Rejoice OTD Fans, Dodgers Games Are Back

OTD FansOur long wait is over. Dodgers games are here again.  The Winter Olympics from Sochi, Russia were a nice diversion, but for baseball fans, there is nothing like having Dodgers baseball games back on the air.

For some of us, the new Dodgers TV channel, SportsnetLA, is a welcome addition.  Besides games, there will be a lot more pre and post game content.

Most of us, those from out of state, and those without Time Warner cable service, will have to listen to the games using MLB At Bat 14, MLB-TV, or whatever else we can find.

Whatever the way we get our Dodgers fix, the euphoria of the spring training season is back.

The participants of Outside the Dodgers, make the baseball season more enjoyable for this Dodgers fan, and hopefully for you too.

143 Responses to Rejoice OTD Fans, Dodgers Games Are Back

  1. The D’backs look like their in mid-season form especially against Kershaw.

  2. crash24now says:

    OTD participants always give a unique perspective on whatever the Dodgers are doing. You just can’t find this stuff anywhere else.

  3. Dodger4life says:

    While it’s always nice to win, today that wasn’t in the script. That’s pretty minor at this point though.

    It was good to hear Vin’s call of the game again… as I have heard so few over the years.

    Puig fared pretty well today, as did the young rule 5 guy … My thoughts on Puig are… I don’t think he cares whether it’s a sock-ball game in the living room or a big game, in a big atmosphere. The guy is a competitor.

    Figgins and Guerrero combined for a quickly turned double play…

    Kershaw, got his work in… although, they knocked him around pretty good. It to me at least, was just a reminder of how good he really is… when all dialed in.

    It was a spring game for me too, in a sense that I dozed in and out during the middle innings… I am sure I will build up some eye strength, soon.

    Nice post 32and53fan..
    .
    I agree that I enjoy the camaraderie we share for the passion… we call Dodger baseball. I have learned quite a bit about the game… through this friendship. And please trust me when I say, I understand where each and every comment is coming from. Even if I try and root, root, root… for the most part. But, that is just my persona.

    I do miss all the comments that used to take place… It was good food for thought… and always fun.

  4. crash24now says:

    PuigWatch: BA/OBP/SLG/OPS = .667/.667/1.000/1.667

  5. Dodger4life says:

    I heard the name Brendan Michael Harris today… and will have to admit… I knew nothing about him? So, I took a gander at Wikipedia and discovered he has a very similar name to my father… as my grandmother’s name was Harris at birth… and discovered that he comes from the same area in NY as my fathers family… So, in saying this… I am wishing the kid the best in his attempt to make the squad…

  6. JhallWally says:

    http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/mlb-big-league-stew/diamondbacks-radio-station-advocates-plunking-dodgers–yasiel-puig-220114754.html

    I think we rocked their world…. Freaking whining bastards…… I’m surprised Gibson doesn’t tell them to quit whining and win the division. Geez!!!!!

  7. crash24now says:

    Masher Watch

    Puig starting again, with his 1.667 OPS
    Hanley starting today for his first game
    Kemp still not running

    Just think what could happen if we had three guys who could really mash the ball in the lineup at the same time!

  8. crash24now says:

    Injury Watch

    Crawford – tight right hamstring
    Greinke – leaves game after four pitches

    • 32and53fan says:

      Scully: (Greinke) “felt” something in his calf.

      Once I was climbing stairs and I felt a “pop” in my calf. That was the weirdest feeling, it was like a rubber band snapped. I recovered after two or three weeks. I hope what Zach felt was less serious.

  9. kahliforni says:

    Looks like Greinke pulled a muscle a little down under. Gosh, he might not be able to make the trip!!!!!!!!!! Just to tweak Towers, Gibby, et al, Dodgers ought to send their B squad to Australia…and then sweep their sorry, whiny arses.

  10. crash24now says:

    Uribe with a HR in the fourth inning!!

  11. messagebear says:

    Just off the very preliminary results, I’d keep Turner in a utility role, send Gordon packing permanently anywhere that would have him, and have Pederson in ABQ and out of so-called #1 prospect ranking.

  12. crash24now says:

    The first of many 2014 Dodger victories!

  13. It was good to see Uribe and Eithier with their hitting shoes on, even thugh it was a spring training game.

  14. Dodger4life says:

    It looks like message bear… got a message through to #65 Peterson.. I missed the game today, just seen the report.

  15. koufax1963 says:

    My prediction is the dodgers will come out of the gate slow, but not pathetic like last year, This Spring Training is too weird with the Aussie trip and that 8 day or so trip. Grienke and his calf may just be a bit of a ploy to not go to Aussie, but why not wait for the decoy till closer till trip time. I didnt realize that Kemp’s ankle was so Career critical, needing an MRI just to see if it is healed properly before he can run, Yikes, Now how fragile is he? It be a shame if he became like Pistol Pete Reiser, too much potential not to play, but too damaged to play up to his ability. Hope to see the full engine clicking in June, and not run out of Gas in October! GO Dodgers!

