Thank you sir, may I have another?

The Dodgers, who were still flying high less than a week ago, took another paddling yesterday from the still scorching Arizona Diamondbacks.  The boys in blue, blew a 4-2 lead after climbing back from their own 0-2 deficit.  The D’backs climbed back and tied the score with a run in the third and seventh innings.  The Dodgers could not respond and the game went into extra innings.  The normally lights out Javy Guerra melted down and after a single, sacrifice bunt and a swinging strikeout by Justin Upton, Guerra intentionally walked Miguel Montero to put runners on first and second with two outs.

As Vin Scully so often points out, walking a batter intentionally sometimes messes up a pitchers control.  Unfortunately, that was the case with Javy Guerra.  He next walked Paul Goldschmidt, loading the bases and causing a visit from Rick Honeycutt.  Whatever Bunnynutts said had no effect as Guerra then walked Chris Young on four straight with Geraldo Parra scoring the go-ahead run.

In the bottom of the 10th, after Justin Sellers struck out swinging, Matt Kemp was then called out on strikes.  After Rod Barajas, pinch hitting for Javy Guerra, drew a walk and was replaced by pinch runner Eugeni0-for-ever, James Loney grounded meekly out to second baseman Aaron Hill to end the game.

The Dodgers have now had their butts whipped for the last three games.  Hopefully Sergeant Kershaw can put an end to the corporal punishment and stop the spanking.

This Day in Dodgers History

September 14, 2002 – Chin-Feng Chen becomes the first Taiwan-born player to appear in the major leagues as he walks and scores as a pinch-hitter for the Dodgers against the Rockies. The 24-year-old first baseman-outfielder played for the 1990 Taiwan team which won the Little League World Series.

161 Responses to Thank you sir, may I have another?

  1. Nellyjune says:

    I wouldn’t be an Ethieraholic if I didn’t wish Andre luck with his surgery today. Praying that the medical staff does it’s job and fixes his knee so he is ready get back to his off-season workouts fairly quickly. I remain an optimist in regards to Andre that this was just one of those quirky off seasons he had (not that I think it was all that bad), and that he will be back in 2012, with that chip-on-his-shoulder attitude that is so endearing to us Ethieraholics. He will come back ready to prove all the skeptics wrong once again. I think he lives for those challenges, and he will not disappoint in conquering it.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I think he will come through the surgery and rehab and be ready to start the 2012 season with a new intensity fueled by a pain free knee and pinkie. That chip-on-his-shoulder attitude that may help him play better isn’t always appreciated by the beat writers with whom he has displayed his Jekyll and Hyde personality.

      • Nellyjune says:

        I guess it’s just a matter of personality because I never cared for Manny’s attitude when he was on the team, but our media seemed to love it. I think a lot of the comments Andre made this past season were very misunderstood. Either he didn’t convey the right message, or he was just trying to be honest and his words got all twisted into what people thought they heard. He really has never been really good with talking to the media. He’s always been pretty private and only allows you to know what he wants you to know. I remember when both of his sons were born (one of which was yesterday) he was very guarded in how he released that information. He’s gotten better over the last couple of years, but you can tell he still isn’t all that comfortable with it.

  2. trublu4ever says:

    I also wish Andre well after his surgery today.

    I finally realized that Mattingly is in way over his head…he is NOT management material. It’s a good thing we aren’t battling for first place. Because, if we were, he would have put severe dent in our chances with his idiotic blunders.

    I also would like to comment on what Dodgereric said about the “attendance” from the previous thread. I had to listen to the Dbacks feed last night and they even said (when there were supposed to be around 30K there) like heck, there are! Even Vinny must be embarassed to give the count when he sees how few people are really there. Last night was a little better than the night before. Afterall, it was “blanket giveaway night”….but, for our very last homestand of the season, I think the fns have spoken loud and clear: “SELL THE TEAM FRANK & GET THE HELL OUT OF L.A.!

  3. messagebear says:

    I for one am not in the least displeased with what Andre has said over the years to the media. He’s not a practiced politician, nor a key management figure, nor should he be expected to be one. He plays ball, goes all out, and does it very well. I find it interesting to hear his human side, and why shouldn’t he have one and show it from time to time. Now if you want to compare that to the frequently official misspeak by Ned – do I need to say more.

