Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’ On The River…

Okay now that your Mile High hopes for Edinson Volquez have leveled out.

Get ready to brace yourself for a weekend with the (probable) playoff bound Reds, as the Dodgers visit Great American Ball Park, in downtown Cincinnati.

great-american-ballpark

Capuano (LA) faces, Leake (CIN) – Friday – @ 4:10 PM (PT) – Prime Ticket/MLBN

Greinke (LA) faces, Latos (CIN) – Saturday – @ 10:05 AM (PT) – FOX

Kershaw (LA) faces, Bailey, H (CIN) – Sunday – @ 5:05 PM (PT) – ESPN

The number of home runs that have been hit at Great American Ball Park so far in 2013… stands at (153). This feat has been accomplished in 67 games to date, at an average of 2.28 per contest. Although, it looks like Milwaukee’s Miller Park (167), will capture the crown for most (NL) dingers hit during the season? Great American is in a tight race with Philadelphia’s Citizens Bank Park (155) and Chicago’s Wrigley Field (157) for the wild card, and holds a slightly higher average, per game statistic, than the other competing parks mentioned a-fore.

Here’s to hoping the Dodger offense can assist them in they’re stadiums wild card conquest.

Todd Frasier, holds the record for farthest ball hit to date, at Great American Ball Park, in 2013 alone, at 470 ft.

(By the way, Yasiel Puig, holds the Dodger Stadium record so far, at 443 ft.)

*****

Home Runs given up at Dodger Stadium, between the two teams in 2013

Curtis Partch (CIN) 11th inning to Yasiel Puig (LAD)

Hyun-Jin Ryu (LAD) 2nd inning to Jay Bruce (CIN)

Homer Bailey (CIN) 6th inning to Hanley Ramirez (LAD)

Zack Greinke (LAD) 1st inning to Xavier Paul (CIN)

Zack Greinke (LAD) 6th inning to Jay Bruce (CIN)

*****

Homer Bailey has given up 5 home runs this season, at Great American, mostly around the middle innings (5-6) – Two in the 2nd, two in the 5th and one in the 6th.

Mat Latos has given up 7 home runs this season, at Great American, mostly around the middle innings (4-7) – Two in the 1st, then one in each of the 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th and 7th.

Mike Leake has given up 13 home runs this season, at Great American, spreading his mistakes throughout innings (1-8) – Three in the 1st, one in each of the 2nd, 3rd, 4th and 8th, with six in the 6th, three of those coming in the same 6th, against (PIT).

178 Responses to Rollin’, Rollin’, Rollin’ On The River…

  1. Dodger4life says:

    Just a reminder that the Magic # remains

  2. trublu4ever says:

    Looking forward to this series.

  3. Dodger4life says:

    I am as well, Tru!! Think Blue!!

    Just in case, well… just for fun!

    Here is a link to the video of the above mentioned home run… Yasiel Puig hit at Dodger Stadium
    .
    http://wapc.mlb.com/play/?content_id=27744049&c_id=mlb

  4. Dodger4life says:

    I wouldn’t have much compassion as a person, let alone a baseball fan, if I didn’t pass this story along.

    This was just a great jester of humanitarianism, by Mark Ellis and his family. If you haven’t read this elsewhere, please take the time to do so now.

    http://www.pal-item.com/article/20130904/NEWS01/309040017?nclick_check=1

    Once again, well done… Ellis family. Enjoy the game Union City Little League-rs… and thanks to Tony Jackson of dodgerscribe.com, for bringing it to our attention.

    May God Bless, Dylan, his family and all his teammates and friends.

  5. Dodger4life says:

    Fridays predicted game time weather forecast:

    76 degrees at first pitch with the humidity hovering around 46%, winds from the East, between 3-4 mph and no chance of rain

    Lowering by the late innings to:

    66 degrees, with the humidity rising upwards to 65%, winds remaining from the East, at 3 mph and no chance of rain.

    Which means the wind should be blowing, slightly towards left center.

    Temperature: When air warms, it expands. This warming and expansion lowers the density of the air. This produces longer flight distances, all else being basically equal.