    • Dodger4life says:

      A talar fracture that is left untreated or that doesn’t heal properly will create problems for you later. Your foot function will be impaired, you will develop arthritis and chronic pain, and the bone may collapse.

      Immediate first aid treatment for a talar fracture is to apply a well-padded splint around the back of the foot and leg from the toe to the upper calf. Elevate the foot above the level of the heart and apply ice for 20 minutes every hour or two until you can see a doctor. Don’t put any weight on the foot.

      In rare cases, a talar fracture can be treated without surgery if X-rays show that the bones have not moved out of alignment. You will have to wear a cast for at least six to eight weeks and will not be able to put any weight on the foot during that time. Afterwards, your doctor will give you some exercises to help restore the range of motion and strength to your foot and ankle. Most fractures of the talus require surgery to minimize later complications. The orthopaedic surgeon will realign the bones and use metal screws to hold the pieces in place. If there are small fragments of bone, they may be removed and bone grafts used to restore the structural integrity of the joint.

      After the surgery, your foot will be put in a cast for six to eight weeks and you will not be able to put any weight on the foot for at least three months. As the bones begin to heal, your orthopaedist may order X-rays or a magnetic resonance image (MRI) to see whether blood supply to the bone is returning. If the blood supply is disrupted, the bone tissue could die, a condition called avascular necrosis or osteonecrosis. This could cause the bone to collapse. Even if the bones heal properly, you may still experience arthritis in later years. Most of the talus is covered with articular cartilage, which enables bones to move smoothly against each other. If the cartilage is damaged, the bones will rub against each other, resulting in pain and stiffness. Treatments for arthritis include activity modifications, ankle-foot orthoses, joint fusion, bone grafting and ankle replacement.

      • Dodger4life says:

        It sounds as if they have corrected what they believe to be the problem… and are waiting for the blood supply to restore strength to the bone??? As active as Kemp is bound to become once healed… better safe than sorry, should apply here.
        .

        http://mlb.mlb.com/news/article.jsp?ymd=20140301&content_id=68513966&notebook_id=68513982&vkey=notebook_la&c_id=la

        • I agree 100%. I hope they take as much time with Kemp as possible this ankle injury really scares me. No use rushing him back and possibly ending his career.

          • Dodger4life says:

            I don’t know that it scares me. It’s Kemp’s ailment not mine. But, I get what you are saying… What intrigues my thought’s are how will this effect Kemp’s tenure chasing down balls in the outfield and his base running. These seem like spots where he could gain from improvement, limiting the risk of injury again. I’m just saying that playing smarter, while not necessarily weaker though… would be beneficial.

  16. Dodger4life says:

    I watched most of yesterdays game and it was rather fun baseball.

    The pitching struggled some, but they managed to work through it. Even Reed who had a horrifying 6th, bounced back in the 7th. Dominguez had a good showing in his lone inning though.

    On defense, Gordon seems to have a better grasp playing second than short. I realize it’s early and playing second will involve more scenarios, other than fielding the routine grounder and throwing to first, but for the most part things have gone rather smooth.

    Guerrero looks to be somewhat out of tune… whether you call it rust, or just adjustment issues. The potential is there however and they have only played 4 games so far.

    Clint Robinson is showing some promise with the bat. This guy wasn’t even on my radar, but he looks like a ballplayer. He has a total of 75 trips to the plate in the majors, while acquiring a BA of .333, an OBP of .366 with an OPS of .886, and just recently turned 29. His bio shows him as playing only 1st base, yet, that is an area where the organizational depth chart isn’t all that deep.

    Figgins has been moved around quite a bit this spring showing some versatility, but I’d like to see some spark from him on offense.

    Turner has banged out a few hits and coming in… that was said to be his strong point.

    And the highlight of the day was that Puig not only drove in a run with a sac fly. He made another strong, perfect throw… this time hitting the cut-off man!

    I haven’t seen much of League… this might be the highlight of spring so far. Not that he can’t resurrect whatever problems he has faced… I suspect it is lack of movement on his pitches? But the pitching coaches have had a season to figure this out and chose to leave him off the play-off roster. Factor that in with a strong group of arms in the mix… along with him. And well… KasteNed might of goofed this one up.

    I’m enjoying the Arizona spring, albeit, online… I missed Dodger Baseball!!

    (I’m curious to see how we deal with the 5th/6th (/7th for that matter) starter spot and Kemp’s return in the coming days.)

    • Dodger4life says:

      I also wondered… (not to take anything away from the 4 guys ahead of him) if young Joc Pederson is our best defensive outfielder???

  17. Dodger4life says:

    Isn’t there an old saying in baseball about nothing’s worse than being traded to Cleveland?? I’d have to think Justin Sellers would disagree if there is. He was just added to their 40 man roster… So long Justin and good luck.
    .
    Per – Eric Stephen on Twitter… The Dodgers receive cash considerations in return.

  18. There wasn’t any need ,IMO, to keep the weak hitting Sellers with all these infielders we have right now with the second base situation..

