How The West Will Be Won

PicMonkey Collage

As we head into the final month of the regular season, with our Beloved Dodgers, holding onto a (9 1/2) game lead on the Diamondbacks. I can’t help but wonder? How these final games will play out…

The Boy’s in Blue have (29) games left on their schedule.

(7) against Arizona, (3) at home, then, (4) on the road.
(6) against Colorado, (3) on the road, then, (3) at home.
(7) against San Francisco, (4) at home, then, (3) on the road.
(6) against San Diego, (3) at home, then, (3) on the road.

They also travel to Cincinnati, next weekend, for a (3) game set.

It all begins this evening…
With those pesky Padres coming to town.

Ryu (LA) facing Stults (SD) ~ Friday @ 7:10 PM (PT)
Capuano (LA) facing Cashner (SD) ~ Saturday @ 6:10 PM (PT)
Greinke (LA) facing Ross (SD) ~ Sunday @ 1:10 PM (PT)

Will this become a roller coaster of nerves… Or a month of nothing but pure fun??

I have already made my prediction, on the previous thread. I’d like to hear yours…

Again, I think we will eventually increase our lead by a game. Why? Mainly for the sake of conversation and the fact, that, I think this team will hold it’s ground.

Let’s Go Dodgers, Let’s Go!!

178 Responses to How The West Will Be Won

  1. kahliforni says:

    The Snakes will stay tough, simply because of the Wild Card; but they trail Cincinnati and Pittsburg by 6 games, so they need to turn it on. Not good for the Dodgers. The rest of the division will play tough because its the Dodgers. Therefore, I feel LA makes the playoffs…not too much of a white-nuckler, but no way they win the division by double digits. I’ll predict 6-7 games. Then we’ll get to see how DM handles playoff baseball.

  2. Dodger4life says:

    I also think it is fairly sane to assume, that the Rockies, Padres and Pink Hats will not be heading to the post season. That doesn’t mean they wouldn’t get some satisfaction out of becoming spoilers. And being the team to beat, means we have the target on our uni’s. With that being said… The Diamondbacks have a remote (depending on how we handle our end) chance of making this race to the (N.L. Crown) interesting. Looking at sort-able (NL) team stats, for the month of August. So far… Arizona has been (2nd) in (Hitting), with, believe it or not, our Dodgers standing pat, in the (5th) spot! Moving over to the (Pitching) category is where things separate some… Our Dodgers are atop the (NL) and Arizona falls, all the way down to the final (15th) spot.

    When we take a look at overall fielding, for the season. Our Dodgers sink to the (13th) spot in the (NL). I am hopeful that this will improve down the stretch. As costly errors have a way of becoming momentum changers in meaningful games.

  3. Dodger4life says:

    (2013 NL Team Hitting Statistics)

    Cards and Dodgers are sitting at, #1 & #2, so far for the season. (Although, the Cards have scored well over, 100 more runs than everyone else).

    Factor in how well our starting pitchers have done in the batters box, not just by driving in runs and getting hits, but moving guys over as well. I would say McGwire has been doing a fairly decent job.

  4. trublu4ever says:

    i think we will win by 6 games. Unless, of course, the Dbacks lose the series to the Giants (which I doubt), and we come away from the Padres series up by 10 games or more…then I say we cruise into the playoffs!

  5. Dodger4life says:

    I’d also have to say that with the pitching success we have had. Especially with the bullpen turning their season around, to date. The pitching coaches have done a decent job as well.

  6. Dodger4life says:

    I am also wondering if Donnie will play this thing out until the last day, trying to best position ourselves in the standings… Using his, this is the team that I think, give’s us the best chance to win this day’s game…strategy. Or whether he will rest guy’s in anticipation of the post season, providing that becomes an option?
    .
    He has been resting guy’s all season long, many have been sidelined by injuries. So unless he goes by match up’s, minor injuries or gut feeling, wouldn’t playing the top performers at each position, give us the best chance at success?

  7. 29 games left and the magic number is 21. I think we’ll take care of no less than 15 wins, and I guarantee the Snakes will lose more than 6 games. I say we win the division by 7-8 games.