    At a higher humidity, baseballs will travel a little further, all else being equal.

  6. Dodger4life says:

    Since we have some time to spare, well, at least I do anyhow.
    .
    Care to take a guess, just of the top of your head… at which (AL) ballparks, are first and second in home runs surrendered, so far in 2013???

  7. Dodger4life says:

    How about, just of the top of your head again, can anyone reveal which Dodger/Dodgers? Hit home runs here in Cincy, last season??

    Double bonus points if you can reveal which, if any, Dodger pitchers, surrendered home runs here in Cincy last season??

    • Dodger4life says:

      Adrian Gonzalez was the only Dodger to hit a home run in Cincinnati last season, doing so twice in the same game. He took Homer Bailey deep, in both the 2nd and 7th innings.

      Matt Guerrier gave up a 7th inning home run to Brandon Phillips and Stephen Fife gave up a 4th inning home run to Jay Bruce.

  8. Dodger4life says:

    Since it was announced on dodgers.com, (I’ll spare everyone the link). That the Grand Marshal for the 2014 Tournament of Roses Parade… will be none other than the wonderful and always pleasant, Vin Scully.

    I thought I would pose this question, (Oh and by the way, Friday will also mark the final time this season that Eric Collins and Steve Lyons will call a game).

    What, or maybe, I should say, where do you all see sports broadcasters headed in the future. When I mentioned above about Vin Scully always being wonderful and pleasant, that is because, I believe the general consensus among baseball fans everywhere, would admit this to be so.

    It seems to me that today’s generation and maybe even a little farther back than today’s generation, of baseball broadcasters, aren’t using the trade as an art form, like the legends that came before them. There is very little informative story telling, to keep the viewer interested and a lot more of what appears to be opinionated directing, from the press box these days. I know I hear complaints not just from viewers about the announcing, but from the announcers about the game. Is this a trend that here to stay?

    A lot of today’s broadcasters are former big league ballplayers themselves. Some are even in the Hall of Fame as players. And the way they approach a game is, we used to do it this way, and if he would of just done this. I am not saying that this isn’t a valued skill, it is. I am just saying that Vin Scully is in the Hall of Fame, having never played the game at the big league level and he did it this way…

    I don’t know? And, I am just rambling on because, well… Once again, I have been grounded! I’ve been chained to the porch, so to speak! But, I do know one thing for sure! When I hear the voice, of the wonderful and always pleasant, Mr. Vin Scully. I feel like I am at home, whether that be among family and friends, or whether it’s just Vin and I.

    And to me at least, there isn’t any art form more treasured.

    Thanks again and again and again, Mr. Scully…

  9. kahliforni says:

    When I think of Vin, I think of Jerry Doggett. He may not have been the smoothest but I loved it when there would be a crucial, exciting play, and he’d get so caught up in the action that he fumble all over himself. I’ll paraphrase an example, imagining that Doggett is all amped up and excited: “Ground ball to short and er, um, runner scores from second! Dodgers win!!!” Kind of like when Johnny Carson would bomb. It was then that he was at his funniest. Doggett was at his best when he became the biggest fan in the house.

  10. Dodger4life says:

    I changed my picture again, so now all you see is DodgerClaus and a cool snowman named lbirken…

    And, the tie dye dude 🙂
    .
    Well said, tie dye dude, well said!

  11. lbirken says:

    I admit to being extremely biased about Vin Scully and his style and class. I have been listening to him since 1958 and no one comes close to how he does things and certainly no one has his voice. We all know there have been a lot of great broadcasters over the years who had his own style and appeal, and I am sure there are many today but because I don’t hear them on a regular basis, I cannot comment on them. Remember, Vinny learned his craft from the highly respected Red Barber and it was primarily for radio. He is good on TV but so much better on radio. And he still works alone, something that definitely distinguishes himself from just about everyone else. Vin wants the viewer/listener to not only know what is going on down on the field but also to know something about the people who play, manage and even officiate the game. And can you imagine Joe Buck hawking Farmer John hot dogs during a broadcast?

