Welcome back Sandy!

Image

(Click on photo to view full size.)

The Dodgers announced that Sandy Koufax has joined the Dodgers as a special advisor to team chairman Mark Walter.  The former Dodger superstar will be on hand for the entire spring training to offer his expertise to Dodger pitchers.  He then will be available during the season, as needed.  In an official Dodgers press release, Koufax offered the following quote:

“I’m delighted to be back with the Dodgers. I’m looking forward to spending time with the team during spring training and to contributing in any way I can  to help make the team a success for the fans of Los Angeles. Some of my most cherished memories came at Dodger Stadium.”

“The Dodgers are thrilled to have Sandy back with the organization,” Dodgers’ President and CEO Stan Kasten said. “Sandy’s experience and perspective will be invaluable as we endeavor to do everything in our power to bring the city of Los Angeles a World Series champion.”

In other news, the Dodgers and Time Warner reached an agreement for cable TV coverage of Dodger games beginning in 2014.  The agreement is to create a new channel controlled by the Guggenheim Partners.

49 Responses to Welcome back Sandy!

  1. 32and53fan says:

    32 will be at Camelback full time.

  2. Great news! I remember when he retired – I cried all that day!

  3. ZonaDodger says:

    So glad Jamey Wright signed with the Rays

  4. enchantedbeaver says:

    Looks like Guggenheim is partnering with Time-Warner for a cool $7b-$8b. That should keep their investors happy and our team pretty good for the next 25 years.

  5. lbirken says:

    Good to have Sandy officially as an instructor and officially part of the Dodgers. There have been a lot of popular and great players who have worn the Dodger uniform but Sandy certainly holds a special place on that long list.

    I will have to learn more about the media deal but it does seem a bit ironic if Fox is left on the outside looking in with regard to the Dodgers.

  6. trublu4ever says:

    I am thrilled to have Sandy in house….right where he belongs. i’m also hearing that the Time Warner deal is a good thing. What a difference in ownership! Joy to the world!!!!

  7. trublu4ever says:

    I also think it’s a smart move not to extend Donnie’s contract….like I said, love the new owners!

  8. 32and53fan says:

    Just looking at all of those photos takes me back 50 years. After school, I used to wait eagerly for the afternoon newspaper, the Los Angeles Herald-Examiner. I would go straight to the Sports Section to read Bob Hunter’s account of the previous night’s Dodger game and later, the latest column by Allan Malamud. I recall vividly seeing some of those photos in the newspaper a day after they were shot. I hope the Dodgers give him a nice bonus to acknowledge everything he has done for the team and allow him to recoup some of the financial losses he suffered in the Bernie Madoff scam.

  9. For a while there I thought we lost Koufax to the Wilpons and the Mets so this comes to me as welcomed news.

  10. Dodger4life says:

    Morning all…
    .
    I am glad to see Mr. Koufax back with the club!! Welcome Back Sandy!! ( Anyone seen the Bulldog… I wouldn’t mind, having his mind in the organization too!!)
    .
    It looks as if the first player to hit the DL this season is none other than Scott Elbert!! (I would of anticipated Lilly before Elbert!)
    .
    Time Warner has be gifted our club with an amazing amount of money and a Dodger channel of it’s own. ( Sound’s like a good time for all!)
    .
    I agree that Mattingly’s contract shouldn’t automatically be extended. Although I think he has held this team together better than one would of thought. (or was that Ned?)
    .
    The team is throwing a Fanfest this season and Kasten has said season tickets sales have increased…the team is also updating parts of the stadium as well. (We’re getting new plumbing which is a welcome sight!)
    .
    This looks as if it will be a very entertaining year and I for one can’t wait!!
    .
    Enjoy the rest of the Hot Stove season Y’all…Think Blue!!
    .

    .

    .

  11. Dodger4life says:

    Oh and someone should loan Sellers a trailer, so that he can transport his dirt bike to a suitable riding facility…or Cleveland…

  12. koufax1963 says:

    Koufax back, what a legend, more good comes with McCourt gone.
    Hope he can show these starters how to go more than 6 innings.
    NIce pictures above, but what possessed 32 fan to show a shot of joe morgan up there???

