dominance, but emulated Drysdale by throwing sidearm. When the ball was scuffed up enough, I could throw right at a right handed batter and have it break over the plate. It was probably not smart to throw curves at that age; I still have shoulder problems stemming from those says.

  10. lbirken says:

    Koufax, Kershaw, Drysdale. Wow, yes, I consider myself fortunate to have seen them all. The game was a bit different when Sandy and Big D played with regard to brush back pitches. There were no warnings and automatic ejections and the players seemed to understand how to handle these situations without all the drama. I still remember how Steve Garvey used to handle brush back pitches. If he was knocked down, he got up, dusted himself off, and more often than not hit the next pitch into right center field for a double.

  11. 32and53fan says:

    This is the best chance in 53 years to have Freeway World Series against the Angels. They would be tough to beat. Kershaw and Greinke would have to be on their game.

  12. JhallWally says:

    Screw the D’Backs, screw LaRussa, screw Stewart, and screw DeJon…… I hope they fail miserably……

  13. griz says:

    Sucks to lose DeJon. Stewart will be good for some quotes. It’ll make things more interesting when we play those people.

  14. oldbrooklynfan says:

    There is usually a one or more teams I fear in the postseason, or simply put, I don’t think the Dodgers could beat, but not this year.

  15. lbirken says:

    So the first thing Stewart does is fire Kirk Gibson. Probably predictable with the way things have gone over there. Gibby will probably get another chance to manage if he wants to give it another try. I also am not too concerned about who any other team has a GM, the players still have to perform. Look at all the love the A’s still get for their GM and they still have not won anything.

    • kahliforni says:

      LaRussa probably did the firing…only 26 years too late. He should have fired Gibson before he stepped to the plate to face Eckersley in Game 1 of the 1988 World series.

      • oldbrooklynfan says:

        Maybe Gibson will show up around the Dodger camp and renew old times or something like that, since he’s no longer a Dback.

  16. Dodger4life says:

    These three games should be interesting…
    .
    Ready-Set-Go…

  17. trublu4ever says:

    I’m glad Gibson was fired. He may have been a good Dodger but, he was a jerk as a manager.

  18. Dodger4life says:

    Man these September call-ups need some schooling on how to run the dang bases…
    .
    Oh, wait a second!!!

  19. oldbrooklynfan says:

    They’re hitting Hernandez pretty good.

  20. Dodger4life says:

    I can’t help but wonder how many mental mistakes these guys are going to make during the playoffs…

  21. oldbrooklynfan says:

    This game is more like it’s being played at Coors Field.

  22. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Beard gets a nice quick save.

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      No, he wasn’t credit with a save.

      • oldbrooklynfan says:

        I can’t figure out why Wilson did not get credit with a save when he came in the game with only a 3 run lead.

        • kahliforni says:

          I believe, but I could be wrong, the potential tying run has to be at least on deck. When a pitcher enters the ninth with a three-run lead and no outs, he is facing the potential tying run if he pitches to all three batters. If Wilson had entered the game up three runs with two outs AND one-man on, he gets the save…I think….?!?!?!?

  23. 32and53fan says:

    Official MLB Rules
    10.19 Saves For Relief Pitchers
    A save is a statistic credited to a relief pitcher, as set forth in this Rule 10.19.
    The official scorer shall credit a pitcher with a save when such pitcher meets all four of the following conditions:
    (a) He is the finishing pitcher in a game won by his team;
    (b) He is not the winning pitcher;
    (c) He is credited with at least a third of an inning pitched; and
    (d) He satisfies one of the following conditions:
    (1) He enters the game with a lead of no more than three runs and pitches for at least one inning;
    (2) He enters the game, regardless of the count, with the potential tying run either on base, or at bat or on deck (that is, the potential tying run is either already on base or is one of the first two batters he faces); or
    (3) He pitches for at least three innings.

  24. 32and53fan says:

    Looks like Wainwright could tie Kershaw in wins and complete games.