    Because so many broadcasters today work with another person (and sometimes two others) in the booth, there seems to be a lot of chatter between them. I still don’t understand why it takes more than one person to tell me what is happening but certainly I don’t need three. (And why do they need up to 5 people to analyze a game as is commonly seen on NBA and NFL broadcasts?). The ex players know the game and some are very good at explaining the action on the field. But I notice a hesitance with most ex players to bring up their own experience even when it might be pertinent to the situation. Another problem is some of these guys just talk too much. Some of Vin’s best work is when he just lets the moment happen while he says little or nothing at all. Vin never seems to lose his train of thought but he never seems to say something just to fill a void. Everything he says has meaning, even his comments about kids in the stands. It is his voice that makes it all work. No one can duplicate that.

    I am not saying there are not some good broadcasters and broadcast teams working today. I am impressed with all the travel and preparation these men and women do on a day to day basis and for the most part, I think they do a decent job. With all the technology today with different camera angles, slow motion and graphics and a director yapping in their ears, it is amazing they do what they do.

    • Dodger4life says:

      As always very nice comment and well worded lbirken….
      .
      Some more things I learned today, Vinny told me earlier that he hoped I was enjoying a cold Schaefers, while listening to the game…

      …and that Willie Mays hit a home run today for the Giants.
      .
      Amazingly this game, on this particular day, was called because of darkness,..

      Good Night Everyone…
      .
      I can’t wait to see who wins in the morning!
      .

  12. Dodger4life says:

    My old neighbor and I, who has the limo, went outside one day to go for a ride, when we noticed that some guy had broken into it and was about to drive off. The neighbor, who I will call Big Ms. M for the sake of the story. Yells! “Hey! What do you think you’re doing in my limo”? The guy, who has a sleeve of tattoos on his arm, yells back, “You missed your payment, I am repo’ing it”!

    So then Big Ms. M spends about a half an hour trying to talk the gentleman out of taking the limo. Big Ms. M has a way with words and the gift of gab, but he was dead set on driving off. So Big Ms. M finally say’s to him, “okay, I understand and I am not mad at you. I realize you have a job to do and my deal is with the loan company” . The guy agrees and at that point they seem like they are going to become the best of friends when, Big Ms. M ask’s if she can just get some important paperwork out of the glove-box and that they are her tax documents she needs to come retrieve the limo later? The gentleman agrees to give them to her and proceeds to step out of the vehicle so she can access them. Big Ms. M climbs in, shuts the door, then rolls the window down just a tad, she looks at the guy and say’s…. Did you actually think I was just gonna let you drive away in my limo? She then started up the vehicle and drove off. Leaving both the Repo Man and I, standing there.

    This story continued on for several more years, mainly because Big Ms. M’s limo was all white in the beginning that is, until Big Ms. M spray painted the soft top, as well as the old tires black, while upgrading the hub caps.

    Some time later, I was standing in my driveway when the same gentleman who just a few years earlier, was left standing in the driveway of Big Ms. M’s Metal Tattoo Palace, pulls up and ask’s me if I knew where such and such address was? Imagine my shock when I realized, he and I had met before, ironically, at the exact address he was now looking for.

    I just shook my head and said “that doesn’t sound familiar but the street is right over there”, and went about my yard chores, he decided to give up and drove down the street heading East. I kid you not, I couldn’t have counted to 6 alligators, before Big Ms. M comes pulling down the same long street, in the same limo, heading West. Big Ms. M notices me in the driveway and stops to say hello. I just looked at her and cracked up laughing!!

    This has nothing to do with baseball, other than Big Ms. M is a Giant fan and a friend, who always finds odd way’s to make me laugh.

    The Repo Man and his cronies looked for Big Ms. M and her limo for quite some time… they even found it, and her several more times. But were never successful in obtaining said vehicle. I am happy to report though, that Big Ms. M finally paid the loan off.

    Never give up!!

    Big wheel keep on turnin’
    Proud Mary keep on burnin’
    Rollin’, rollin’, rollin’ on the river
    Rollin’, rollin’, rollin’ on the river

    See y’all at game time…

    Go Dodgers Go!!

