Cruuuuuuzzzz! Keep Those Hits A’Comin’!!!

Luis Cruz has been elevated in the lineup where he can do more damage.  Looking forward to lots of runs for the Dodgers and none for the Rockies!

M Ellis 2B

Cruz 3B

Kemp CF

Gonzalez 1B

Ramirez SS

Ethier RF

Victorino LF

AJ Ellis C

Kershaw P.

129 Responses to Cruuuuuuzzzz! Keep Those Hits A’Comin’!!!

  1. crash24now says:

    I’m guessing that Punto will be the first bat off the bench.

  2. trublu4ever says:

    I like this lineup!

    • These games seem to feel bigger and bigger. I’m happy to know the Dodgers hit the .500 mark for the season and on the road. One more win at home will clench that. At least if we don’t make the postseason we can look back to a winning season. That is winning more games than we lost. I think that’s good after all this team has been through this year.

  3. trublu4ever says:

    I’m in Las Vegas and my hotel, Planet Hollywood, has Prime Ticket….so glad I can watch my Dodgers and cheer them on…..GO DODGERS….GO KERSH…GET ‘EM!

  4. With the Cruds creaming the Nats tonight, it’s good to have Kersh on the mound tonight.

  5. trublu4ever says:

    Good job, Kersh…now, bring the lumber guys!

  6. vl4eccjr says:

    I’m watching the DisAstro’s-Brewers game. Brew crew is down at the moment 5-3 top of the 7th. I hope Houston holds on!

  7. vl4eccjr says:

    Congrats to the Reds Pitcher Homer Bailey on his no hitter.

  8. trublu4ever says:

    You show them, Dre! A lefty & an rbi!!!!!

  9. A little nudge still plates a run – thanks, Andre!

  10. The Hawaiian doesn’t have to fly on that one!! He can just cruise around the bases.

  11. vl4eccjr says:

    The DisAstros have hit four HR’s against the Brew crew so far tonight in Milwaukee. They’re up 7-4 top of the 9th. 🙂

  12. crash24now says:

    More good hitting by Dre and Shane.

  13. I don’t think so . . . . .

  14. vl4eccjr says:

    Does any one have a clue on how many pieces of Bubblegum there are in one of those big buckets in the dugout? I don’t know if Double Bubble is the league brand , or is it just the Dodger brand?

  15. vl4eccjr says:

    Whew! The Brewers almost pulled it off! They lose 7-6, so that put’s them back a little further. . . 🙂

  16. Brewers just lost again.

  17. crash24now says:

    Kershaw’s still got it. I’d love to see him pitch with the playoffs on the line on Wednesday.

  18. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…great glove work, Kersh!

  19. Nice fielding gem by Kershaw for the DP.

  20. trublu4ever says:

    Yay…..I love scoring!

  21. vl4eccjr says:

    Bobby lowers the BOOM!

  22. trublu4ever says:

    Awesome!

  23. 82 WINS MATCHES LAST YEAR’S TOTAL WINS.

  24. vl4eccjr says:

    Nice win! Hope they keep on rolling!

  25. crash24now says:

    Where the heck was this team eight days ago? This is not the same team.

    • I don’t think there is a really good answer to that. I think some of it was because of the opponents pitching and some of it was just not being able to get the hits mostly at the right time. Probably pressing and trying to hard. All we can hope for is that it’s not to late.

  26. crash24now says:

    Somehow the Cards need to lose three of the next five.

  27. Nice way to celebrate Tommy’s birthday. Let’s keep it up, guys!

  28. messagebear says:

    Frankly it’s time to trade Andre. It should have been done before the trade deadline instead of giving him a long term contract. He’s a good player (not a great one) and seems very personable; will probably do very well in his career somewhere else. It would be ridiculous to have him as a platoon player. We need a good front line pitcher instead – one who’s up and coming, not necessarily an established vet. I really think that Andre’s time as a Dodger is up – he’ll be happier somewhere else and probably more productive.

