Let’s Win Two

With two wins today and a Cardinal loss to the Astros tonight, we could pull even in the Wild Card race.  The lineup for Game One:

 

Ellis 2b

Ethier rf

Kemp lf

Gonzalez 1b

Ramirez ss

Victorino lf

Cruz 3b

Ellis c

Harang p

 

160 Responses to Let’s Win Two

  1. crash24now says:

    Let’s get this doubleheader started with a bang in the top of the first!

  2. Hi Everybody
    Not too many people have much faith in the Dodgers from what I read, hear and see.
    I hope the Dodgers know they’re underdogs.
    Maybe that’s what they need to get the offense to come alive.
    Today’s a damned good day to prove to the world they’re wrong
    G O D O D G E R S!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. crash24now says:

    Get us started, Cruz!

  4. crash24now says:

    What a pathetic waste of an opportunity! Shane, Luis, and AJ all failed to bring in the run.

  5. crash24now says:

    So Washington knows what a sacrifice fly is? And the Dodgers? “Uh – somebody’s on third base, there’s one out. What do I do now?”

  6. crash24now says:

    Hanley! That’s the way we do it!

  7. koufax1963 says:

    Now if harang can settle in a groove for the next 3 innings, and donnie remember he is good for about 5- 6 innings, keep the pitch count up on Zimmerman by not smacking the first pitch, Dodgers could be on the good.

  8. koufax1963 says:

    Ok lead -off runner on 2nd, way to go cruz, lets see if AJ and Harang can do something

  9. That’s what they call hitting out of sync.

  10. crash24now says:

    AJ’s bat has gone to a very, very cold state. 0 for his last 18 (although he did finally get on earlier today with a HBP).

  11. crash24now says:

    Harang is getting the job done (keeping us in the game) – let’s get him some more runs!

  12. koufax1963 says:

    hanley leaves much to be desired as a SS, the suzuki hit was to be a DP, but hanram was covering the attempted steal with rght handed hitter up, and poof instead of out of the inning, its 1st and 2nd, but that inning was sort of like our previous with the pitcher coming up. always hate former dodgers coming up to bat with RISP> bye werth!

  13. Matt seems to be hitting the ball better in his last two ABs.

  14. koufax1963 says:

    Donnie its bullpen time.

  15. crash24now says:

    Good time for a pitching change; Harang was worn out.

    Now the challenge is on for Tolleson and the Dodgers offense.

  16. trublu4ever says:

    Rally time……Cruuuuzzz starts us off!

  17. koufax1963 says:

    Here is our team mentality, Nats score to take the lead, so the dodgers next at bat 3 hitter are out on 3 pitches each, Pathetic, especially when Zimmermann is up on the pitch count. Couldn’t turn the pitchers spot over, and now Mr T throws a FB down the middle starts it off with a double, just crap from the strategy point of view.

  18. koufax1963 says:

    not out of the 6th, and two pitches from the BP used, and today is a double header donnie, glad we the expanded roster, but we don’t have loney to pitch!

  19. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…let’s take advantage of the Werth boo-boo!!

  20. trublu4ever says:

    UGH!

  21. koufax1963 says:

    another pathetic and offesive inning by our dodgers. good effort by punto

  22. trublu4ever says:

    Steve Lyons is a pain in the ass!

  23. koufax1963 says:

    dont know why victorino isn’t bunting Han ram over. JUst ask donnie?

  24. crash24now says:

    Meanwhile, AJ Ellis continues his torrid hitting – oh, that’s terrible hitting. Anyone for FedEx in game two?

  25. koufax1963 says:

    the danger of a DP, was foremost in my thought.
    I don’t know, kemp keeps swinging at the low out of the strike zone pitches, Dre has trouble with lefties, and A-gon is missing stuff that isn’t that nasty, this line up is capable of putting alot of runs up, but …. just baffeling

  26. trublu4ever says:

    Yay…Abreu….0 since his call up!

  27. crash24now says:

    Bobby “ohfer September” Abreu.

  28. vl4eccjr says:

    * “Time to tell it like it is folks! I don’t know what this team’s thinkin bout, but it sho ain’t Baseball!!”
    .
    I just couldn’t resist. It was on the tube earlier today.

