The Winds of S**t

Steve Dilbeck of the LA Times Dodgers Blog sums up yesterday’s game pretty well.

JhallWally and trublue4ever provided the inspiration for today’s post.

Both the Dodgers and I have flown into a place that we don’t want to be.  I am having some major plumbing work done and have spent the last week trying to coordinate everything.

Today, I found out that my insurance is not going to cover everything and I have to come up with $1500 which I don’t have.  I am totally stressed by this problem and other similar problems.  They all involve people wanting money from me to fix things.  Then I think about the silly game of baseball where even the greenest rookie makes $414,000 a year.  I am trying to support a family of four on 6% of that amount.

What is tearing me up inside from worry about how I can pay the plumber, or the auto mechanic, or replace the microwave oven that just broke yesterday would not even be a passing thought for a major league player.  Just write a check and the problem disappears.

The winds are the same.  They just affect me and the Dodgers in different ways.

Maybe a wealthy Dodger would consider sending a donation to my PayPal account brian at brianoconnell dot net to help me out of my s**t storm.  Unfortunately, only some new players that are actually good can help the Dodgers out of theirs.  A new owner wouldn’t hurt either.

Warning – Do not watch this video if you are offended by scatological humor.

This Day in Dodgers History

On August 16, 1964 – St. Louis outfielder Curt Flood collects eight consecutive hits during a doubleheader against Dodgers pitching. The Cardinals split the twin bill in Los Angeles losing the opener to Sandy Koufax, 3-0, but takes the nightcap as Curt Simmons tosses a six hitter to give the Redbirds a 4-0 victory.

95 Responses to The Winds of S**t

  1. Nellyjune says:

    Great post 32and53 fan!!!
    .
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TRU!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  2. JhallWally says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TRUMOM!!!!!

    Hope you have a wonderful day.

  3. trublu4ever says:

    Thank-you.

  4. messagebear says:

    It’s a privilege to wish you a HAPPY BIRTHDAY, Tru.
    You’re one of the truly fine people I’ve enjoyed among the Dodger fans over the years. Have MANY MORE!

  5. 32and53fan says:

    Happy Birthday Tru! I hope the Dodgers help you celebrate with a win tonight.

  6. Well shit, looks like I’m late to the party. HAPPY BIRTHDAY TRU!!!

  7. trublu4ever says:

    My birthday wish is for the day Frank and Ned are gone and we can ALL meet and have a huge party!

  8. nedisajerk says:

    First Boogaard and now RIP Rick Rypien this is freaking terrible and he just sign to play for the Jets on July 4 when the team relocate from Atlanta.

    • nedisajerk says:

      Oh wow I didn’t know you can put those names in blue.

      I like these numbers against Gallardo but he has pitch well at home.

      Career vs. LAD 3 3 0 3 0 0 0 0 0 16.2 24 20 20 3 8 20 10.80 1.92 .343
      Home (this year) 11 11 8 1 0 0 0 1 1 71.0 65 24 23 4 20 57 2.92 1.20 .245

  9. koufax1963 says:

    Plumbing is difficult. Following the dodgers this year is painful. I do enjoy watching the giants fall from 1st though. When did the giants sabean become a good GM? Read that in 2009 they gave fredi sanchez a contract, in belief that he would be their 2nd baseman, that Uribe would be shopping around. I guess Neds old mentor has one up on Ned, and knows some character make up of players. Ned just grabs the SF cast offs, and while the giants develop pitchers, the dodgers don’t develop (they just rely on a players given talent) combine that with poor contracts (3yrs for Uribe), I fear dre, kemp and kershaw will all be gone, and jansen, gordon and rubby will not develop. and yes Happy B-day

  10. Think I can say with 100% certainty that Frank’ll screw this guy over even more:

    http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/dodgers/2011/08/dodgers-win-round-in-bankruptcy-court.html

  11. 32and53fan says:

    Frank McCourt’s Shit Storm

  12. trublu4ever says:

    Billz is moving up on your Shitidity meter, Jhall!

  13. Well SHIT HOWDY everybody!

    How’s the birthday gone so far Tru?

  14. trublu4ever says:

    Holy shit….a run!

  15. trublu4ever says:

    Billz really pisses me off!

  16. Billz is well on his way to another 4-5 inning outing.

  17. trublu4ever says:

    Yuck, Jhall….your gravatar is surrounding me 😉

  18. 32and53fan says:

    Emma’s comment from yesterday was marked as spam.

  19. Its amazing that Kemp’s got the RBIs he does considering NO ONE ever gets on in front of him.

  20. trublu4ever says:

    YAY….gnats lost in bottom of 11th!

  21. trublu4ever says:

    Blake 80%!

  22. DodgerZona says:

    Happy B-Day Tru

  23. Until he royally pissed me off, I was going to write a new thread about the good deals Ned has made in his tenure. Dre is obviously #1, but I think Saito was one of his top 5.

    • JhallWally says:

      Yep, Saito is top 5. Hell, there may only be 5. Getting Maddux for Izturis wasn’t a bad deal. Manny I was a great deal. He just screwed up when he resigned him for more than 1 year with his history.

  24. What an exciting 9th we just had. Pitiful.

  25. trublu4ever says:

    Kuo should be Hung!

  26. JhallWally says:

    McDooDoo 77% Mostly Shitty

  27. Another case of DilDon not having a freaking clue what he’s doing with the bully. The road apple didn’t fall far from the horse’s ass if you ask me.

  28. trublu4ever says:

    Uh, oh….here goes the ball game!

  29. JhallWally says:

    And McDooDoo is steaming. 89% Un Freaking Believable!!!!

  30. Well that was another inspirational game.

  31. JhallWally says:

    Tough loss. Disappointing but not surprising considering our inept offense and bullpen.

  32. JhallWally says:

    Oh well. Enjoy the rest of your Birthday Tru!!!!

  33. Dodger dawg 32 says:

    Lets see 1 run in 2 games, that equals what about a half run a game? I have no idea why this team can’t win? Ned, do you have a clue? Wait forget that I know he doesn’t.

  34. Nellyjune says:

    I don’t care how bad they play. I am Dodger Blue thru and thru. I am chalking this season up to a fucking nightmare of a owner/management team, and not one single player on this team (no matter how bad they are currently playing or have played) deserve to be playing for this scumbag of an owner. We don’t have to wish them away because they will ALL leave the first chance they get. I sure would be!! Some fans are fooling themselves to think Matt, et all are going to stay if Frank is still the owner. I wouldn’t doubt their agents already have plans in the works. All the main players are in a win, win situation.

  35. nedisajerk says:

    I think it’s ok since you live on the west coast when I type that.

Leave a Reply