    • koufax1963 says:

      Bear You are never shy about delivering the message, even if it may be an unpopular opinion, I respect that. I can see between broken pinkies and blisters where you are coming from, and especially the southpaw pitching; but I just think Dre in a Bosox cap or pinstripes would become a monster hitter, and he could do that, and has, in dodger blue.

    • I have to disagree Bear, I see no reason to trade a player that gives us 90+ RBI and 20+ HRs or there abouts, year after year. Although he has a weakness against Lefties, I believe you don’t just trade players away because you think they’ve been around long enough.

    • nedisajerk says:

      I hope Puig is the real deal.

  29. grizzy says:

    So they are showing what they are capable of. Too bad the entire month has not gone this way, but that’s baseball,no guarantees.
    I kind of look at it as serving notice to the rest of the league: this what your in for next year.

  30. grizzy says:

    Had to go to breakfast. I hope it’s not too blasphemous to be talking about next year when there is still a chance for this one. Like I said a couple of months ago, if they make a liar out of me I’ll be more than happy to eat some crow, but this production is just a little late.

  31. grizzy says:

    I’d keep Ethier. I enjoy the comments and opinions on here, especially by those who fish for trout in the mountains, but I’d keep him.

  32. lbirken says:

    I was at the game last night and Kershaw looked like he was on a mission. Yes, I know the lineup he faced was not the most intimidating but it certainly did not look as if anything was bothering him physically and his breaking ball was awesome. I heard on the radio that he is planning on pitching the final game no matter what.

    I never like it when a manager talks about platooning. I understand the concept, I just don’t like it. It does not seem like Donnie’s style to use this sort of talk as motivation but I am sure he is as frustrated as we all are at Ethier’s struggles. Even Andre would have to admit he has had some horrible at bats against lefties even if he is confident he can hit them. I don’t think Andre is the type of player who will adapt very well to platooning and I think he needs to play everyday. But if teams continually get him out with lefties, something has to be done.

    Should the Dodgers trade Ethier? Depends on who would fill his role and depends on what they can get. It might be hard to pass up a deal if the Dodgers could land a decent starting pitcher.

  33. enchantedbeaver says:

    That $85M contract makes Ethier untradeable now, and my guess also makes him unplatoonable. No one in their right mind would pay a guy $17M per year to play him part time.

    No secret I was for trading him at the deadline for 2-3 good prospects. What I think went on with Dre is they made the popular decision to sign him long term (a mistake) instead of the baseball decision which was to trade him while his stock was high. I think both the organization and most fans have overvalued him based on one season of clutch hits 3 years ago.

  34. trublu4ever says:

    I’d get rid of Ned, Donnie and Honeycutt …… you know Dre is my guy and, I don’t mind that you don’t like him….but, he is a Dodger and I support my team.

    • trublu4ever says:

      …..nobody says Andre is a super-star (hardly anybody is) but, a solid, reliable player he is!

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Not that I don’t like him Tru, but I think he’s way overvalued for what he brings to the table. He’s basically a doubles hitter that get’s paid and strikes out like he’s a 30-35HR a year guy. He can’t hit lefties adequately, which makes him a liability hitting 2 thru 5, and he does most of his big hitting numbers before June. Realistically, he should be hitting 6th ala Dusty Baker where he still can drive in some runs, but not be a rally killer against a southpaw, nor think he has to carry the team on his back which he’s proved he can’t.

  35. Here we go folks we’re set for another night of dreaming that impossible dream.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!!

  36. Aside from that double by Blackmon, Blanton looked good.

  37. 32and53fan says:

    Cards got back 3 runs. Wash 4 StL 3 bottom of 8th

  38. vl4eccjr says:

    WTG Matt!!!

  39. Those darned Cardinals just never give up – grrrrrrr

  40. 32and53fan says:

    Cards tie the Nats in the 9th…

  41. 32and53fan says:

    A reprieve… Washington 6 St. Louis 4 top of 10th two outs runners on 1st and 3rd…

  42. That feels good, I hope they can hold it.

  43. 32and53fan says:

    Final – Wash 6 – Cards 4
    Dodgers can pick up a game tonight.

  44. The Cruds lost….HOOOORAY.

  45. vl4eccjr says:

    Thanks Nats!

