¡ɹǝpun uʍop uosɐǝs ǝɥʇ uǝdo sɹǝƃpop

2014-03-17 02.47.06

As I type this,  the Dodgers are less than two hours into their seventeen hour journey to the island continent.  To combat jet lag,  they will have a workout a few hours after arriving, and before they get a chance to rest.

To create room on the roster for Chone Figgins,  Javy Guerra was designated for assignment. The complete roster for this trip can be found on the links on this blog.

As we get caught up in the excitement and hoopla of opening days,  it is good to remember the great sports columnist of the Los Angeles Herald Examiner,  Bud Furillo,  AKA The Steamer,  who often referred to the sports department as the toy department.

The freedom we enjoy, that allows us to engage in the pursuit of happiness as a baseball fan, was paid for in blood by hundreds of thousands of men and women that gave the ultimate sacrifice.

When I think of Australia,  I also am reminded of a haunting song that tells the story of the Australian soldiers,  part of ANZAC,  (Australian and New Zealand Army Corps),  who were sent to fight in The Great War in 1915 at the Gallipoli Peninsula of Turkey. The song is “The Band Played Waltzing Matilda”  by The Pogues. The song describes war as futile and gruesome, while criticising those who seek to glorify it.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=cZqN1glz4JY

The words and music,  and the gritty way the song is sung,  always leaves me with a lump in my throat, as I reflect on the horrible consequences of war.

Now that we put things in perspective,  we can turn our attention to the joys of a new baseball season.

Go Dodgers!
1395096294343

82 Responses to ¡ɹǝpun uʍop uosɐǝs ǝɥʇ uǝdo sɹǝƃpop

  1. 32and53fan says:

    G’day mate!

  2. JhallWally says:

    G’Day mates..
    This whole opening in Australia gimmick reeks of Emu Shit!!!!

    Freaking ES……………

    Selig is a baffoon!!!!! No, more like an ostrich.. He buried his head in the sand during the steriod era…. Only popped up long enough to let the likes of McCourt take him to the cleaners…

    Geez!!!!

    • JhallWally says:

      Now we get the Guggensheisters……. They will spend wildly and make the fans pay….

      How much faith can you have in an ownership/entity that kept Nedcompoop and Dildo…

      Geez!!!

  3. crash24now says:

    Nice job on this post, 32and53! I don’t know how you did the title upside-down, but I like it!

    • 32and53fan says:

      Thanks. I just searched for “upside down text” and a few web sites came up that let one type in text, then it returns the upside down version, which can be copied and pasted.

  4. Upside down title, wow I’m lucky I can type right side up. Speaking of Bud Furillo I remember reading a column by him in a Dodger newspaper type magazine which I believe was called “Dodger Line Drives” or something like that, back in the days before computers became so popular.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I used to get home from school and anxiously wait for the Herald-Examiner to be delivered. I would then read the Dodgers article by Bob Hunter, Bud Furillo’s column, and, in later years, any baseball article by Allan Malumud.

  5. Dodger4life says:

    ǝƃɐɹǝʌɐ ƃuᴉʇʇɐq suᴉƃƃᴉℲ ǝuoɥƆ
    89Ɩ˙

  6. koufax1963 says:

    Is this the first year that the dodgers have not had their annual St. Patrick’s Day Game/Festivities?

  7. 32and53fan says:

    As I was looking on the Player FM app to see what podcasts featured the Dodgers, I ran across a radio broadcast of the August 31, 1957 game of the New York Giants vs. the Brooklyn Dodgers at Ebbetts Field. It was like getting in a time machine and going back 57 years.

    Jerry Doggett started off the broadcast with a greeting, then a commercial for Lucky Strikes cigarettes and a beer, whose brand I can’t remember.
    Vinny took over for the play by play, starting with his trademark welcome to fans, “wherever you may be.”

    Dodgers lineup:
    Sal Maglie, P
    John Roseboro, C
    Gil Hodges, 1B
    Jim Gilliam, 2B
    Pee Wee Reese, 3B
    Charlie Neal, SS
    Gino Cimoli, LF
    Duke Snider, CF
    Carl Furillo, RF

    Vin was in fine form and with the crowd noise, I could almost see all of the action of these Dodger greats, playing on a pristine field of green, underneath a clear blue sky, on a warm August afternoon. I could easily visualize Willie Mays dropping the ball after scooping up a Roseboro single, then firing a strike that nailed John after he took a wide turn, then slipped trying to get back to first.

    One difference with Vinny in this game is there is a little more dead air time between pitches than he has now days. But nothing like the horrible guy I heard last week, when the Dodgers game was not aired. That guy had almost zero commentary between pitches.

