Dan Haren Looks Good in Blue, and a Pool of You, Approve.

dan-haren-3

I was rather shocked by the overwhelmingly positive comments on here after the Dodgers signed Dan Haren to a one year-$10MM contract. Will this be a sign of things to come as we inch closer to the fresh sights and sounds of spring?

97 Responses to Dan Haren Looks Good in Blue, and a Pool of You, Approve.

  1. Dodger4life says:

    I almost fell of my rocker with all the good vibes yesterday… There is hope for us after all, who’d a thunk? (Such an event could of ever have taken place)

  2. Dodger4life says:

    I almost feel compelled to pen a song about all the joy…

  3. 32and53fan says:

    I was also going to leave a positive comment but my tablet crashed. It seems like he was in the top five of pitchers just a few years ago. Like everyone here, I hope he will remain healthy and return to his dominant ways. His signing is the only big transaction of the Dodgers off-season. The other signings were of players I never heard of.

  4. crash24now says:

    I like the one year contract and the incentive to pitch at least 180 innings.

    If only we could have worked in incentives to keep his WHIP under 1.200 and HR’s per 9 innings under 1.2

  5. Dodger4life says:

    It’s like Donnie don’t care
    Roll another bunt, ooh la da da da la da da la la da da

    E was gonna profess the doom until E got high
    Bear was gonna get up and fight the goons, then he got high
    The blogtune has changed and here’s why

    (Haren!)

    Because everyone’s high, because everyone’s high, because everyone’s high

    Tru was about to to smash Ned, but Tru got high
    Khali coulda bleated Neds a big ass, but he got high

    (Uh uh la la da da)

    Jhall is takin’ foreign instead of objects (Holy Cow) and here’s why

    (Haren Man, Hey hey)

    Because everyone’s high, because everyone’s high, because everyone’s high

    la da da da la da da la la da da

  6. lbirken says:

    Seriously (and what fun is that) I also like the Haren signing. He certainly can’t be any worse than what the Dodgers had at the 5th starter spot going into last season. I am sure the key was his willingness to accept a one year deal with the incentives.

    What to do with Uribe? This is a huge problem because other than the years Ron Cey was around, third base has been a black hole since the team came to Los Angeles. Uribe had one good year and probably deserves another chance considering the options but it just does not make sense to give him another three year deal. If another GM thinks so then wish him well. If he really wants to stay in L.A., perhaps he would take a deal that has some sort of option for the second year and/or pays him a higher than market rate as compensation for not getting a guaranteed three year deal. Even so, the Dodgers need a backup (and a backup plan) because even if Uribe returns, can he be expected to be available every day?

  7. grizzy says:

    I like the Haren signing.
    *
    Offer Uribe one year with an option for the second.
    *
    Trade no outfielders at this time.

  8. kahliforni says:

    I would hope, in the new giddy era of Guggenheim, that days of PVL stop gaps would cease, no offense to Uribe, Chavez, et al. Uribe is adequate. Is that the benchmark to attain a championship? 26 years and counting.

  9. trublu4ever says:

    Looking forward to winter meetings.

  10. koufax1963 says:

    I agree with the grizzly! And I am high too!

  11. Dodger4life says:

    Brian Wilson and his agent had a meeting with Brad Ausmus today in L.A.!

    http://www.detroitnews.com/article/20131125/SPORTS0104/311250102/1129/Tigers-trying-work-out-deal-free-agent-closer-Brian-Wilson

    So, it looks like there may be movement soon on this matter.

  12. grizzy says:

    Maybe he is high.

  13. crash24now says:

    Uh-oh. Alexander Guerrero has a hamstring injury. Isn’t he too young to have this stuff? A bad sign, in my viewpoint. Will we need to re-sign Mark Ellis so that each of them play 81 games each at 2B? (just kidding, I hope)

  14. Dodger4life says:

    Japanese Baseball Dignitaries are in town…

    http://www.mlbtraderumors.com/2013/11/npb-officials-coming-to-us-to-discuss-posting-system.html

    The Dodgers and Yankees have been rumored to both be high on Masahiro Tanaka.
    .