    So what’s the playoff pitching roster going to be? Here’s mine:

    SP (3)
    Kersh
    Greinke
    Nolasco

    RP (7)
    Ryu
    Jansen
    Paco
    Wilson
    Beli
    Howell
    Withrow (though knowing Donnie & Ned it will be League)

    That’ll leave a couple extra spots for bench players VanSlyke and Gordon.

  8. Dodger4life says:

    I also have seen a lot of discussion about Puig being a hazard come crunch time. With his lack of baseball sense, and overly eager mindset. Meaning he will make a costly uncalled for, error, when we can least afford it.

    We haven’t exactly been the best defensive team, in the league as to date. And as it has been mentioned before, Andre has done a good job filling in for Kemp, while he’s been on the DL. So let’s look at who else can improve in this regard. Hanley has 11 errors which leads the team, AGon has 9 and Punto chimes in with 8. By the way Puig has 4 and Dre has a mere 2.

    I’m just rambling on here folk’s, but if you are gonna throw stones at the youngsters, in anticipation of meaningful games. throw them at everyone.
    .
    That being said, I hope Puig, uses better judgement in the coming day’s. By better judgement, I mean making the correct play based on his abilities, not thoughts.

    • Dodger4life says:

      I am not calling anyone out on this blog… It is the media’s concern with Puig that I am talking about.
      .
      As far as the rotation going into the playoffs. Nolansco’s recent success has been welcomed. Although, I am not ready to say Ryu wouldn’t be my third option, yet?
      .
      League hasn’t done much to warrant much, so far this season.

  9. crash24now says:

    Okay, I’ll play.

    Before I saw all of the above predictions, I thought to myself, we’ll win by 7 games. Why? We’re not red-hot like we were in July and early August. But we’ve still got some skills, especially starting pitching, which will keep us winning in September. We’ve got a fairly easy schedule, although the BIG assumption is that we will be able to handle NL West teams this time around. That wasn’t true earlier in the year, but we’ve come a long ways since then. Also, I don’t see the D-Backs chasing us too fast, although that could change.

    About the playoff roster:

    Starting pitchers – Seems like teams these days go with 4, not 3 – so: Kershaw, Greinke, Ryu, and Nolasco.

    Relievers – DonnieBoy will want to load up here.

    The obvious choices: Jansen, Paco, Beli, JP Howell, Withrow

    The not so obvious choices: The Beard, League (ugh), and ??Cappy?? Marmol is the odd man out. He’s just too wild.

    That leaves 13 position players: the 4 OFs playing 3 OF positions (Kemp, Puig, Ethier, and Crawford). IF of Gonzalez, MEllis, Hanley, and Uribe. AJ Ellis behind the plate. Then a bench of 5: 1 of the 4 OFs, FedEx, Schu, Punto, and Hairston.

  10. nedisajerk says:

    According to Elias Sports Bureau at ESPN, Ricky Nolasco struck out 11 batters in eight scoreless innings on Wednesday, in what was likely his last start this August. Nolasco is 5-0 with a 1.64 ERA this month; Zack Greinke is 5-0 with a 1.23 ERA; Clayton Kershaw is 3-2 despite a 1.01 ERA. Nolasco and Greinke will be only the fourth pair of teammates in the last 75 years each to go 5-0 (or better) with an ERA under 1.75 in the same month. The three who have done that: Bob Gibson and Ray Washburn for St. Louis in July 1968; Bob Welch and Fernando Valenzuela for the Dodgers in July 1985; and Justin Verlander and Rick Porcello for the Tigers in May 2009.

    I’m shock Bill Shaikin didn’t post this stats. This is a rare feat that should be notice.

  11. nedisajerk says:

    I wish Donny give Uribe a chance of batting 5th for the stuggling Ellis.

    • Donnie is an idiot. Never seen a manager that can’t make out a correct line-up given the personnel. From what I can see, Donnie is the only reason this team can’t go all the way.

  12. crash24now says:

    Good discussion about the #5 slot.

    Now what about the new look for 1-4? Puig/Crawford/Hanley/Adrian?