    • Dodger4life says:

      I agree oldbrooklynfan, with 7 guys in camp that can play SS, 4 that can play 3B and everyone having the capability at 2B, as well as two highly sought after prospects in the minors… The name Sellers didn’t instill much confidence around the Dodger office water- cooler this winter.

      • Dodger4life says:

        I forgot about Harris..add one to everything but the prospects
        He has made some nice plays today at third.

  19. Dodger4life says:

    Gordon in CF had a chance to double up the Padres on a short fly ball, with a good throw to first base. Robinson couldn’t handle the errant toss, although, he probably shouldn’t have let it get past him. The ball went into the dugout resulting in a Padre runner advancing to 3B.

    • Dodger4life says:

      RBI triple without a throw for Dee… He can flat out fly. He drove in Figgins who stole second earlier, avoiding the tag with a nice hook slide.

  20. Dodger4life says:

    Gordon seems to be a little jumpy when trying to make a throw under pressure… this may sound cruel and well, just odd… but I’d give him some full face head gear, four layers of clothing and some joint protection, then put him in CF and with every errant throw he makes… blast him once with a paint ball gun. He’ll get comfortable with one or the other before too long. His speed and youth are such a big asset… if he can figure out how to keep utilizing it for a positive.

    Double Bubble, Double Bubble, Double Bubble, Sting/Stick!
    .
    I want to see him succeed… I really do.

    • lbirken says:

      I pretty much gave up on Gordon but the few times I have seen him this spring I have to admit he has looked much better at the plate. If he can help the Dodgers win games, I am a fan.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Birk, he has frustrated me at times as well. I don’t like to give things up easily though…
        .
        Since 2008 (save but one year), I have been watching Gameday without sound and only the highlights after the game. I have MLB-TV this season… So, it’s been a while since I have been able to observe Spring Training. I am having so much fun and the Boy’s haven’t been all that bad. If this continues… KasteNed and Donnie are gonna have some tough choices to make. I am almost certain things like free-agency and options will play a part in the decisions. But after 5 games… I can see just about everyone being able to help at one point or another… if needed… and called upon. I’m not saying the talent levels are equal and that improvement isn’t needed.. just that so far… things haven’t been too disappointing.

        • Dodger4life says:

          With a short spring, these decisions will come quicker than normal as well… I do realize that hitting a baseball will get tougher in the coming days… but I was referring to situations and fundamentals. Guerrero turned a couple of nice double plays today… which was good to see, even if the runners weren’t too aggressive going into second. Gordon’s catch in CF and how with his speed the runner was caught off guard, not knowing if it would drop or not. Harris made a double play by tagging the runner and throwing to first. On the play before he chose to look at second, before throwing to first with a speedy runner… which from what Orel said, had there of been someone to throw to at second base, they would have gotten the lead runner out. As it so happened they were both safe.

          I forgot to mention how good Beckett looked today… Beckett had an outstanding day… both his movement and location were good.

  21. JhallWally says:

    Watch it all and get ready to make your fearless predictions…..

  22. Dodger4life says:

    I’m hoping to watch it all, Wally…

    I’ve been enjoying my new addiction… and just like my old one… It’s been peddle to the metal, until you just can’t peddle no more (or type, walk, talk. etc…)

    I’ve been stuck here at the house, with some health issues (I’ve smoked since high school and spent 25 years working in a rather dusty environment. It’s caught up with me… I have difficulty catching my breath these days).

    It’s been a long cold winter… followed now by buckets of rain… and truckloads of boredom… (I usually read everything I can Dodger related… comment sections included… while listening to music.)

    The main reason, I try and stay positive… is because this is more of a challenge to me.

    I always pick at least 100 games, just like I always root for a safety in the Superbowl. These event’s rarely happen, but when they do… It’s fun. My fearless prediction this season is (103).

    Like I said… peddle to the metal…

    I also made mention as to how I have enjoyed learning from what others have to say… and eagerly await

    *
    *
    I’m going to…

    A little on all the comments though, but will offer no guarantees…

    *
    *

    Shad seems to have slowed his roll this spring as well???

  23. I don’t see Gordon in CF or any outfield position, I hope it don’t come to that. I rather like to see him win the second base competition, in fact I’d rather see him there than Guerrero, although I think it is Alex’s job to lose at the present time if he’s not sent to Albuquerque. Gordon of course has to improve his OBP this spring before I think they would consider him.

  24. crash24now says:

    A brief spring training summary, in my opinion. Feel free to disagree, that’s what makes this blog great.

    Starting pitching is in fine form. Kershaw is not great, but it’s early. Greinke finds a way to fulfill his wish to not go to Australia. He will find a way to have another great season. Ryu is pretty much already there and just needs to build up arm strength for longer starts. Haren is okay. Beckett can actually pitch, which is a huge plus, since I had written him off with a career ending nerve injury. Billz will come along by and by, and will be ready to step in as a fill-in starter when the need arises.