  15. JhallWally says:

    Quit dicking around Ned… Sign Eric Chavez for one year. He won’t be great, but, hey, neither will Uribe. And he wants 3 years… Just say no…. Chavez can be had on a reasonable 1 year deal with a mutual option for the 2nd. I would take Uribe on a one year deal, but 3 is out of the question.. We basically got one good 1/2 year out of Uribe for his 3 years and $21M. Wake up Ned….

    • dodgereric says:

      Hey stranger, how ya’ll are?

      What about signing Stephen Drew? Not a bad glove, potentially a plus-bat. He hits lefty. Stick him at short, move Hanley to third, and tell Terr-i-be to find as big a sucker as Ned – if you can.

      • Hey Dad. Long time no see. You seen Mom anywhere?

        Drew costs a draft pick – don’t think they’ll go there unless they absolutely have to. Might have to go at 3B with a scrub-type ballplayer until something shakes loose at the trade deadline and they can deal an OFer (assuming all 4 are healthy.)

        • dodgereric says:

          I haven’t seen much of anyone lately.

          Yeah, losing the pick is something I wouldn’t be too fond of. Plus, we’d have to deal with Boras and the deal that the cheater Peralta got might just make Drew more expensive. I’d pass on him if he requires a 4-year deal, that’s for sure. I just don’t want to have to think “go with a scrub” anymore. I’ve had enough of that to last the rest of my life.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Good to see you commenting again, dodgereric :0)
            .
            Ya’ know I always enjoy what you have to say…

      • JhallWally says:

        Hi’Ya Dad!! Great to see/read you. Drew would be a nice option, but like Beav said, I don’t think we will go there especially with it costing a draft pick…

        Hope all is well with you and yours. Happy Thanksgiving!!!

        Try not to be a stranger around here.

  16. Dodger4life says:

    I was sitting here wondering what kind of a return one could expect by trading Kemp?
    .
    Then I seen this article

    http://espn.go.com/blog/sweetspot/post/_/id/42549/which-outfielder-should-dodgers-trade

    Then, I started to wonder, what kind of return Ethier would bring?

    Then I started to wonder what the hell we really need bad enough to trade either of these guys?

    Then I thought a top tier guy that could bat in the lead off spot would be nice.

    I keep wondering if Seager is good enough defensively to play short or 3rd base, although, I don’t think they have used him yet at 3rd? I also don’t think he is ready offensively and think his potential is still on the up-rise.

    With the money they shelled out to get Guerrero I would assume he has the skills to play one of if not both SS and 2nd? I also think Hanley should be moved to 3rd.

    Better valued arms in the bullpen would be nice, then again… We may have a surplus of starting pitchers when and if Beckett and Bills return or even if we go out and get Masahiro Tanaka?

    What kind of return could we get trading any of our outfielders and whom would I trade?

    I have no clue as to what kind of offers are being discussed? I also have no clue as to the health of these guys (Heck, I don’t even believe the Dodgers have a clue in this regard)?
    I also need to factor in what each player brings to the clubhouse… when trying to replace them. (This info isn’t all that privy to me either?)
    Kemp, I think will rebound offensively, and when he does is one of the games best.

    Pederson I would keep, with all the injuries these guys have had as of late and Puig having a tendency to run into things… I also think Pederson is ready and would come close to matching what Ethier will bring in the years to come…

    So, my whimsical conclusion (leaving Crawford out, cause I think his value is the least) would be Ethier. I like the man a lot, I appreciate what he has done in Dodger Blue tremendously… But if we could get a valued piece, he is the one I would move. If not, we still need a lead off guy (unless Guerrero can fill this role).

    Just rambling out loud… I also wonder what we could get for Gordon? I read that they are thinking of turning him into a utility guy and frankly I would rather trade him then let him man more positions on the field.

    • I don’t think they could afford to trade Kemp when his value is at its lowest, then have him turn back into the beast that he can be. That would be a PR disaster. He’s also the only true center fielder we have, so it would be a mistake to let him go. A line-up with Kemp and Hanley in beast mode would be pretty formidable, assuming that our idiot manager used them in the right order.

