The Fall Classic

The World Series is finally here but without the Dodgers taking part in it, I have a hard time staying interested.  As a baseball fan, I will occasionally watch part of it, but it is not like it was in 1963 when I had to fake being sick so I could stay home and be glued to a black and white TV.  Back then, it was about the only way to catch a glimpse of Dodger Stadium.  The only regular games on TV were against the Giants at Candlestick Park.

Tigers vs Giants: Lineups, Pitching Rotation and Full World Series 2012 Schedule

This post marks the 200th post on Outside the Dodgers.  Thanks to everyone for your participation.

53 Responses to The Fall Classic

  1. 32and53fan says:

    Let the games begin…

  2. trublu4ever says:

    Go Tigers!

  3. crzblue says:

    Brian, I did not know that the Gints were the only regular. Games on TV.
    Yeah go Tigers. Still excited to watch some baseball.
    I put a new post too. Dodgers are doing away with my row in the Tip Deck
    http://crzblue.mlblogs.com
    Emma

    • 32and53fan says:

      Yep, they were on KTTV, channel 11. Walter O’Malley thought it would hurt the gate if lots of games were televised. He was also trying to get some kind of pay TV deal going. The World Series was the only time we could see what the magical Dodger Stadium looked like.

  4. GO TIGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    and I’m 100% behind it.

  5. I never expected this against Verlander. CHEECE.

  6. nellyjune says:

    Watching this game is like watching a nightmare while wide awake.

  7. grizzy says:

    SUCKS!!!!!!

  8. messagebear says:

    Looking good so far. Let’s sweep those American Leaguers!

    • nellyjune says:

      The one good thing about a sweep is that it would make the end of the 2012 season come much faster. That I can handle.

  9. 32and53fan says:

    I’m sitting at McDonald’s and decided to watch Game day. I was shocked at the score and then I looked at the plays. Wow! – Sandoval has three home runs by the top of the 6th. Watch out Reggie Jackson, one more dinger and the Panda goes down in history. I still hope Detroit wins, but I would like to see a fourth home run from Pablo.

  10. vl4eccjr says:

    Valverde has been NO BUENO this post season!
    There goes that fat man again!

  11. The only good thing we can take from tonight is it’s only game 1.

  12. I can’t help but wonder if the gnats are really this good or are the other teams (Reds, Cards, and Tigers) that inferior.

  13. grizzy says:

    I found myself hoping Zito would do well again? What’s up with that?
    *
    Are these sportscasters for real? They make Verlander out to be some kind of super human and it takes the giants,again, to show them he’s not.

    • nellyjune says:

      It was pretty bad last night when I was more willing to listen to Jon Miller or even the other two over them. They were horrible!! I know, it’s nothing we don’t already know, right?
      .
      As for Barry Zito, somebody on my FB account (a Reds fan) made a very interesting point about him. In 2010, he had the same ERA (and other stats) as he did this year. The difference was no run support. I really thought he was more of the mvp of that game than Panda was because he had Detroit totally fooled by his pitching, and it had nothing to do with speed obviously. On the other end, Verlander was visibly upset with how things were going, and it eventually showed in his pitching. Implosion at it’s finest.

  14. trublu4ever says:

    The ratings for last nights game were the lowest in a very long time….makes me happy that I’m not the only one who doesn’t give a damn about these two teams!

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Fister is doing a great job…..to bad the Tigers’ bats are ice cold!

  16. Just got in, I see the Jints are up by a run, last I saw the score was tied after 5 and I thought that was a good sign, now I see I was wrong.

  17. Maybe the Tigers will regroup in Detroit.

  18. grizzy says:

    I MEAN IT SUCKS!!!!!

  19. I think the best thing for the Tigers is getting back to Detroit, not only to a better enviroment with mostly their own fans but getting away from that loud hostile orange monster of Giant fans, in the stands at AT&T Park.

  20. koufax1963 says:

    I’am blasting some Motown out the speakers, all the way to Detroit.
    A night without baseball, ahhh, relief from the gnats doing it well. How many times have you seen that bunt stay fair? the baseball gods held it, they laughed, then smiled at the giants, yuck!

  21. Hi Folks,
    Well the good news is this game is NOT being played in SF. I know the Tigers are glad about that no matter how cold it is.
    Let’s see if they can take advantage of that.
    GO TIGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  22. trublu4ever says:

    The Tigers suck! What an utter disappointment. Now, I’m hoping for a gnats sweep so I won’t have to listen to McCarver anymore! He makes Krud & Krap desirable!!!!