    Felix Hernandez, with his WHIP of 0.93 second behind Kershaw 0.86 can’t catch Clayton even if he pitches perfect game.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Hernandez would need to pitch 21 innings with no hits and no walks to surpass Kershaw.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Assuming Kershaw would have had 5 more starts and kept to his average stats, he would have had about: IP 234.8(4th), SO 281*, W 25*, CG 7* in addition to his ERA 1.77*, WHIP 0.86*, WAR (ALL) 8.1*, WAR (P) 7.7*, W-L% .875*, SO per 9 IP 10.845*
      *MLB leader

      In addition, he is the leader in some of the newer stats:
      Adjusted ERA+ 197
      Fielding Independent Pitching 1 .81
      Adj. Pitching Runs 40
      Adj. Pitching Wins 4.7
      Base-Out Runs Saved (RE24) 45.63
      Win Probability Added (WPA) 5.3
      Sit. Wins Saved (WPA/LI) 5.2
      Base-Out Wins Saved (REW) 5.6

      An amazing season!

  25. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Sorry, I looked at the wrong place on my scorecard. I was incorrect, there was nobody on base, when Wilson entered the game..

  26. Dodger4life says:

    Since it’s ”Fan Appreciation Day” at the park…
    .
    I will say ”Thanks to 32and53fan” for once again giving us a place to hang-out…and a ”Thanks for each and everyone” who takes the time to come hang-out…
    .
    I hope today’s game is a fun one… With Uribe and Kershaw running today’s show…I think it just might be…
    .
    Go Dodgers

  27. trublu4ever says:

    The Pirates lost so, we do get the Cards. Pay back time for us!

  28. Dodger4life says:

    Kemp is having fun!!

  29. Dodger4life says:

    A-Gon joins in on the fun!

  30. Dodger4life says:

    Tommy LaRibe has these guys fired up!!

  31. Dodger4life says:

    Hanley Ramirez is Uribe’s bench coach, and is wearing Tim Wallach’s No. 29 jersey. Don Mattingly said Uribe fired Josh Beckett this morning – Per Eric Stephen on Twitter

  32. Dodger4life says:

    Tommy LaRibe’s troops strike again…Bernadina hits a shot!!

  33. Dodger4life says:

    I just finished assembling my playoff roster…

  34. 32and53fan says:

    You’re welcome Dodger4life and Tru, but you don’t have to keep thanking me. Thanks to both of you, and especially crash24now for your excellent posts this year. Thank you to JhallWally and enchantedbeaver and others who shared your passion by posting over the years.

    My gratitude also goes to all of you who have participated by reading and sharing your comments over the years. This would be just a ghost site without you. Outside the Dodgers has had 347 posts and 38,939 comments so far. Not much by some standards, but many more than I hoped for.

    I am proud and grateful that despite our differences, we have treated each other with respect. That could be a result of our old school demographics. Most of us are in our fifties, sixties, or seventies and some have clear memories of “The Boys of Summer” who dominated the National League from 1952 to 1956.

    Like Spencer Tracy, who once said of Katherine Hepburn, “Not much meat on her, but what there is, is cherce (choice)”, OTD doesn’t have many members, but our members are cherce.

    • This is my absolute favorite site, Brian! So thank you from me, too! You don’t have a choice – you gotta take it – so there!!

        • Dodger4life says:

          I agree, crash has put the most time in creating post…he has put some good stats and thoughts into them as well.
          .
          Well done crash!

          • JhallWally says:

            I totally agree… Thanks Crash for your posts… They are very poignant and informative…. I enjoy them….

          • crash24now says:

            Thanks, 32and53fan, Dodger4life, and JHallWally for your kind words about my posts. I really enjoy this site and everybody on here. It’s a great place to discuss the Dodgers, especially because when we disagree about something, we all do it with respect for each other.

