1962 World Series? 2013 Fall Classic?

1962 World Series?

What could have been. This proposed cover for the 1962 World Series Souvenir Program still makes me sad.

The last day of the 1962 season was my saddest day as a Dodger fan. I was listening to the game on a Sears Silvertone transistor radio in my backyard. The Dodgers were four games ahead with just eight games to go and Dodger fans were eagerly anticipating another trip to the World Series. However, the team was exhausted and by the end of the regular season, they were tied with the hated Giants, forcing a three game playoff.

The Dodgers lost the first game 8 – 0 with Sandy Koufax on the mound. Koufax said he "had nothing at all" in describing his Game 1 performance. The boys in blue came back to tie the series with an 8 – 7 win. The 165th game of the season would be the decisive game. With umpires Dusty Boggess, Augie Donatelli, Jocko Conlan, and Al Barlick presiding, the Dodgers were ahead 4 – 2 with the Giants coming up in the top of the ninth inning. I was giddy with the anticipation of my Dodgers going to the Series again just three years after they won the championship in 1959.

Matty Alou pinch hit for the 1956 World Series hero, Don Larsen, and singled to lead off the inning. Harvey Kuenn grounded into a force out at second base. Willie McCovey pinch hit for Chuck Hiller and walked to advance Kuenn. Ernie Bowman pinch ran for McCovey and Felipe Alou walked to load the bases. Willie Mays hit a line drive single scoring Kuenn. Dodger pitcher Ed Roebuck barely managed to knock the ball down to hold Mays to a single and Mays said he was "still mad" after the game because he had expected more off of the hit. Stan Williams relieved Roebuck and Orlando Cepeda hit a sacrifice fly to tie the game at 4–4 and advance Alou to third. Mays moved to second on a wild pitch to Ed Bailey and Williams intentionally walked him to reload the bases. Williams walked Jim Davenport to give the Giants a 5–4 lead, and they added to it as José Pagán reached on an error allowing Mays to score and extend the lead to 6–4. Billy Pierce pitched a perfect bottom of the ninth to end the game, earning his only save of the season.

I was devastated. How could that have happened? A repeat of the 1951 season. The horror… The horror.

This series against the Yankees could very well be a preview of the 2013 World Series. The Dodgers have a nice lead and with "The Beard" on our side coming off his Tommy John surgery, the bullpen possibly just got a little better. Or not.

71 Responses to 1962 World Series? 2013 Fall Classic?

  1. Really looking forward to this series. It will bring back lots of great (and not-so-great) memories. In the meantime, looks like we’ve signed Brian Wilson to a minor league contract with plans to bring him up in 2 weeks. Please, Ned, not ANOTHER ex-Gnat!!!

    • trublu4ever says:

      Yes Ned did it!.Only good thing, it didn’t cost us a player and as icing on the cake….Giants will be PO 🙂

  2. koufax1963 says:

    Brian Wilson will be a sure thing to point out the limited and insane thinking of colletti to master, another ex gnat, please save me, I am just now accepting uribe, only because he is almost gone, and he now produces ( more than weight gain), Wilson was overrated and I have had my fill of The Torture already, no more!!

  3. messagebear says:

    Just another case of Ned trying to show up Sabean, like he knows better. Ned’s record with that type of thinking has to be like 0 for 4, or maybe 0 for 5, or 6…

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Let’s recount Ned trying to one-up Sabean:

      1. Jason Schmidt
      2. Juan Pierre (as I recall the Giants we’re interested until ol’ Ned came along to “steal” him away.)
      3. Juan Uribe
      4. Brian Wilson

      I’m sure I’m missing a couple lesser names.

      Wilson will be lights out for 6 weeks because I’m sure Ned’s just dying to give him a 3-year contract based on a few weeks work now and because he was good in 2010 for the hated ones. After all, Ned cried when the Gnats won that one.

  4. kahliforni says:

    Glad The Beard is coming to LA…never had a problem with him. He’s a colorful character in a sport of mainly dolts. If he has a pain-free arm, then he’s a keeper. And don’t flatter Ned with this free acquisition. Ned’s just a numbers and contract guy now. The brains reside outside his office.

  5. ZonaDodger says:

    I don’t mind Wilson it’s just the ex-gnats that bother me….I hope he does well but will see lol…Can he be any worse then Marmol lol

  6. 32and53fan says:

    I have no problem with ex-Giants. Once they put on Dodger Blue, they are our guys. I have a pretty good feeling that Wilson signed with the Dodgers because there is a good chance that he will get to pitch in the post-season. I don’t think he will be rooting or even missing the Giants. A few days ago, I heard that he had good velocity in a bullpen session and impressed the scouts. I think that we all hope he can be lights out with the Dodgers. He should help out in the clubhouse too, his intensity, arrogance, and attitude will fit right in with Puig, Kemp, Hanley, and the rest of those egos on the team.

