Dodgers vs. Royals

DodgersRoyals

Who will prevail?  Better be the Dodgers, who have won seven of their last nine games.  Besides that, the Dodgers look to continue their road dominance, where they are 24-15 in 2014.  Starting for Los Angeles will be Zack Greinke, Clayton Kershaw, and Dan Haren.

106 Responses to Dodgers vs. Royals

  1. crash24now says:

    Lineup

    Gordon 2B
    Ramirez DH
    Puig RF
    Gonzalez 1B
    Kemp LF
    Ethier CF
    Ellis C
    Rojas 3B
    Triunfel SS
    Greinke P

    What happened to Justin Turner?

  2. trublu4ever says:

    We better win! With the Giants hosting the pitiful Padres, we can’t afford to lose ground.

  3. lbirken says:

    I know the prevailing feeling here is not in favor of the DH and as a traditionalist, I tend to agree. However, clearly having the DH in these games could help the Dodgers, although I might let Greinke bat and DH for Rojas or Triunfel.

    I do think it is time for both leagues to play by the same rules and while I would prefer to do away with the DH, realistically I do not expect that ever to happen.

  4. Maybe nobody cares to know about this but the Dodgers are leading the Wild Card race.

  5. kahliforni says:

    Can’t really get excited about the race in June…can’t really get excited about the team with no TV. Reality.

  6. The Royals take the lead in the second.

  7. Quickly trailing here 2-0, we better not let this game get away too soon.

  8. lbirken says:

    So far this game looks like the Dodger bats are missing.

  9. Dodger4life says:

    Margarita run, anyone need one…

  10. All Royals so far.

  11. messagebear says:

    I think it’s time to start playing Van Slyke instead of Ethier.
    Ethier totally SUCKS and doesn’t belong on a winning team.
    He ought to be DUMPED NOW!

    • JhallWally says:

      I totally agree Bear….. Ethier SUCKS!!!!!!!!!!!! Another bad contract we will eat…. Along with Crawfords… They need to get rid of both of them and bring up Pederson…….

  12. Hanley takes the team lead with 46 RBI.

  13. A-Gon ties Hanley with 46 RBI with his team leading 13 HR.

  14. We were just outpitched tonight.

  15. lbirken says:

    The way Guthrie was pitching I expected a shutout but the Dodgers managed to score 3 runs. Good sign?

  16. crash24now says:

    ummm…Turner is a leadoff hitter?

    Turner 3B
    Kemp LF
    Puig DH
    Gonzalez 1B
    Van Slyke CF
    Ellis C
    Romak RF
    Triunfel SS
    Rojas 2B
    Kershaw P

    Turner has stolen just ten bases in his MLB career. This will be his fifth leadoff start in his career.

  17. crash24now says:

    Oh, and I see Hanley won’t be around to screw up Kershaw’s perfect game today.

  18. crash24now says:

    Offensive projected productivity for Dodgers today

    BA/OBP/SLG/OPS versus lefties in 2014 – by the numbers:

    Turner .245/.281/.377/.658
    Kemp .210/.247/.333/.580
    Puig .317/.425/.467/.891
    Gonzo .181/.250/.253/.503
    SVS .308/.471/.769/1.240
    Ellis .263/.481/.316/.797
    Romak .000/.100/.000/.100
    Triunfel .000/.000/.000/.000
    Rojas .091/.091/.182/.273

    In words – it’s gonna be ugly.

  19. If I were Kersh, I’d be having a fit and a half because of this so-called lineup! How ridiculous!!!

  20. It is a strange lineup but all eyes will be on Kershaw until…….
    GO DODGERS!!!!!!!!

  21. messagebear says:

    I’ll be rooting for Van Slyke, because he’s truly our own developed prospect and has yet to reach his peak, unlike the few who have already passed theirs. I also like his attitude. Like I said before, he deserves a chance to play every day until he proves that he can’t do it. I think he should be ahead of Andre in that respect.

    • trublu4ever says:

      Dre doesn’t get to play everyday either! He’d be hitting a hell of a lot better if he did!!! I know you guys don’t like Dre, but, he has become the team leader according to sources.

      • messagebear says:

        I would agree that Andre should certainly be playing instead of Romak. I also agree that if he never gets to face left handers again, he’ll never adjust to hitting them. I’m not much for platooning, and I think Andre’s career has been hurt by playing for Donnie Boy. He’d be better off being traded somewhere that will play him every day.

        • trublu4ever says:

          Everyone is talking about trading an outfielder. However, it might surprise folks to know that it is Matt and SVS who they are talking about. We shall see how Neddie screws it up.