    I kinda like it. More at-bats for Puig. Hanley doesn’t have to be slowed by the lumbering Gonzalez. More at bats for Hanley.

    That leaves the question of: what took Donnie so long to make the change?

  13. trublu4ever says:

    Volquez activated. Withrow sent to AAA. I hate this!

    • crash24now says:

      Withrow gives us heat and a 1.08 WHIP from the bullpen. What does Volquez give us? A consistent 1.52 WHIP from his whole career. I’m still scratching my head over this one.

      • trublu4ever says:

        I’ll bet the plan is to make Volquez the #5 starter instead of Crappy..

        • I’m not sure if the 10-day rule applies to options when the rosters expand, so I’m not sure Withrow even leaves L.A.

          I’m willing to give Volquez a chance just like Marmol and Wilson, but I don’t like it at the expense of someone you know is better. Only thing I can think of activating him now is that it qualifies him for the post season roster. Somebody must see something they think they can fix.

          • Dodger4life says:

            Perhaps Cappy has been playing hurt, like Bills and Beckett and…

          • Dodger4life says:

            I looked up Volquez’s stats yesterday and he has had some terrible outings. He has done particularly bad against the N.L West. Against us he gave up 5 runs on 2 hits. Against the Rockies he gave up 7 runs on 6 hits. Against the Rockies again he gave up 8 runs on 9 hits. He gave up 8 runs on 9 hits against the Pink Hats. Against NL West opponents this season he has lasted 6.0 innings twice.

  14. trublu4ever says:

    Told you he sucks!

  15. Dodger4life says:

    I was thinking the same thing as enchanted on Volquez yesterday, until I looked at his past history. The guy had one good year with the Reds, basically. Then I started to think? Why make this move now, as risky as it seems… I know Fife has been struggling, maybe from being moved around, from the front end, to the back end, and back to the front end again, in the rotation? Maybe from his previous shoulder injury? Maybe Cappy hasn’t rebounded fully either is all I am wondering, he certainly hasn’t been consistent?

    Maybe they think they can make a reliever out of him. He does seem to be able to strike people out, when he isn’t getting shelled?

  16. grizzy says:

    I’ll say a 6 game lead at season’s end.

  17. Dodger4life says:

    Tony Jackson reveals more on Volquez. By the way, I have enjoyed Tony’s new blog, as he gives us a rather unique look into the team.
    .
    http://dodgerscribe.com/the-plan-with-volquez/

  18. trublu4ever says:

    First inning was good for us. Let’s get some runs boys.

  19. The Padres get on the board soon enough.

  20. trublu4ever says:

    YES..RYU!

  21. Dodger pitchers can sure hit.

  22. Is it me or on Puig’s RBI single did he just kinda stand there after hit hit the bloop?

  23. Dodger4life says:

    Shad, what do you think should be our post season line up, providing we make the post season???

  24. Dodger4life says:

    I just read on Tony’s blog that the ump has asked to see Hanley’s bats???

  25. trublu4ever says:

    Awesome throw Dre!

  26. This ought to be interesting…

  27. I think Donnie could go through a 20-man pitching staff.

  28. Our good friends the Giants just beat the Snakes 1-0.

  29. Giants just beat the snakes,

  30. Kemp 0-3, 2K in Cucamonga. Done for the evening

  31. Dodger4life says:

    Enjoy the rest of your evening everyone… I am headed down to the Havana Club, here in town!!

  32. trublu4ever says:

    WOW! LOOK AT US!

  33. vl4eccjr says:

    Woo hoo!
    Spank that ass!!

  34. AWRIGHT HANLEY AND A-GON.

  35. Bass must be out there taking one for the team.

  36. Can Volquez be far behind?

  37. Dodger4life says:

    Just wanted to say that this ballclub, has hit the ball, I vaguely remember OBF pointing out night after night, how many runners we stranded. I also wanted to say that this ballclub has played with an enormous amount of emotion, not too long ago. I am a firm believer that you can’t gauge momentum. You can’t put a stat on changing the tides in the game of baseball. These are things that come from the heart and soul of a champion. And they come from the most of abnormal places sometimes.
    .
    We’re in it to win it!!

