Yes…..Happy New Year!

Yes.....Happy New Year!

Always thinking blue.

57 Responses to Yes…..Happy New Year!

  1. trublu4ever says:

    Can’t wait for the aroma of grass and the warm sunshine on my face.I despise the cold!

  2. ZonaDodger says:

    Happy New Year…Can’t wait to go to a game or 2 in Glendale…Lucky me i only live 100 miles from there 🙂

  3. Happy New Year, A big year for me, at least a very big start preparing to go to CBR with the gang from TBLA.

    • JhallWally says:

      C’mon people, the Dodgers are seriously listening to offers for Ethier. These reports would not keep cropping up if they weren’t. Thankfully, I don’t think they will just give him away. It would have to be a very nice package to get him. If it makes the team better, I’m all for it. If not, just get a lefty masher to platoon with Andre or pinch hit for him late in close games.
      Excelsior!!

      • Happy New Year my brother!

        That would work if they go out and sign Bourne and end up getting Seager somehow in return for Andre. Hell, I’d go Seager for Andre straight-up, but doubt if Seattle would. That would take care of 3B for years, and they can either groom his little brother for SS or 2B.

  4. lbirken says:

    I think Ned has admitted Andre’s name comes up but always from the other side and not from the Dodgers. So while the Dodgers may not be shopping Andre, they will listen to offers. Andre is a popular player with the fans so one would hope any deal involving him significantly upgrades the roster for some time to come.

  5. kahliforni says:

    When I hear Seattle Mariners and Andre Ethier, the only other name I want to hear is Felix Hernandez. And a Happy New Year to all the humans on this blog.

  6. Dodger4life says:

    Most everyone here was spot on about Loney…I was wrong I thought he would find his stroke. Most everyone here was half right about JP, he did have his moments, although we have done better. I am gonna stick by Ethier, he has that clutch mentality that I enjoy watching. I sure hope he is healthy and can improve his numbers across the board, including his stats against lefties…But in saying this, Felix Hernandez in my opinion is one guy if given the opportunity to obtain, would be hard to pass on.
    .
    Happy new year once again everyone…

  7. lbirken says:

    This should add some hilarity to this conversation about a possible trade involving Andre.
    http://www.truebluela.com/2013/1/3/3832208/just-to-be-clear

  8. Dodger4life says:

    Look Jack…You guys are under pressure to win soon, I get it…You’ve been rebuilding for how long now. How’s that Hernandez extension coming along…I hear ya’ if ya make the playoffs maybe he’ll get excited and maybe you can afford him, that is… if your still around and he likes pitching at the new improved Safeco Field..I’ve got this Gordon kid…and Bill’s is throwing in the 90’s again….See what you can work out and call me back.

  9. This whole thing about Ethier gets started with the well known fact that he has trouble hitting left handers. So it looks like we have to brace ourselves that his chances of getting traded are good.
    That said, I still hate to see him go.

  10. trublu4ever says:

    We are signing lefty reliever JP Howell….very close to a done deal.

  11. ZonaDodger says:

    Not a bad lefty

  12. ZonaDodger says:

    Dodgers signed INF Alfredo Amezaga to a minor league contract.
    Th deal includes an invite to spring training. Amezaga failed to appear in the majors last season and will turn 35 later this month. He’ll look to compete for a utility job with the Dodgers.

  13. ZonaDodger says:

    There’s are SS lol…Just kidding you know he will be at Abq all year

  14. Rock me. Rock me. Rock me. Rock me Amezaga.
    Amezaga Amezaga
    Amezaga Amezaga…

    OK be honest – how many of you realy remember Falco and how many of you just thought he’s finally lost my mind?

  15. koufax1963 says:

    HI OTD Dodgers Fans;
    A bit of nostalgic trivia: Clothier Abe Stark, a clothier in brooklyn, posed a challenge to hitters in his AD on the Ebbets Field scoreboard : What was it?

  16. lbirken says:

    New ownership is following up on its promise to continue improvements to Dodger Stadium. I must say I am impressed with how much work is being done now to address some of the issues inside the stadium, even including upgraded facilities for the players.

  17. crash24now says:

    Barry Bonds and the other ‘roiders are denied Hall of Fame status. Voters say no to Bonds, Clemens, and Sosa.
    http://msn.foxsports.com/mlb/story/baseball-hall-of-fame-announcement-no-player-elected-to-class-of-2013-010913

  18. I think Piazza did well with a fourth place 57.8%. I’m pretty sure he’ll make it one of these days. Too bad O’Malley sold the team to FOX at that time. A very regettable time in Dodger history. Piazza will always be one of my favorites even if he does go in as a Met.

  19. Dodger4life says:

    The M’s lost Hamilton…and now Upton, not to mention Dre’…Let’s just say King Felix assures the M’s at this point, he will not resign with them. If your the M’s… Wouldn’t now be the time to make a deal with an aggressive buyer such as the Dodgers… That would be a One! Two! Three! Cruz!! I See You! Punch!!! What do you give up if it was asked??

  20. JhallWally says:

    Heh, heh, heh…. Well, without Nedcompoop and the Dodgers out dumpster diving, the market and price for used up over the hill hanger on players has taken a hit. Juan Rivera, Marcus Thames, Andruw Jones, and there like should never have a bad word for old Frank McCrook. He enabled them to cash in big time on little to no talent and/or no upside. It remains to be seen if we are spending wisely or not. But, at least we are not shopping at the Goodwill Thrift Store anymore. Excelsior, Dodger Faithful…………

  21. enchantedbeaver says:

    Reports are that the Dodgers want Gordon to learn the outfield.

    Thoughts?

    • 32and53fan says:

      Juan Pierre v2.0?

    • kahliforni says:

      Gordon had a couple walk-off hits last season…I remember Kemp mugging him. So he does have a clutch aspect about him, even when his average is pathetic. I just think he was in over his head last season. Sorry, but in a perfect world, I want outfielders to be able to hit the ball out of the park, center fielders and lead-off hitters included. Puts a lot more pressure on the pitcher. Right now, he is neither a defensive force nor an offensive force. Let him play short for a season at AAA. Then a year from now he can play for newly-promoted Dodgers manager, Jody Reed!?!?!?

      • 32and53fan says:

        I think he showed too much swagger before he earned the right to do so.

      • I don’t want to see Gordon in the outfield. Like Kahliforni, I prefer long ball power hitting outfirlders. I hope the outfield of Crawford, Kemp and Ethier stay in place at least for this season. Then change things, if needed. But not Gordon who I’d rather see in the infield.

  22. messagebear says:

    I think that Gordon was over-hyped by a team that couldn’t attract too many really good prospects. He probably did all he could, but needs considerably more maturing at AAA if he can contribute at all. He certainly doesn’t merit switching to the outfield – I’m sure there are other speedy guys out there who can hit with more authority. I really wouldn’t care if he is traded.

  23. enchantedbeaver says:

    I really think they could use Gordon’s speed, even if its off the bench. No harm in letting him try the OF. It either makes him more valuable in a trade, or he becomes a jack of all trades, and definitely master of none as an IF/OF bench player. Without him, they’ve got nothing off the bench to PR late in a game when his speed could actually be used as a deciding factor. Punto, Hairston et al. aren’t going to cut it.

  24. ZonaDodger says:

    ESPN’s Buster Olney reports that the Dodgers are “looking into” signing free agent reliever Rafael Soriano

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      He’s definitely not worth giving up a draft pick to sign.

      How many of these guys do we need? They already have League and Jansen.

  25. ZonaDodger says:

    I agree enchanted…Olney to me is just writing crap lol

Leave a Reply