    Relief pitching – who knows and who cares? All I know is that I am pretty happy that the 8th and 9th innings are pretty much covered with the Beard and Jansen. Paco, Withrow, Dominguez, et al. will be able to handle the rest.

    The crowded outfield – what crowd? We only have three at this point. Puig started strong, but hasn’t gotten a hit in four days. Ethier is having another great spring, let’s hope he can hold it together for a full season this year. Crawford has nagging injuries as usual. Kemp is not ready, but I’ll tell you if he becomes a beast by July and can hold it together through October, we may go very far in the playoffs. Meanwhile, Joc Pederson is making people pay attention to him, and he may be a very valuable piece this year.

    Meanwhile, Gordon is giving Guerrero a run for his money at second base. It’s good to have competition. Guerrero is going to have to earn his salary by working hard and showing off his batting skills. Otherwise, he’s going to be the nation’s highest paid Minor Leaguer.

    • JhallWally says:

      Nice synopsis Crash.. I agree on all points.. Come on Pederson, trade one of the overpaid, underperforming outfielders that we have…

  25. lbirken says:

    A lot is being made about the “short” Spring training schedule but the regular players knew about this a while ago and my guess is they will not be too affected. The pitching may be another story but even there it seems most of the pitchers were told how to prepare. Of course, injuries will always be the wild card as we have already seen with Greinke.

    Hopefully the trip to Australia will provide two wins and no drama other than the setting. My concern is the players having to “turn it on” for the trip, then come back and finish training until the domestic season openers and then “turn it on” again. I guess the good news is the Dodgers are mainly a team of veterans.

    As for second base, I am not quite sure what the Dodgers hope for here. It would seem they want Guerrero to win that spot, leaving Gordon for some other role. I don’t care what role that is if he can help the team win games.

  26. crash24now says:

    Wow. Just wow. League really blows. No news there.

    Kershaw had another shaky outing. He did fine through the first two innings, but then had trouble in the third. Two runs scored before League was brought in. League came in with runners on 1st and 3rd. Then he let five A’s score. This is what we have to look forward to from League. Just jettison him now. Never mind the money that we will owe him.

    • crash24now says:

      After the game, Kershaw was quite upset about his bad third inning [see TBLA for more specifics].

      Meanwhile (not really, this didn’t truly happen, but it did happen in my head): League said that he really didn’t care, because not only is he getting paid $7.5 million this year, he is also getting paid $7.5 million next year, so it just doesn’t matter.

  27. Dodger4life says:

    (Vinny) –

    Hello Dodger fans and a very pleasant good morning to you all, wherever you may be.
    Welcome to today’s (I Love L.A.) coffee time segment.
    Today we’re blessed with some very, very, special guest up here in the booth.
    I am so honored to introduce today’s play-by play trio…
    It is with much enthusiasm that I now hand the microphone over for today’s lineup to
    Welcome to Dodger Baseball gentleman
    Mr. Ray Charles – Mr. Stevie Wonder – Mr. Ronnie Milsap

    (Ray) – leading off for the Boy’s in Blue, is the youngster Vinny calls
    “The Wild Horse!”

    1) Puig – RF

    2) Crawford – LF

    3) Ramirez DH

    (Stevie) – Batting cleanup today, is #16 Mr. Clutch

    4) Ethier- CF

    5) Ellis – C

    6) Uribe – 3B

    (Ronnie) – heading the back of the lineup are three players battling for an Opening Day spot

    7) Robinson – 1B

    8) Turner – SS

    9) Figgins – 2B

    Now this is unusual… It say’s here Brian Wilson is the Dodgers starter on the hill?
    Have either of you two (referring to Ray & Stevie) ever seen Brian Wilson start a baseball game???

    (Ray & Stevie, both laughing) – Good One Ronnie!

    (Ray) – Brian Wilson? Stevie! Didn’t we do a show with the Beach Boy’s?

    (Stevie) – Yes Ray… and that was one wild time… I didn’t know Brian Wilson played baseball now?

    (Ray-Stevie-Ronnie) – in unison, with a cheerful coffee cup salute.
    I guess we’ll find out soon… We’re gonna need some “Good Vibrations” if everyone is gonna pull this gig off.

    (Vinny joins them) – Be sure and tune in at 1pm Arizona time folks as the Dodgers take on the Seattle Mariners.

  28. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX It’s tough to judge right now what the season will unfold because it’s a bit too early. But it’s good to see Ethier and Gordon off to a good start along with Rosin. I don’t know if I should be worried about Kershaw or not and I’m hoping Kemp and Billingsley will continue to recover well…among other things.

  29. crash24now says:

    Game-time updates:

    Puig back on track with a double.

    The Beard starts the game with a flawless, one K inning.

    Jansen one-ups the Beard with a flawless, two K inning.

  30. Dodger4life says:

    Gordon is the man!

  31. kahliforni says:

    I’m so used to watching the Dodgers on TV that I have nothing to say without seeing them. I hope the suits and lawyers in Time-Warner land figure it all out with the suits and lawyers in affiliates land, divvy up the pie, and put the Dodgers back on the air for all us no-lifers. Or just put Vinny back on the radio.

