I’m in a New York State of Mind

I had to go to my rental property again today.  This time it was to meet another insurance adjustor to have him evaluate damage due to a roof damaged by an overhanging tree that caused the ceiling in the master bedroom to leak in several places.  I am not sure I am covered for this type of damage but it doesn’t hurt to try.

After he left, I set to work putting the final touch on all that work I did on the bathroom tile floors.  I used a glycolic acid based haze remover to clean up any dried up grout remnants on the face of the tiles.  After that was finished and dry, I used a product called 551 Impregnator to seal both the grout and the ceramic tile.  I wonder if Arnold Schwarzenegger was born in May of 1951? 😉  As I sit here typing this, I have a vague feeling of skin irritation on my left arm despite the fact that I used heavy duty long rubber gloves for both operations.  I found out one of them sprung a leak while I was cleaning up after the job was done.

While I was in between operations, the tenant’s son came home and asked me if I wanted a free trip to New York City – round trip airfare and one night hotel.  In return, all I had to do is show up at a gathering at the plaza across from the United Nations from 10AM to 12PM on Thursday, September 22.  The organizers of the rally are looking for warm bodies to show up, the more, the merrier.  I was able to include my son, daughter and her friend in the adventure.  After displaying our stand for freedom and human rights in Iran, we are free to roam the Big Apple as we please.

Since the Ground Zero 9-11 Memorial opened to the public Sept. 12, this is a great opportunity to go there and pay my respects to the thousands that were lost that day.  I have a slight connection to one of those victims.  On January 14, 2004, I was engaged in my hobby of Geocaching and found myself at a very special cache in North Hollywood – the California 9-11 cache, dedicated to the 78 Californians that lost their lives on 9-11.  In our log entry for that geocache, we were instructed to take a name from the plaque at the memorial and include it in the log.  The person that came up for me was Thomas E. Burnett, Jr.  Tom was on that fateful Flight 93 and helped fight the terrorists that hijacked the flight.  The transcript of his last calls to his wife Deena gives a chilling inside look at what took place inside the plane.

This connection has given me the goal of finding Tom’s name at the Ground Zero Memorial, tracing his name on a sheet of paper, or at least photographing it, and including it in my geocaching log for the California 9-11 cache.

I am planning on leaving LA on a red eye late Wednesday, arriving in NYC early Thursday morning, checking in, or at least stashing our bags at a hotel near JFK, then heading straight off to the rally.  From the rally, leave the United Nations Plaza heading for Ground Zero.  After spending what is sure to be some spiritual and contemplative time there, I thought we could stroll down to Battery Park and hop a Staten Island Ferry for a nice view of the harbor, Statue of Liberty, Ellis and Governor’s Islands and the Brooklyn and Verrazano-Narrows Bridges.  Other than that I am open to suggestions.  My only other must do is to honor my daughter’s request to see Times Square at night before heading to the hotel.  Friday, is wide open as long as we get back to JFK somewhere around 8 or 9 PM for the flight home.

My biggest concerns are how to handle the luggage and the location of the hotel (near JFK) with its transportation challenges.  Any tips or suggestions about this trip by seasoned travelers is appreciated.

I will schedule generic game day threads to be published automatically during my absence.  If one or more of you want to start a thread to replace mine, please do.

This Day in Dodgers History

September 16, 1924 – Jim Bottomley goes 6-for-6, including two homers, and bats in a record 12 runs as the Cardinals beat the Dodgers, 17-3. The previous mark of 11 RBIs in one game was established in 1892 by today’s opposing Dodger manager, Wilbert Robinson.

15 Responses to I’m in a New York State of Mind

  1. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…awesome trip for you!

  2. JhallWally says:

    Good for you 32. Have fun and give our regards to Broadway. Check out Grand Central Station if you haven’t seen it before. Dinner in Little Italy is awesome.