  29. trublu4ever says:

    Not a good start…let’s see what happens in game two.

  30. kahliforni says:

    4 games over .500 in late September. By all means, bring back Colletti and Mattingly. The team has really responded to their leadership.

  31. I’m starting to hope they can end up over the .500 mark.

  32. grizzy says:

    I’d like to suggest a new stat for the Dodgers box score: FTE, or failure to execute.
    *
    As I said a couple of weeks ago, I’m past being PO’d, just disgusted. I’d like to be upbeat, like old brookyn, but game after game a team of this caliber can’t advance a runner? My aching ass!
    *
    I’d shut Kershaw down for the season. Yeah,that’s throwing in the towel, but he means to much to the franchise to take a chance. I’m not sure he’d be completely honest about any pain. I always start thinking of pitchers that have tried to pitch through injuries and get goofed up.

  33. I’m also getting tired of waiting for the offense to gel.

  34. Well, my friends, being that we haven’t had any songs presented in a while I had to fix that. Apologies to whoever wrote it . . .

    The best things in life are free
    But you can keep them for the birds and bees
    Now give us runs
    That’s what we want
    That’s what we want, yeah
    That’s what we want

    Your stats give us such a thrill
    But your stats don’t plate those runs
    Now give us runs
    That’s what we want
    That’s what we want, yeah
    That’s what we want

    Base hits don’t get everything it’s true
    What they don’t get, we can’t use
    Now give us runs
    That’s what we want
    That’s what we want, yeah
    That’s what we want, wah

    Base hits don’t get everything it’s true
    What they don’t get, we can’t use
    Now give us runs
    That’s what we want
    That’s what we want, yeah
    That’s what we want

    Well now give us runs
    A lot of runs
    Wow, yeah, we wanna win
    Oh we want runs
    That’s what we want
    That’s what we want, well
    Now give us runs
    A lot of runs
    Wow, yeah, you need runs
    now, give us runs
    That’s what we want, yeah
    that’s what we want

    Maybe that’ll give the guys some oomph! (It made me fell a little better, LOL)

  35. crash24now says:

    Dodgers offense starts game two where it left off in game one – “no can do”.

  36. The only change in the lineup is that Treanor is catching. Is Donnie hitting his head against a stone wall or something? You can’t expect different results if you keep putting in the same ingredients in the same order . . . .

  37. trublu4ever says:

    if he doesn’t want to bat Dre 2nd against a lefty, then, why the hell not Cruuuzzzz?!

  38. Seems like everytime I look up the Dodgers have RISP.

  39. trublu4ever says:

    I See You…finally!

  40. crash24now says:

    HanRam! Now let’s keep it going!

  41. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Dre! A lefty too 😉

  42. So Hanly & Dre must’ve forgot there were RISP.

  43. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Matty!

  44. Good to see things go our way 6-0.

  45. nedisajerk says:

    We’re take it but shouldn’t had counted. That make up for that blow count at 1st.

  46. nedisajerk says:

    Beckett good hitting pitcher with 3 career HR’s 2nd and 3rd with 1 out and I hate we didn’t get that run in despite the 6-0

  47. trublu4ever says:

    WTF!

  48. Mattingly better get somebody up in the bullpen.

  49. I knew things were too good to be true.

  50. vl4eccjr says:

    Ruh Roh!!!

  51. Even with a six-run lead, these guys make life quite “interesting”. Wouldn’t it be hilarious if that “phantom run” is the difference in the score?

  52. vl4eccjr says:

    Oh the humanity!!!

  53. Beli’s coming apart . . . . .

  54. trublu4ever says:

    I’m glad Beav isn’t around!

  55. vl4eccjr says:

    Some times there’s just not enough expletives to relieve the frustrations. . . .

  56. nedisajerk says:

    About time Kemp.

  57. trublu4ever says:

    OMG….Matty…homer!

  58. vl4eccjr says:

    THANKS MATT!!!

  59. NICE GOING MATT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  60. Well, here we are with a one-run lead. Let’s go Dodgers!!!