    • 32and53fan says:

      This year has been a bummer as far as TV coverage is concerned. I wanted Verizon FIOS to sign up so I could catch some early spring training games and take a look at some of the new guys.

      I hear that Gordon is doing well so far. I have to admit that I was not a big fan of his when he showed up doing his best impression of Willie Mays Hayes (“Major League”) and took the Twitter name Skinny swag. He had a overly large ego, or was at least pretending, but he was, as the Texans say, “All hat and no cattle.”
      The big leagues kicked his butt back to AAA, where he worked hard to learn new positions. Winter ball helped too. Now he is back with some humility and has a very good chance to stick with the club this time.
      Maybe after a couple of good seasons he could bring back his swagger schtick, and have it mean something.

  32. Dodger4life says:

    Gordon is showing his exceptional range… he still has to make a good exchange of ball from glove, to wherever it needs to go. Second base, at least on the routine play is a shorter distance. How he handles the quick exchange and delivery of the ball on the double play will determine his success at the position. As I suggested earlier, if Gordon can make an accurate throw consistently… he can play multiple positions with his range. Both of his triples this spring have been uncontested, there was no attempt to throw him out. He is so fast… he makes the triple, look like a normal ballplayers stand up double.
    .

    • JhallWally says:

      The writers will reach at anything for a story..

      • crash24now says:

        I have little respect for sports writers and sports announcers (Vinny being the obvious exception).

        But this story has reached a new low. It’s definitely the stupidest sports story that I have ever read. That’s saying a lot, given the constant bombardment of stupid pieces in LA from Simers and Plaschke.

  33. ________________________This contest for playing second has brought back memories of my youth when I also learned to play second on the sand lots. I found it easier at first, mainly because of the short throw to first base but went through hell practicing making the DP. You have to focus a lot and not worry about the runner when taking the throw from the shortstop, than come around to make the throw, with the runner charging down at you.Then get out of the way. I’m sure Gordon can find it easier than I did.

  34. enchantedbeaver says:

    Pretty much demonstrated why (thank goodness) Schumaker is playing in Cincy now. Gawd did he look awful on Fed’s “double.”

  35. The second base contest is really heating up now with Guerrero grand slam.

  36. enchantedbeaver says:

    Not impressed that these guys can’t muster anything off the other team’s starting pitching so far. They’d better hope Kersh and Ryu are on their games against the snakes or we’ll be back 0-2 and maybe have scored a run or two.

    • JhallWally says:

      Just send Ryu and Haren…. If we come back 0-2, who cares… We will take the division… Keep Kersh and Greinke healthy…

  37. Dodger4life says:

    The Dodgers to pay $41 million in revenue sharing in 2014. $1.9 billion to be shared throughout the length of the television contract..

    http://nypost.com/2014/03/07/mlb-strikes-dodgers-with-1-9b-cable-bill/

    I’ve only been able to view bits and pieces of the last three games. I did see the play enchanted talked about where Fed-Ex had a double. I didn’t realize it was Schumaker who looked so lost trying to field the ball. I also seen the Trout play at the plate… Happy that went in our favor, although, it sure was close.

    Zac Lee gets the start today…

  38. messagebear says:

    It’s a good thing it looks like we’ll have outstanding pitching this season, because nobody can really hit the ball so far in ST – so, it shouldn’t really matter who the utility players are; they can’t hit any worse than the regulars.

  39. enchantedbeaver says:

    When are they going to admit that League just plain sucks and send him packing? And he’s going to hold a spot in favor of Withrow or (insert any name here)? He can’t even get out scrubs and minor leaguers in ST.

  40. messagebear says:

    Ned belongs in League of his own – pun intended.

  41. My condolences to Frank Jobe’s family and friends and may he rest in peace.

  42. It’s sad to learn of the passing of Carmen Berra the wife of Yogi Berra. May she RIP.

  43. Dodger4life says:

    Rick Monday is interviewing Ned…
    .
    Ask him about Brandon League, Rick!

  44. messagebear says:

    I really don’t want to see any more of Figgins or Pederson this Spring Training, and who ever heard of the pitcher by the name of Sosa. Let’s get ready for the real season.

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Can’t say as there’s much of anyone worth seeing…

      Figgins though I’m sure is a lock to make the team. He totally sucks, so he already passed Ned’s talent evaluation, and Mattingly has “always liked him”, so he’s as good as on the plane to Australia.

      I do find it odd though that with all of these ex-closers we have in the pen, that Donnie DumbDumb would rather they all pitch in the same game rather than maybe let them get a feel for the late innings, you know, just in case Wilson and Jansen might need rest once in awhile.

  45. Dodger4life says:

    I keep laughing at Jesus Montero (who showed up 40lbs over his target weight), for the Mariners. Dude may look like a Weeble Wobble, but he falls down on just about every play at first base. He did manage to keep upright on that Beckett fastball.

