The Home Stretch

Home stretch race - sausages
Source: Washington Post

Now that the division is theirs, the Dodgers along with the Braves, Cardinals, Reds and Pirates, have turned the corner and are headed down the home stretch seeking the prize of home field advantage.  All teams are within 2 1/2 games of each other, with the Braves and Cardinals leading the pack.

Don Mattingly has six games in which to balance keeping the core players healthy vs. overtaking the Braves and Cardinals to get the best record in the National League.

100 Responses to The Home Stretch

  1. kahliforni says:

    Regardless of standings, Squash the Gnats!

  2. Hey Kahli, I think Donnie heard you. He has the “A” team starting tonight – but still no Andre 😦

  3. Hello Everybody
    Just getting ready for another night of action.

  4. YASIEL hits one out. #19.

  5. That didn’t last too long as old Dodger Tony Abreu clouts one

  6. The Braves, Cards and Pirates all won tonight.

  7. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Matt!

  8. The Beard Brian Wilson, he something else. Eh?

  9. I predicted that the Dodgers would win 91 games here on OTD. I guess they’ll prove me wrong. LOL

  10. koufax1963 says:

    Report from the phone booth: dodgers look loose, Hanram and Wilson laughing it up after the 8th. First time I’ve seen dodgers and giants fans applauding one player: Wilson 00. Dodgers fans chanted louder than gnat fans in the 9th!! Go dodgers!

  11. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!!! Ryu outduels Cain. Sweet!!!

    And Kemp contributes…. Good sign….. Let’s go Dodgers….

  12. messagebear says:

    One positive note about not getting the home field advantage in the playoffs is that I believe the Dodgers have enjoyed the best record in away games among the field in the playoffs.

  13. Dodger4life says:

    Good morning everyone…
    .
    I haven’t been feeling all that well and have retired early the past two games. I am happy to see the Boy’s came out on top of the team sponsored by Cal Trans, as colliethic would say.
    .
    I also happened to notice that Tony Jackson has reported that the new and improved Volquez, may be a candidate for the bullpen over Capuano, primarily as a long reliever?.

    The Boy’s need to be road warriors to win it all… I think? Whether, they have home field advantage or not.

  14. Dodger4life says:

    I took the keyboard to my laptop apart (the one I spilled the Kool-Aid on last week), and ran it through the dishwasher, without using soap, then let it dry out for two days and it works again… Yeah!!

  15. lbirken says:

    The Dodgers may not be scoring much lately but it was good to see two home runs last night. A few weeks ago many of us were not all that encouraged to get Matt Kemp back but with Ethier’s availability still in question, having a healthy Kemp in the lineup makes me feel a lot better.

  16. crash24now says:

    What is Donnie’s fascination for batting Michael Young in the cleanup spot? Okay, he’s done alright so far, but at this point in his career, he is a singles hitter.

    Something tells me that Van Slyke won’t make it onto the playoff roster.

  17. Dodger4life says:

    #2 in that photo above reminds me of Steve Lyons.

  18. Hey There
    Enjoy the game.

  19. trublu4ever says:

    We’d be in pretty good shape if we win tonight…Braves lost.

  20. This looks familiar from Nolasco of late.

  21. Dodger4life says:

    We need to get something started on offense

  22. Nolasco Throwing BP again.

  23. That pop up had eyes. It landed perfectly.

  24. Dodger4life says:

    I have been a little distracted tonight, but Schumaker seemed a bit turned around and gave up early… Although, Puig was like a locomotive headed that way. I don’t know that it was catchable by either?

  25. Mattingly went more for the rest than the win tonight.

  26. grizzy says:

    What’s up with Nolasco? He is supposed to be making good pitches, but velocity is down? Have any of you noticed anything different?

  27. JhallWally says:

    Boo-Hoo, losing streak…..

    Pathetic…. You can’t score off of Barry, freakin, Zito…. His ERA is close to 6……

    Good Grief!!!!!!

  28. JhallWally says:

    Thank you Ricky, but, I don’t think we need you in the playoffs…

    Ryu has locked it up.