  38. Tighten your sphincters everybody.

  39. Dodger4life says:

    How fortunate is it, that we have an 8 run lead and can send the Quiz out to the mound ??
    .

  40. I’m just glad we’re not going for the shutout.

  41. Dodger4life says:

    I’m telling y’all… If there is one thing I know… It is momentum…
    .

    .
    Hard Work!! Positive Attitude!! Double Digits!!
    .

  42. I have to say it, League sucks. If he’s on the post-season roster as anything other than the ballboy, someone needs their head examined.

  43. trublu4ever says:

    Okay…now, let’s see what happen with Cappy tomorrow. Glad we got the first one.

  44. oldbrooklynfan says:

    An unusual display of power, tonight. Nice being 10 1/2 ahead.

  45. Dodger4life says:

    Ryu gave up 8 hits and only one run… this is why I haven’t discarded him as my #3. Regardless of whether it is a World Series roster or not…

  46. crash24now says:

    Our magic number is down to 19!

    After the McCourt saga, this season has been great!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Man I cant express this enough…
      .
      ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚
      .
      Now that I have said that….
      .
      I’d also like to say that I miss, the camaraderie, Dodger Eric and Nelly used to provide… Sure I can live with out it… But, Dodger Eric once said something that hit home, pretty hard, and I have used this saying every day since. He said, that if we didn’t stay positive, and true to our beliefs. The other option wouldn’t be anywhere as enjoyable.
      ,
      I miss both of you on here… Nelly, I owe you more than I will probably ever able able to repay

      • Dodger4life says:

        Dodger Eric, please,,,, Come Join Us!!!..
        .
        FUCK FRANK!!!! FUCK FRANK!! FUCK FRANK!!!
        .,

        I am willing to start a new thread, for this, cause… but before we go to all that trouble…. Lets get a show of support for Nelly, and Dodger (Fucking) Eric…
        .
        Come on Y’all ,these two are probably the reason we all sticik together in t=he first place
        .
        DodgerEric, If you think I am gonna give up… Trying to get you back on this blog…You are sadly mistaken, my friend!!!
        .
        HA!

  47. crash24now says:

    Three games behind Atlanta for best record in the MLB.

  48. Dodger4life says:

    I cant even count to three… hahaha… But I think, I may have date soon…

  49. Dodger4life says:

    And if y’all only knew…

  50. Dodger4life says:

    One 5th of Bourbon.., Down the Hatch!!

  51. Dodger4life says:

    I’m telling y’all… I know how to have fun… I know momentum! I know what it’s like to walk into a small town Biker Bar, wearing a Polo Shirt, and get a ride home home on the handlebars like some crazy town fool….
    .
    Yeah Buddy!!

  52. Dodger4life says:

    I met enchanted, once… Hell of guy he is… not much of a drinker, but hell of a guy…

  53. Dodger4life says:

    Enchanted, I so enjoyed our meeting. Sorry I drank most of Merced the night before…. For all ho have not had the absolute pleasure of meeting enchanted, he is just like he appears. Id like to say the same goes for Nelly, and DodgerEric…. but as enchanted will most likely contest, these two have set a bar that, Man, gonna be hard to beat!!

  54. Dodger4life says:

    We ain’t playing the Pink Hats but, DodgerEric turned me on to this…. So!!!
    ,

  55. Dodger4life says:

    Khali… I was fortunate to be able to sit next to you at the ITD game. 2nd best game I have ever attended. The game at the phone Booth, with Nelly, her family, and Collie and his beautiful wife, was hands down the best and most fun baseball game I ever attended!!
    .
    So, Y’all can see why I am advocating for the return of these wonderful, individuals!!!
    .
    DodgerEric!!!
    .
    You’re my Fucking Target!!! (Did I spell that right)!!!
    .

  56. Dodger4life says:

    DodgerEric,
    .
    I love ya’ Man!!!

  57. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!!! Keep it up boys… .500 ball the rest of the way and we take the NL West by 6-8 games… Go Dodgers!!!!!