  46. I didn’t listen to the first game but from what I saw of Pederson last night I’d say he’s a winner. I like his power for an outfielder. When there’s room for him I think he’ll make the best of it.

  47. It’s good that Kershaw had a halfway decent start yesterday and that Kemp is running a little. Greinke also seems to be doing fine. So let’s just say,”all’s Well”.

  48. Dodger4life says:

    I heard the game wasn’t available on the radio today… So, I’ll pass along updates… Ryu on the mound against the A’s..
    .
    Dodgers lineup:
    Gordon 2B
    Crawford LF
    Ramirez SS
    Ethier CF
    Puig RF
    Uribe 3B
    Van Slyke 1B
    Federowicz C
    Ryu P
    .

  49. Dodger4life says:

    Ryu with a K, for out #1.
    Lined to RF, Puig makes the catch, 2 outs.
    Fly ball to CF, Ethier makes the catch, 3 outs.
    Ryu threw a total of (5) pitches.
    .

    Gordon fly-out to RF, 10 yards short of the track. (1 out)
    Crawford draws a walk.
    Hanley single through the left side of the infield, Crawford on 2B.
    Ethier hits a 3 run tater to RF… 3-0 Dodgers. (1 out)
    Uribe with a tater to LF. 4-0 Dodgers
    Puig grounds out to 3B. (2 outs)
    SVS, K’s. (3 out)

    .
    Inning #2
    Ryu gets a fly-out to short RF, Hanley makes the grab (1 out)
    Line-drive single to RF.
    Hit ball back to Ryu, throw to Gordon for the force at second… Gordon throws the ball away. (2 outs) runner on 2B.
    Ryu gets another K. (3 out)
    Ryu threw 6 pitches. (11)

    .
    Fed-Ex grounds out to SS. (1 out)
    Ryu K’s. (2 out)
    Gordon lays down a bunt towards third, out by half a step. (3 outs)
    .
    Inning #3
    Gordon backhands a ball behind the bag at second, throws to Gonzales for the out. (1 out)
    Ground ball to Hanley, throw to Gonzales. (2 outs)
    Fly ball to RF, Puig makes the grab. (3 outs)
    Ryu threw 3 pitches. (14)
    .
    Crawford lines out to 2B. (1 out)
    Hanley fly ball to CF. (2 outs)
    Ethier high fly ball to short LF. (3 outs)
    .
    Inning #4
    Fly ball to Crawford. (1 out)
    Single through the hole at 2nd, Gordon was playing behind the bag almost.
    Fly ball to Puig, who makes the catch then tries to double up the runner at 1B. (2 outs)
    Ryu gets another K. (3 outs)
    .
    Puig grounds softly to SS. (1 out)
    Uribe ground ball single up the middle.
    SVS ground ball to SS, force at 2B, throw to first, dropped by the first baseman. (2 out) SVS on 1B.
    Fed-Ex, K’s. (3 outs)
    .
    Inning #5
    M. Taylor home run. 4-1, Dodgers
    Ground ball to Uribe, to SVS. (1 out)
    Ryu gets another K. (2 outs)
    Ryu walks the batter.
    Ground ball to Ryu, to SVS. (3 outs)
    Ryu pitch count (31) 26 strikes.
    .
    Figgins pinch hits for Ryu.
    Figgins, K’s. (1 out)
    Gordon, K’s. (2 outs)
    (Pitching change – Joe Savery)
    Crawford, K’s. (3 outs)
    .
    Inning #6
    (League on the hill)
    (Figgins in LF)
    League issues a lead off walk.
    League issues a 2 run homer (Josh Donaldson) to straight-away CF. 4-3 Dodgers. (None out)
    League gets a fly ball out to Puig. (1 out)
    League gets a fly ball out to Either (2 outs)
    (Pitching change, Perez)
    Perez gets a K. ( 3 outs)
    .