  13. Dodger4life says:

    I posted this mock “Rock and Roll” lineup earlier

    Young 3
    Gordon 6
    Hairston 7
    Butera 2
    Schumaker 8
    SVS 9
    Punto 5
    Ellis 4…

    Due to the fact that dodge16_12, you may remember him, is a Facebook friend and had it on his status. And for a brief second or two, I believed him. I like a good joke… and this one worked. Although, I should have known better, because Herrera wasn’t added to the roster to play 2nd base.

    So if you are paying attention, nice job dodge16_12!!

    The real “Rock and Roll Lineup” for tonight’s game

    Crawford 7
    Puig 9
    Gonzalez 3
    Ramirez 6
    Ethier 8
    Uribe 5
    M. Ellis 4
    Federowicz 2
    Capuano 1

    Go Dodgers!!!

  14. Dodger4life says:

    It was funny, I just talked to him, he said he will drop in during the game, he was excited to hear some of us were still around. I had to reassure him that the gang was just as unruly as ever, so don’t let me down y’all…

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Some of you may have heard the news…Matt will most likely be shut down for the rest of the season….felt tightness in his hamstring.

  16. messagebear says:

    I’ve said any number of times not only that Matt should be shut down but that he never should have started the season, what with his operation. I just hope they haven’t ruined him for his career.

  17. 32and53fan says:

    I certainly hope that Kemp ‘s hamstring injury had nothing to do with his ankle injury. I am still boiling mad about him reverting to bone head prima Donna mode on that play. A 12 year old Little League All-star could have easily scored on that play. You don’t have to be fast to be a good base runner, you only have to have a brain (baseball sense) and use it. I’m sorry for the beginnings of a rant, but it really pushes my buttons when a player, especially a star player, makes easily preventable mental mistakes.

    I get it that Matt feels bad and apologized for his lapse in consciousness. So what? I think he should be severely punished in his pocketbook for all the games lost and very likely the season too. He hurt not only himself, but also his teammates, coaches, owners and fans. His being missing could very well cost the Dodgers the World Series Championship.

    Does anyone think that when you are driving your new smooth riding luxury car late at night on the Phoenix freeways and get photographed going 90 through ten speed cameras, that you will avoid a major fine because you were talking with your companion and didn’t notice the speed creep up from 65 to 90?

    Kemp really screwed the pooch this time.

  18. Dodger4life says:

    Boom!!

    Home run #154 has Hanley Ramirez written all over it…

  19. I was having trouble commenting but I guess the problem has been solved.

  20. trublu4ever says:

    Damn…looks like Cappy is hurt.

  21. Dodger4life says:

    Have the Dodgers acknowledged Fife as having an injury, because if he was just struggling, as Moylan has been. He would have just entered the game, wouldn’t he of?

  22. And here I thought it was going to be a good night to take a Leake.

  23. crash24now says:

    Maybe this is a good chance for Fife to prove he should be the #5 starter.

  24. lbirken says:

    I am ok with the decision to shut Kemp down for the remainder of the season. Yes, the Dodgers might be better with him around but the team seems to doing well without him and now we do not have to deal with the crowded outfield issue. Ethier is playing well in center and Puig is holding his own in right. In fact, there was a nice article in today’s L.A. Times about how much Andre has contributed since taking over in centerfield. I share everyone’s concern that Kemp can come back from all these injuries and avoid further injuries as he ages. Hard to believe Kemp and Ethier have been around as long as they have.

  25. trublu4ever says:

    Crap!

  26. trublu4ever says:

    So far, Fife is throwing like “Barney”.

  27. trublu4ever says:

    Oh, boy….looking pretty ugly…..however, we can still do this!

  28. Just when it looked like we were out of it, BOOM.

  29. Nice sharp inning for Withrow.

  30. Pretty sad when the “A” team can’t come up with more than 4 hits against Leake.

  31. This guy Mike Leake is really on his game tonight.

  32. I can’t believe Baker took Leake out.

  33. I hope the Giants can beat the D’backs tonight.

  34. Dodger4life says:

    Come on boys!!!

  35. I can’t believe the Reds didn’t score.

  36. Let’s go Giants, Let’s go Giants, Let’s go Giants.

  37. Dodger4life says:

    Not impressed at all!!!

