Think Blue!

Think Blue!

Had to remove the bad taste of the WS!

72 Responses to Think Blue!

  1. trublu4ever says:

    A.J. is a proud Pappa again…congrats! Brandon League is with us for three years. As reported on the previous post, no more Rivera, Coffey and Treanor….what’s next for our boys? Can’t wait to see what moves we make.

  2. League it appears gets a standard Ned three year contract based upon a good month and a half and not the body of his work for the year (or career.)

    Not my money though, so let’s hope he doesn’t go where MacDougal and Coffey have gone before.

  3. grizzy says:

    Donnie has probably had some input there. I want League to stay, but I’m wondering about the three years part of it.

  4. JhallWally says:

    Ned is still a nincompoop/idiot, and Donny is a dildo…..All the money in the world cannot change that. Fire them!!!!

    • Hey Wally! How you been my friend?

      • trublu4ever says:

        Wow….Beav & Wally on the same day….looks like good old times!

      • JhallWally says:

        Doing well my brother. How about yourself? Very disappointed by the outcome of the WS. However, you have to give the Gnats credit where it is due. They are a gritty team with alot of guts and heart. Something I can’t say about our Dodgers. I still can’t believe Nedcompoop is our GM… Geez!!

        • nellyjune says:

          Jhall!!!! Nice seeing that friendly name around here!

          • JhallWally says:

            Hi’Ya Nelly. Thanks. Always a pleasure to see/read you and Tru. We’ve got alot of fodder for the hot stove. I was very disappointed that the Reds blew it. Must be a living nightmare for you with the Gnats winning it all. Oh well, lets hope this new ownership group actually knows what they are doing and can return us to glory.

          • nellyjune says:

            I was very disappointed in the Reds as well. The parade was today so it should calm down now, especially the daily news coverage. Most of the bandwagon fans will move back to their football teams.

        • Doing fine. Still playing occasionally with the Rectal-Cranial Inversion sufferers over on that other blog.

          Looks like the new owners are working in more and more pieces around Ned. Can’t tell just yet if its to prop him up or make an iron clad case to can him when he still can’t win.

          Ned will survive longer than Donnie though – he’s good at throwing others under the bus.

    • kahliforni says:

      Hey, The Dodgers braintrust (?) took care of the “problem”…they fired Dave Hansen. Now they’ll take off, just like the Angels flew to the stratosphere when Mickey Hatcher was fired……………

  5. The bullpen looks good, especially with closer League and Jansen, Belisario and Guerra close behind.
    I guess they are taking serious thought, this time, of trading Ethier. If so, I hope it’s good for the team but I have to say it would really be a big blow to quite a few of us who have become accustom to having him as a member of the team.
    It’s a known fact that no one seems to be able to get him to hit left handed pitchers, so I guess that’s good enough reason to let him go. But I’d find him hard to forget.

    • trublu4ever says:

      People who really know (not just those making speculations) say Andre isn’t going anywhere. They put the rumor to rest yesterday.

      • trublu4ever says:

        ….I know a lot of you will be upset to have Andre still with us, but, as for me, I love it!

      • I read the same thing yesterday, but I’m sure we all know that any player could be traded if the right deal comes along. It’s just that we become so attached to some players, it hurts to see them go. But as we all learned it happens everyday.

  6. messagebear says:

    I’m not looking to deal Andre anywhere. It’s one thing to bemoan the fact that he got an overpaid contract, another to want him gone – and for what? I have to resign to the fact that these days everyone is getting overpaid, so why not Andre. If you want a real example, take Crawford, who hasn’t played in some time and has been worse than lousy for the time he played before that. That misspent money will be hard to beat even by the Schmidt and Jones standard. Let’s remember that Ned is still doing the dealing, so what are you going to get for anyone that he gives up?

    • Right now with the money in good supply I really can’t see fans making such a big thing about it.
      I’d say if they have the money use it. Of course they should spend it wisely as always but I wouldn’t complain if they are spending more.

      • crash24now says:

        I’d say it’s premature to be talking about trading Andre. Right now, we have two solid outfielders – that’s Andre and Kemp. We also have two potentially good outfielders in Crawford and Puig. But we won’t really know that much about Crawford’s true ability until he gets on the field and plays, let’s say 100 games. As for Puig, he may or may not play at the major league level next year.

        • NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp says:

          Just when I was beginning to see daylight (and wilfully blinding myself to Frank’s continued interests), they kick me in the teeth again.
          .
          I can’t take it any more. I will not support a team that employs a known cheater.
          .
          Is this really my last straw? Maybe. God knows that MLB and the Dodgers have been doing everything in their power to push me away since 1994.

  7. trublu4ever says:

    Our new hitting coach…..Mark McGwire.

  8. messagebear says:

    The new motto for the Dodgers’ new owners is obviously
    “Whatever money can buy; whatever cheating can produce.”

  9. messagebear says:

    Oh, and how long before Clemens is our pitching coach?

  10. crash24now says:

    This is all starting to make sense. The new trainer will be Victor Conte, founder of BALCO. (And brother of Stan Conte????)

  11. messagebear says:

    Enrique Manzanitos, reputed drug cartel leader, will lead the new Carne Asada promotions at the Stadium.

  12. messagebear says:

    It’s also being reported that Bernie Maddof will get a front office advisory position even while serving time in a federal facility because of his special knowledge of phantom financial structuring.

  13. crash24now says:

    Thank god we don’t need to change parking lot attendants – we’ve still got Frank.