    Hint to Ned, don’t resign Nolasco just because he had a handful of good starts… He is not that good. Let some other sucker pay..

  29. koufax1963 says:

    I know there is a gnats game tonight, but and it’s is weird that Kershaw isn’t getting a start vs them. Post season line up: I think withrow over league and marmot, but the tink tank mgt may go with the veterans, marmol could be wicked if he could throw strikes. Seems Dre won’t be ready for the division, and I am rather hesitant about Puig in the field, perfect for the WS DH job! But I would miss Puig bat in the div series, so he will be there with all his mystery? Scott van over Hairston. Young? I guess I’m glad I have no control over the line up.

    • JhallWally says:

      Agreed K63… Withrow is in.. League is out.. If it’s me, I’m not relying on Marmol. Puig helped get us to this point, and he will be out there….I’m OK with that…. He makes dumb mistakes, but he makes game changing plays……..

      • trublu4ever says:

        I think SVS will be out (though I’d prefer Gordon gone) Not sure about Hairston either. Young will probably stay because of his “experience”…..I don’t want to see Marmol again (way too wild) Oh, well, let’s wait and see what the magician does 😉

  30. Dodger4life says:

    The skeptic in me wonders, how bad Either’s injury really is? The optimist in me wonders if he is being rested under the pretense of said injury, to focus more on the hitting aspect of his game in preparation for the upcoming series with whomever? He has had a full plate this season with all of the other injuries that have occurred. Mattingly kind of hinted the other day, that he hasn’t always been truthful in revealing how his guys actually feel?

    The skeptic in me also wonders if by using Marmol as much as they have, as of late, would suggest that he is expendable, more so, than some of the others. If you are going to shoulder most of the burden while coasting/resting, you wouldn’t do so with the most valuable piece. Before the team went into this get healthy mode, Howell had been rested a bit.

    Also, I would think that if we need to use a surplus of arms in the NLDS, something has gone terribly wrong.

    How many starts will the number 4 pitcher be required to throw in the best of situations? I think Nolasco will perform adequately when and if he is asked to do so?

    This team when firing on all cylinders, is capable of winning anywhere at anytime.

    The post season is sure to be a battle, if this group doesn’t take full advantage of this opportunity, they will have only themselves to blame. If they do… they will have one heck of an offseason and parade!

  31. crash24now says:

    Post season thoughts…

    Looks like we will be playing the Braves and the Cards, we just don’t know in what order. If we get the Pirates or Reds in the NLCS, that will be a slight bonus.

    I guess we don’t have a strong #4 starter anymore. So that makes it even more important to sweep the division series. That would set us up for the NLCS with Kershaw/Greinke/Ryu in Games 1,2, and 3.

    Marmol should just go home after Sep 29th. He does not belong in the post season. We can’t afford to have a reliever that walks one batter per inning. Pitching and a tight defense are paramount.

    Ethier has to be on the division series roster even if he is just a gimpy pinch hitter.

  32. lbirken says:

    We had all hoped for a strong finish to the season for the Dodgers to build momentum into the playoffs but it seems none of the potential playoff opponents are doing much better. So much for momentum.

    As for the comments above about Ethier, I seriously doubt the Dodgers are using an injury excuse to rest him. The longer he is away from playing games the greater the chance he will not be ready in time. So why keep him from playing if he does not have an injury. Clearly the injury is worse than we thought and do any of us believe anything we hear about injuries and timetables anyway?

    The Dodgers have some tough decisions to make with regard to playoff rosters but usually the players make that decision. I agree Puig is a potential liability but how can he not be in the lineup? Yes, he is not hitting the way he was but he still has the potential to change a game as much for the good as for the bad. He has to be there. With Kemp back and Ethier on the shelf, the Dodgers have postponed the “problem” of who plays and will have to decide who the 4th outfielder might be. The so called experts think Van Slyke will have the edge because of his power. Do the Dodgers give up a spot for speedy but otherwise basically useless Dee Gordon? They might be able to if they decide to carry only 11 pitchers.