    • 32and53fan says:

      That is a thought. Because I am with my son, daughter, and a friend, I did not think about contacting him about any baseball related activity. But maybe he could be of some help showing me the best way to get around town or figuring out how to store our bags.

      I am a little freaked out now because I am trying to maximize the time we have to tour stuff but also minimize transportation and other expenses. I don’t even know my flight and hotel details yet so it is hard to plan. All I know is that the hotel they provide will be near the airport. I am just trying to visualize the logistical options.

      Maybe the easiest thing is for everyone to just use a backpack for luggage and take it with us everywhere we go. I don’t know if the others would be up for that.

      One scenario I have been thinking of, assuming we will have a flight back leaving after 9PM on Friday is to arrange to be around the Museum of Moderrn Art by 4 PM. The admission to MOMA is $20, but is free on Fridays between 4 and 8 PM. We could spend a couple of hours there then head straight to JFK for the flight out. I have no idea whether it is worth the time or if the others would want to do that.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I was in NY thirty years ago and left at Penn Station to go to Boston. I did not see Grand Central Station.

      On that previous trip, I did walk through Little Italy during a fair. My wife enjoyed that area. My kids are vegans so that makes eating more of a challenge.

  3. Way to go, 32!!! Maybe you could meet up with Joe Pierre, aka OBF.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I wish I had more time. I would love to go to Brooklyn and see the Cyclones ballpark at Coney Island. I have seen a picture of me as a baby at Nathan’s and it would be cool to have a hot dog there.

  4. koufax1963 says:

    manhatten is alive most anywhere at anytime, it is an easy walk. I might suggest a walk across the brooklyn bridge, cheescake at juniors (if in brooklyn or at GrandCS), while your walking, and you should walk after the cheescake or dinner in Little Italy, bryant park just little way from TSquare, and through to bleecker street (grenwich village/ SoHO area). An alternative my family enjoyed were the double decker tour buses, for relatively cheap, they will take you for about a 90 minute tour of sections of manhatten and in to brooklyn, this was really great during the heat and humidity, you catch some air, get history, and can stop off and on from harlem to brooklyn, east side and west side. Have fun and don’t worry about sleep. Enjoy 32&53

    • 32and53fan says:

      I was wondering if it was feasible to try to walk across the Brooklyn Bridge after coming back from the Staten Island Ferry.
      I don’t know what segments are walkable or which require a subway or taxi ride. I was always afraid of taking a taxi because I am worried about having the correct change and wondering how much tip is expected. But for a group of four going a couple of miles or so, it might be cheaper than a subway ticket.

      I am also curious and may want to walk the length of the High Line park on my way to Times Square. High Line is a new park built on the elevated train tracks that run several blocks on the West Side near the meatpacking district.

  5. JhallWally says:

    From the UN you will be able to walk all over Manhattan.

    http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-6696847-united_nations_new_york_city-i?showmap=1

    Ideally you will get in early enough to swing by your hotel before you go to the UN. Even if you can’t check in, they should hold your bags for you if you have a reservation there. You can pay for baggage storage at JFK or you can store your bags in Manhattan at one of the following locations.

    http://schwartztravel.com/

    If you don’t want to pay for storage, being a short trip, I would pack light and backpack it.

    You are gonna have a ball.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I would not mind backpacking it. My daughter has other ideas. Once the flight and hotel info is confirmed, I will have a better idea of what I can squeeze out of this trip with the time and budget constraints.

  6. You could always go see Apollo Theatre in Harlem, WTC Memorial in Manhattan, Times Square, Wall Street, Radio City Music Hall, Rockerfeller Center, Citi Field, Yankees Stadium, MSG. If you got time, you could always go to Carnagie Hall, Wollman Rink. I think Wollman Rink is either an Ice Skate rink right now or a roller rink, and end it up at Bronx Zoo for the night.

    I never been, but would love to visit those places myself.

    Enjoy the trip.

Leave a Reply

