Dioner Navarro Fired!

I have been too busy the last few days to keep up with the Dodgers.  Instead of hearing about Navarro being DFA’d when it happened, I just found out about it after midnight.  It is bad enough to get canned because you suck, but to be shown the door due to “philosophical differences” including lack of hustle and being unprepared is really embarrassing.

This Day in Dodgers History

August 24, 1960 – During a dull game, Vin Scully, the play-by-play voice of the Dodgers, knowing that many fans in the stands follow the game on transistor radios, asks his listeners to help him surprise third base umpire Frank Secory. His ballpark audience responds when veteran broadcaster tells them, “Let’s have some fun. As soon as the inning is over I’ll count to three, and on three everybody yell, ‘Happy birthday, Frank!'”.

81 Responses to Dioner Navarro Fired!

  1. trublu4ever says:

    Being unprepared….then, why the hell does Colletti have job?!

  2. dodgereric says:

    There’s a hilarious article from TJ Simers here:
    http://www.latimes.com/sports/la-sp-simers-20110824,0,6043015,full.column

    “John Richards, a season-ticket holder from Yorba Linda, e-mailed Tuesday to let me know the Dodgers have asked him to fill out a survey.

    On a scale of 1 to 5, “They wanted my opinion of Vin Scully in the following eight areas: 1. Knowledge of baseball; 2. Knowledge of Dodgers organization; 3. Objectivity; 4. Accuracy of calls; 5. Storytelling ability; 6. Focus on the game; 7. Style; 8. Overall performance.”

    Now, what I’m figuring is that they’re trying to see how close any of their current announcers come to Vinny in the eyes (and ears) of the fans. But Simers, bless him, does a really good job with this.

    What I’m afraid of is that Vin might have clued them in on……no. I can’t even say it.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Very good article, Dodgereric. I also heard that the survey was mailed to all season ticket holders, all 900 of them. I loved the part about Vinny having to announce the attendance 😉

      Continuing on the subject, I’d give Charlie a 1 (I’d prefer 0 but I guess 1 is bad enough) Monday a 2 (he could be higher if Charlie would let him speak!) As for Lyons and Collins a 1 1/2 (boring as hell).

    • selltheteam says:

      Simers is crazy. I give Vinny 5’s all around. Now let me try Steiner:

      Knowledge of baseball – um, maybe a 3
      Knowledge of Dodgers organization – okay, a 4
      Objectivity – nobody comes close to Vinny here – a 1
      Accuracy of calls – given his stupid “back, back, back, oh, it’s caught” – he gets a 0
      Storytelling ability – bores me all to hell – a 0
      Focus on the game – totally unfocussed – a 0
      Style – terrible – a 0
      Overall performance – 1

    • JhallWally says:

      Unbelievable!!! With Frank, there is nothing sacred. Except maybe his haircuts.

  3. dodgereric says:

    Regarding Navarro, Steve Lyons didn’t mince any words during the game last night about why he was let go.

    And speaking of funny, you gotta read this on Navarro’s dismissal:
    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/dodgers/2011/08/dodgers-finally-give-up-on-dioner-navarro-call-up-aj-ellis.html

    Example:

    “The odd, misguided, what-are-you-thinking Dioner Navarro experiment has mercifully come to an end.

    Exactly why Navarro was ever here in the first place was only slightly less mysterious than how the Egyptians built the pyramids.”

  4. trublu4ever says:

    We will be DreLess today…I guess he isn’t grinding enough for Donnie.

  5. JhallWally says:

    Good morning Outsiders. Sure would be sweet to get the sweep today. Especially against the Cardinals. Just read that the all time series with them is now tied at 1,001. Hopefully we’ve got some run support for Kuroda today. Let’s go Dodgers.

    Sellers 6,
    Gwynn 7,
    Kemp 8,
    Rivera 9,
    Blake 5,
    Loney 3,
    Carroll 4,
    Ellis 2,
    Kuroda 1

  6. selltheteam says:

    Darn that Schumaker! He should go back to pitching.

  7. selltheteam says:

    WTG Kemp! WTG Rivera!

  8. selltheteam says:

    All is right with the world. Carroll failed to get an RBI during the hit parade.

  9. Do you keep Loney next year if he continues to hit? Hansen seems to be getting him back to what he is – a hitter for average, not power. With glaring holes in LF, 2B, 3B and C I’m thinking Loney (and Dre for that matter) are down on the list of positions to replace.