  46. Removing Blanton may be a good move, at least I hope so.

  47. Tacking on some more runs would be very helpful.

  48. I’d really like to see Dre come through here.

  49. According to gamesday Jansen is batting 9th, not 7th as Vin says.

  50. vl4eccjr says:

    WTG MATT!!!
    Extra insurance is always nice!

  51. Gameday just changed it.

  52. It’s hard to believe we’re still alive.
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  53. trublu4ever says:

    Nice win boys! I love L.A.!

  54. nedisajerk says:

    Happy 25th Bday Jansen!

  55. Hi Everybody,
    Kind of quiet around here.

  56. 32and53fan says:

    Hi OBF. Let’s put another win.

  57. This don’t look good.

  58. crash24now says:

    The Nationals aren’t making this any easier. Cards lead 9-4 in the bottom of the seventh.

  59. crash24now says:

    Beckett’s gotten himself into a heckuva jam.

  60. Very nice DP started by Ellis.

  61. vl4eccjr says:

    I believe the Brewers just got eliminated from the playoffs with a loss to the DisAstros. . 🙂

  62. That’s the first run to score against the Dodgers in 22 innings

  63. The Cards scored another run.

  64. The magic # is 2 boys and girls.

  65. vl4eccjr says:

    Thanks Matt!!

  66. vl4eccjr says:

    Oh well. It looks like I’m a Reds fan for 3 days starting tomorrow.

  67. CRUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUZ

  68. vl4eccjr says:

    Oh yeah!
    Gracias Cruz!!!

  69. crash24now says:

    Cruuuuuuuzzzzzzzzz!!!

  70. Glad to get out of that inning.

  71. grizzy says:

    Pretty good day, so far. The daughter and I went up to one of our mountain lakes and caught a bunch of trouts. Got home just in time to see Kemp and Cruz put us up by three. Becket just pitched his way out of a small jam,
    *
    Saw “Trouble With the Curve” yesterday and agree it’s pretty good.

  72. W#ell that another run.

  73. 32and53fan says:

    It looked the bat prevented Kemp from sliding. Since the throw was high, I thought Matt could have scored if he slid on the right edge of home plate. I am wondering if the bat boy or on deck hitter could have moved the bat while Matt was running towards home.

  74. vl4eccjr says:

    A.J. delivers!

  75. It’s Gone….WTG ..A.J..

  76. It’s early yet but 7-1 is a nice lead.

  77. nedisajerk says:

    I’m glad to see AJ getting his chance this season to play full time.

  78. This “PACO” is really an unusual story.

  79. vl4eccjr says:

    Chalk up another one! Go Reds!

    • 32and53fan says:

      The Cardinals need at least two losses; Dodgers need three wins to win playoff spot, two to tie and force one game playoff with Cards. It will be a challenge to sweep against the Giants pitchers. Difficult but not impossible.

  80. Let’s go Reds make this thing interesting.
    Bring on the Gnats.

  81. I look at it this way, if the Dodgers lose tomorrow it could be all over if the Cruds win. If they win they will survive at least another day. That’s as far as I’ll allow myself to think.

  82. trublu4ever says:

    Happy Birthday 32and53fan….have a great day!

  83. lbirken says:

    Well, boys and girls, here we are; the last three games of the regular season and the Dodgers two games out for a spot in the wild card play-in game. Not sure how the players are taking all this but I have to admit as a fan it has been agonizing and painful following the Dodgers down this path towards the end when it should be more exciting. Part of me just wants to see the season finally end and that is not normally how I feel no matter where the Dodgers are in the standings. Does anyone else feel this way?

    • crash24now says:

      Not me, at least not right now. Maybe it’s a self preservation thing. Maybe I’ve been listening to Oldbrooklynfan.

      Based on what the team has done over the past five days, I am looking to the next three games with optimism. We can sweep the Gnats.

      Will the Cards comply and drop two of three to the Reds? I don’t know, only time will tell. But for now, I’m still pushing for three more wins.

      If our season is over late Wednesday night, then that other part of me will take over and bemoan the fact that the team played so poorly for five weeks after the big trade.

Leave a Reply

