2013 in review

The WordPress.com stats helper monkeys prepared a 2013 annual report for this blog.

Here’s an excerpt:

The concert hall at the Sydney Opera House holds 2,700 people. This blog was viewed about 28,000 times in 2013. If it were a concert at Sydney Opera House, it would take about 10 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

52 Responses to 2013 in review

  1. 32and53fan says:

    This showed up in my email. Those monkeys sure are busy,

  2. JhallWally says:

    I’d like to wish a Happy and Healthy new year to all our OTD bloggers.. I’ve enjoyed your comments and banter…

    Please be safe out there tonight.. I want to see/read you all in the coming new year… Let’s hope this is the year we win it all…

    Happy New Year Everyone….. Go Dodgers!!!!!

  3. grizzy says:

    Happy New Year! Everybody be safe and no 100 plus tonight. You too, Puig.

  4. Happy New Year Everybody.

  5. Dodger4life says:

    If it were The Sydney Opera House… I am sure enchanted can fix that.

    Happy New Year Everyone!!

  6. Wishing all here a very Happy New Year with good health, lots of love and all things wonderful. Oh yeah, and maybe a World Series championship for our team.

  7. lbirken says:

    Happy and Healthy New Year to all! Go Dodgers.

  8. 32and53fan says:

    Happy New Year everyone!

  9. lbirken says:

    Perfect way to start the Rose Parade with Grand Marshall Vin Scully waving hello.

  10. koufax1963 says:

    Happy New Year Dodgers Fans! I read that jon weisman from Dodgers thoughts has been tapped to create an “official Blog” for the dodgers.com web site, I will always come here, and Jon might borrrow some our original thoughts too. To a new year, new blogs and perhaps a WS ring for the Dodgers!

    • This should be very interesting. I’m going to just wait and see how “Dodger Insider” comes out. I’m wondering if it would be at the same level as “Inside the Dodgers” was. I imagine it will be.
      Just as Koufax1963 noted, as long as OTD is around, I’ll keep checking in as usual.

  11. ZonaDodger says:

    Happy New Year….Go Dodgers 2014

  12. Dodger4life says:

    I just finished peaking at the Dodgers depth chart… trying to figure out who they will add as a utility man. 2nd base has Guerrero, Gordon and Sellers listed. So I would have to assume, whomever it is? Will need to have the ability to fill in long term in the event of an injury. Anyone have any ideas as to where Ned will go with this option? Michael Young, another free agent, an international player or perhaps a trade? Or will he stick with Gordon and Sellars?

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      Hope everyone had a great holiday season!!

      I know Ned said he was done, but the bench, save an outfielder, is abysmal. In fact, I’d go so far as to say its the worst one he’s ever put together, and that’s saying something. I can deal with Gordon being on the team, I still like his speed. But, given Hanley and Uribe won’t play but maybe 125-130 games each IF THEY’RE LUCKY, there’s absolutely no one who can step in and play everyday, and I guarantee if they allow it to go though the season like that it’ll be yet another downfall of why they won’t make it past the NLCS (well that and Mattingley’s stupidity.)

      As far as Weisman taking over the “official” team blog, he’s got far too many rules and restrictions on what you can say and express. Good luck to him with that as well when half the commenters you get on official team blogs anymore are other team’s trolls and hopeless homers that rip into anyone with a differing opinion on the players. Half the time those blogs are unreadable.

      And next time I’ll post what I really think!

  13. lbirken says:

    I agree the bench is much weaker at the moment. Not quite sure what can be done to remedy this situation but I am sure we will find out soon.

    • Dodger4life says:

      Mark DeRosa came to mind earlier as a guy who can play every position except center field, pitcher and catcher. Although, he retired after Toronto exercised his 2014 option.

  14. Dodger4life says:

    I have always enjoyed Weisman’s blog and his writing… I think the Dodgers fared well in hiring him. I do understand enchanted’s thoughts about his rules and the comments he is likely to face. He seems like a smart guy, so, I would assume he has something in store to handle such an occasion. I also assume he will have plenty of access to things other blogs do not. So, again, I look forward to seeing what transpires.

  15. As far as “Dodger Insider” is concern, if I don’t find that I like commenting on it, I’ll just discontinue to. I’m thinking it’s to replace ITD but if I’m wrong about that. Furgedaboudit.