  38. nedisajerk says:

    That would’ve been crazy the Giants getting 2 prefect game no hitters but Chavez broke it up. Did the Giants get no hit earlier in the season because I surely can’t remember without looking it up?

  39. Dodger4life says:

    The Magic # Is

    • Dodger4life says:

      Guillermo Mota (2002-2004, C)
      Manny Mota (1969-1982)
      Bart Shirley (1968)
      Tommy Dean (1967)
      John Kennedy (1965-1966)
      Ken McMullen (1963-1964)
      Larry Burright (1962)
      Bob Lillis (1958-1961)
      Dick Gray (1958-1959)
      Wayne Belardi (1953)
      Mickey Livingston (1951)
      Joe Landrum (1950)
      Al Epperly (1950)
      Carl Erskine (1950)
      Jack Banta (1947-1950)
      Dixie Walker (1939-1947)
      Tony Lazzeri (1939)
      Fred Frankhouse (1937-1938)
      George Watkins (1936)
      Nick Tremark (1934-1935)
      Clyde Sukeforth (1932-1934)
      Lonny Frey (1933)

  40. grizzy says:

    I’m beginning to think Kemp should be shut down for the year, for all the obvious reasons. At this point, it will be very unlikely he will be ready for the playoffs, as I had hoped. Ethier has moved to CF, partly to accommodate Puig, and has done the job. To move him out of the everyday lineup for someone not at 100% and not at the top of their game would not be wise.

  41. JhallWally says:

    Boo-Hoo, losing streak…. Tough loss. Fife was not impressive but passable for 2 innings. Howell sucked. Leake was on his game. We’ll whip’em today….. Go Dodgers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Woo-Hoo, D’Backs and Braves both lose……

  42. In comparison to 2009
    ………………………2009……………..2013
    20 games…………13-7………………9-11
    40…………………..27-13……………17-23
    60…………………..40-20……………27-33
    80…………………..51-29……………37-43
    100………………….62-38……………53-47
    120………………….71-49……………70-50
    140……………….. .83-57……………83-57

  43. lbirken says:

    According the post game radio program and comments I read in today’s L.A. Times, Howell’s pitch to Votto was down in the zone and Kevin Kennedy called it a good pitch that Votto did a better job of hitting. So sometimes a hitter gets the better of a pitcher. The key to yesterday’s game is the Dodger hitters, other than Hanley’s first inning bomb, were not able to do the same to Leake.

    Thanks for all the player uniform number references. I usually associate a certain player with a number no matter how many have worn it. I still have a tough time seeing #6 (Garvey), #55 (Hershisher), #30 (Wills) out on the field worn by guys who through no fault of their own will never match the accomplishments of those who wore the number before them.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I enjoy looking at the uni numbers as well lbirk, it’s nice to know I am not alone. I was all of 2 years old when they issued Manny Mota his jersey. I love it when someone has a long history with a certain number. I was also looking at numbers that seem to get issued often, and the fact that players have the opportunity to change that numbers history.

      • Dodger4life says:

        If you read between the lines so to speak, when looking at the numbers at when and how they were issued, it is like a story being told.

  44. crash24now says:

    Other than Hanley’s RBI single, the first inning was pretty much a missed opportunity.

  45. crash24now says:

    Greinke is getting beat up. This could be a long game.

  46. trublu4ever says:

    Boy…that was quick!

  47. trublu4ever says:

    Yasiel….YAY!

  48. crash24now says:

    PUIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIGG!!!!

  49. vl4eccjr says:

    WTG PUIG!!!

  50. crash24now says:

    Zack is settling down (I hope).

  51. crash24now says:

    Story time:

    Last Sunday, I took the family to Dodger Stadium.

    Gas to drive there and back: $16
    Parking: $10
    A Puig shirt for me and a hat for my daughter: $62
    Three Dodger dogs and a coke: $20
    Wearing Puig’s shirt and witnessing one of his home runs: Priceless.