    Secondly, Andre has never said anything outrageous, much as the media might like to build it into something different. For instance, I’ve never heard him say that Frank’s ownership of the franchise was like a Ponzi scheme. On the other hand, if I look at how many real dollars Frank actually invested to buy the franchise compared to how many millions he has taken out for personal use, I could easily make the case to call it that. If Mr. Ponzi feels offended by that comparison, I’ll take it back and simply refer to it as the McCourt scheme.

  4. JhallWally says:

    Dodgers lineup:

    Gordon 6,
    Gwynn 7,
    Kemp 8,
    Loney 3,
    Miles 5,
    Sands 9,
    Barajas 2,
    Carroll 4,
    Kershaw 1

  5. lbirken says:

    I wish Andre a speedy recovery. As I said in a previous post, I hope the doctor saved one of those chips from Andre’s knee and kept it for Andre’s shoulder. He does seem to play better when he has that chip. We will just have to wait and see what happens with him.

  6. lbirken says:

    I forgot to mention I was at Monday’s game and if there were 20k people there, that would be a lot. The fans that do attend are into the game but without a lot of bodies the foul balls make a lot of noise hitting empty seats. The days when the Dodgers could draw 40K for just about any game regardless of the opponent or standings are just a memory.

    • JhallWally says:

      I was reading “Vin Sully Is My Homeboy” and he said he was at the game and thought there were about 8K people there.

      So Birk, do you buy the tickets from the Dodgers or on the secondary market? I hear great seats are going really cheap on StubHub and the like. Also, do you park and eat at the stadium or avoid putting money in Franks bank account by not parking or eating and drinking there? Just curious. Also gonna be interesting to see how many season tickets they sell for next year. 17K this year. Down from 27/28K just two years ago.

      • lbirken says:

        Wally, for many years I have been a partner with a group of people who share a box. So yes, we do buy the tickets from the Dodgers at whatever the deal is for that season. The tickets include parking. The advantage is knowing for sure we are going to a certain number of games and have decent seats. We do get a discount off the face value. We almost never buy anything at the stadium; we bring in our own food, water and even peanuts.

        Our experience in using Stub Hub or Craig’s List has been a mixed bag. We have not done it often but I will admit the last time we tried I was surprised at how much people wanted to tickets. I have heard stories of people getting them for very little. But remember, tickets bought on the secondary market still came from the Dodgers so no matter the source, the team gets revenue for every ticket sold no matter how the fan got the ticket. I have a theory that at least half the people who attend any given game did not pay for the ticket; they were given the ticket. No way to prove that.

        I will also tell you that after many years in the same seat location, we were able to improve the seats considerably within the past 3 years. I do expect season ticket sales to decline and even the owner of our seats is concerned that some of the seat partners may not renew.

        So if someone wants to challenge me for “putting” money in Frank’s pocket, go ahead. I know you are not asking me these questions to challenge me so take no offense. I understand the basic theme this season is to hope that the declining attendence will send a message and I am sure it will. I get it that even loyal Dodger fans will stay away as long as current ownership remains. I respect those that have decided to stay away. But as long as I still enjoy being at Dodger Stadium, and believe me, it has not been easy lately, I will not let my displeasure with current ownership deprive me of one of the few things that still mean something to me. Remember, baseball is a game for optomists.

        • JhallWally says:

          Cool. Thanks. I live in Ohio, so going to Dodger stadium is not an issue for me. Regardless of who the owner is. If I lived there and going to Dodger games had become a part of my life over a period of years, I’m sure it would be a very difficult decision. I can see not going and not utting money into Franks bank, but I can also see not letting Frank deprive me of being a Dodger fan and enjoying the ballpark experience.

          Anyway, hopefully, one day soon Frank will be gone and it will all be a moot point and just a bad memory.

  7. JhallWally says:

    Just saw that Halladay pitched a complete game shutout for his 18th win. Now 18-5 with a 2.34 ERA.