  7. Growing up a Dodger fan in the ’40s & ’50s the 2nd worse thing that ever happened was Bobby Thomson shot heard around the world. It was very humiliating.
    The 3rd worse thing was playing the Yankees almost every year in the World Series. It’s a good thing, Thank God, we finally won one in 1955. Otherwise I don’t know what.
    By the time 1955 came along it seemed like we’d never beat them. That World Championship, as you all know, lasted one year as they won again in ’56 with a perfect game from Don Larsen to top it off.
    In 1960, I and a group of friends went to Yankee Stadium and I tried to be a Yankee fan. I did the best I could but it wasn’t real. In 1962 I thought for sure I’d psyched myself into being a Met fan but the one thing that I couldn’t do was root against my beloved Bums.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. I’m watching the game on YES (Yankees Entertainment & Sports) network.

  9. I know one thing, I’ll get more than a paragraph on this Dodger game in my morning paper.

  10. Nice start, Puig doubles and Hanley knocks him in.

  11. trublu4ever says:

    We’re on the board! Keep it up!

  12. That was quick, Overbay ties it. Damit.

  13. trublu4ever says:

    Ouch….that hurt!

  14. enchantedbeaver says:

    Dre’s having a great homestand. Hasn’t gotten a hit yet has he?

  15. Is Hanley saying Uribe could’ve made a play on Overbay’s grounder,perhaps on Soriano?

  16. enchantedbeaver says:

    You know, its not like this team’s been hitting the cover off the ball in this homestand. I find that worrisome and an awful lot like earlier in the year. They ought to be stomping Pettitte. Judging by his ERA a lot of teams have.

  17. vl4eccjr says:

    Peavy to the Red Sox in a 3 team deal with the Tigers.

  18. enchantedbeaver says:

    We need a Mark Ellis special.

  19. YES ……………..Mark Ellis comes through knocks in Ethier
    WE BEAT THE YANKEES…….YES.

  20. ZonaDodger says:

    Way to go Mark..Dodgers win baby 🙂

  21. lbirken says:

    I also remember how the ’62 season ended and how bad I felt. I still get upset whenever the Bobby Thomsen homer replay is shown and I was but a toddler at the time.

    But right now it is a great time to be a Dodger fan.

  22. ZonaDodger says:

    Hi..Hopefully Ned don’t go nuts today….Should just stand pat

  23. JhallWally says:

    Woo-Hoo!!!! Win streak…. Nice team win… Greinke pitched well, the bullpen was nails….. Ethier was outstanding… Ellis, star of the game… I don’t know what has happened, but I am enjoying the hell out of it.. This team is exciting and fun to watch………

  24. crash24now says:

    Wow – not only are we in the lead by 3.5 games, we are also only 1/2 a game out of the second wild card spot. This has been a heck of a streak and I’m not ready for it to be over. Not with Kershaw going tonight. Go Dodgers!

  25. Van Slyke is back – Herrera optioned out to the ‘Topes.

  26. kahliforni says:

    If Van Slyke is back, that means Kemp is hurting…which I read today that he is, indeed hurting. This is no minor ankle sprain.

    • I read it too, Kahli. Unfortunately the language was in the typical double-speak that means they really don’t know what the heck is going on with Matt’s ankle. If he’s still wearing the immobilizing boot, then it’s hardly minor.

  27. grizzy says:

    Just back from a month long trip to the North West, and things have gone pretty well while I was gone. I do not know how much credit I can take for the teams success, but I’m thinking of doing it again in October.

  28. Well here we go with game 2.

  29. vl4eccjr says:

    Ruh Roh! Cowboy Bucknor is behind the plate!

  30. trublu4ever says:

    What a wonderful pre-game ceremony for Mariano….we sure have a classy organization now.

  31. trublu4ever says:

    Hey, Beav….my boy started earlier tonight 😉

  32. Both Kersh and Hiro are pitching well and are totally in control. This is a wonderful duel.

  33. What was A-Gon thinking?

  34. If A-gon doesn’t try to go to 2nd, Who knows?

  35. Uribe – ole!! Let’s go Dodgers!!!!!

  36. Walk off tonight Tru?

  37. Almost but no magic,

  38. Where’s the rally panties when you need ’em??

  39. vl4eccjr says:

    Sheeeeit!!!

  40. I think that Puig’s adventures in the outfield had better be addressed soon. That was a sure out and we didn’t need to give the Yanks some insurance runs.

  41. vl4eccjr says:

    POOF!!!

  42. 32and53fan says:

    Error goes to Paco for throwing a 0-2 pitch right to the wheelhouse.

  43. Just one of those games that the Dodgers just have to turn the page on.

  44. grizzy says:

    Got screwed on that one, but in the end we didn’t play well enough to win. Other than Kershaw, of course. As oldbrooklyn has already said turn the page and get the next one.

  45. koufax1963 says:

    Turn the page? I suppose that would be nice, but this book is full of mystery! My usual optimistic tude is threatened. A tired team arrived In Chicago, could be our first two losses in a row in quite some time. Lack of hitting is a common theme, injuries and some bad mojo persist. You know I feel overlay should of been ruled SOut, on that check swing, if the first one was, the second one looked more obvious. Turn the page and what does the chapter on wrigley field read like? August has come, dog days and boys of summer, Dodgers must prevail!

  46. crash24now says:

    I think our offense will get well at Wrigley Field. However, I am concerned that Puig will run into the brick wall going after a ball.

Leave a Reply