  14. grizzy says:

    That’s going to look funny.

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Juan Uribe is upset that the signing Big Mac did not mean a sponsorship with McDonalds 🙂

  16. nedisajerk says:

    I would rather have Mike Piazza.

  17. Well let’s hope Mark can solve the Dodger offense which has been the archile’s heel for a number of years. I hope he doesn’t do it the way they said he did. (haha)

  18. NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp says:

    Just when I was beginning to see daylight (and wilfully blinding myself to Frank’s continued interests), they kick me in the teeth again.
    .
    I can’t take it any more. I will not support a team that employs a known cheater.
    .
    Is this really my last straw? Maybe. God knows that MLB and the Dodgers have been doing everything in their power to push me away since 1994.

    • Hey NMNLJK, how have you been? Good to see you on here no matter the circumstances that brung ya. Don’t be a stranger – its always fun kicking it around with you and hearing your opinions. Lord knows I slam this organization enough, and a lot of what they do pisses me off (like retaining Ned year after year), yet I always find my way back.

    • nellyjune says:

      I agree with enchanted 100%!! …about always enjoying reading what you have to say. For the time being I am on the fence on this. I am really not sure what to think. I hope all is well with you, and I hope your brother is doing well too.

      • NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp says:

        Hi Nelly,

        I’m doing fine. My brother has been working for the Obama campaign in Iowa for the last six months, so that is exciting for him.
        .
        For my part, I hope Iowa goes for Obama and the rest of the swing states for Romney.
        .
        Still sick about McGwire.
        .
        How are your students this year?

        • nellyjune says:

          Glad to read all is well with you and your brother. My class is pretty awesome this year. I have a few thorns in my side, but what classroom doesn’t these days. Way too many Giants fans in the class though. So, I have a great deal of work to do to influence the rest of the class – lol!!

  19. They’ve hired Ned yet another “special assistant” today – Pat Corrales. Ned has more special assistants than a politician. If Stan thinks Ned needs all of this help, wouldn’t it just be easier to fire him? Or are the Dodgers single handedly trying to lower unemployment?

  20. crash24now says:

    Well, well. It’s time to ask the Andre question again: Who would you rather have in right field? Andre or Josh Hamilton?

    • lbirken says:

      I would prefer Andre because at least we know what to expect. As good as Hamilton has been, his body has been through a lot and might be more prone to breakdown.

    • nellyjune says:

      Do I really have to answer that question?…………. I didn’t think so 🙂

    • JhallWally says:

      I wouldn’t touch Hamilton with a ten foot pole. Too many variables. Although overated and overpaid, I would stick with Ethier. He is consistant. You will probably get 80-90 rbl. Hamilton can flame out at any time. And is just as injury prone, or more.

      • nellyjune says:

        At $175 mil, I agree!! ….but Crawford is a gamble as well because he hasn’t really been healthy an entire season since his big signing with the Red Sox, and he is the one that really set the bar high (in terms of money) for the outfielders with his monster contract. That said, if he comes back healthy, having Crawford, Kemp and Ethier in the outfield won’t be too shabby at all. It will downright awesome!!

  21. lbirken says:

    I was also surprised to see Mark McGwire’s name as the potential Dodger hitting coach but let’s look beyond the obvious stuff and consider what he could offer. If he is good enough for the Cardinals to take a chance hiring him, why not the Dodgers? I recall reading something about McGwire privately tutoring hitters long before the Cardinals made him hitting coach. Maybe he actually can do the job although it would be interesting to know why the Cardinals did not retain him. He certainly cannot do any worse than the littany of hitting coaches the Dodgers have had the past few years. Was he a cheater? Wasn’t just about every player?

    • NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp says:

      McGwire may very well be a great hitting coach. I don’t care. And he was absolutely a huger ‘roider.

      • JhallWally says:

        I’m OK with it….. Gotta try something to get our offense going. My god, we have been pathetic hitting with runners in scoring position.

  22. NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp says:

    If Hanley is going to play short, will Dee play second? Third? In any case, it seems to me we need another starting infielder. Mark Ellis is not good enough for a championship caliber team and neither is any of our assortment of utility infielders — with the possible but doubtful exception of Luis Cruz who probably just had his career year. What about free agent Eric Chavez?

    • Glad I’m not the only one who thinks Cruz may have just had the zenith of his career. I’d still try Gordon back at short – having him and Crawford at the top of the line-up could disrupt the pitcher and defense to the point of the heart of our line-up getting some fatter pitches to hit. I do think they should give Cruz the opportunity to win 2B from Ellis, at least until something better comes along.

    • JhallWally says:

      Don’t kid yourselves Dodger faithful, Ramirez will play SS next year. Big ego, and a weak manager………..

  23. kahliforni says:

    McGwire column, seeing as how he is a topic here:
    http://sports.yahoo.com/news/heat-on-mark-mcgwire-now-on-getting-dodgers-to-hit-instead-of-his-ped-past.html

    NoMartinNoLoneyJustKemp…love the updated name. Funny how the “kids” have matured, and many, long gone. In hindsight, it’s amazing what beasts Kemp and Kershaw have become. As far as Ned’s harem of assistants, I doubt Ned is all that thrilled. Be like stocking Donnie’s bench with Terry Francona, Ozzie Guillen, and Tony La Russa.

  24. kahliforni says:

    This just in…Dodgers have not hired a new assistant to the GM today…?!!?!? Trust in Ned must be at an all-time high.

Leave a Reply