    Hanley legs out a ground ball to the second baseman. Nice play going to the left, though.
    Ethier singles up the middle, Pederson to pinch run for Ethier.
    Puig out on an infield fly rule. Hanley caught in a run down between 2B and 3B. (2 outs)
    Uribe flies out to RC. Pederson stranded on 1B. (3 outs) 4-3 Dodgers.
    .
    Inning #7
    (Figgins to 2B – Rojas to SS- Harris to 3rd – Pederson in CF – Scavuzzo in LF)
    Perez gets a ground out to Rojas, to SVS. (1 out)
    (Pitching change – Howell)
    Ground ball to Figgins, sloppy footwork and a late throw, runner safe at 1B.
    Hit ball, fielded by Howell and under-handed to SVS. ( 2outs) runner advances to 2B.
    Fly ball to Pederson in CF. (3 outs) 4-3 Dodgers
    .
    SVS fly ball single to CF.
    Fed-Ex grounds to 3B, force out at 2B, no throw to first. Fed-Ex safe at 1B. (1 out)
    Figgins draws a walk, Fed moves to 2nd. (1 out)
    Baxter singles to LF, everyone advances a base. (1 out)
    Olivo (Pinch hitting for Howell)
    Olivo one hops a ball off the LF wall. All runners score. Olivo on 2B. 7-3 (1 out)
    Olivo steals 3B.
    Rojas singles to shallow RF. Olivo scores. 8-3 Dodgers. (1 out)
    Pederson draws a walk. Rojas to 2B.
    (Pitching change – Deryk Hooker)
    Harris grounds into a double play, 2B- SS- 1B. (3 outs) 8-3 Dodgers
    .
    Inning #8
    Pitching change – Brian Wilson)
    (Olivo- C)
    Lead off double over Pedersons head, who attempted a no look catch.
    Single to RF, runner scores. 8-4 Dodgers. (None out)
    Fly ball to Baxter. (1 out)
    (Pitching change – Carlos Frias)
    Frias issues a 4 pitch walk. (1 out) Runners on 1st and 2nd.
    Single through the hole between 1B and 2B. Runner on second scores, runner on first advances to 3B. Batter on 1B. (1 out) 8-5 Dodgers
    Single to RF, runner on 3B scores, runner on 1B advances to second, batter on 1B. (1 out) Runners on 1b and 2B. 8-6 Dodgers
    Single through the hole, between 2B and 1B. Play at the plate not in time, runner scores. Runners on 1B and 2B (1 out) 8-8 tie-game.
    (Pitching change – Magill)
    Magill gets a K. (2 out)
    Ground ball to Harris, to Figgins at 2B for the force out. (3 outs)
    .
    (Pitching change – Arnold Leon)
    Leon, K’s, Scavuzzo. ( 1 out)
    C. Robinson flies out to C. ( 1 out)
    T. Robinson flies out to C. ( 3 outs) 8-8 tie-game
    .
    Inning #9
    (Pitching change – Kenley Jansen)
    Fly out to Pederson in C. (1 out)
    Ground ball to Harris at 3B, to Robinson at 1B. (2 outs)
    Jansen gets a K. (3 outs)
    .
    Figgins K’s on three called strikes. (1 out)
    Baxter flies out to LF. (2 outs)
    Olivo, K’s. Game ends in an 8-8 tie.

  50. crash24now says:

    Great news in the bullpen – Paco has fixed a mechanical flaw that made him fall apart late last year. I’m looking forward to an awesome bullpen that will pretty much take care of innings 7-9:

    Paco/Withrow/JP Howell
    Wilson
    Jansen

  51. crash24now says:

    Every Day ‘Dre with a three run blast!!!!!!!

  52. enchantedbeaver says:

    Gawd almighty League sucks. He isn’t worth a bucket of puss.

  53. crash24now says:

    Barry Bonds is back with the Giants in a new role….Chief Cheater

    Oh, wait.

  54. lbirken says:

    I finally took the plunge and took a short trip to Arizona over the weekend and saw the facility at Camelback. We ran into so many people at the hotel where we stayed who were in town not just for the Dodgers but for the Cubs, Angels, Giants and other teams. It kind of amazed me how many people come out for meaningless games but really they are there for the overall experience of being much closer to the players than they can at a major league stadium. We watched hitting practice and some fielding drills and had a good time watching Puig and Uribe ham it up while taking hitting practice. We spoke to someone who got lucky Friday and got an autographed ball from Puig but you have to be persistent and lucky to gets autographs. At Vero the players had to walk a long distance from the clubhouse to the fields, especially the main field but at Camelback they only have to walk from the practice fields. We did see a number of players sign at the stadium and some signed on the fields. Big props go to FedEx who was gracious to sign autographs when most of the players only signed for VIP’s who had access on the player side of the ropes. FedEx was one of the last players to leave the practice field Sunday before the game after talking with Mark McGwire, who practicably pretty much ignored the fans. FedEx did not.

    The games themselves are ok until most of the regular players leave but we did get to see Joc Pederson and he looks pretty good to me. I also liked Clint Robinson. We did get to see Corey Seager play a few innings and also Alex Guerrero, who looked like he is swinging the bat better.

    All in all we had a good time. I was not happy when the Dodgers left Vero but after visiting Camelback and seeing the buzz I can well understand why the Dodgers made this move.

  55. It was really good to see that Dre and Uribe showed their power. I’m a little worried about Wilson but they say everthing’s fine. Thankfully Kemp and Greinke are doing well and Paco found himself, albeit a little too late,for last year. I hope he’ll be his old self from here on out.

  56. enchantedbeaver says:

    Going to be a long summer with two catchers that can’t even hit their IQ.

  57. crash24now says:

    SVS with his second ST tater!!!!!

  58. crash24now says:

    Guerrero just missed a tater, instead the ball bounced off the top of the wall and he got a triple.

  59. Looks like a big battle for second base if Guerrero is still in it

  60. I hope it doesn’t get to Haren has to go to Australia.

  61. It’s good to read that their is nothing wrong with Wilson, I was concerned about that.

  62. crash24now says:

    Other than Figgins, today’s starting lineup looks like a normal April lineup.