          • JhallWally says:

            Tru, you should be hoping for them to trade Ethier… He will be better off on a team that knows how to utilize him… Our management doesn’t… I would love for them to unload Crawford… And, keep Ethier…. However,there is probably no interest in Crawford…..

          • trublu4ever says:

            You are probably right. I just hate the idea of Crawford pushing a good guy like Dre out of L.A.

          • JhallWally says:

            Me too Tru… I am not real happy about our new owners/management making an ill concieved trade with Boston and bringing in a bunch of overpaid/underachieving crap….. And playing them over more deserving player because of their salary or to try and save face… It’s bullshit…..

  22. I hope Turner scores.

  23. So the Dodgers draw first blood.

  24. The end comes quickly. For Vander Meer’s record that is.

  25. trublu4ever says:

    Boy, Matty is killing the ball tonight 🙂

  26. A-Gon has the team lead in RBI again with 47.

  27. trublu4ever says:

    YAY…DRE!

  28. Great Going Andre!!!!

  29. It’s up to Kenley again.

  30. trublu4ever says:

    Great pitching!

  31. crash24now says:

    Nice game for Kershaw – again.

  32. crash24now says:

    Gnats losing 6-1 in the middle of the sixth inning!

  33. kahliforni says:

    oldbrooklyn has supported the Wild Card slot, but it’s not like that’s backing into the playoffs; only two teams in the National League have better records than the Dodgers right now…and they’re going to catch one of them real soon.

  34. grizzy says:

    Methinks the giants must be hearing footsteps by now.

    • JhallWally says:

      Yep Grizz, just 3 games back.. I think they are hearing footsteps. Coming up their back stairs…. I Love It…..

    • Dodger4life says:

      The Boy’s close-out, July, with a 3 game series in SF. Then again, play a 3 game series in mid Sept., in SF. They then meet to open up the final home stand of the season.

      There’s a lot of baseball left to play in between.

  35. messagebear says:

    I think the Giants greatly overachieved earlier in the season – at least prior to the last couple of weeks, when they have come back down to earth. By the same token our Dodgers have underachieved, considering the presumed talent that we have. If things keep evening out, Dodgers should still win the division. I think the reason for overachievement and underachievement lies basically with the managers. I have no doubts that Bouchy is much more of a manager than Mattingly – I would trade them any day of the week. Beyond that, Ned is a well-known incompetent, despite how the pundits would portray him, and Kasten must be getting senile, as evidenced by his keeping Ned and Donnie in the first place.

  36. lbirken says:

    As far as I am concerned, the Dodgers are still underachieving, at least in the ability to score runs late in a game to preserve victories or come from behind. And I also think some of you should look again at the trade with Boston. Forget the contracts and concentrate on the players. Agon might be struggling now but he clearly was an upgrade on James Loney. Would you rather have Loney or Agon at first? And to the best of my knowledge, Agon is not blocking anyone in the minor leagues. Hanley Ramirez came to the Dodgers with a checkered reputation but he has been no problem in the clubhouse. I would agree his struggles with injuries is a problem and his defense can be questionable at times but once again, he was an upgrade at the time he came to the Dodgers. In order to get these guys the Dodgers had to take Crawford. I would agree he is the weakest of these players and I would rather have Ethier or Van Slyke out there than Crawford.

    I would agree that platooning Kemp and Ethier is not good for either player and it would be interesting to see what Van Slyke could do if he also played every day. You all want the Dodgers to trade Crawford but I doubt they could get much if anything for him. I do think Kemp and Ethier would draw some interest but I am not quite ready to let either of them go quite yet.

  37. lbirken says:

    While I have Time Warner, I also am disappointed and a bit surprised the Dodgers still do not have a deal with the other systems by now. I refuse to accept the Dodgers have no part of this dispute; it was no secret the Dodgers wanted a new TV deal and the Dodger channel was one of their goals. It is also no secret Guggenheim overpaid for the Dodgers because they planned on using a new TV deal for a huge infusion of revenue. Even Frank McCourt knew that but just ran out of time to get it done. Is it possible the Dodgers misjudged the market or were misled by Time Warner? I find that hard to accept as well. I think they knew this dispute would be difficult to resolve but just figured the pressure from the potential viewers would turn the tide. Obviously, they were wrong about this and are trying to deflect any responsibility.

  38. messagebear says:

    From a purely business standpoint, why would the Dodgers’ ownership care where Time Warner came up with the money they had to pay the ownership, or even if they recovered the money paid to the owners. The ownership clearly overpaid for the franchise, and Time Warner overpaid for the TV rights. It would seem that the fans are the losers in the deal. In reality, however, the Dodger brand name will lose as well, because without the TV exposure there should be less potential fans created for the Dodger franchise. My own becoming a fan back in the 50’s has to be because I could see the old Brooklyn Dodgers on TV even when broadcasts were in their infancy. Unfortunately, it’s the young potential fans of the future who don’t have the chance to follow the Dodgers on TV. Add to that the fact that many families can no longer afford to see the games in person. But do you really think that the Guggenheims care?