    You can get this, and other classic broadcasts, on several podcast apps, or Web sites like http://www.learnoutloud.com/Podcast-Directory/Sports-and-Hobbies/Baseball/Baseball-Historian-Podcast/20077

    It was also nice hearing Jerry Doggett again.

    • JhallWally says:

      Thanks 32/53… Awesome stuff…

      And, I love this blog and what you are doing to provide it for us X-Insiders….

      Thanks My Friend

    • messagebear says:

      Wow, never remembered that Pee Wee switched to play 3rd base, nor that Charlie Neal ever played SS.

  8. Well the boys have finally arrived in Sydney Australia. So on Saturday morning, let the games begin.

  9. crash24now says:

    What’s the worst thing about this whole Australian trip?

    1. The possibility that the Dodgers will not be fully prepared for the regular season.

    2. The possibility that some player, or God forbid, Vinny, will contract some disease or heart condition caused by excessive time flying in the air and/or jet lag.

    3. Watching Opening Day from 1:00 am to 4:00 am.

    None of the above. For me, it’s all about my baseball addiction. I’ve been waiting all winter for Spring Training, so that I can get my daily fix of Dodger baseball. Now we sit and wait until Friday when the Dodgers play an exhibition game. Then after the first two regular season games, we will have to sit and wait again until the Dodgers come back to California for the Exhibition Freeway Series.

    All this waiting has me in withdrawal! Arrrrghhhh! (almost worse than watching League pitch).

    • 32and53fan says:

      On very long flights, there is a real danger of developing Deep Vein Thrombosis, AKA blood clot in the legs, a potentially life threatening condition.

      That is why the medical staff provided compression stockings for the trip. However, I doubt if many players used them. I also doubt that any of them stayed in their seat for 15 hours straight.

      On a charter flight, they have a lot more opportunities to move around and stretch, to keep the blood moving and lessen the chance of getting DVT.

      • crash24now says:

        Yes, that is a real danger. I know a young man who got one from flying across the country, and then the clot lodged in his lung. He was treated and came through it all right, but he got the scare of his life.

        The best prevention is to get up and walk around every couple of hours, if not every hour.

  10. 32and53fan says:

    The foul territory is huge at the cricket field.

    ?screen_name=Dodgers

    Ned Colletti warned the outfielders to be “cognizant” of overthrows. Somebody needs to translate that for Yasiel Puig, and make sure he hits the cutoff man.

  11. lbirken says:

    That lineup from 1957 looks pretty imposing. Still hard for me to accept the Dodgers won only one World Series in Brooklyn with all the great teams they had from the late 40’s until the team left for L.A.

    I would love to be in Australia with the team but having made that trip last year, it just did not make sense to go again so soon. Too bad the players will not get to see much. I agree that after all the attention paid to Spring training games and such, it seems like the All Star break at the moment. I am hoping for two good games, two wins, and everyone coming back in one piece ready to start the season again.

  12. crash24now says:

    Oh, the glut of four outfielders. What to do, what to do?

    Well, today Carl Crawford left a minor league ST game early today, with an apparent right shoulder injury. I hope it’s not serious.

    So, let’s see, we got Puig, we got Ethier. Uh, that’s two, not four.

    • 32and53fan says:

      Maybe the Dodgers will have to start the clock early for Joc Pederson. Or put Chone Figgins in LF full time. Or Mike Baxter. Or SVS. Such a decision. That’s why Colletti gets the big bucks. 😉

  13. grizzy says:

    I did not remember Reese playing 3rd with Charlie at short either. When they came to LA I saw a game with Pee Wee still at short if I remember correctly. Maybe I’m wrong.

  14. I don’t think there’ll be too much interest in that Thursday exibition game. I hope no one gets injured.

  15. crash24now says:

    Happy Birthday to Clayton Kershaw!

  16. crash24now says:

    Dee Gordon leading off? He’d better improve on his OBP. If he can exceed his .320 ST OBP, he could really be a spark plug.

  17. crash24now says:

    Hoping for the best for Aroldis Chapman. That is some scary stuff to see.

  18. Dodger4life says:

    I caught some of last nights game. Zach Lee looked for the most part to be promising. His curve needs some work, although it’s a good pitch when he executes it.
    .
    I just read how the Dodgers PR guy claims that dodgers.com has more readers than the Times and that he prefers to release news there in order to spin it favorably towards the team.

    Then it would seem he did just that by spinning it in another direction.
    .
    http://www.latimes.com/business/hiltzik/la-fi-mh-dodgers-publicity-20140319,0,4531322.story#axzz2wVsFcPAT

  19. enchantedbeaver says:

    Ooooh, 3 hits against the dreaded Aussies. Can anyone on this team swing a bat? These clowns haven’t hit all spring and we’re starting the season? Goodluck with that.