    • JhallWally says:

      Loney hits well in most of the NL Central ballparks. He hits better just about everywhere than at DS. I want to see what he does the rest of the way. I’d at least like to see some more doubles.
      Also, I think catcher is a moot point. I wouldn’t be surprised if they bring Barajas back on another one year deal. Probably depends on what Ellis and Federwhatever do the rest of the way.
      Ya gotta take a look at bringing back Miles next year if the price is right. And this Sellers kid has been impressive. He could make some noise for the starting SS or 2B job in the spring.
      Since we are stuck with Uribe, I would try and get him healthy and stick him at 3B. At least to start the season. You can always look to upgrade in July if you are contending and he is still completely stinking up the place.

      • If I know Ned (and unfortunately we all do) Barajas is pretty much going to be a done deal. Ellis will be the back-up, and Federwhatever will be in Albuquerque for when Barajas goes on the DL 2-3 times.

        Gawd, I’d hope they’d write off Uribe, but I guess we’re stuck with him at third. Wouldn’t mind seeing a Gordon-Sellers DP combo. Miles should be what he really is meant for – the bench.

        • trublu4ever says:

          You mean there is now way to unload Uribe? Even if we eat his contract?

          • Ned will never admit he made a [yet another] mistake by getting rid of him. They’ll play him and play him and play him until finally when he’s hitting .200 again middle of July he’ll come down with one of Ned’s patented “mystery” ailments and go on the DL for the rest of the year.

          • JhallWally says:

            We’d have to eat at least 2/3 of it to get rid of him and I don’t see that happening with the current financial situation. He could possibly be traded for another bad contract. They will probably chalk this year off to injury.

          • trublu4ever says:

            Retirement 😉 we’d still have to pay him though, I suppose.

          • Ned likes to make us suffer. It’s part of his Frisco mentality. As for Urine playing again, if he’d lose alot of weight, then he could probably avoid injury.

  10. vl4eccjr says:

    WOW!
    I hate to say this, but I have to call it like I see it.
    It’s not the fact that I dislike the sudden offense outburst from the Dodgers. I’m loving it! But, you have to admit that not much has gone right for the Cards this series. I expected them to be more competitive in the NL central. With the Brewers staying as hot as they are, their playoff picture looks bleak.

  11. trublu4ever says:

    AJ! WOO-HOO!

  12. vl4eccjr says:

    Welcome back A.J.!!

  13. nellyjune says:

    WAY TO GO A.J.!!!!! Lunchtime 🙂

  14. We don’t need no stinkin’ Dioner!!

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Rivera! Way to go!

  16. JhallWally says:

    Anyone wanna wager on who finishes with a higher Batting Average?

    Ethier or Loney?

  17. trublu4ever says:

    Uh, oh….get ready for the bullpen.

  18. trublu4ever says:

    0 -27!

  19. vl4eccjr says:

    Eugeni-OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO for 27!

  20. Velez – The Legend Continues™

  21. trublu4ever says:

    6 runs safe for McDooDoo?

  22. selltheteam says:

    Why is Eugenio4ever Mattingly’s choice for first pinch-hitter off the bench today?

    1) Oeltjen is available – can he not play in day games?
    2) Barajas is needed as catcher if AJ gets hurt, so okay.
    3) Ethier – does his po’ wittle toe hurt that bad?
    4) Blake – he’s just too old.
    5) Miles – got worn out from hitting a triple and home run over the past two nights.

    I’m hoping that it’s a case of DilDon wanting to see how long the streak will go.

    • selltheteam says:

      red pen – Blake started. I’m too old.

    • vl4eccjr says:

      An infected ingrown toenail can be very painfull. I had one on my right big toe as a teen. It swelled up pretty bad. Then when I watched the Dr. shooting it up with that HUGE horse needle with novocaine, it swelled even more, like twice the normal size! I passed out before he started cutting. From that day to this, I’m totally scared shitless of needles

  23. As far as this season is concerned, especially this past month, I’ve come to the conclusion of this fact-

    Rivera-Colorado, St. Louis
    Loney-Colorado
    Barajas-St. Louis, Colorado, Milwakee
    Gwynn-Colorado, Milwakee
    Miles-St. Louis
    Ethier-?????

    These are the places where they are better hitters than anywhere else.

    So where does Ethier hit better, or where does he start to get it going again. He’s easily turning into last years Matt Kemp or this years Juan Uribe: swinging at any pitch

  24. vl4eccjr says:

    Ruh Roh! It’s Grrrrrear!!!