      Crawford is plain untradeable. He’s poor defensively and nothing special with the bat. Couple that with his contract and they’ll be paying him for the next several years regardless if they cut him or not.

      Love him, hate him, Puig is young and the future. Totally dynamic whatever he’s doing. If Kemp comes back they’re both 5-tool players that could be a combo for a few years anyway.

      Pederson has one of two options. Go to AAA and wait for the trade deadline, or trade him now for something of value.

      Odd man out is Dre. Despite a gold glove, he’s of limited range and defensive prowess. Power keeps going down. Average keeps going down. Never had any speed. Huge splits. Trade value is eh unless he has some nice numbers first half of the season.

      I think we go into ST with our 4 ML Ofers. Even if we come out of ST intact I think Donnie finds some way to make it work until the trade deadline when a 3B becomes available. By that time the OF shakes itself out as to who gets playing time, who’s injured, and who gets traded, and we still have enough time where a new 3B still makes a difference. Pederson then gets the call-up to be the 4th OF the rest of the year.

      Seager’s a good 2 years away from being either SS or 3B. He’s got a plus arm for either position. Be interesting to see if they move him off SS in the minors this year. That will be an indication of what they’re thinking with Hanley.

      Well, you got my 4 cents worth (for what its worth.)

      • Dodger4life says:

        Thanks enchanted… Seattle I hear is desperate for a bat and having spent some time there this past summer, I can see why. They have a good fan base, if they could get something going. I read where they were stocking up on prospects when the market switched up on them. I think Dre could be a match here, maybe a three team transaction netting us the other Seager?

        I also wonder where Lee will fit into things in the future?

        • Dodger4life says:

          I’ll admit that I haven’t been around long enough (and somewhat sober) to know how all these transactions take hold… Just saying with the Dodgers having no trade options with their players, it gives Seattle a way to get someone who may make a dent. Also Andy Van Slyke was brought aboard this season… So maybe pairing the Van Slykes up would be an option?

          • Love to see them get Seager. Have to give up at least Lee and Pederson with Dre, plus eat at least 2/3 his contract. Dre on his own just doesn’t have much value because of his splits and his contract.

            Our trouble is, we don’t have much in the line of prospects, and they’re trying to rebuild the farm. I just don’t see much happening outside signing Ned’s usual one hit wonders (literally one hit) before ST. Trade deadline is another story.

  17. BTW, I see Lilly decided to call it a day. Another one of Ned’s 2 month success stories who parlayed it into a 3-year fleecing.

  18. trublu4ever says:

    Happy Thanksgiving.

  19. grizzy says:

    Looks like Nolasco got his long term deal. I’m thankful it was with the Twins.

  20. Dodger4life says:

    Happy Thanksgiving & Thanks to all our “Blues Brothers and Sisters” on this Blog… for taking the time to express, profess and even digress our passion for the greatest organization in all of baseball

    Go Dodgers!!

    Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm, I smell Turkey!

  21. Nellyjune says:

    Wow! It’s been along time! I am still alive and very well. I have competed in my first triathlon and half marathon since the baseball season has ended, with many more to come in 2014. I just wanted to stop by and wish you all a very Happy Thanksgiving! Love you all, and I promise to check in more often. Can’t wait for spring training to begin!
    Go Dodgers!

  22. kahliforni says:

    Yes, Happy Turkey Day to one and all. Great to see Eric and Nelly on the board. Watching Kings hockey last night, announcer said that Hanukkah and Thanksgiving won’t align again for nearly 80,000 years. Maybe Dodgers can win a championship before then. And hats off to Paul Revere and the Raiders…”Where the Action is.” Loved that band as a kid.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I’m glad you enjoyed it kahli.

      For those of you that haven’t enjoyed your feast yet, I hope it goes as good as mine did. Mom cooked the turkey all night long, so she could make pies this morning. She made two pumpkins and a mince meat, what’s gets me… is there are only three at the table this year due to logistics among the kinfolks. (I’m on a diet which means the old man is in pie heaven.)