  61. vl4eccjr says:

    WHEW!!!

  62. We win by a phantom run!!! I love it!!

  63. trublu4ever says:

    Whew!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  64. Truthfully, I am more than happy with the split. After the first game, I was really concerned that we’d be swept.

  65. kahliforni says:

    As a Dodger fanatic, the thing that upsets me the most is that I’m not as fanatical as I used to be. I don’t expect them to win…and that’s the real bummer of this whole summer slide. I don’t lose sleep…I don’t fret…I don’t even care if I miss a game or two on TV. That’s unheard of for me. Just ask my wife. So again, that management would already guarantee another year of this most uninspiring manager is just a mystery to me. “Players’ managers” never amount to much. Give me someone who will risk a few players being pissed off. I sometimes get the feeling Donnie wants only to be liked. Why else is Hanley Ramirez still playing shortstop and not third? Who’s in charge, here? No wonder this bunch appears rudderless.

    • You make a very good point with Mattingly. I’ve also been thinking the same thing. He has to get mad at the players sometimes, he better before it’s too late.
      At the moment it doesn’t look good, I also don’t expect them to win, but it’s a strange game and things do turn around when you least expect them to. Sometimes.
      It’s good to be in a race no matter how bad it looks and my experience tells me to stick around until we’re actually out of it.

      • crash24now says:

        I thought Donnie was very slow in taking out Beckett. After the first home run, then a single, it should have been clear that Beckett was done.

        If we had blown game two after leading by 6-0 through 7 1/2 innings, I would have called it quits. Right now, we’re still in the race. Need to win one game at a time.

      • You know, I probably would be just like Mattingly.
        I played the game and mostly I was unsuccessful and I have too much sympathy for those who fail. It’s tough, I know what it feels like.
        But I’m thinking that it might take a pretty good actor but it may not hurt to say something like,” What’s wrong with you? Can’t you ever advance a runner or get a damn hit with RISP?” Even if he may not mean it, it may help the cause.
        It should be easier for Donnie, since he was a rather good hitter.
        (Haha) Just my 2 cents..

  66. grizzy says:

    Had to get those comments out of the way yesterday, but I’m in until the end. I’m resigned it will not happen this year,but I’ll be watching and keeping track. Miracles do happen.

  67. crash24now says:

    Astros leave multitudes on base in the last three innings and lose 5-4 to the Cardinals.

    Two 1/2 games back…..

  68. messagebear says:

    “As a Dodger fanatic, the thing that upsets me the most is that I’m not as fanatical as I used to be.” That’s a very apropos statement by Kahli a few posts above, and also very well describes how I feel about this season. It may be a result of all the frustrations of the McCourt years, the expectation that new ownership would at least make wholesale changes in people like Ned that many of us have clammored for, or it just may be my own frustration over how this game (or really the business) of baseball has changed since I was really into it as a much younger man.

    I’m somewhat looking at this team and asking myself who all of these guys are wearing the Dodger uniform. How many of last year’s team started out this season with us? Early on in the season did I really care what Becket and Adrian were going to do?
    Who the hell was Punto? Victorino could drop dead for all I cared.
    I could understand the trade for Ramirez – an individual deal is bound to happen in any given season, and I could see the logic in that one. Buying a whole new slew of players just because you can – frankly that escapes me in a mindset that dates me back probably several decades. Just because they wear the uniform doesn’t make them Dodgers in my mind – at least not overnight, so I don’t have the same fanatical feeling about them. Maybe next year.

  69. trublu4ever says:

    To my boys in blue: Please do your job with the bats tonight….we really need this win and, I don’t want to have to switch to football! Thank-you.

  70. Hi Everybody
    I just switch to the post and off season baseball when it’s over.
    But it ain’t over yet.
    GO DODGERS!!!!

  71. trublu4ever says:

    Okay, Cappy…way to get out of trouble…..now…..LET’S SCORE!

  72. trublu4ever says:

    Cappy looking crappy!

  73. crash24now says:

    Dodgers offense running like clockwork – three up, three down, three up, three down, three up, three down. Cuckoo, cuckoo, cuckoo – the sound of the Idiot (I will stop referring to him by name).