  25. Gurrier can’t complain about that called strike. Ump must want to get in out of the heat.

  26. trublu4ever says:

    It makes me happy that we swept the Cards. One of my least favorite teams.

  27. vl4eccjr says:

    They’re out of the cellar, for the moment anyway. .

  28. messagebear says:

    Well, at least we effectively put the Cards out of their misery. Now they can play the rest of the season like there’s nothing at stake – just like us.
    For what it’s worth, I like the way Sellers plays and hits. I know it’s very early, and the pitchers can get adjusted to him. I just like a guy who comes in under the radar and tries to make his case for belonging in the majors. I don’t think any of our experts had him ranked anywhere measurable, at least nowhere close to Gordon. I just wasn’t impressed with Gordon. I prefer someone who can hit solidly rather than spray the ball around and depend on his blinding speed. As far as I’m concerned, Gordon may belong on the track, but so far he’s been higly overrated on the baseball diamond.

  29. nellyjune says:

    Good win today Dodgers!!!

  30. lbirken says:

    What is not to like about Sellers. He plays hard, he seems to have a good baseball mind, he does not get cheated at the plate and he is fun to watch. Obviously there is still the question about how well he can hit but Gordon has the same issue. Clearly the Dodgers feel Gordon has the stronger upside at shortstop but I hope Sellers gets a chance to challenge Gordon or at least prove he can play another position.

  31. Sellers sort of reminds me of a right-handed Blake DeWitt. Same attributes and attitude. Hope he sticks with the club, I like his game.

  32. trublu4ever says:

    Dbacks won again…..ha, ha gnats!

  33. I was surprised when I heard about Navarro, I figured it was because of his sub .200 average and they just gave up on him, until I read about the “philosophical differences”. Makes you think of Girardi & Posada but of course it’s a lot worse. Those two guys are still together. Anyway Barajas was the better of the two. Although he hasn’t hit for the average he’s showing a lot more consistent power. How about A.J.finally hitting one out?.

    • 32and53fan says:

      I am having philosophical differences with the plumbers who are doing work for me. They are doing handyman work outside their trade by installing tile floors in the bathrooms. They work hard, but only finish about 95% of the job. I had to buy some tile tools and materials to install a few missing pieces.

      Then the guy decides he is not getting enough money so he left hooking up the drain pipes to a new sink to me. I can do it but it will take me four times as long.

      • I’m 22, and I’ve been there myself this summer. Seeing as how my dad is always at work, he wanted the bathroom, rebuilt as well as the walls of the rooms, including electrical and such. What he calculated as about a $9000 investment and 3 week job, turned into a $15000 and 2 month job. Most of the time, the workers showed up late, and left by 3 pm. They took a 2 hr break for lunch, and always needed more material. I’m talking about a tile that could be cut wasn’t good enough for them, so we had to go purchase new tiles that were pre-finished, and tape measurers, saw blades, and other stuff.

        I mean, the bills piled up, and they stopped coming days at a time, took 5 days to paint one wall, and then forgot to split electricity out to all the outlets. It was ridiculous, seeing as how everyday, it was a trip to Home Depot, and most of the time, they left me to finish tiling what they didn’t finish, due to the fact that otherwise, my dad would get mad at me for not making them work harder.

        It’s horrible, but they still think they deserve pay for whole days when they just came and did one row of tiles and then broke a lot of tiles, took the tools I purchased through my dad’s card, and then left before noon.

        I could do the work myself except for the copper piping, wiring and retrofitting, but sometimes, contractors are a piece of crap. And when you tell them to work faster, or that your not paying them more, or getting them more tools, they walk off.

  34. It’s a good thing you’re handy enough to do the work, 32and53 Fan. With me I have to keep looking for someone to pay and pay and pay….

  35. binary says:

    Are all simple to operate and just about every possesses its own
    specific strengths. When they believe that the market goes way up, they’ll obtain what exactly is named some sort of Call choice. You could also enter in the Fx, also known as the actual currency exchange current market, as it will be available at any hour worldwide. In truth, the tiniest movement in the market throughout often course will ascertain the safe bet or even loser, in addition to each celebrations can only lose the original total put in. If you can stick to your strategy, along with continue to bring about to your account regularly, besides do you want have the life style you’ve
    often imagined, however it is possible for you to leave the workplace along with self-respect by being dedicated to ones approach even though buying
    and selling within the binary market.

Leave a Reply