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Maybe he can show Donnie that starters can go more than 6 innings. 🙂

    • 32and53fan says:

      Sorry, I just grabbed a screenshot of a Google image search of Koufax. I did not even realize that Morgan’s picture was there until it was posted. I thought about editing it out but was too lazy to do it.

  13. dodgereric says:

    Hey everyone! I know it’s been a while for me, but I do check in and do some good reading here now and then. What an awesome group.

    Having Sandy back is a big deal, very exciting. Man, were I a pitcher on the Dodger staff, I wouldn’t be able to sleep until I got to work with him. So many players hit the ground running with just their natural talent. Not Koufax. He really had to work to get to where he got. That ethics needs to be spread to the current players.

    My friend Howard Cole has a long-running on-line petition to get Sandy a statue at Dodger Stadium. If any of you would like to sign it, he has a link to it on his latest post: http://www.coleonla.com/2013/01/22/koufax-returns-to-dodgers-as-if-he-ever-left/

    e, I did want to chime in with my prognostication. Unfortunately, the first thing that comes to mind is health. Of course, it has a huge impact of every season, but it seems like this year it looms larger this season than usual. If everyone is able to play to the level of their ability, I see us as being very competitive and have as good a chance as any to get to the Big Ring. Confidence is King in this game. If we get off to a good start, with the major players doing their parts, I think we can get to 95 wins and the Playoffs. Once there, if Kersh, Greink and Billz/Beck are healthy and effective when the post-season starts, we can go all the way.

    One more little thing: one of our holes is second base, right? Well, there is a decent 2B entering the final season on his current contract. I don’t think I’ve seen anything on this situation yet, but it’s gotta be coming. His agent is Scott Boras, who we know always has his guys test the market. His name is Robinson Cano. Just sayin’. Stay tuned.

    • dodgereric says:

      Oh, the TV contract. As a Dish subscriber, I can’t say I’m too thrilled by it. They never did get on board with the Laker games. Not that missing all those losses is really hurting me. If Vin isn’t a part of it, THAT will seriously have to be addressed. But if Vin is included, I will change to whatever service available to me carries them. Direct eventually took the Laker package.

  14. trublu4ever says:

    So pleased to see you here, Dodgereric. It’s not the same without you.

  15. Dodger4life says:

    Hey! Hey! Hey!
    .
    It’s good to see ya’ again dogereric…I agree with tru, you bring wisdom and humor to this group that just can’t be replaced.
    .
    Although, I was hoping you’d let me play second this season, I can’t argue the Cano factor!
    .
    Peace Y’all!!
    .

  16. JhallWally says:

    The team as it now stands is an 85-86 win team. Too many holes and injury issues. Not a playoff team let alone a WS team. Gonna take a few years to undo all the damage of the Fox and McSlime ownerships…. JMO

  17. lbirken says:

    Let’s see what happens toward the end of Spring training when the players have had time to get on the field and some of the health issues may be better understood. While I think the World Baseball Classic is an interesting event I am not happy that some high paid and valuable players risk injury playing for their country but it is hard to find fault with a player for wanting to participate. That being said I would prefer Hanley Ramirez in Glendale working on whatever position management feels is best for him and the team. We can hope Luis Cruz can continue playing the way he did last season but my guess is management is no more sure of that happening than any of us. We also still don’t know what will become of Dee Gordon and whether or not Mark Ellis can play everyday at second so I can understand why some people still feel the Dodgers have questions. I am confident Matt Kemp will be ready when the season starts; at least that is what he said at Dodger Fanfest. The Dodgers will rely heavily in A.J. Ellis behind the plate so hopefully he can respond to that challenge. So even though the roster seems pretty much set, there are still a lot of questions going into this season.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I agree that Hanley should be at Camelback instead of the WBC tournament. What I don’t understand is that Mattingly said he would prefer that Ramirez attend Spring Training but would not force the issue. Why not? A player earning millions of dollars per year should do what the employer wants. Are the Dodgers afraid that ordering him to skip the World games would make him mad and turn him into a clubhouse cancer again? It might be different if he had played many games at SS during the Winter League.

