An anxious off-day

All of the turmoil surrounding the Dodgers last place position, and the questions about Don Mattingly’s responsibility for it, make today not just another Thursday off for the team.

As we all know, there has been no shortage of news stories, blog posts, radio and TV commentary, and chats around the office water cooler speculating if the Dodgers will soon have a new manager.  Most of that information can be found by following some of the links listed on the right side of this blog.

The shocking public pronouncements against some of the players, and indirectly about Ned Colletti, adds a new level to this soap opera.  For some reason, I am getting the image of the ongoing SNL sketch, “The Californians”  in my head.  It would be hilarious if some clever writer could make their next episode about what is going on with Mattingly and the Dodgers right now.

I was wondering if Walt Alston ever blasted his players publicly and found a nice article written about Alston right after his death.

http://www.csmonitor.com/1984/1005/100504.html

Here is an excerpt:

”Although people were always saying Alston was too conservative, there were lots of times when he threw the book away and won with whatever he decided to do ,” (Dodger coach Monty) Basgall added. ”And he knew just how to handle those big egos on the Dodgers so they remained happy and productive. But if someone wasn’t doing his job, Walter didn’t hesitate to blast him or take his money, only it was always done behind closed doors, man to man. He didn’t believe in letting the press in on anything like that.”

Walt had enough confidence not to worry that he managed under 23 consecutive contracts and not to air the team’s dirty laundry to the press.  The same can not be said about Mattingly.

Should the Dodgers fire Don Mattingly?

Should the Dodgers fire Ned Colletti?

33 Responses to An anxious off-day

  1. 32and53fan says:

    I have a feeling that the Dodgers are going to turn it around and slowly make their way back to contention. Maybe the cooler heads will prevail and let Mattingly continue for a while longer to see if the team can play up to it’s potential.

    • trublu4ever says:

      If we turn it around, it will be without Mattingly. He is not the right man for the job. My, my, he doesn’t get along with Andre…too damn bad…and, he didn’t care for Loney a while back….benching his butt every other day…a real confidence booster…..I don’t like him….never have. Just wonder what would happen if he threw Matt under the bus when he was barely hitting 200?! He would have been fired on the spot! So, Donnie will probably survive and Andre (like most of you want) will get traded……and, think that he’s glad to be out of here.

  2. grizzy says:

    I think Mattingly should stay. Let’s see how much pride these millionaires have.

  3. 32and53fan says:

    I don’t know what problem Mattingly has with Andre Ethier. I never spotted anything on TV about Andre being “gritless” or not putting out effort. Last year Don said Andre had about 100 at bats that were poor.. What does that mean?

  4. messagebear says:

    I’ve never accused Mattingly of being very smart in the way he expresses himself; however, I have to wonder how much of the Ethier put-down has been made up and exaggerated by the media. I can’t conceive even Donnie being that stupid as to single out the guy publicly, especially since it’s no more deserved than making the same point against Kemp and several others. I personally like Andre more than Kemp. I think criticism of Kemp is more reserved as a result of political correctness – I’m one who says fuck political correctness. If Kemp is going to be an underachieving singles hitter and strike out artist, I’d sooner see him traded than Ethier. I only believe that the hot hand needs to be playing, and currently in my opinion that would be VanSlyke, not Andre, or Matt, or maybe even Crawford and Gonzo.

    I think Donnie should be dismissed for a lot of reasons, and admittedly because I’ve never liked him, just like Ned – his latest take on the players doesn’t have that much impact on me.

  5. Dodger4life says:

    I see we split the two games I was unable to follow…This is start!

    So Mattingly made a statement that wasn’t sugar coated, and the press ran with it… I think he stated that he was going to play the guy’s he felt gave us the best fighting chance to win. Which, to me implies focus and hustle…

    My grandfather was a man I dearly admired and if he told me that I was not giving something 100%, I wouldn’t even have to question his motives… regardless of what his approach was in informing me…

    These guy’s need something to get them going in the right direction…

    The only problem I see with Mattingly’s comments are that they were needed in the first place….

    They admire Donnie’s honesty, when he gives them the benefit of the dought, they should admire it when it isn’t all peaches and cream as well.

    They are grown men, performing a task for a wage… a rather good wage, playing a child’s game at that.

    Win or lose, playing the game correctly!
    This goes for Donnie and the rest of management as well.

  6. 32and53fan says:

    I added a poll to the end of this post. I know that the sample size here is pretty small, but it might be fun to see how it turns out. Just click on the link to take the poll.

  7. JhallWally says:

    As much as I think Dildon is not the man for the job and want him replaced, I think that would be putting the cart before the horse.

    Nedcompoop should be the first to go. He assembled this mess and hired Dildon…. Why is he getting a pass when he has been one of the most pathetic and inept GM in baseball history.

    As far as Andre, yes he is underachieveing. But not any worse than Kemp or any number of players on the team.. Actually, Kemp is underachieveing even more, as he is the true superstar. I have said all along that Ethier is way overrated. Just because he received an ill advised big contract from a boob of a GM does not change the fact that he is not now and never was a superstar talent.

    Fire Nedcompoop and Stan Conte!!!!!!!!!

  8. lbirken says:

    I don’t like all this talk about changing managers during the season. It is certainly not the Dodger way but then again the Dodger way we all remember is but a distant memory. Clearly Donnie was frustrated and said some of the same things we have been saying. Hard for me to believe Donnie does not “like” any of his players and I agree it is curious he would single out any one player. Once again the Dodgers face a big challenge in this series with the Cardinals.

    Do I think Donnie should be fired? I would think if the Dodgers miss the playoffs some changes should be made but I would not fire Donnie just yet.