  23. Happy Thanksgiving to all.

    I’m celebrating by cleaning out my office.

    At least Ned hasn’t brought home any turkeys – yet.

  24. Wishing you all a very Happy Thanksgiving.

  25. lbirken says:

    Hope everyone had a good Thanksgiving holiday. We all have something to be thankful for no matter what is going on in our lives.

  26. kahliforni says:

    Nolasco: four years, $49 million. Good for him.

    • JhallWally says:

      Yep, good for him. And good for us. I was afraid Nedcompoop would do another one of his too many years/overpaid contracts with Nolasco… Good luck and good riddance….

      • messagebear says:

        It really gets frightening when mediocre talents get such huge contracts, and even from what would be considered smaller market teams. I guess it’s great for Nolasco and people like him, but certainly getting more unaffordable for the average family to see their team expect on your cable.

        Of course, this is coming from an old guy who never would have signed Kemp to his, Andre to his, and probably wouldn’t give Kersh more than $200 million and 7 years. He is a pitcher and will break down before that time’s up, but with cable income for the owners, what the hell – sky’s the limit.

  27. Hi Everybody
    I had a wonderful Thanksgivings and I see most of you also had a great day. I see Lilly finally made up his mind to retire and I’m glad Nolasco moved on.

  28. kahliforni says:

    Before kick-off, I just want to divert from the Dodgers and say, “Go Bruins, bury the Trojans!!!”

  29. kahliforni says:

    Well now, that was better than I could have hoped for. BRUINS!!!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Woot! Woot!

    • lbirken says:

      What a game and I was there to see it! Maybe soon Bruin fans will expect to win these games rather than just hoping for the best but no matter, it was a satisfying win watching Trojan fans leave early from their home stadium while Bruin fans, including me, still in our seats (or actually on our feet) cheering long after the game ended.

      • kahliforni says:

        LA Times quotes USC coach and players as saying, “…we played our worst game,”…or “we came out flat…” I’ll tell you why they played their worst game and appeared “flat.” Because UCA kicked their butts. Why not just say it and quit passively dissing the Bruins.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I didn’t attend UCLA, or USC, let alone college. Neither did my parents. My father was an exceptional basketball player in high school and instilled the likes of UCLA in me at a young age. He also was a fan of USC and tried to instill their legacy into me as well. I am not a big fan of football, although, I do enjoy the college games more so than the NFL. Having moved around all up and down the west coast as a youngster and having relatives who have played baseball and football for certain schools. I have become a fan of the conference itself. However, having said that UCLA was my first love and I ALWAYS enjoy when they succeed.

          So, I have a smile on face this morning… I don’t care what anyone say’s… (I will admit, I turned the game off after UCLA scored their first touchdown and put on some music.)

          Now, this would never happen if the Dodgers were on…

          I miss baseball and the love affair I have with our Blue!

  30. Dodger4life says:

    I’m listening to music as I type this (It’s gloomy and rainy) So, story time.

    My parents moved me away from So Cal when I was 12. They drove up the coast with no destination in mind. Due to the end of summer, they decided on a small town in Oregon.

    http://www.mtangel.org/

    Most everyone in this town was Catholic except me and maybe one or two other kids. During Sunday Mass we had the streets to ourselves. There was an Abbey on top of the hill, where Monks were schooled. This place was where we watched movies, played pool and occasionally borrowed funds from the museums donation box. The town also had an Oktoberfest every year, and a big beer hall for the adults. This place was where we borrowed the empty bottles to fix our skateboards, five cents adds up quickly.
    So, my interest waned quickly in sports. Although, I continued to play baseball.

