Happy Birthday OTD!

One year ago, on July 10, 2011, the Outside the Dodgers blog was born with a post titled “A Place to Call Our Own“.  Since then, there have been over 54,930 views, 168 posts and more than 16,660 comments.  I can’t count the number of smiles and laughs, along with a few “ah sh*t” exclamations that were caused by reading this blog.

Thank you to all the people who have made being a Dodger fan a little more fun through your conversations, comments and posts.

Now that the first half of the season is done, we are grateful to be in first place, but realize that the second half will see the Dodgers playing a much tougher schedule.  It will be a challenge to be sure.  The return of Kemp and Ethier will help, but the starting pitching has to step it up a notch or two if the team is to make it to and through the playoffs.  The next three weeks will see Colletti and company burning up their cell phone minutes to try to bring an impact bat, another starting pitcher, and perhaps another left handed reliever.  I just hope they don’t give up any major prospects for a two month rental player.

Thanks again for your participation on OTD and LETS GO DODGERS!

24 Responses to Happy Birthday OTD!

  1. trublu4ever says:

    Happy Birthday, OTD! Looking forward to another great year!!!

  2. Thank you for the great job in creating this forum 32!!

  3. We made it through the first year with flying colors. Thanks to everyone for making this a great place to celebrate our Dodger obsession 🙂

    • 32and53fan says:

      I still wonder what happened to my shoebox full of early to mid ’60s baseball cards. None of them would be worth more than $20 or so. I’d be lucky to get a dollar or two for most of them.

  4. More evidence that this organization is totally bereft of positional players in the minors:

    http://www.cbssports.com/mlb/blog/mlb-rumors/19553428/dodgers-acquire-ozzie-martinez-for-cash-from-white-sox

  5. vl4eccjr says:

    Happy Birthday OTD!!!
    Congrats to the NL on their 8-0 victory!

  6. koufax1963 says:

    Now that the AS game is over we can get back to dodger ball. The giants sure made a scene at the AS game. Um anybody concerned about kershaw’s performance at the AS game, I know that dropped ball didn’t help, but a walk and then a 3-2 count with the bases loaded, geez thats not kershaw’s style. Waiting for kemp and dre to get in the swing of things and perhaps put some ditance between the gnats and snakes. and lots of talk of trades, dempster or garza, but everyone wants the golden cole, and would philly really let him go. lots more questions, but it seems like out starting arms need a break and this was it, now how much longer can they last. Lets GO DODGERS!

    • 32and53fan says:

      Kershaw did not have a lot of command and control. I was a little worried by his performance. At least he was missing slightly outside rather than over the middle of the plate.

  7. lbirken says:

    Hello to everyone on what has to be the slowest and worst sports day of the year. I read Kasten’s letter and found nothing in it of substance. I attend 10-12 games a season at Dodger Stadium and cannot recall ever being surveyed by a stadium employee about my experience but that might be the luck of the draw. I cannot comment about the concession lines because I am never in one; we bring our own food and once the game begins, I don’t leave my seat. I do believe the Dodgers have attempted to make getting into and out of the stadium easier but that was accomplished under McCourt. I would prefer more music from Nancy Bea and less rock music but perhaps the younger fans think differently. I would prefer less advertising but I understand the need to drive revenue. Lowering parking prices was a nice, easy move but many season ticket holders pay extra for preferred parking so lowering general admission parking fees means nothing to those of us who already paid for parking. I am impressed the Dodgers will go after international talent but other than the high profile Cuban and/or Japanese players, we all know the main reason teams go after talent in Latin America is because traditionally that talent has come at a lower wage.

    I get asked all the time if I have seen any changes since new ownership took over and I have to say no, it is too early for any real change. I also get asked a lot about having Magic as owner and then my blood boils as I have to remind people that while I respect Magic and believe he could be great, he is as much the owner of the Dodgers as any small stockholder of any major public corporation. He owns a small piece and we have no idea what his involvement is on a day to day basis.

    I am hopeful Kasten has a plan to take this franchise back to the top. I know the pressure to win now is strong but hopefully he can strike a balance between the needs of today and tomorrow. That is the great thing about baseball; it is a game for optomists.

  8. messagebear says:

    All I have to say is
    FUCK YOU, STAN, and MAGIC, AND ALL THE GUGGENHEIMERS.
    I don’t believe a word you utter – any of you.
    That’s it – I believe in sweet and short.

  9. trublu4ever says:

    Matty & Dre oming back….who gets sent packing?

  10. messagebear says:

    I would imagine that Van Slyke will be gone, and no loss there.
    Uribe will probably be manipulated onto the DL, and I wish they could lose him permanently – along with Ned, of course.

  11. grizzy says:

    No word yet?

  12. “Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, as well as the content!. Thanks For Your article about Quen Somos ? | grupo de consumo responsable .”

Leave a Reply