    • trublu4ever says:

      Nice….I just wish we could have saved some of the runs we scored last night for Cappy today…..he will need all the help he can get ๐Ÿ˜‰

  58. kahliforni says:

    Dodger4life, I really enjoyed those ITD tours, as well. I wish we could get this blog hooked into the official Dodger website, like the original “Inside the Dodgers” was. I say this because it really opened up the blog to fans nationwide, including the a-holes from Philly town. As it is now, we’re kind of like a self-contained bubble. We have regulars, but no trolls or miscreants to stir the waters! Nelly knows we’re here, and I’m sure Dodger Eric knows, as well. But there were other great contributors who may not know this site even exists. When new ownership took over my first e-mail to them was to resurrect a nation-wide blog, even suggesting this one. Well…………………………………….!?!?!? Guess they felt Facebook, Twitter, et al, were the optimal means of communication. I disagree.

    Every now and then I’ll troll other teams’ sites, simply by going to their MLB website and finding blogs. I wish that would happen here so others could find us. I rarely, if ever, comment on other blogs, though these days, with LA on top of the baseball world, we could certainly cause havoc! One can be sure if the Phils were on this run their fans would be crowding our board with their inane nonsense.

    So here’s to you, Nelly and Eric!!!

    • Dodger4life says:

      Well said kahli! I agree that having the link to the Dodgers brought a certain aspect to the blog. I will say that I enjoy this one as well, (maybe a wee bit too much sometimes).
      .
      I appreciate 32and53fans vision and everyone’s efforts here as well.
      .
      I was just reminiscing about how Dodger Eric was so very good at creating conversation that people would enjoy in bulks.
      .
      And how Nelly was always listening and here as well.

      P.S. I shall stay away from the liquor for another year now. It has been a rougher month than usual.
      .
      Let’s Go Dodgers, Let’s Go!!

  59. trublu4ever says:

    We have to ask Brian (32and53fan) if he would do that…perhaps with a little coaxing, he will make it official.

  60. lbirken says:

    I also miss the old blog for the same reasons mentioned above.

  61. Hi OTD
    Well 10 1/2 up again with the magic# at 19
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!

  62. Welcome to another addition of Cupaguano’s hi-wire act.

  63. Also welcome to another addition of Donnie can’t leave the line-up alone two days in a row.

  64. So the Pards draw first blood again.

  65. trublu4ever says:

    Let’s see if we can bring CC home.

  66. crash24now says:

    Too bad the offense can’t support Capuano when he’s doing well.

  67. trublu4ever says:

    Just heard we acquired Michael Young off waivers from Philly.

  68. The usual going through the mine field for Crappy, but he’s given them a chance to win.

    Now for a run…

  69. crash24now says:

    Butter n egg man gets it done!

  70. crash24now says:

    Wilson getting tested as an eighth inning set-up man.

  71. kahliforni says:

    I like Michael Young. Good player.

  72. vl4eccjr says:

    So far so good for Wilson.
    He’s been another pleasant surprise!

  73. kahliforni says:

    As for Young, figure 11 pitchers on the playoff roster (4 SP, 7 RP), and six bench players: extra catcher, extra outfielder (one from the main four who won’t start), the three midgets, and now Young.

  74. kahliforni says:

    And the Beard is in line for the W.

  75. trublu4ever says:

    What does Kenley say: “Grab some pine, meat!”

  76. trublu4ever says:

    We get Michael Young for Rob Rasmussen (?) and cash considerations.

  77. lbirken says:

    Another win. Another day off the calendar. If Young can help the team, glad to have him. Let’s keep this remarkable run going.

  78. kahliforni says:

    Michael Young, local kid, is gonna be a stud for this team, in whatever role.

  79. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo, win streak!! Outstanding job by Capuano….

    I like the Young deal, no risk and it probably means Ned won’t try to resign Uribe…

    It’s hard to believe, but out of the ill advised and stupid deals for Uribe, Lilly, and Guerrier. Uribe has worked out the best.. That isn’t saying much.. Lilly and Guerrier were worthless, and except for this summer, so was Uribe…. Please fire Ned…..