    • JhallWally says:

      Again, thanks for this format… I am proud to be and “Outsider”.
      I really enjoy interacting with fellow fervent Dodger fans…. I am in Ohio and I don’t get to connect with my fellow Dodger fans otherwise… We have good, informed baseball talk, but, there aren’t alot of Dodger fans out here….. I really like reading everyones opinions and outlooks…

  35. Dodger4life says:

    That’s a wrap…I hope everyone had the chance to enjoy Vinny these past few days…Him and his microphone, are truly, L.A.’s Power Couple…
    .
    Thanks Vinny!

  36. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Let me give my thanks to 32 and 53 fan and the rest of you for having me. This has been a fun blog for me as it’s truly a tremendous place to express my feelings. Also I enjoy reading what others are thinking.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Joe, you are a valued member of OTD. I appreciate all of your comments. You kept commenting even when it seemed that nobody was here. Let me assure you that there were others reading each of your comments.

      You are our link and witness to the glorious days when the Brooklyn Dodgers were America’s team and Vin Scully was a fresh faced kid who was number three on the broadcasting Totem Pole behind Red Barber and Connie Desmond.

      You have been the even tempered voice of reason when some of us were out for blood.

      If you feel like doing some creative writing and would like to submit a new post, feel free to do so. Whether it is a memory from Brooklyn days, or an observation about the current team, we would love to read it.

      And that goes for anybody else that has not posted here.

  37. koufax1963 says:

    Good Morning OTD fan Base, It was a great season for the Dodgers, especially considering the Australia beginiing, a DL Kershaw in April (is that guy something!), a lethargic hitting, and a revolving OF of the hitless and injured, two NO NOs, then June Jump from 9.5 down, to a sweep of the gnats in July and the dodgers didnt look back, well maybe a glance, so its off to the play offs, with some credentials, leading base stealer, leading RBI guy and certainly another CY young award. Lets go get the Cards.
    And a “Thanks” to all my Dodgers Fans here, who keep this site going, provide valued input be it stats, strategy or venting, and we all have had much of that this year. I smell WS appearance, with much respect to Cards, Pirates, Giants and Nationals, but this team is just firing on all cylinders to me, rest the BP and hope they can deliver shut out innings (yes our weak spot).
    It will be interesting who the chosen 25 are to lead the Dodgers past the Cardnials. Wainwright vs. Kershaw doesnt get much tougher than that to start. GO Dodgers and thank you OTD buddies!

    • crash24now says:

      I really like the fact that the Dodgers, especially the offense, have got some momentum going into the playoffs. That’s quite different from last year, when they seemed to go “flat” in late September.

  38. oldbrooklynfan says:

    Usually all I can see at the outset of the postseason are the teams that the Dodgers will have trouble beating and I usually end up right. But this time around I don’t see any team that is superior to the Dodgers. I can’t remember the last time I felt this way. I don’t know who’ll win out in the end but there’s no reason that it can’t be the Dodgers.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!

  39. kahliforni says:

    Teams with recent post-season experience scare me…hence, the Cards and the Tigers. Dodgers have that experience, too.

  40. koufax1963 says:

    Can we win Game 4 of the NLCS? That is my big concern. Yeah, way ahead of myself. I like our chances with the Cards, but our BP is shaky. I believe Ryu will answer the bell, but is he able to stop the alarm. I think eventually we will play the Nats, and zimmerman, strasburg and fister are some tough stuff to overcome. It is essential that Dodgers Bats keep doing what they have been hitting recently, need that run buffer to offset what the BP gives up. Dee needs to get on base often and disrupt things, on the flip, AJ must keep those runners from advancing.

  41. lbirken says:

    It has been an exciting season with all the drama and ups and downs as well as the frustrations that are par for the course. Nothing comes easy. Bring on the Cards!

  42. nedisajerk says:

    Happy 27th Bday Jansen.

  43. griz says:

    I’d take great joy in beating the cards, partly in taking revenge for last year, but mostly for Matheny screwing up the all star game and leaving home field advantage to the AL.

  44. oldbrooklynfan says:

    The Nats look like a very good team and our BP hasn’t been what it use to be but I think our offense and starting pitching can make up for that. I won’t make any predictions but the Dodgers look pretty strong this year.