  18. kahliforni says:

    Why would this team pay gobs and gobs of cash for pitching at both ends, and then hand over shortstop to Ramirez, who was questionable, at best, last season, and who will have barely played the position come Opening Day? Just asking……………

    • Dodger4life says:

      Kahli…I think this is a concern for the organization, but what would the other alternative be?? I don’t pay enough attention to the rest of baseball to form a valued opinion. Gordon doesn’t get on base enough and commits way to many errors. Uribe should of been cut loose already, he clearly has little to offer on offense. So I am guessing, they would have to bring in someone from somewhere else…But who, from where, for what? Hanley should provide us with adequate offense, one would hope? Although, that put’s Cruz at third, and from what I have read, he has had a terrible winter as far as getting on base is concerned. Rolen may or may not be available…Just asking cause I value the opinions of the members of this blog such as yourself? What would you have done? Something in my gut tell’s me though, that if Hanley plays shortstop inadequately for very long, they will make a change.
      .
      Not to mention, we have how many catchers in camp this season? I think the team has concerns here as well? After A.J…it’s a crapshoot…
      .
      I agree with what some have said about being healthy this season. Kemp and Kersh are the cream of the crop…the other hired guns are no slouch’s either… Crawford, A Gon, Hanley, Greinke, and perhap’s the Korean will surprise us. who knows? Beckett and League… are probably a toss up… they could show signs of prolonged success, but could struggle as well??? Will Bills bounce back, history isn’t on his side here?
      .
      Who will bat in the lead off spot…Will they get on base enough to be a value to the rest of the line- up?
      .
      Can our bull-pen dominate??? This is a big must…One would think we have a decent formula here.
      .
      Can Donnie rally the troops as he has in the past with lesser talent, or should he even have to with these guy’s?? You would think his biggest obstacle would be to utilize them properly!
      .
      I suspect the crowd will energize the boy’s quite a bit at home…How will they fare playing on the road this season?
      .
      We have the biggest payroll in baseball, this formula played out well for Torre in New York, Mattingly is his protege…Can that success along with the billions in revenue play out here as well?
      .
      I’ll say this…wrong or right…I have a lot more faith in this team than I have in the past few years. I don’t think we are done putting the best team on the field we can…I think this team will improve as it goes along…How and where…I don’t know…I think we are pretty close to having enough in place to get the ball rolling in the right direction…
      .
      I think this is going to be a fun year…
      .
      If we don’t make the playoffs one way or the other…I will be surprised… I say will win 100 games this season…what is this based on…strictly blind faith…the same blind faith I have every season!

      • kahliforni says:

        With the supposed fire power this Dodger team has they should put Ramirez at third and play whomever is their most gifted middle infielder at short…I don’t care if he’s an unknown 19-year-old who bats .050. With this pitching staff, a lights-out defensive shortstop is vital.

        • Dodger4life says:

          I hear ya’ Kahli…Like it’s been said, with Ramirez participating in the WBC, it will give them time in ST to see several other options man the position.

  19. Dodger4life says:

    “There is among us a far closer relationship than the purely social one of a fraternal organization because we are bound together not only by a single interest but by a common goal. To win. Nothing else matters, and nothing else will do.”
    Sandy Koufax

  20. JhallWally says:

    No big news, A-Fraud was juiced….. Glad the Yankers are stuck with his sorry ass and 114M for the next 5 years.

    • lbirken says:

      Not sure I care much anymore about all this PED stuff. As far as I am concerned most of the players at least tried it and management knew all about it.

  21. I agree with you, 32and53fan, it just doesn’t seem right that Henlley would play out of position in the WBC, when he obviously need more work as a SS.
    Maybe, though, Gordon might be outstanding(offensively) playng SS during that time and could really get things shook up. If that’s where they put him.

  22. grizzy says:

    I agree. Ramirez should be in camp, playing 3rd, and the team should go out and get a slick fielding SS. If one is not available, then our best glove should play there. That position needs to be solid.

  23. trublu4ever says:

    I’m willing to give Hanley a little break. He didn’t get a chance to play SS all season. Perhaps, if that is to be his position, he will do well knowing that is were he will be playing.