    Perhaps, the one good thing to come from last nights tough loss, was denying Kennedy his 19th win and dropping a 4 spot on him. Definately put a serious damper on his Cy Young bid.

    We may have put a damper on Kennedys CY shot, but our shot at .500 also took a serious hit last night. Only 14 games left and we need to go 9 and 5. Another reason tonights game is huge if you care about making it to .500. If we get the win tonight, we face much lesser competition than the D’Backs. The Pirates, G’Aints, and Puds. By the time we end the season with the D’Backs, they will have already clinched, so they may be resting people and setting up their pitching and not be too worried about beating us.

    This could be the pivotal game in Kershs’ pursuit of the Cy Young as he goes for his 19th win. I think he’s going to need another dominate performance tonight to stay at the top of the Cy race. Especially on the heels of Halladays performance.

    I’m anxious to see if he’s got it in him. If he does, he deserves the Cy Young. If he doesn’t come up big when the team needs a losing streak breaker, well, maybe he doesn’t this year. Time will tell.

    I hope he puts the Parra issue into perspective and doesn’t do anything stupid. There will be plenty of time to get payback at another time. Tonight may not be the right time. Besides, the little creep isn’t worth the effort.

    Go Kersh and Go Dodgers!!!

  8. nedisajerk says:

    Did anyone click that link? I hope Kershaw get double digit k’s and Halladay just pitch a CG/Shutout and lower his 2.44 ERA to a 3 ways tied for 1st with Kershaw and Cueto.

  9. nedisajerk says:

    Why not Loney, Sands and Barajas? It would’ve been weird if it was Miles, Gwynn and Carroll batting 6th-8th.

  10. JhallWally says:

    I’m surprised there aren’t more of you SoCal folks rooting for the Angels and Scioscia to catch the Rangers. Maybe you are and just haven’t mentioned it. I’m hoping that they catch Rangers and make the playoffs.

    • JhallWally says:

      Of course the Indians aren’t helping. They went into the tank with the Pirates after the trade deadline.

      • trublu4ever says:

        I don’t live in so-cal, but, I like Scioscia. But, the Angels are boring as hell to watch. Being a Dodger fan, it’s hard to pull for a team who resides in Anaheim but, is too embarrased to admit it.

    • lbirken says:

      I like Scioscia as much as the next guy and I admire what he has done with the Angels. However, I usually don’t pay much attention to them. I don’t root against the Angels and I might check the paper in the morning to see how they have done but I am not a big fan and other than when they first came to L.A., I don’t have much interest in them. I too find their games unwatchable on TV. But if they make it into the playoffs, I will root for them.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I haven’t paid much attention to the Angels since they left LA. In their early days, they had Albie Pierson, Leon Wagner, Bo Belinsky and Jim Fregosi that got a lot of attention. It is kind of weird that more people are not Angels fans. They came to LA only three years after the Dodgers. I live about an hour away from Dodger Stadium and an extra 40 minutes to Angel Stadium but do not attend games at either.

      It is just as easy to watch Angels games on TV and read about them on the Internet as the Dodgers but I do not follow them at all. I am a fan of Mike Scioscia, Mickey Hatcher and the Dodgers inspired way they coach the team, but that does not matter; I still am not an Angels fan. If they are doing well, I hope they win and if they reach the postseason, I root for them. But other than Torii Hunter and Jered Weaver, I could not even name an Angels player.

      I think it is the Dodgers Brooklyn history, brought to life constantly by Vin Scully, that makes the difference. Scully has been the one constant in the ever changing roster of the Dodgers throughout the years.

      When I have been to a Dodgers game, it was more for the crowd and the scenery than to see the the game. My seats were never good enough to get much of a view. I find I get a better view at home anyway and money is now a major issue that keeps me away. If I had the money, I could find lots of other entertainment in LA that I would consider before going to DS.

  11. JhallWally says:

    I’d also like to see the Rays catch and pass the Red Sux for the wild card.

  12. trublu4ever says:

    Let’s win this game for Kersh! I also want Matty to have a huge night! GO, DODGERS, GO!