    Puig rf
    Crawford lf
    Ramirez ss
    Gonzalez 1b
    Ethier cf
    Figgins 3b
    Ellis c
    Gordon 2b
    Greinke p

  63. enchantedbeaver says:

    Can’t say as that I’m impressed at all by our offensive “potential”. Neither catcher is even hitting .100. Figgins is just taking up space. Puig looks more than human. Crawford just plain sucks. And Gordon’s going to be the starting 2Bman.

    Whoopee!!!

  64. What’s up with Wilson?

  65. crash24now says:

    News blast: Arruebarrena is spelled with only one “u”.

  66. lbirken says:

    Not sure how much can be made from how certain players are hitting during Spring. If we have learned anything about the current everyday players is many of them are streak hitters, often hitting well for a period of time and then at times not. The key is not having them all hit the down periods at the same time as much as seemed to happen last season. The good news is at least so far none of the projected regular position players have suffered any serious injury.

  67. Dodger4life says:

    Maholm looked tired/out of rhythm, or something in that last inning, his landing spots were all over the mound.

  68. messagebear says:

    Who’s our hitting coach again?

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      I think the whole damn team is starting to believe in all the press they’re getting and think all they have to do is show up. They sure as hell don’t look like they’re getting ready for the season to start in a week.

  69. lbirken says:

    I have been wondering all Spring about how the players really feel about this trip and how it has affected their preparation for the season. Only Greinke has given what I believe to be an honest answer. However, the Dodgers cannot use this trip as an excuse for anything; the D’backs have the same situation. Also, the players did have a vote on going to Australia although I am not sure how the teams were selected.

    The reality is most players come into Spring training in decent physical shape. Do they really need the entire time usually devoted to Spring training to get ready? Perhaps some do and clearly there is a pattern to getting the pitchers ready. But much of this time period is spent on getting “baseball” ready and for management to evaluate players.

    By the way, the current hitting coach seemed to do a decent job with his previous team.

  70. grizzy says:

    I really don’t get this trip to Australia either. Will this make any difference to the Aussies? Probably not enough to notice. Just screws up the start of the season with games that could have a bigger meaning at the seasons end.

  71. oldbrooklynfan says:

    It is uncomfortable watching them not hitting when there opponents are knocking our pitching around. I think it’s best to just think of their health right now and hope the offense wakes up just as the season starts in Australia.

    • lbirken says:

      I am not even sure how to evaluate the pitching. I keep hearing Orel Hershiser talk about his playing days and not wanting to even pitch much if at all against teams he would face during the season. I heard Greg Maddux talk about not pitching to certain hitters the way he would during the season. Some pitchers might even by trying new grips or pitches while others are really bearing down trying to win a spot. I suppose each player is different.

      Hopefully everything will come together once the regular season starts. Remember, those two games in Sydney count.

      • enchantedbeaver says:

        I think we remember the games in Sydney count. I’m not sure they do (or particularly care for that matter.)

  72. Dodger4life says:

    You have the Cy Young winner who has flown to Africa and back several times, and Ryu who has flown to Korea and back several times as your starters. Not that this means much… if anything at all?
    .
    This team hasn’t really been a full squad much this spring. Guys have played together, but not collectively at one time. In this process guys who have shown a need to get more at bats, have obtained them.

    The veterans have played enough together in the past that I suspect they will be just fine. Uribe has been working on patience at the plate. Either was finding holes in the defense. Hanley is having fun, and when he has fun he plays well. Puig is a competitor he will study and adjust as he did in the minors last season. A-Gon is the man. All of the above players when in tune and healthy can track a pitch and take it deep.

    Healthy, then healthier later on… are big keys to this season.
    I’m guessing Kemp will come back strong, he was hitting the ball even know he had been playing sporadically due to injuries.

    Beckett, Billingsley, Maholm and Haren combined… need to better the days opponent up on the hill.

    These guys have been sluggish out of the gate in the past, but they were also a team searching for an identity… They found one when the Wild Horse came up and led the way.

    The guys who man the bench, need to hit, otherwise there won’t be any Double Bubble, Double Bubble, Double Bubble, Stick.

    I think Gordon will get better and better at bunting and figure out how to take advantage of this and improve his hitting… eventually.
    .
    I understand all the concern though… It’s baseball.

    Dodger Baseball.

  73. oldbrooklynfan says:

    I’m hoping that once a real game starts, one that counts, the way the game is played will turn the fortunes of this team around. They will have their best team on the field throughout the entire game, with one goal in mine and that is to win.Maybe this will help.

  74. kahliforni says:

    I’m hoping that once a real game starts, one that counts, I’ll be able to watch the damn thing on TV.

  75. Dodger4life says:

    I hope so too, Kahli
    .
    I have me a ballgame bucket this evening :0)

  76. crash24now says:

    Your starting left fielder on Opening Day, Scott Van Slyke!!!!

Leave a Reply