    We then moved up the coast to Washington, some of you may be familiar with the big city of… Roy Wa.

    http://www.royrodeo.com/

    This is was one tough place to be if you were a city boy. That rodeo arena was about 50 feet from my bedroom on the adjacent property. We’d occasionally play baseball inside and I called it Drysdale Park. It was fairly simple to strike out a drunken Marlboro smoking opponent and always made me feel like I was Big D himself. On offense when you occasionally got a strike to swing at it was rather easy to send it into the bleachers as well (Second base was on the warning track and the center fielder was somewhere in the grandstands). It even had an announcers booth behind where we put home plate. So, I would transform into Vinny in my down time. I think there were 110 people whom resided in this place. Boy, I think I got in a fight everyday for the first two weeks of living there. Apparently, if you didn’t smoke and drink during the local pick up game of baseball you were considered an outcast. (And my folks moved here to escape the evils of So Cal.)
    Anyhow, I went to high school in the next town over, which consisted mostly of families of loggers, dairy and chicken farmers, the occasional business owner, a reservation of Indians ( whose children only attended school the first and last week of the year and usually only to kick someones behind and accelerate to the next grade, yup every year.) oh and that one kid who was kicked out of some school in Watts and had relatives in the area (Boy was he different, funny though, no one bothered to mess with him, not even the Indians.) I remember my freshman class had 400 kids in it. I hear my senior class had 24. I continued to play sports at this school, until one day, I skipped class/classes to hear Jimmy Hendrix “Star Spangled Banner” for the first time out in the parking lot (This also was the very same place I learned the phrase Thai-stick.) What a coincidence, you may say! Anyhow, baseball became somewhat secondary after that. Mainly because the bus stop was a few miles from the house and I just couldn’t seem to hoof it as fast as before. It’s almost like suddenly I belonged to the same Indian tribe as my classmates. I think I missed 67 days before anyone caught on. There was an Army base that bordered the property line at the back of my property, so we usually would go find out what they were up to, while school was in session. Which became pretty lucrative after a bit. The sergeants used to man a position while some new platoon would try and ambush their location, this would sometimes take several days. We kinda opened up a trading post, and used our fathers beer as inventory.. You’d be surprised how popular we became.

    Anyhow, I hope you enjoyed the read. (even if only a section is Dodger related).

  31. Dodger4life says:

    I learned my lesson the hard way about borrowing from donation boxes… The final time on my way home down the steep hill, we encountered a Monk loading large rocks into a pick-up truck, so we stopped to help. I parked my brand new Schwinn in front of said truck. After helping him, he offered to take us home and I forgot about my bike. He never noticed it and drove right over the top of it, rendering it inoperable. He felt horrible, until I confessed that it was Karma. He told me to keep the money and put it towards repairing my Schwinn, and to never do it again.

    • Dodger4life says:

      This had a lasting effect on me unless you count that Jeep on the Army base that was left unattended and full of gas, just sitting there begging to be driven. My buddy and I took that back an hour or so later though. The guy entrusted with the Jeep was rather happy to see us coming. He even invited us to hang with him for the day. I think he was guarding the lake or something by himself… We went home and got him a fishing pole and some gear.

      • lbirken says:

        Great story proving once again how resilient people can be to survive just about anything and how life’s lessons are sometimes not learned the easy way.

        • Dodger4life says:

          Thanks, it was definitely different than what I was used too. You know there were some rough times along the way. But I seem to only remember the fun/funny ones.

        • dodgereric says:

          I think you learn precious little in this life by doing everything the right way. You learn the most important things by screwing up, but only if the lesson sticks not to do it that way anymore.

      • Dodger4life says:

        The Army base in question is…

        Fort Lewis, named after Meriwether Lewis of the Lewis and Clark expedition, is one of the largest and most modern military reservations in the United States. Consisting of 87,000 acres (350 km²) of prairie land cut from the glacier-flattened Nisqually Plain, it is the premier military installation in the northwest and is the most requested duty station in the army.