  74. trublu4ever says:

    Holy Cow! Ugly!!!

  75. crash24now says:

    With our offense, two runs down is a big hole.

  76. trublu4ever says:

    Wow….Marky!

  77. There goes the perfect game. Nice going Mark.

  78. crash24now says:

    Way to go, Mark! No perfect game, no no-hitter, no shutout!

    Now let’s keep hitting!

  79. trublu4ever says:

    How much longer for Cappy?

  80. This game is getting away from us.

  81. vl4eccjr says:

    With no help from the DisAstro’s today, they may need divine intervention just to get a wild card. . .

  82. This game is going about the way we would expect but I was hoping it wouldn’t.

  83. trublu4ever says:

    I’m depressed!

  84. Ramirez, Dre & Cruuuuuuuuuuz

  85. I wish the Dodger could score some runs.

  86. messagebear says:

    Can anybody tell me just what Uribe is doing all this time? Is he just sitting on the bench (eating, no doubt), or did they send him home to get ready for next season, which he’ll probably spend sitting on the bench (eating, no doubt)?

  87. vl4eccjr says:

    DOOM!!!

  88. Congrats to the Nats – they’re going to the post season. Just sad they had to do it by beating us.

  89. Congratulations to Washington D.C.,

    • 32and53fan says:

      And congrats to Stan Kasten for building the framework that led to this winning team. I hope he can repeat his magic in L.A.

  90. kahliforni says:

    OK, ladies and germs, just to recap, the Dodgers, playing at a blistering 7-10 clip this September under Donnie, are now 10, yes 10, games behind the hated Gnats, and 3 back of St. Louis and .5 game back of the Brewers. That’s right, the Brewers have passed the Dodgers in the Wild Card race. So, my all means, not only bring Donnie back–hell, extend him a few years for his efforts. Or perhaps a better idea, for nostalgia’s sake: Fire Donnie, fire the guy who hired Donnie, fire the guy who hired the guy who hired Donnie.

  91. Well, I think I’ve got this conundrum figured out! The players are doing all they can to get hits/runs. But the bats are not healthy and should all be put on the disabled list. Seems logical to me . . . .

  92. kahliforni says:

    Yes, congrats to the Nationals. Well done.

  93. koufax1963 says:

    Yes congrats to the Nats, first team to finish this year, what a long way they have come, and some good news on that; Kasten contributed to the shaping of that team that just won there 91st game. I look forward to “next year” Does anybody find it “coincidental” that this is an election year and washington is on its way to the primaries?

  94. grizzy says:

    All in all, I’d say this is just about the best disappearing act I’ve ever heard of. I’d still shut down Kershaw for the year. What’s the point. He’d have to throw a shutout to win. And that would be doubtful.

  95. nellyjune says:

    So, did you all get the e-mail this morning saying that post-season tickets are now on sale? Last time I checked, April Fools day was April 1st – LOL!!
    Have a fabulous day!! 🙂

    • messagebear says:

      You could call them delusional – that is, until you remember that people like the current ownership operate on other people’s money. So, collecting millions of dollars from overly optimistic fans and using them for a couple of months at no interest before the money needs to be refunded makes perfectly good sense to those astute enough to pull it off. Ponzi, oh I mean Guggenheim, is the word.

  96. crash24now says:

    What a dismal showing by the post big trade Dodgers. It’s only 24 games ago since that trade with the Red Sox. Yet, 24 games ago, we were just three games behind the Giants. By winning only nine of those 24 games, we are now just another team trailing the Cardinals for the second Wild Card spot. Half a game behind the Brewers, one game ahead of the Phillies.

    Yet there’s still time for a miracle. We’ve got twelve games left and anything could happen. Too bad we’ve got the Idiot making the on-field decisions.

  97. nellyjune says:

    The Rockies have proven a few times how a winning streak can change things in a heart beat, and the Braves and Red Sox have proven a losing streak can do the same thing. I hope in all my Dodger Blueness the Dodgers can do this, but it is hard sitting watching the gnats night after night dominate the Rockies like they are taking nightly batting practice when we are struggling to put one run on the board.

Leave a Reply