    • JhallWally says:

      And, in case you haven’t noticed, the league is catching up to Puig.. He better get off his high horse and smell the coffee… If it weren’t for Kemp going down he would not even be here. We need Kemp to come back strong, this kid is not ready for prime time, IMO

  80. messagebear says:

    In my opinion the prospect who’s getting shafted with the Puig phenomenon and the idea that Kemp needs to be brought back whether he’s ready or not is Van Slyke. Puig has been exciting and should be credited with bringing the team out of doldrums, but he probably should have been in the minors for another two years under ordinary circumstances. Van Slyke is a journeyman guy who’s going to be a solid major leaguer with power – question is whether he’s going to be that with the Dodgers. Kemp should have been shut down for the season, or probably not even opened the season after his surgery. He’s clearly not needed with the way the team is going and will likely only disrupt the progress once he’s back and Donnie deems it necessary to give him the starting job back.

  81. koufax1963 says:

    Good morning dodgers fans. I witnessed some good dodgers baseball these last two games, yep even got the hive away Kershaw jersey. I haven’t been to the ravine in a while, with purpose due to my personal McCourt boycot. Some nice changes at the park, especially the bathrooms! You have to have Ryu and nolisco on the post season starters. Liabilities? Yes Puig but you have to play him the upside is so appealing. Hanley, didn’t get charged errors, but men got on that most other SS would of thrown out. Yep need his bat for sure. Wilson is still torture, but can deliver in post season. I think Donnie is trying real hard to position the team to win within each game, he might succeed, then again it is how the players execute. And Jansen is just so cool, he is not letting Wilson take the closer role! Did I read try say ” grab some pone,meat”? You have been listening to krukow too long! It has been such a pleasure listening to Vinnie here, and I continue my family’s legacy with the dodgers by taking my grandson to these games, and he is locked in after this, a kudos to a more family orientated ballpark experience, now back to the grey area with Vinnie on the radio. GO DODGERS!!!

  82. kahliforni says:

    What’s with all the Puig bashing? He had a bad day against a guy throwing 100 mph. This guy is one of the main reasons this team is special. Think the Dodgers would be 10 1/2 ahead without him? We’ve seen that movie. It’s called 2011, 2012, and early 2013.

  83. messagebear says:

    And I’m always for Donnie bashing – and Ned too, of course.

  84. Dodger4life says:

    Puig is leading everyone in MLB except Miggy, with the bat, and he continues to make adjustments. He has the 14th highest assist ratio of all outfielders, even know he has less than 100 games in the big’s. He probably has just as good a chance at doing something wonderful in the playoffs, as he does doing something harmful.

    Yes, we need Kemp back, we are paying him a lot of money. He is also a very talented ballplayer. Who at one time, not too long ago, was the toast of the league. He will rebound from the injuries at some point and be a very valuable asset again.

    Van Slyke may or may not have a long career in the big’s. He has already been passed over once by every team in baseball. I don’t think this would happen again though. Anyhow, he is still the 5th outfielder on this team.

    Young and 1.7 million dollars especially for a 5’9 pitcher who struggled in AAA this season, is a good pickup. He has aged but still hit .276. His offensive numbers are comparable to Andre’s and he gives us a veteran presence for the post season, In the event that someone pulls up lame between now and the end of the post season (providing we qualify) he will become an ample fill in.
    .
    Let’s Go Dodgers, Let’s Go!!
    .
    P.S. I am happy to hear that you and the family enjoyed the facilities and the Dodgers once again, Koufax63.

  85. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Mark!

  86. Greinke with a stolen base! I love it!!!

  87. vl4eccjr says:

    BOOM!!!

  88. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Yasiel!

  89. vl4eccjr says:

    Paco to the rescue!

  90. vl4eccjr says:

    The Dbags are imploding in the sticker patch. Heath Bell blew! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  91. Dodger4life says:

    Nice Win Boy’s!!!

    It also looks like we will increase our lead soon.

  92. I am so enjoying these series sweeps. It’s good to see the broom get so much exercise ๐Ÿ™‚

  93. Dodger4life says:

    New post… Me Too Spark!

  94. JhallWally says:

    ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL!!

Leave a Reply