        I was pretty fortunate to have access to 87,000 acres as a kid with a trail bike. The only places off limits were the heavily populated area’s and the fake city, which was always well guarded.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I remember one stupid event in particular, they would take broken down cars, tractors and the likes and set them out in the field of a mortar range. My buddy whose family had lived there for several generations, came up with the bright idea he was gonna salvage parts off of one of the cars. So we rode our bikes out there with some tools and were attempting to dismantle an alternator, when a convoy rolled in. They quickly set up shop and someone with a bullhorn was warning us of their intended exercise. I couldn’t hear what they were saying, but my buddy said they wanted us to leave. Only he was adamant about getting this alternator. They hollered a few more times then shot something right over the top of us, that landed about… I’m guessing 100 yards behind us. My buddy still wouldn’t leave, I was pretty shocked and frightened. Not cool hand Luke though. They eventually sent a Jeep down the access road after us. We bailed without the alternator. I never went back to that place again.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Another fun moment was the day we began the trading post. There was a big tower with a platform on top near Lewis Lake. One day while we were riding bye we noticed three people camped out in front of it. So we stopped and played 20 questions with them… What are you doing? Where ya from. etc… They said they were waiting for a platoon to attack and they were all sergeants. The next day we rode out and they were still there and the next day the same. Then one of them asked us to go scout around and see if we could tell where the platoon was, so we did. We came back and told them about a mile over that way… Then the guy said he was tired of this waiting game and hungry for something other than c-rations. He asked if we could get a burger in that town of ours. We said the Tavern has great burgers that we usually just knocked on the door and waited for our food on the sidewalk. Then he say’s I don’t suppose they’d sell you beer too, half jokingly. My mom worked at a beer distributorship and pops bought broken cases for a dollar. Pops didn’t drink and would give them to his customers as he was a salesman. They gave us some money and we delivered their goods the next day. Then scouted the location of that platoon, which was now about three miles in the opposite direction. The next day those Sargent’s were so fed up with the whole thing. They asked us to find them again and lead them like a parade to their location. Which we did… (look boys the tower is 100 yards right through those trees). They were so appreciative they let us join in on the maneuver. They made us climb the tower and told us to pretend we had machine guns… I made three kills that day.

            Every one of those Army guys, I encountered roaming around out there were cool. The Airborne Rangers were the coolest though. We’d run into one every so often jogging/sprinting through the tundra and trees. They’d usually stop and play 20 questions with us while looking at their watch, and checking their heartbeat the whole time. Then after a minute or two be on the move again.

  32. Dodger4life says:

    Which gave me an idea… So new thread coming up.

  33. Derrick says:

    Greate post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed a fantastic job. I will definitely digg it and for my part suggest to my friends. I am sure they’ll be benefited from this website.

    Here is my page homepage ( Derrick – http://www.iamsport.org/pg/pages/view/26129464/ )

  34. Denny says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really great articles and I believe I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some articles for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an e-mail if interested. Cheers!

    Feel free to visit my page :: homepage ( Denny – http://educatedbottlen14.jigsy.com )

  35. Kristi says:

    Hi there! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.
    Does operating a well-established website like yours take a large amount of work?
    I’m brand new to blogging however I do write in my diary daily.
    I’d like to start a blog so I will be able to share my experience and
    feelings online. Please let me know if you have any suggestions or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

  36. Swen says:

    Hey! I know this is kind of off topic but I was
    wondering if you knew where I could locate a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having
    difficulty finding one? Thanks a lot!

  37. Odessa says:

    Have you ever considered publishing an e-book or guest authoring
    on other websites? I have a blog centered on the same ideas you discuss and would
    really like to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would
    appreciate your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to send me an e mail.

  38. Danelle says:

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m experiencing some minor security issues with my latest
    website and I would like to find something more safeguarded.
    Do you have any recommendations?

  39. Lesli says:

    Great items from you, man. I’ve be mindful your
    stuff prior to and you’re simply extremely excellent.
    I actually like what you’ve acquired here, really like what you’re
    saying and the way during which you assert it. You
    make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible.

    I can’t wait to read much more from you. That is really a terrific web site.

  40. Romaine says:

    I blog frequently and I genuinely appreciate your content.
    This great article has truly peaked my interest. I will bookmark your site and keep checking for new information about once a week.
    I opted in for your Feed too.

  41. Very nice post. I absolutely love this site. Stick
    with it!

Leave a Reply