    It was an awesome game. Other than the Puig home run, three other things that stood out about the game: (1) Zack’s stolen base. Everyone there was like, what? (2) Paco striking out the batter with one out and a man on third. The whole stadium knew he had to do it with a one run lead, and he did it. (3) Jansen followed his Saturday three strikeout performance with a two strikeout save.

  52. Hi Everybody
    ..Had trouble with audio of the game but everything seems O.K. now after I restarted my computer.

  53. crash24now says:

    Baserunning snafu takes us out of the inning.

  54. Not eating while I’m listening to the game, Dod 4Life,watching my weight.

  55. kahliforni says:

    There is nothing good about Kemp’s recent setback, a crowded outfield notwithstanding. The hamstring acts up because it was a severe injury before, and when you’re constantly rehabbing on and off the DL your body can never get into a rhythm. I feel bad for Kemp and miss seeing him play.

  56. crash24now says:

    Nice strikeout of Bruce by Greinke.

  57. vl4eccjr says:

    WHEW!!!

  58. trublu4ever says:

    WHEW!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  59. crash24now says:

    Whew – two strikeouts with bases loaded!

  60. Greinke is amazingly on and off.

  61. crash24now says:

    Paco is off for the second game in a row.

  62. crash24now says:

    D4Life – Fox just mentioned the good deed that the Ellises (Mark) did for the Union City Little League team.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Sorry crash, I fell asleep. It is a talent of mine. Although, Big Ms. M called and woke me up just in time to see the ending!

      What the M. Ellis Family did for those children, was a very nice thing. I am sure the families and the kids, had the time of their life.

  63. crash24now says:

    Beli gets the job done. Now we need a run.

  64. O.K. We’re still playing.

  65. Well that’s the end of that one.

  66. messagebear says:

    Sorry to say, but I don’t feel too bad about sticking it to Wilson, The Beard. I just can’t embrace the old Giants so easily. Fuck the Beard!

  67. kahliforni says:

    Ever since DB decided to coast and phone in Wednesday’s final game in Colorado this team has been playing with equal urgency.

  68. koufax1963 says:

    The Beard Looks Bad, and that was torture. 3 losses in a row, unheard of since June. Just waiting, waiting for the healing.

  69. Have to say, losing two series in a row to playoff bound teams doesn’t bode well for this crew. Sure not playing with any intensity these last three games. I have to agree, it starts with Donnie’s throw away game with the Rox, that had he not rested everyone and threw all his worthless vet pitchers in the game, probably pulls that one out. Killed a 6 game winning streak with that nonsense.

    • JhallWally says:

      I agree Beav…. I don’t think you need to keep the petal to the metal and do what has gotten you there… I don’t think you can just turn it on and off at will.

  70. grizzy says:

    Two series losses in a row to contending teams. By in large the pitchers hold up their end, though we do not score enough runs right now to effectively compete with the upper tier. The record run the last couple of months is old news now. This is why I held out hope for for a healthy, ready to rumble Kemp, but I do not think we’ll get that. All told, we should (better, by god) make it to the playoffs, where anything can happen. And probably will.

  71. Dodger4life says:

    Three losses in a row and counting… I am thinking of re-naming the thread to, Rolled, Rolled, Rolled on the River.

    The pitching staff all the sudden has minor issues, Ryu’s latest struggles and sore back, Capuano’s season long struggles and groin, Fife’s latest struggles and ???, You have to wonder about Kershaw’s unusual performances the last few times out, although he has set the bar so high, that even when he hiccup’s, it looks like he is gasping for air.

    The offense doesn’t have that bounce to it. Leake had given up a good number of home runs at GABP, and we managed only the one against him. I know McGwire says these guy’s aren’t home run hitters. However, you don’t need to be in a stadium that is contending for the league lead in surrendering them, against a pitcher with a high number of them surrendered as well. You need to be motivated and this team seems to be resting and lackluster again, even when on the field of play.

    This is the same team that made history just a few short days ago… You might even say they should be better now with Wilson and Young. We have seen them flip a switch so to speak, so we know it is possible to shift into Beast Mode at any moment. This is a dangerous way to think, a dangerous way to play, and a dangerous way to head into the post season though.