    • Dodger4life says:

      It’s hard to say what will happen in the coming day’s as far as this team finding a way to win. I do agree that so far this spring, these guys haven’t displayed much fear with the bat. I’m gonna take a guess and say one of these games will be won or lost on errors?

  20. I see the exhibition game was played on Wednesday instead of Thursday, I guess I wasn’t paying attention to the Astralian time. But I know for sure that the opener will start on Saturday morning right after Friday night at midnight. 4:00 AM here on the east coast.
    I’ll be watching the game on MLB Network right after I watch some movies Friday night and into the morning on TCM.
    I hope I don’t fall asleep, but I doubt it.
    Then that night, Saturday night I’ll watch the second game at 10:00PM.
    I’m all set.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I tried to watch the game last night… it was rather slow and boring… I fell asleep several times. I seen Lee pitch then woke up with Rosin on the mound in the 9th.

  21. crash24now says:

    The exhibition game against the Aussies was too easy for Puig. First, their runners don’t know to not run on Puig. Second, their pitchers (or at least one of them) have not made the adjustments that the MLB pitchers made at the end of last year.

    But as Beav said, how does the rest of the offense manage only two hits?

  22. crash24now says:

    Ohio State just stole a billion dollars from me!!!

    Just kidding, did you know the odds of putting together a perfect 63 game bracket are 2^63 to 1? That’s like (4 billion times 2 billion) to 1. I doubt Warren Buffett’s going to go broke on that one.

  23. enchantedbeaver says:

    Per that sage Ken Gurnick:

    Puig 9
    Turner 4
    Ramirez 6
    Gonzalez 3
    Van Slyke 7
    Uribe 5
    Ethier 8
    Ellis 2
    Kershaw 1

    I feel for Kershaw.

    Good thing this isn’t going to be on at a time I can put my foot through the computer.

  24. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I just found out that it was the games in China,In 2008, I stood up late for. At least I know I did it before.

  25. kahliforni says:

    WOW!!!! Opening Day! Couldn’t be more excited. Haven’t missed watching Opening Day since……………..well, now……. Thank you Time-Warner and the Guggenheim Foundation for putting the fans at the forefront of your shared vision. Hey, at least I’ll get Vinnie for two innings on the radio. And speaking of Vinny, what a great gift to the legend as begins his 65th year in the booth and 86th year on Earth…to know he’s reaching 30% of his beloved audience.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I feel for ya’ Kahli and everyone else… Time Warner did this to me during the playoffs last season.
      .
      Oh, by the way. They have buried your comment with several new post on the homepage.

      • kahliforni says:

        Too funny. No big deal. Much like the ticket stubs gone by the wayside in favor of smart phones…just chalk it all up to “progress.” You know, I could be satisfied with never seeing them on TV again if they’d just put Vinny on the radio for the whole game.

  26. 32and53fan says:

    Did you notice the link to the picture of Aroldis Chapman? instagram.com/p/l0K3QIIzT4/#
    The doctors must have had to peel half of his face off in order to put a plate over his fractured skull.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      That sure was a shitload of staples.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Reminds me of Soul Train Skull Train
        .
        In American Legion, I was hit in about the same spot with a baseball bat. They stitched me up with some thread. That baseball, I’m sure was moving at much higher rate of speed than the bat. I hope Chapman recovers soon and comes back even stronger.

  27. enchantedbeaver says:

    One would think that with Kasten manning the helm, bad decisions like keeping Butera on the ML roster would be a thing of the past, but you’d have to think again. Unbelievable.

    Butera and Figgins and Baxter, oh shit!!

  28. 32and53fan says:

    According to my channel guide, the game tomorrow at 1AM PDT is going to be on the MLB Network. I hope it is not blacked out in the LA region.

    • 32and53fan says:

      It was blacked out! MLB Network showed player interviews, the Kershaw Kangaroo and Vin Scully Koala clips. At game time, it showed Intentional Talk. At least I got to hear Vin Scully call the action to kick off the season.

      SVS has some pop!

  29. Nellyjune says:

    It’s not quite Saturday on the west coast yet, but Happy Opening Day Dodger Fans! I hope you all have been well. I think about you always!

  30. lbirken says:

    With every FB post by the Dodgers comes negative comments about the TV situation. I do think a deal will be done soon but it is a shame the Dodgers and TWC allowed this to happen.

    I was a bit surprised to see FedEx got UPS’d to the minors even if he did have options. I think we will see some changes come March 30th.