  9. Although I wouldn’t want anything drastic to happen, all these rumors are doing the team good. If anything it can help get them moving, as we seen how yesterdays game went, this seems to be doing it. Ethier has always been a favorite of mine and I sure wouldn’t want to see him go but to me it doesn’t look to good for him staying. Right now all this controversy seems to have put the Dodgers back on the map.
    All we can do, as always, is just wait and see.

  10. We all know what this criticism will do to Andre – it’ll activate that chip on his shoulder and hopefully he’ll start playing well again. This entire episode is, in reality, being blown way out of proportion, but Donnie should NEVER have said anything to the media in the first place, and singling out Andre was even worse, given all the underachievers who currently reside on the 25-man roster. Donnie’s just proven himself to be a classless boob, IMHO.

  11. Dodger4life says:

    I am not all that sure what was said to the media and what wasn’t. I also don’t know in what context it was meant? I also don’t know if anything had been said previously. Basically, I don’t have all the particulars to the whole ordeal… So my comments were/are based on my perceived speculation.

    We seem to think these players live and die Dodger Baseball. In reality they have families and other interest off the field. They spend a lot of time away from such interest… as the wife and kids, or perhaps they have other ventures that they are involved in. These are things that we as the general public don’t become privy too. I know when I would come home from work, my wife and kids weren’t interested in what I did at my job. They wanted to show me what they were doing. Perhaps show me blueprints of our new home, fill me in on new opportunities that we may be looking at pursuing. These things are difficult to juggle when things are going well, at work… let alone when things aren’t. I am not singling out anyone person or player, I am just saying there are always variables that we don’t see/hear about.

    I will agree that no one likes to be singled out… however it is done.
    The simple solution is to find the problem and correct it though. I don’t think Donnie comments are that big of a deal, yet! I do think that whatever distractions stand in the way, this team as a whole should put them aside, readjust and focus on winning ballgames.

  12. kahliforni says:

    “Clubs say the Dodgers are letting it be known Ethier would be available in a trade, but the approximately $80 million he has left on his contract through the 2017 season would make one difficult, unless Los Angeles is willing to eat a significant chunk of that money.”

    I see this as bullshit of the highest order. Let me see…would I rather have Ned, Donnie or Andre??????? I have disliked Mattingly from the get-go…but respected him, in a weird way. Not any more. He can’t leave soon enough for me.

    • trublu4ever says:

      I bet he will be happy as hell to get out of Dodgertown….and, I don’t blame him!

      • trublu4ever says:

        …however, until you are gone Andre…I have a suggestion foor you. I think every time you hit one out (as, Shawn Green did) take your batting glove…don’t throw it to a kid in the stands….throw it in Donnie’s face!

  13. koufax1963 says:

    I imagine Dre will be in the line up friday, all much a do about nothing. If van slyke stays hot, have him PH. If kemp, dre or crawford slack, put van slyke in. Im for punto staying at 3rd.
    Why sellers is not playing SS, I have no clue, perhaps some player options thing. You remember what propelled the giants to their 2002 WS appearance, yep a dug-out fist fight between kent and bonds, now thats what the dodgers need to get going. Tell me who should be involved in a dodgers dug-out blow out? Mattingly and Uribe is my pick, and donnie kicks his butt!

    • Dodger4life says:

      On the Dug Out card tonight ladies and gentlemen… In the North corner hitting an unimaginable… ,96 from Navojoa, Sonora Mexico… Luis (The Cowpoke) Cruz, and in the South corner, hitting a whopping… .120, from Caracas, Venezuela… Ramon (The Old Man) Hernandez… Punto can be heard shouting…(Forget the poke, shred him Cruzer!!) Belisario then counters with (Old Man Ramon is Crazy!!)Ding! Ding! Ding!! What else do these two have to contribute???

    • I can’t see how it could be anyone else but Mattingly and Ethier.

  14. 32and53fan says:

    I think the reason was that Sellers wasn’t hitting and they wanted to see if Gordon could shake things up on the bases, while not giving up too many runs due to errors. So far, Dee is doing a little better, but stick a fork in him… Nope, still not ready.

  15. JhallWally says:

    Will someone please enlighten me on why in the hell Nedcompoop is still employed by the Dodgers?!!!

  16. I know these things are done for the good of the team but no matter how long I’ve been a fan I still hate when a player from the starting nine, for a number of years, is traded.
    But of course I always take it like a man and get over it sooner or later because the bottom line is to win.

  17. messagebear says:

    With Ned doing the trading, what do you think we’re likely to get for Andre? I would guess somebody at least three years older with no better year to date performance. Now, if we traded him to the Yankees and got their top two or three prospects in return, I might listen.

  18. Dodger4life says:

    What do you all think… win none, win one, win two, or sweep the Red Birds this weekend???

    • crash24now says:

      Lose Two:

      Tonight – Capuano puts up a good effort, gives up two runs, bullpen gives up one run, offense gets one run. Loss

      Saturday – Lilly gets blown out. Loss

      Sunday – Kershaw vs. Shelby Miller. The great one against an up-and-comer. Could be a great pitcher’s duel, but Kershaw will win.

  19. 32and53fan says:

    If any of you would like to create a new post for the Cardinals series, please go ahead and do so.
    If you choose to write something, please place a comment here so nobody else will also start a new post.

    Don, Ned and Stan had a meeting that lasted until 1:30AM the other night, before Don’s statements hit the fan. The three were on the same page and knew about Don’s concerns, so don’t expect management changes anytime soon.

    The Cards series will give the Dodgers another test to see if they can compete with the MLB leading team.

Leave a Reply

