More of the same

I spent another day in contractor hell fighting with a plumber whose workers only complete about 95% of the job.   I have had to learn how to install baseboard molding complete with a back cut made with a coping saw.  The guy installed ceramic tile but left a few gaps that were too big to be hidden by the molding.  I had to learn how to cut tile and install it with fast setting thin set mortar.  I had to learn that working with the fast setting mortar is like working with Bondo.  It gives you a few minutes then BOOM! it hardens like a rock.

I can relate to some of the old guys on the Dodgers.  I need a day of rest after a night game.  But that is not going to happen.  I am going to have to haul my aching back and legs out of bed and do it all over again today.   I can relate to Mattingly who can not abide a player who does not put in 100% effort.

Todays lineup:

  • Hook up pipes from sink to drain
  • Finish installing molding
  • Paint bathroom

Let me know how the Dodgers are doing.  I have been too busy to keep track lately.

This Day in Dodgers History

August 25, 1979 – In a Hollywood Stars vs. the Media game played at Dodger Stadium, Robin Williams, the star of the hit television show, Mork and Mindy, in which he plays an alien, runs the bases backwards. The comedian explains circling the bags clockwise is very common on the Planet Ork, his character’s home in the universe.

19 Responses to More of the same

  1. trublu4ever says:

    I know it’s not funny to you but, you are becomming Tim the Toolman Taylor….filming a segment of Home Improvement 😉

    I now know for a fact that Josh has stopped reading comments on ITD….why else would he write a thread about Ned Colletti?!

    • trublu4ever says:

      That would be a dream come true! Maybe we can package him with Velez and Uribe 😉

      • JhallWally says:

        I was thinking about what Nelly said the other day about not wishing Ned on anyone but the G’Aints. I agreed with her. I
        have changed my mind. It may be selfish but I don’t care how he gets gone, I just want him gone. If some other team hires him, well, that’s on them. His record is out there for them all to review. If they think he has done a good enough job to warrant another GM job, by all means, go for it.

        • No doubt, Colletti is most likely the cause of this dilemma, but I think we’ve never had a decent hitting coach, either, although if the offense proves they were for real in the last two games against the Cards, we have to give Wallach some credit. Now I know it all depends on the next few games but I still think the archille’s heel is the offense, because our pitching can compare to most anyone elses’. If we were more successful at the plate we wouldn’t be battling for 4th place right now. Oh, you may be right, we don’t have the horses but I can’t entirely agree with that.

          • trublu4ever says:

            I also think for the most part, our offense has sucked. One game we score 6 or more and then for the next week, we have trouble plating 2 runs. The bullpen has been iffy for the most part (except for Javy and Jansen).

    • selltheteam says:

      It can’t happen soon enough!

    • Damn! I wanted to post this on there, but it wouldn’t let me:

      On behalf of everyone in L.A., we’d like to say what a fine addition Colletti would make to the Cubs organization.

  2. koufax1963 says:

    Yikes, I left ITD, and my comment about NED and guidedogs/CTA, to come here to the sensible Dodgers fans, and Find more about the ITD NED post.
    Amazed the cards sucked worse than the dodgers for 3 games. Amazed the gnats are getting Bell, it won’t end their torture. Amazed the dodgers actually unloaded navarro, reminds me of garett Anderson situation. and I thought the best thing this year was taking 3 of 4 from the gnats to start the season.
    Trying to stay amazed!

  3. lbirken says:

    koufax, pretty much the same folks from ITD are here on OTD saying pretty much the same things. The big difference is over here we have real topics to start off the discussion. But clearly many of us still check in at ITD. You do have to admit it was kind of funny to see Josh’s comments about Ned and Chicago a day or so after we all saw reports about the Cub’s interest in Colletti.

  4. grizzy says:

    Loney is showing some life again just when I was starting to give up on him. It will be interesting to see if he can play up to his capabilities the rest of the way. Personally, I’d like to see him do well and return. I do not think he will ever hit many home runs, but I’ll take doubles and rbi’s. We all know about his superior defense, and I do not think you can over look that.

  5. trublu4ever says:

    My lousy day is getting a little better….the Dbacks are winning 5 – 1 and, I will soon be watching the gnats, hopefully, get beaten to a pulp!

  6. trublu4ever says:

    I would also like to congratulate Russell Martin on having the game of a lifetime. Glad you are happy in New York. It must feel pretty good getting away from the asylum. Unfortunately, being a die hard Dodger fan…..I’m stuck here! 😉

  7. trublu4ever says:

    I hope Jim Thome has a big finish to his career in Cleveland. Kind of a full circle for him.

  8. Damn, I see Martin has 17 HRs now, com’on Barajas.

Leave a Reply