  13. nedisajerk says:

    Clayton Kershaw takes the mound Wednesday night at Dodger Stadium, looking for win number 19, and trying to help the Dodgers stave off a sweep at the hands of the Arizona Diamondbacks. Kershaw seized the major league lead in ERA in his last start, Friday in San Francisco, but fellow National League Cy Young candidate Roy Halladay threw down the gauntlet earlier on Wednesday with a shutout of Houston. Halladay’s ERA of 2.34 now leads the majors, narrowly ahead of Kershaw (2.359), Johnny Cueto (2.363), and Justin Verlander (2.364).

    For Kershaw to surpass Halladay tonight, he will need to do one of the following against Arizona:
    •Allow no runs in 2 1/3 innings or longer
    •Allow one run in six innings or longer (exactly one in six innings will leave Kershaw and Halladay with equal numbers of innings and earned runs on the season)
    •Allow two runs in 10 innings or longer

    Kershaw also needs eight strikeouts to pass Verlander for the major league lead.

  14. Nellyjune says:

    That should have been 2 runs – ugh!

  15. JhallWally says:

    Wah-Hoo Jerrrrrrry!!!!

  16. nedisajerk says:

    Eliezer Alfonzo since he’s an ex Giants and got suspended for 100 games they should take both of his rbi’s away and give us the 2 wins lol.

    http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/boxscore;_ylt=AvU.9mt3369dawFC3xlHIDuFCLcF?gid=310820127

    http://sports.yahoo.com/mlb/boxscore;_ylt=AulRqd9krJHQ.Sg_Ht9O_OuFCLcF?gid=310828119

  17. nedisajerk says:

    I really hate Parra and was 0/6 with 4 k’s against Kershaw. This guy is really playing over his head this season.

  18. trublu4ever says:

    Question: The Times is reporting that the divorce case, and ownership of te Dodgers, for the McCourts won’t be heard until spring…However, if mlb seized controll of the team & Frank declared bankruptcy, doesn’t it mean neither one of them owns the team?

    • JhallWally says:

      No. They still own the team. They are not in control of the team however. The court is in control of the team to look after the best interests of the creditors. The whole goal is for Frank to come up with a way to pay off the creditors that will meet with everyones approval. Since the Dodgers are his only source of income, selling the future TV rights is the only way he can come up with the money to settle the debt and buyout/payoff Jamie. If he is not allowed to do this, the only other way to settle the debt is to sell the team. If the court decides he can sell the TV rights, then it will be up to Selig whether to back down and let him or seize the team. Selig may not have the balls to seize the team and put baseballs constitution to a test in the courts. It is almost a certainty that McCourt will litigate to the bitter end.

    • JhallWally says:

      That is how I understand the situation and process. If Jamie is awarded half the team, it just makes buying her out a hell of a lot more expensive.

  19. trublu4ever says:

    K K K K K !

  20. trublu4ever says:

    Fuck! They just threw Kersh out of the game…hit Parra!

  21. JhallWally says:

    SHIT!!!! That’s just fucking wrong!!!

  22. At least he’s going out winning and he did go the required 5 innings. But God only knows what’s going to happen with the bully taking over.

  23. vl4eccjr says:

    Welke’s a fucking commie!

  24. Horseshit!

    .
    Horseshit horseshit horseshit horseshit horseshit.

    .
    From an umpire who isn’t worth a whore’s shit.

    .
    That’s all.

  25. vl4eccjr says:

    Big ‘D’ has to be rolling over in his grave. I have never heard of bullshit like this. If the batter is crowding the plate like this lunchmeat, he deserves to be put on his ass!

  26. Parra baited Kersh into getting thrown out..He knows Umps saw this coming and Umps weren’t gonna take anything lightly.

    Still, Parra got what he deserved and props for Kersh and Mattingly in standing up for team, players and each other..

  27. nedisajerk says:

    Urgh I want Kershaw to lead the league in strikeouts over Verlander.

  28. What was the old saying my dad use to say,

    “Is it broken..No..Is it bleeding..No..Are you dying..No..So why are we even talking at this point..Get back in the game..No harm no foul..”

  29. Lindblom holding his own..Here’s to finishing tonight with a shutout so Kersh can finally win his 19th, after 2 previous attempts.