  72. lbirken says:

    I heard on the post game radio program that the players are not happy with the results of these two games against the Reds. At least we all share that feeling. The issue is do they have the grit to grind out wins against good teams, especially in the playoffs. Having such a large division lead takes a lot of pressure off but is that always a good thing? The Reds are fighting for a playoff spot while it is assumed the Dodgers are already there. Tomorrow’s game with Kershaw on the hill should be interesting.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I am glad to hear that the news from the locker room is one of disappointment. I also agree that with the lack of run support that Kershaw has received this season and the fact that his past few outings have been less than stellar. Tomorrow’s game should be viewed with anticipation and emotion, even from the dugout.

  73. Dodger4life says:

    I have heard a bunch of people (not just on here, but everywhere), say that Nolasco should be the number 3 pitcher on this staff. With the way he has been throwing the past few outings, maybe he should?? But, the way everyone say’s it, is to discount the success that Ryu has had. I mean the guy battles through adversity, which I like. It shows me that when the game gets tough, so does he. And in the post season, the game is going to get tough.
    Having said this, I think this decision shouldn’t be made until needed.
    Also, it is nice to have some quality arms heading into the post season.

    2009 – Earned Run Average and Innings Pitched.

    Ronald Belisario – 10.80 – 3.1
    Chad Billingsley – 5.40 – 3.1
    Jonathan Broxton – 6.00 – 3.0
    Scott Elbert – 0.00 – 0.1
    Clayton Kershaw – 9.45 – 6.2
    Hung-Chih Kuo – 2.25 – 4.0
    Hiroki Kuroda – 40.50 – 1.1
    Vicente Padilla – 6.10 – 10.1
    George Sherrill – 13.50 – 2.0
    Ramon Troncoso – 0.00 – 3.0
    Randy Wolf – 5.06 – 5.1

    Totals 2009 – 7.38 – 42.2

  74. kahliforni says:

    “In the top of the 10th, Dodgers Manager Don Mattingly elected to leave his speedster, Dee Gordon, on the bench after a leadoff single by Adrian Gonzalez. Nick Punto ran for him and never moved, then stayed in the game at third base with Michael Young moving to first.

    “Given a similar situation in the bottom of the inning when Brian Wilson walked leadoff hitter Ryan Ludwick, Reds Manager Dusty Baker had Hamilton come in to pinch-run. He stole second easily and then scored the winning run on a single by Todd Frasier.”

    Have to agree. Bottom line: American League baseball.

  75. lbirken says:

    All the Dodger radio guys, from the game broadcasters to the post game hosts, questioned Mattingly’s reluctance to use Dee Gordon in that 10th inning situation. Their conclusion: Donnie does not have enough confidence in Gordon.

  76. JhallWally says:

    Boo-Hoo, losing streak!!! Tough loss.. PRod needs some rest…
    Dildon will ride a horse until it is totally dead… Learned it from his mentor, JoJo the Clown… And, I’m not down with this MYoung horseshit.. The team had some great chemistry going with Uribe at 3rd.. I think Ned and Dildon have messed with something they should have left alone.. If it ain’t broke, don’t mess with it….

  77. koufax1963 says:

    Gambling, Chemistry: Yep and the situation in game yesterday and preparing for October. The Reds know and are motivated to win, being a wild card is not best when the division could be won. In yesterdays game, they elected not to have grienke attempt to score from second, crawford was playing balls out, knowing the throw would go home, So here in lies the game and the rest of how september will be played? Cautiously, dont want the injury, dont want to wear anyone out, I would hope in a play off game greinke would NOT be held, that could of been another run there for a win.
    Donnie really needs to broadcast to the team, we are going “conservative mode” because many of them feel we are in the hunt to be the best team record in baseball and that takes guts, determination and gambling, sure crawford shouldnt of got caught off the bag, should of seen the hold sign, but I bet he wasnt anticipating that in a close game, with a good running pitcher ahead of him. Chemistry, perhaps all the call ups recently are a distraction in the dugout, so what!, fix it Donnie, do your platooning at 1st, 3rd, and 2nd, whatever your looking for, but when the play-offs start you need to bring the team on the field that got you there, so looking at early september, then Uribe, Han Ram, Ellis and Agon are your infield, with Kemp down(sorry, healthy matt good) our OF is obvious, Im certain punto, skippy, young will come off the bench and do magic. And as if I had a say, I would be cautious about my selection of BP pitchers, I am not confident of Wilson or League, dont even want to discuss Volquez. Donnie may have his plan, but the team needs to be pumped come October not rested, and certainly not cold. Kershaw soon, what will this be like?