  24. Regardless of where Hanley plays, in camp or with the WBC, I think it would be better if he played whatever position the Dodger would like him to start at this season. If the team wants him at SS, it just doesn’t feel right to have him playing 3B in the WBC.

  25. enchantedbeaver says:

    Man, is my PC messed up on this website…

    Was trying to head this as a new post, but nothing works, so I’ll pose the question here:

    I DON’T KNOW – THIRD BASE!!

    Who do you think will be manning third base come opening day?

    1. Luis Cruz
    2. Jerry Hairston
    3. Elian Herrara
    4. Dallas McPherson
    5. Nick Punto
    6. Hanley Ramirez
    7. Scott Rolen
    8. Justin Sellers
    9. Skip Schumaker
    10. Juan Uribe
    11. Other

    • I think it’ll be Cruz, but you never know, since it’s a long way to opening day. A lot of water will flow under the bridge during ST, but I’d sure like to see the problem solved by that time.

  26. messagebear says:

    I’ll say Ramirez. If the manager can’t play his people in the positions where they’re most qualified, it’s not money this team needs but guts.

  27. trublu4ever says:

    With my luck, they will sign Rolen…..bleh!

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      If they don’t sign Rolen, which well, you know Neddy and the Vets, here are a few scenarios I can see happening:

      1. With Ramirez in the WBC, Gordon manages to excel in ST and Hanley’s moved to third.

      2. Gordon tanks leaving Hanley at short, Cruz tanks and [gulp] Uribe puts together a decent enough spring to play third. With Ramirez and Cruz away, you know he’ll get a long look.

      3. McPherson eats up B-game and late in the game AA pitching and is awarded 3B (though it won’t last beyond 3 weeks.)

      • trublu4ever says:

        I’m hoping they will release Uribe during ST…..we can eat his salary 😉 I hope Cruz and Hairston play well. I still want Hanley at Short…..a full season there and he ill be a happy camper and do well.

  28. trublu4ever says:

    *will be a happy camper.

  29. kahliforni says:

    Juan Uribe…………………now there’s an enigma. His mechanics at the plate are so incredibly flawed I wonder just who is being paid good money to work with hitters on that club. Do the Dodgers have a video camera? Guggenheim might want to invest in one. Suggestion: Contact my Little League manager from 1965…he used to put bats in the batter’s box, everywhere but straight ahead. Every time we stepped “in the bucket” we’d be on our a** on the ground. I’d pay to see it with Uribe…a spring fundraiser, as it were.

    • 32and53fan says:

      That would be a lawsuit waiting to happen these days….

      • lbirken says:

        I seem to recall seeing baseball coaches doing something similar when I was a kid many moons ago. Being a youth coach today sure seems to carry a lot of risk along with the responsibility.

  30. Dodger4life says:

    I enjoyed this read, especially the comment’s from A.J.!
    .
    Every time the Dodgers faced St. Louis in recent years, Ellis said, Dodgers pitchers noticed how trying it was to get outs. Each Cardinals batter seemed to have a determined approach and a grind-it-out mentality. Ellis had played minor-league ball against Matt Carpenter, Allen Craig, Daniel Descalso, David Freese and Jon Jay and something seemed different about them.

    “I thought they’d be pretty solid major-league players, but never in my wildest dreams did I think they were going to become the hitters they became,” Ellis said. “That’s a testament not only to their hard work, but obviously they got some help when they got to the big leagues. Mark was there to aid them.”
    .

    http://espn.go.com/los-angeles/mlb/story/_/id/8894756/don-mattingly-mark-mcgwire-preach-patience-los-angeles-dodgers-superstar-hitters

  31. Well it looks Like Hanley Ramirez won’t play much at either 3B or SS in thw WBC as he will mostly be the DH according to what I’ve read this afternoon. Also something about an injury suffered in winter ball.

  32. trublu4ever says:

    I’m also hearing that Rolen is just about to become a Dodger….wow, so many infielders…what the hell are we going to do?!

  33. JhallWally says:

    Sign Bourn, trade Ethier….

  34. grizzy says:

    Thank You Baltimore. Having to listen to the in-law from the Bay Area about another championship would be a little much.

  35. crash24now says:

    Eight days until pitchers and catchers report. I am so psyched!

Leave a Reply