    There will definitely be some unhappy players who have been with the team most if not all of the season who will not be on the roster. That is just the way it goes.

    I also find it interesting that the Dodgers “rescued” Marmol and supposedly corrected some flaw in his mechanics. I suppose it is possible for a coach to help a player and “fix” something but obviously this is not something that usually is made public. It does beg the question of why a pitcher like Nolasco does so well after coming to the Dodgers but then has enough problems his status for the playoffs is questioned. If they can help one, who not another?

  33. lbirken says:

    Just saw a report the Bud Selig will retire in January, 2015. While I understand he has done some good things during his term and the game is strong and doing well, he cannot leave soon enough for me. I hold him personally responsible for the Frank McCourt Dodger ownership disaster and his weakness in dealing with the PED issues although the owners for whom he works definitely share responsibility. Let the game begin for who should be his successor.

    • crash24now says:

      Ditto. Bud has few fans here.

    • messagebear says:

      I agree with birk concerning the Selig legacy, which in my view is mostly negative. The game and attendance are thriving, but I think that’s mostly in spite of rather than due to positive influences by Bud. I for one hope it’s not Torre who succeeds Bud.

      • lbirken says:

        I think Selig’s legacy will focus more on interleague play (which I believe has run its course but still seems to be popular) and the expanded playoffs. Most fans probably care little about what happened to the Dodgers so I doubt much will be said about that. But clearly the PED issue is something Selig cannot escape even if the player’s union shares responsibility. It happened on his watch and any action from him came way too late.

  34. crash24now says:

    Back to the good lineup (less AJ) tonight.

  35. trublu4ever says:

    Dre is out for the rest of the regular season 😦

  36. koufax1963 says:

    As you may be aware a fatal stabbing happened near the phone booth, makes me wonder, i was near there Tuesday, in BLUE!

  37. Hi Everybody
    Let’s gettem Tonight.

  38. Two doubles in a row Abreu & M.Ellis for another run.
    Good going guys.

  39. I have a Dodger channel and a Giant channel but the Giant channel is working a little better than the Dodger channel.

  40. Oh well the Giants tied it up.

  41. Dodger4life says:

    That pitch to Pagan, was right in the old wheelhouse!

  42. crash24now says:

    Withrow is ready for the playoffs. Paco, not so much.

  43. Dodger4life says:

    Big Rally Time!!

  44. I’m glad these games don’t count.

  45. Dodger4life says:

    I so dislike losing a game to the Giants… but these last few days… I have truly and thoroughly enjoyed, Mr. Vin Scully!!!

    • You were lucky, I lost the Dodger feed around the 3rd inning. Lucky I had a Giant feed also. (usually only one). So I couldn’t watch with Scully. Only one feed tonight. Since it’s from LA, I’m hoping it’s the Dodger feed but I haven’t any control over that on MLB Extra innings. I’m having trouble with MLB.TV so I only try to get it up in an emergency.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Oldbrooklynfan, I usually run my defraggler and my cleaner, before watching MLB.TV. It seems to work much better. Both can probably be found in the control panel, under internet options. I am not saying this is the problem, but it might be worth a try.

  46. messagebear says:

    Looks like Greinke, Kersh and Ryu is what we have to count on in the playoffs. I wouldn’t want to have to start anybody else Withrow definitely deserves to be on the playoff roster.

  47. Dodger4life says:

    Good morning everyone…

    I haven’t commented on the senseless acts of violence that go on at baseball games, or sporting events in general. Mainly because I find this to be ridiculous in every sense of the word. There is absolutely no place for this in any aspect of our society. I would like to see penalties and punishments for these kind of acts stiffened severely.

    My thoughts and prayers are with family of Jonathan Denver…

  48. Dodger4life says:

    Call me crazy! Call me crazy!! Call me crazy!!
    .
    But, I like this team!!!

  49. crash24now says:

    Full lineup sans Hanley

  50. Dodger4life says:

    Good evening everyone…

    It’s the last Friday of the regular season…

    Grab yourself a Rally Hat

  51. Dodger4life says:

    New Post

Leave a Reply