  45. koufax1963 says:

    Game 1 of Dodgers vs. Cards at 330 PM PST? what is up with that start time? The sun will be bad, I do believe, and on a Friday afternoon in LA what kind of traffic jam will that be.
    These people that decide this stuff, I dont get them at all, whereas the WC games start at 5PM PST. Saturday will 630PM PST, fine, its saturday, no commute traffic, not that it is easy. The game 1 time is just crazy.

    • lbirken says:

      I agree, this is an odd time of day for a game but then again, games in all sports are not scheduled for the convenience of the fans or players but for TV. Saturday’s game is on MLB network which I assume many people do not get.

      • koufax1963 says:

        Just saying also, getting the fans in the Ravine would be a priority, the dodgers need their fans in house, and this time makes even more difficult

        • oldbrooklynfan says:

          I’m not sure if I’m right but it seems these games are based on what time it is on the East Coast. Which I think they should think more about before they schedule these games.

    • kahliforni says:

      Can TV get any worse for Dodger fans? MLB network for game 2? Are you kidding me?????

      lbirk, I have to assume you have tix to either game 1 or 2. If so, enjoy and bring home a victory!!!!

  46. Dodger4life says:

    They’re pumped up in KC…tie ballgame 2-2!
    .
    I don’t have either channel for the first round…same as last year…

    • Dodger4life says:

      I took a short nap and when I woke-up, this game was as quiet as a funeral parlor…then the dead came back to life…What an 8th and 9th inning!

  47. nedisajerk says:

    This is for you OBF since you probably remember him and considering he was friend with the late Don Zimmer and PH for him in the 1955 WS.

    http://www.sportingnews.com/mlb/story/2014-09-29/george-shuba-dies-dead-obit-brooklyn-dodgers-jackie-robinson-handshake

    • JhallWally says:

      Awesome Shad!! Nice post… Thanks!! You need to come around more often…

    • oldbrooklynfan says:

      I was not a fan, following the team, when these pictures were taken in 1946. I of course read and heard about the event many times. It wasn’t until the 1946 season ended when an uncle introduced me to the Dodgers.

  48. crash24now says:

    I can’t believe that the Pirates didn’t have somebody better than Volquez to throw against the Giants.

  49. lbirken says:

    Looks like the Giants brought their “A” game.
    And Kahli, I do not have any tickets for the Division series but I do for two NLCS games and one WS game. I hope I get to use them.

  50. koufax1963 says:

    I think the NATS will dispatch the gnats in 5 games. Madbum was kershawish last night. Wow a Grand slam and it wasnt hit by Madbum. Clint Hurdle gambled on winning the DIV, He lost, I understand the risk /reward of the Div win, so he was left with volquez, who had been decent recently. Bochy had his ACE all planned out, he had no other option. Pirate Bats just subdued by that left arm.
    Focus on the Cards, I have complete respect or them, I hope the boys in blue do to, and view each pitch as an opportunity to succedd and win in this series. Game One seems critical, but for the dodgers I think game 2 is the one that must be won.

  51. crash24now says:

    Geez, this is the longest time off period that I can remember. I don’t care for this four days off thing before playoffs start. Who scheduled this? Bud?

    Wild-card teams should be punished by playing their play-in game the day after regular season ends. Then playoffs could have started on Tuesday. Maybe throw in one extra day in case an extra game needs to be played for teams tied at the end of regular season.

  52. Spot on with this write-up, I absolutely feel this web site needs a lot more attention. I’ll probably
    be back again to read more, thanks for the advice!

  53. Funcom and Stunlock Studios are releasing thousands
    of free beta keys for Bloodline Champions, thekr upcoming Pv
    – P arenaa combat game due later this year.
    Sure, there’s some work ahead of you, SIMPLE does not mean EASY.
    With the addition of veteran fighter Ken, 7 chzracters havce officially been announced in total for SFV.

Leave a Reply