  30. Nellyjune says:

    My son loves throwing inside, especially on batters who are crowding the plate. That was such a BS call. Glad to see Mattingly sticking up for tue team. WAY TO GO KERSH!!!

    • JhallWally says:

      Hi’Ya Nelly. Yeah, it was total bullshit.

      How did it go for your son pitching for the scout?

      • Nellyjune says:

        He said he did well, but they don’t say anything. We are thinking they can’t say anything due to the thousands of rules involved at the collegiate level. He has his first fall league game on Friday. So, he’s looking forward to that. 🙂

        • JhallWally says:

          Cool. Keep us posted. I downloaded his college site, so I can check it Saturday.

          • Nellyjune says:

            I sure will!! They posted a roster. They are playing an 18 inning game on Friday, and he figures he and the other 3 SPs will pitch 2 innings and everyone else will pitch one inning, depending on pitch count. At this point, they can only throw fast balls and change-ups. They don’t want hurt arms over fall ball.

  31. nedisajerk says:

    I want to see Eovaldi in this game.

  32. JhallWally says:

    No McDoo, Hawkshit, or Grrrearend!!!

  33. nedisajerk says:

    OdinsBeard: By taking Kershaw out, he’s depriving orphans for at least several hundred more dollars. BILL WELKE HATES ORPHANS

    LOL – apparently Bill Welke doesn’t know this.

  34. Excellent catch Jerry! WOW!!!!

  35. JhallWally says:

    Well Dildon, if your gonna lose it, don’t do it with McDoo, Hawkshit, or Grrrearend.

  36. trublu4ever says:

    Looks like it’s Jansen.

  37. nedisajerk says:

    Oh man what the heck? HUD: evicted 101-year-old Detroit woman going home

    http://news.yahoo.com/hud-evicted-101-old-detroit-woman-going-home-012640063.html

  38. trublu4ever says:

    So-called paid attendance: 29, 799

  39. vl4eccjr says:

    WTG MILES!!! Insurance runs are nice!

  40. I do believe Matt challenged Parra there. Showed him up, too!

  41. trublu4ever says:

    Way to go Miles!

  42. JhallWally says:

    C’mon Kenley!!! Biggest save of the season…

  43. trublu4ever says:

    Whiffed Upton!

  44. Kenleynia!!

    Its FERNANDOMANIA EXCEPT FOR KENLEY..

  45. trublu4ever says:

    One more, Kenley!

  46. defensive infiderence..
    wtf…

    hate that crap!!!

  47. Damn! Let’s get this thing done, Kenley!

  48. JhallWally says:

    Damn, damn, damn!!!!! I think that cost Kersh the win.

  49. trublu4ever says:

    Thank-you bullpen for saving this game for Kersh!

  50. Nellyjune says:

    Way to get that win for Kersh!!!

  51. beautiful pitch….

    DODGERSS WINNN!!!!

  52. JhallWally says:

    SWEEEEEEEET!!! #19 for Kersh!! WTG Bullpen!!!

    FU-Q Pussarra and Welke!!!!

  53. vl4eccjr says:

    Now I’m curious as to how ESPN will spin the bogus ejection on Sportscenter & Baseball Tonight. Yanks – Mariners is still on tied 1-1 in extras.
    As tru mentioned earlier, I sure hope this doesn’t affect Kersh’s chance for the Cy Young.

  54. JhallWally says:

    Pussarra airmailed the throw to the plate or Kemp was a dead duck. Ended up being the winning run. Suck on that you chicken shit asshole.

  55. JhallWally says:

    No McDooDoo, Hawkshit, or Grrrearend and the bullpen saves the game. Coincidence? I think not. Maybe Dildon is wising up a little.

  56. Nellyjune says:

    I was watching “Quickpitch”, and it doesn’t seem like either side of the broadcasting booth at tonight’s game thought what happened to Kersh was right. The “Intentional Talk” guys will have something to say about it too.

  57. Nellyjune says:

    Jhall – Kersh won’t have to face the DBacks again. Steve Lyons was thinking Lilly would definitely be a candidate to do the job – lol!!!

Leave a Reply