  78. kahliforni says:

    Dodgers “surging” toward playoffs…with yet another DBacks loss…

  79. Hi Everybody
    Great pick-off by Kershaw.

  80. Babe Ruth I mean Jay Bruce hits one out.

  81. Starting to look like this team peaked in August.

  82. Question – if this team tanks in the first round, especially in 3 games, does Donnie get the boot?

    • trublu4ever says:

      I think he gets the boot no matter what we do…..there have been way too many poor judgement calls made this season (last nights game and the final game at Coors), just to name a few.

      • This team to me just doesn’t have the mentality to be a champion, let alone Donnie will be out managed by anyone we go against. Hell, if Dusty Baker can out-manage him, anyone can including the night janitor and the ticket taker.

    • JhallWally says:

      I hope so.. And he should be following Nedcompoop out the door…. They both suck…. Dumb and dumber……

  83. Another no hitter for Bailey?

  84. Ther goes the no-hitter.

  85. This team also gives away an awful lot of outs on the bases.

  86. Hanley did that so they can make a play on him to give Adrian a chance to score.

  87. trublu4ever says:

    I.C.U. comes through!

  88. MAN that ball was hit, I didn’t even look at the outfielder.

  89. Nice chucking there, Withrow

  90. trublu4ever says:

    Ugly 4 game losing streak.

  91. That’s why we root against the D’backs.

  92. koufax1963 says:

    Donnie can’t use belisario like that , he needs a day off after saturdays work.

  93. Difference in the game – Dusty plays to win by bringing in his best reliever for the 9th. Donnie brings in a guy who’s been struggling.

  94. kahliforni says:

    Boy oh boy oh boy. When the pitching gets tough and the pressure rises in the playoffs, who besides a guy named Hanley Ramirez–and to a lesser extent, Puig and AGon–is gonna hit the baseball? Sorry, but I don’t buy the Ellis boys, Uribe, Crawford, etc., etc.

  95. Bullpen’s been starting to look like April & May. Hitters are starting to look like April and May. Donnie starts the 4 game losing streak by killing the momentum of a 6-game winning streak by totally giving away the game in CO.

    Its not that they’re in any danger of losing the division, its that they’ll have absolutely no momentum going into the playoffs.

    THIS is Donnie Dumbball in a nutshell.

    • JhallWally says:

      Yep my brother, our vaunted bullpen has lost all three games against the Reds…. Do they suck? I don’t think so. Does our dildo of a manager know how to use them correctly. I don’t think so…..

      • trublu4ever says:

        You are right! Everyone gets a little angry at me when I complain about Donnie. But, to get out managed by Dusty proves my point!

        • JhallWally says:

          Hi’Ya Tru.. Well, you know I don’t get upset with you criticizing Dildon…. LOL!! He’s a moron, and Ned is an idiot. If the new ownership and upper management don’t see it, then, this team is hosed……..

  96. kahliforni says:

    Can we all finally agree that this team misses the hell out of Matt Kemp?

  97. Well we won’t have to watch the scoreboard over the next 3 days the enemy will be right in front of us.

  98. grizzy says:

    I do, kahli. The last I heard, Kemp MAY BE physically ready to play the last 10 games. Is that enough to get him ready for the playoffs? Who sits and loses at bats in his place? As much as I agree, I think we’ll still have to go with the outfield as it is right now. If we were to get to the series, perhaps he could DH? Can you devote a roster spot to that possibility?

  99. JhallWally says:

    Boo-Hoo, losing streak… Our bullpen is sucking…. And our offense has once again disappeared….. Geez!!!

  100. Dodger4life says:

    The Magic # Is

  101. Dodger4life says:

    New Post

Leave a Reply