  39. crash24now says:

    Lineup

    Gordon 2B
    Puig RF
    Gonzalez DH
    Kemp LF
    Ethier CF
    Turner 3B
    Van Slyke 1B
    Ellis C
    Rojas SS
    Haren P

    Note that Haren gets the better lineup, since he can’t control the opposing offense the way that Kershaw can.

  40. crash24now says:

    The Freak Lincecum fed the Padres brownies before the game, then got on the mound and no-hit them.

  41. This is a must win game in order to not lose any ground on the Giants after Lincecum’s no-hitter earlier today.

  42. The Royal announcers practically called that HR by Cain.

  43. The Dodgers DFA’d Romak today and brought up Clint Robinson, left handed first baseman/outfielder. Hmmmmm . . . . .

  44. lbirken says:

    Not sure if Charlie Steiner can make a worse home run call than he did on Kemp’s blast.

    So the Dodgers finally DFA’d someone. I hope Robinson makes good of his opportunities. I saw him in Glendale during Spring training and I liked what I saw.

    Bear, I cannot answer whether or not Guggenheim cares about fans being able to see the Dodgers on TV but from a purely marketing perspective, I would hope they would. And certainly Time Warner has a vested interest in getting viewers because from what I understand about how the advertising deals work, more viewers (higher ratings) can lead to higher ad revenue. But you are correct that the Dodgers have the money no matter what happens.

  45. A balk by Shields after another Dee triple 2-1

  46. lbirken says:

    Wow, back to back triples. I hope Puig’s body can hold out for the duration of the season, especially with his violent slides on the base paths.

  47. A-Gon knocks in his 48 RBI (SF7)after Puig tripled. 3-1

  48. trublu4ever says:

    It’s a good start but, I have a feeling we will need more than 3 runs tonight. Haren is making me very nervous.

  49. Nice throw by Puig, but too tough for A.J. to handle.

  50. lbirken says:

    I usually don’t pay a lot of attention to the opposition but the Royals look like a fun team to watch. What a terrific first baseman.

  51. Boy these guys are tough. Dyson really worked Haren before the HR 4-3.

  52. I have to say, I’m glad to see Haren go tonight, he just didn’t have it against this team.

  53. The WP helped the Royals tie this game up before the easy DP ground ball.

  54. trublu4ever says:

    We’re in deep poop now!

  55. I can’t believe they didn’t score..

  56. lbirken says:

    Those wild pitches just drive me crazy.

  57. trublu4ever says:

    Dumb base running decisions tonight too!

  58. The Dodgers take the lead as Ellis is hit by the pitch. 5-4.

  59. Nice going Howell & league held them.

  60. Finger crossing time.

  61. After tonight’s win, I think we can beat anybody.
    YES.

  62. trublu4ever says:

    Wow…that was a nail biter…..great play by SVS to save the game!

    • JhallWally says:

      Woo-Hoo, win streak!!!! Not the prettiest, but, it is a W… I’ll take them any way we can get them…… The bullpen was awesome tonight….. Probably because they didn’t call on Perez or Maholm……… Maybe Dildon is starting to get it….

  63. lbirken says:

    That was one heck of a game! Earlier in the season the Dodgers would have lost such a game. I know there was some concern about players not caring but I saw none of that in these three games. Hopefully the Dodgers can bring that energy back to Dodger Stadium.

  64. I always dread playing the Cardinals. Nothing has changed but the way the game ended last night, anything can happen.

  65. Dodger4life says:

    I sprung for a new television today…If that is what they still call them??? Now, I just have to figure out how to get mlbtv. linked to it….

    • messagebear says:

      Lots of luck. I’m as dumb as they come with all of this “smart” stuff.
      I’m sure it will be enjoyable for you – the new ones can do so many things that I don’t know about.

      • Dodger4life says:

        Thanks bear, I may need a beer or two, to figure it all out. I managed to get the satellite signal. It say’s my router is connected. I have some plug-in called Roku to figure out now?
        Which by the way won’t allow MLB to verify the location. I read people were sharing passwords and getting around the black-out this way.
        .
        I have been pondering a new one for a few days…Vinny is back tonight…Hopefully, he will be in High Def?

        • Dodger4life says:

          I’m good to go…that was actually one of the easiest set-ups, I’ve ever done… My old tube style tv, vs, this new one…is a whole different ballgame…

Leave a comment