Dodger Bloggers Softball Tournament

There will be a softball tournament for teams consisting of Dodger bloggers this Saturday, Feb 11 at the West Covina Dream Fields.  The event will support the Los Angeles Food Bank and all participants are asked to bring a box or bag of food or personal products.  Details can be found at http://www.thelfp.com/blog/

I didn’t try to organize an Outside the Dodgers team due to the small amount of regular posters, the great distances that some of us would have to travel and our demographics.  It is now too late to join one of the teams, but not to come hang out and meet some of your fellow bloggers.  

Participating Blogs

The Left Field Pavilion
Vin Scully is my homeboy
Dodger Thoughts
True Blue LA
Sons of Steve Garvey
Fansmanship.com
Mike Scioscia’s tragic illness
Opinion of Kingmans performance
Save the Dodgers
Dodger Bobble
Dodger Diaries
 

28 Responses to Dodger Bloggers Softball Tournament

  1. Don’t know if any of you have read this, but its a nice interview with Logan White:

    http://www.fangraphs.com/blogs/index.php/qa-logan-white-drafting-dodger/

    Best quote: “…you don’t want to go out and buy something that needs a lot of work. You want to buy something of quality…”

    If only Logan were GM. This common sense logic escapes Ned.

  2. nedisajerk says:

    Just freaking terrible RIP Whitney Houston.

  3. That’s truly sad news.

  4. trublu4ever says:

    Just stopping by to say hello to my OTD family.

  5. nellyjune says:

    Good Evening to you too 🙂

  6. colliethec says:

    How ya doing there Nelly?! Hows The Voice????

    • nellyjune says:

      I am doing pretty good!! I am torn between Team Adam and Team Blake. Team Adam has a slight edge because of the whole Maroon 5 connection 🙂
      .
      Did you get to enjoy some of your time off?
      .
      Can’t wait for spring training to get underway! ….not to mention the changing of the guard as well.

      • colliethec says:

        LOVED my time off!! It was great! Back to the grind and a 10 hour day today. Now I’m a week behind in my work!!

        I don’t watch The Voice so I’m not sure which teams are the one I’d like. We might end up watching it down the road however.

        I see you have joined a self help group —– for Mom’s of pitchers!! Ha!!! That’s pretty cool that they have that. I think that’s why I don’t have kids — I’d be a serious stress case!!! You & Hubby have done a great job with your kids!

        Are you sore today?

        • nellyjune says:

          Glad you enjoyed your time off……..but sorry about the 10 hour days and the catch up time.
          .
          Thanks!!! I love that site, “My Son is a Pitcher”. It has a lot of good advice and questions to ponder. And I am a stress case, as you are well aware of now….LOL!!! Speaking of…….he pitched two scoreless innings in relief pitching on Sunday. Faced 7 batters, with 2 K’s, 1 hit and 0 walks (much better!). As Michael said, everything was working awesome! Hubby said there were a bunch of scouts there due to it being the only game in Nor Cal that day(Indians, Reds, Mariners, and some colleges), and so it was a good day to have a good pitching day.
          .
          And yes, I am extremely sore……..my legs mostly. I did great in fielding, but boy, I had a hard time timing those slow pitches. Now, I know why those poor boys can’t wait for those slower pitchers.

  7. In reading some of the articles and blogs about the softball tournament brought me back some 25 years ago playing softball with the MTA where I worked and on some bar teams. It doesn’t seem too long ago, though. Time really flies, doesn’t it? I’m truly sorry I gave up playing ball, I doubt if it’s not too late to get back into shape but my cardiologist would not recommend it.

  8. 32and53fan says:

    Superfan Emma Amaya, AKA Crzblue has some pictures from the softball tournament on her blog – http://crzblue.mlblogs.com/

  9. crzblue says:

    Thanks Brian. I had a grrrreat time at the Softball game. I paid for it the following day. heck the same night I was sore. I shared the catching duties with Evan’s wife, Esperanza. They live in the San Francisco area. Evan and I used to post in the Dodger forum a loooong time ago but we actually met in person in Vero Beach. Ran into Ron (Fansince53) at start of the first game we were playing and I convinced him to play with us. Jon SooHoo had invited me to a showing of his pictures Saturday night at Pizzadilly. If you get a chance go to Pizzadilly in Colton, CA. Anthony is a great Dodger fan and his place is fully decorated with Dodger memorabillia.

    Jon hit a three run homerun against us. I did not know that he is great softball player. He also plays basketball every week. It was funny that Jon and another friend playing against us for the LFP team 1, were rooting for me to get a hit. I did not but I had a great time and we collected lots of food.

    Oh if you did not read my post, Big Dreams League in West Covina has field replicas of Dodger Stadium, Wrigley Field, Yankee Stadium (new one), Tiger Field, Angel Stadium and Fenway Park.

    Josh Macciello was also playing. He was in full Dodger uniform. He said he is not giving up. He said he is willing to pay 2.2 Billion, all cash but for the franchise, the stadium and the land that surrounds it. Macciello made a $5,000 donation to the cause of the tournament, Los Angeles Regional Food Bank.
    Emma
    http://crzblue.mlblogs.com

  10. Macciello has the right idea asking for the parking lots and surrounding areas but my thinking tells me that McCourt will want a lot more. I like Macciello but I think his great personality, which I like, will work against, but I hope I’m wrong.

  11. Matthew Pouliot’s assessment of the 2012 Dodgers:

    “It’d be a shame if the best years of Kemp and Kershaw are essentially wasted thanks to Frank McCourt’s money woes and GM Ned Colletti’s bumbling. But that’s what we’re looking at right now. The Dodgers were an 82-79 team last year and don’t figure to improve from there this season.”
    .
    http://hardballtalk.nbcsports.com/2012/02/15/running-down-the-rosters-los-angeles-dodgers/

    Why is it that every sportswriter in America knows Ned’s a bumbling idiot except those in L.A.?

  12. selltheteam says:

    A sad day for Dodger fans and all baseball fans – RIP Gary Carter.

  13. My Condolences to the Gary Carter family, love ones and friends and may he rest in peace.

  14. trublu4ever says:

    RIP, Gary Carter. A wonderful guy’s life cut way too short.

  15. DodgerZona says:

    RIP, Gary Carter….Wonderful man and player

  16. DodgerZona says:

    I will always remember his smile

Leave a Reply