  23. messagebear says:

    SWEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEP

  24. The Tigers were swinging at too many pitchers off the plate. They could’ve had a walk with the bases loaded but Berry just swung at two balls that were out of the strikezone. Cabrera swung right away and popped up.
    They reminded me a lot of the Dodgers tonight, lacking discipline at the plate, which was needed when trailing by 2 runs.
    .
    Barring a miracle, I guess this series is just about over.

  25. nellyjune says:

    Just put me out of my misery now! Good Lord, so tired of watching the highlights night after night of the Giants winning. I actually hope they win to just get this season over with and move on to the hopes of 2013.

  26. Very happy we don’t have to listen to Buck and McCarver any more this year. That’s the only thing that makes my day.

  27. nellyjune says:

    Thank Goodness that is over!! When do pitchers and catchers report? 🙂

  28. nellyjune says:

    It’s just been an overall crappy day (yesterday now) to be a Dodgers fan, and being a Denny Hamlin and a Redskins fan wasn’t much better for me. I love them all though, win or lose. So Happy for Kershaw BTW!!! Also, those of you on the east coast, be safe! As Dodgereric always used to remind us, this sports stuff is just a toy box, and it’s family and friends that really matter. Take care Dodger fans! Soon, it will be our day to celebrate as well!

  29. grizzy says:

    Grin and bear it. To tell the truth, I did not see much of it. I watched football and the undead.
    *
    Time for the hot stove. I’d keep League.

  30. I’m lucky that I live here in on the east coast as far as the Giant fans are concerned because there are very few of them around here. Except lately I noticed several people sporting SF Giant caps and even one waring a sweat shirt, this weekend. I have to say that usually annoys me, but nothing like the old days when both teams were still here. So I know what you are going through, especially those of you in the Bay Area.
    Well the storm is kicking up around here, so I’m preparing for it.
    Here’s hoping that the Dodgers can put a stop to this Giant uprising starting next year.

  31. messagebear says:

    I’m glad it’s over, and YES I was glad of the way the Giants handled Detroit. Mostly I’m glad because it should really get under the skin of the new owners and hopefully the very inept management of the Dodgers. I think that we had every bit as much talent, and maybe more, than did the Giants, but where did that leave us even after spending the atrocious amount of money the last couple of months. It just shows that money isn’t enough if you have a total fool as GM and a totally uninspirational manager like Donnie. Both should have been fired the day our season ended. As long as they run the show, there is no reason to expect any better results in 2013.

  32. kahliforni says:

    The final four managers this year were 1) former catcher 2) former catcher 3) former catcher 4) former catcher. The Dodgers have a former 1st baseman………..a position not exactly known for its cerebral qualities.

  33. And from the files of “Not sorry to see them go, wish we never had them in the first place”, options were not picked up on Treanor, Rivera and Coffey.

  34. And from the files of “once a dumbass, always a dumbass”, Ned said he wants to resign Choke. I’m sorry, that’s Choate. Guess he wants to carve another notch in his pathetic lefties belt to go with Ohman and Sherrill.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Welcome back, Sir….we missed you.

    • kahliforni says:

      And from the files of “where there’s smoke, there’s sure as hell fire,” according to Dylan Hernandez, “Chad Billingsley pitched to hitters for two pain-free innings Monday, a sign that he may be able to avoid reconstructive elbow surgery this off-season. ‘It looks like he’s going to be ready for the 2013 season,’ said Dave Stewart, Billingsley’s agent.”

      Ummmmmmmmmmmmm, memo to Ned: consider Billingsley a gift if he pitches 50 innings next season.

  35. koufax1963 says:

    Oh the stinging has subsided, hard to see all the media and “fans”, you wouldn’t believe how classless the giants fans are, they burned, broke, vandalized both persons and property in the their hoods, while in the name of “celebrate”. As Dodgers fans lets do better than that next year!

  36. lbirken says:

    I am already tired of the Giants.

  37. nellyjune says:

    On this day back in 1945, Jackie Robinson signed his first major league contract with the Brooklyn
    .
    After tomorrow when the Giants parade is over, SF may not have a city left. You would think by watching what is happening on the east coast due to Mother Nature, they would stop, but nevermind, that would require them to actually think. Idiots!

  38. Well the the storm has passed us leaving more damage than any storm has ever left in the metropolitan area.
    But I’m sure we’ll battle back.
    I’m glad it didn’t interfere with the World Series.
    Oh, I forgot that was already damaged, with the gnats winning it.

    • lbirken says:

      If any city can bounce back, it is New York! So is it safe to say the next big sucking sound to come out of the city won’t be the Yankees or Mets but from attempts to clear the flooded subway system?

  39. OBF!! I have been praying for you to be safe and that your daughter is okay, too. Happy to see you back here with your sense of humor still in tact as well.

  40. ZonaDodger says:

    3 yr deal…Overpay i’m guessing lol

Leave a Reply