  16. 32and53fan says:

    With the demise of Tony Jackson’s DodgerScribe, I look forward to Jon Weisman’s new blog. I hope it focuses on providing us fans interesting inside information that is not available anywhere else. I just hope that the proportion of useful news far exceeds the inevitable amount of continuous Dodgers marketing info. I’m sure that he will be even more constrained than he was on Dodger Thoughts in regards to criticizing the team and it’s management. It will be interesting to see how he handles the profane blasts at Colletti and Honeycutt, among others, that was common in ITD and this blog (which is mostly a chat room for us “seasoned” fans.)
    Weisman had more rules than Hoyle on DT.
    A lot of us would have had our negative, profane, or vulgar comments deleted. Credit to Josh Rawitch for allowing those to pass through. The new blog will be an official Dodgers publication, hosted at Dodgers.com, while ITD was an MLB fan blog.

    OTD will continue to serve as a place for us to gather before, during, and after games to share our thoughts. It will also continue to provide a platform for any of us who would like to create our own posts.

    I gotta feeling ’14 is going to be a good year and dedicate it to the Dodgers number 14, Gil Hodges, in hopes that he will someday be elected to the Hall of Fame.

    • lbirken says:

      It is a shame Gil Hodges has been ignored by the HOF. His accomplishments as a player and manager have not been ignored by the fans. The current committee that decides on candidates who have exhausted their regular eligibility is quite selective but maybe some day Hodges will get his due.

  17. Dodger4life says:

    Winter blows and I miss (Dodger) baseball…

  18. Dodger4life says:

    Who is your pick to win the Superbowl?

    I am hoping the Packers win today, then it’s the Seahawks the rest of the way…

  19. Dodger4life says:

    I’ve been thinking about this Tanaka thing… It was reported that he was willing to help the Rakuten Eagles for allowing him to be posted. MLB has had some concern in this area and wants reassurances from Rakuten and Tanaka that no money will be exchanged between these two parties. Although, what is to keep, oh let’s say, Nintendo of Japan, the parent company of Nintendo of America from assisting Rakuten in the event Tanaka lands in Seattle? Kinda like they couldn’t stop the parking lot fiasco in L.A. due to it being a separate division from the club itself?

    I would think that this would give Seattle a big advantage if allowed to happen?

  20. I read this morning that the Dodgers may not have as much interest in Tanaka as several other teams. (Bill Madden in NY’s Daily News). Actually he says it’s possible they may have some interest.

  21. Dodger4life says:

    I read that article this morning as well oldbrooklyn… It also talks about how the Yankees need Tanaka more so than other clubs. And that the Mariners might be the best fit… My money is on the Mariners, going by what they have done so far, the community ties to Japan and having their majority ownership change recently.

    Here’s the article

    http://www.nydailynews.com/sports/baseball/madden-paying-100m-tanaka-big-league-gamble-article-1.1566422

    • enchantedbeaver says:

      :)

      Wait til trolls discover it. Like Jon’s writing though.

      • JhallWally says:

        Too late, it is all trolls and decerebrates….. Have you read some of the crap on Dodger Thoughts? Now it will just jump over. Good Grief.

        Thank You 32/53 for this blog…..

        • JhallWally says:

          I would prefer to banter with people who I think have most of their brain intact. Reading some of their jargon, I don’t think they have two brain cells to rub together…

    • I made a comment through your comment Dodger4life But I didn’t see anyway to get to it through the Dodger Website.

  22. 32and53fan says:

    http://sports.yahoo.com/news/york-yankees-trade-austin-romine-los-angeles-dodgers-181500948–mlb.html

    Billingsley for Romine? I never heard of this guy, but I don’t follow all the teams. Would he be an offensive upgrade to A.J. or Fedex?

  23. Romine is a Yankee backup catcher or maybe a backup to the backup but I don’t see the Dodgers in need of backup catchers but if this is true, so be it. I guess they’re just looking for a place to drop off Billingsley. It would be interesting, for me, to follow his career as a Yankee via my morning papers, as I’ve done in the past with so many former Dodgers.

  24. grizzy says:

    Probably some writer trying to make a story. Hope so anyway, I’d not be in to much of a hurry to unload Billz.

  25. grizzy says:

    Mattingly got his extension. Through 2016, I hear. Some of us are going to be very happy.

  26. This contract extension for Mattingly comes as no surprise as he made it clear he wasn’t going to like being a lame duck manager again. I just hope he’s learn more about the job and his experience will help him make less mistakes in the future. If he fails he can always be fired.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