    Not going to stay up all night to watch the game. I want to but it is just not going to happen. But I do recall when the Dodgers took trips to Japan for exhibition games following the season some years back. Isn’t there a scene in the Jerry Lewis movie, “Geisha Boy” that involves some Dodger players? I also remember that Maury Wills refused to take the trip to Japan following the 1966 season and as punishment the Dodgers traded him. He did make it back a few years later but his best years were behind him then.

  31. crash24now says:

    1:47 am. Craziest start time ever. Are we sure that we can’t blame this on Frank McCourt?

  32. 3:45 AM in Brooklyn N.Y. and I’m up and awake.

  33. trublu4ever says:

    I’m ready….let’s go Dodgers!

  34. crash24now says:

    Go Dodgers! 2014 is our year!

  35. trublu4ever says:

    Damn…rain delay! Looks pretty bad right now.

  36. Kershaw looks more like himself tonight.
    Nice HR by Van Slyke.

  37. Wow – we won!!! At least that’s what Yahoo Sports is showing. I’d have enjoyed seeing it, but it’s not to be (for now). Bah, humbug!!

  38. It’s good to win the opener. Now we can’t do worse than a split Down Under

  39. JhallWally says:

    WooHoo, win streak!!!!

  40. trublu4ever says:

    Love beating the Dbags almost as much as the Gnats.

  41. lbirken says:

    Kahli’s post above was printed in the letter section of the L.A. Times, not the sports section but in the editorial section. Good job.

    Not sure if the media is just trying to find an angle but I am amused at how much attention is being made to the Dodgers as being the “bad guy”. Some of this is wrapped around the swagger we saw in the Dodgers late last season but much of it seems based on Greinke’s comments about the trip to Australia. Some have made it out as if he was bashing the country, which of course he wasn’t. All he did was not give a pat answer to a simple question about not being all that excited about this trip. It is not a vacation for the players although from some of the photos we have seen it does look as if they are having a good time. But it is still a business trip that involves two league games played away from either of the team’s home fans.

    At least the Dodgers won the first game and hopefully will win the second and come home with a two game lead in the division.

  42. crash24now says:

    Nice opposite field home run by Scott Van Slyke! Showing power to both left and right fields! What a glut of outfield power we have!

    Now let’s go for the sweep!

  43. lbirken says:

    The glut of outfielders would only mean something if there were no health issues and we all knew for sure if Puig can handle the pitching.

    • 32and53fan says:

      On the days that all of them are healthy, it means that they will have a really good bat available in a critical point in the game as a pinch hitter. There’s nothing wrong with coming off the bench, getting a key hit, and being the hero of the game.

  44. 32and53fan says:

    Scott Van Slyke’s comments she’d a little more light on the value of keeping utility players that are experienced:

    “Van Slyke said he was able to turn around his career last year because of help he received from veteran utilitymen Nick Punto and Skip Schumaker. Punto now plays for the Oakland Athletics and Schumaker the Cincinnati Reds.
    “With Skip and Nick, it was a real blessing to have them on the bench with me,” Van Slyke said. “They kept it relaxed. I’d see them get their start on a Tuesday after they hadn’t played for three days, and see them grind out at-bats and help defensively. Whether they went 0 for 1 or 2 for 3, they always were excited to get that opportunity to help fill in for somebody.”

    http://www.latimes.com/sports/dodgersnow/la-sp-dn-scott-van-slyke-dodgers-arizona-20140322,0,3201885.story#ixzz2wjSiCMla

    I guess we will have to wait to see if Turner and Baxter provide enough value to match the loss of Punto and (not so much) Schumacher. Who knows what value Figgins will provide, other than his defensive versatility and ability to take walks.

  45. Well after sleeping on and off for several hours I’m ready for tonight’s game. Today was sought of a condensed day for me but tomorrow it will be a normal Sunday. Hope the Dodgers make it two straight.

  46. crash24now says:

    Looks like the Dodger offense has awoken. Scott Van Slyke is really punishing the DBacks pitchers.

  47. SWEEP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  48. Not the prettiest 9th inning, but we get the win, and that is all that matters.

  49. crash24now says:

    Started out a laugher and turned into a nail biter. But what the heck, we are now 2-0, DBacks are 0-2, and everybody else is 0-0.

  50. Dodger4life says:

    Man this Australian trip has me all mixed up… I watched all three games, or parts of all three games, as I feel asleep in each one at least once. I can just imagine what the players feel like.
    .
    Anyhow, they managed to sweep the series and from all the photos that I have seen… Have a nice time in doing so.

    101 wins to go… Nice work Boy’s!

Leave a Reply

